yes, therapy helps!
Antisocial behavior seen from Psychoanalysis

Antisocial behavior seen from Psychoanalysis

July 19, 2024

When it comes to talking about the profound and unconscious motivations of those who commit atrocious crimes, psychoanalysis is the cornerstone of the disciplines that devote themselves to the hard work of trying to uncover antisocial and violent behavior.

Violent behavior from Psychoanalysis

On this day we will review the psychoanalytic approach of some of the most significant figures of psychoanalysis with respect to antisocial behaviors, to try to bring a little light into this complex question.

Sigmund Freud

The father of psychoanalysis Sigmund Freud tried to study the delinquents by dividing it into two categories, mainly:


A) Offenders for guilt

In 1915, Freud published an article in which he declared that, paradoxical as it may seem, these criminals present a feeling of guilt prior to the crime , reason why it arrives at the conclusion that the consummation of its act represents, for the delinquent subject, a psychic relief linked with the need to mitigate the previous fault. In other words, when committing the offense the subject satisfies a need for self-punishment from an unconscious sense of guilt (and which, according to him, comes from the primal guilt in the Oedipus complex: killing the father to stay with the mother).

For Freud, guilt is the ambivalent manifestation of the instincts of life and death because the guilt would come from the tensions between the superego and the id that manifest themselves in a latent need to be punished. It also clarifies that only guilt does not emerge in the conscious field but is often repressed in the unconscious.


B) Offenders without feelings of guilt

They are subjects that they have not developed moral inhibitions or believe their behavior is justified for their struggle against society (psychopathic and psychopathological personalities) with a marked weakening of the super ego, or with a ego structure incapable of preserving the aggressive impulses and sadistic tendencies in the id through defense mechanisms.

It also adds two characteristics of the delinquent: egocentricity and a destructive tendency, but also says that in all men there is a natural disposition or aggressiveness due to narcissism.

Alfred Adler

Alfred Adler was one of the first students and first dissident of Freud's theories, creator of the so-called individual psychology . Plasma all his work based on three main postulates: feelings of inferiority, impulses of might and the feelings of community. For him, feelings of community are those that attenuate the feelings of inferiority (which are also congenital and universal) and control the impulses of power.


Adler emphasizes that a strong sense of inferiority, the aspiration for personal superiority and a deficient feeling of community are always recognizable in the phase preceding the deviation of behavior. Further, the antisocial activity that is directed against the neighbor is acquired precociously for those children who fall into the mistaken opinion that all others can be considered as objects of their belonging. Their dangerous behavior will depend on the degree of feeling to the community. The delinquent, according to Adler, possesses a conviction of his own superiority, a subsequent and compensatory consequence to his inferiority from early childhood.

Theodor Reik

Theodor Reik devoted a lot of his theory and research to criminal behavior. Example of this is his book The psychoanalysis of criminal, where Reik emphasizes that there must be a joint effort between psychoanalysts and criminologists to clarify the criminal facts expressing that one of the most effective means to discover the anonymous criminal is to specify the motive of the crime.

He pointed out that the criminal act must be the expression of the mental tension of the individual, arising from his mental state to constitute the satisfaction promised to his psychological needs. According to psychoanalytic concepts, there are mechanisms of projection in crimes: the criminal flees from his own conscience how he would do it before an external enemy, projecting outwards this internal enemy. Under such pressure, the criminal ego struggles in vain and the criminal becomes careless and betrays himself in a kind of mental compulsion, making mistakes that have actually been determined by the unconscious.

An example of this would be the inability of a subject not to leave his traces but on the contrary, leaving clues at the crime scene. Another example that makes clear the unknown longing of the self to surrender to justice, would be the return of criminals to the scene of the crime.

Alexander and Staub

For these authors every man is innately a criminal and his adaptation to society begins after the victory over the Oedipus complex . So while a normal individual gets in the period of latency to repress the genuine criminal tendencies of his impulses and sublimating them towards a pro-social sense, the criminal fails in this adaptation.

He states that the neurotic and the criminal have failed in their ability to solve the problem of their relationships with the family in a social sense. While the neurotic externalizes symbolically and through hysterical symptoms, the delinquent manifests through his criminal behavior. A feature of all neurotics and most of the criminals is the incomplete incorporation of the superego.

Sandor Ferenczi

Sandor Ferenczi observed through the psychoanalysis of various anarchist criminals that the Oedipus complex was still in full evolution, it goes without saying that it had not yet been resolved and that his acts symbolically represented a displaced revenge against primitive tyranny or oppressive of his father. He finds that the criminal can never really explain what he has committed, because he is and will always be incomprehensible to him. The reasons he gives for his misdeeds are always complex rationalizations.

For Sandor, the personality is composed of three elements: I instinctive, I real Y I social (similar to the second Freudian topic: it, I and superego) when the instinctive self predominates in the subject, Ferenczi says that he is a genuine criminal; If the real self is weak, the crime takes on a neurotic character and when the weakness expresses is centered on the hypertrophy of the social self, there are the crimes as a result of a feeling of guilt.

Karl Abraham

Disciple of Freud, Karl Abraham argues that individuals with delinquent characteristics are fixed in the first oral sadistic stage : individuals with aggressive features governed by the pleasure principle (as we shared in a previous article, antisocial personalities have to project features of oral aggressiveness in the test of the human figure of Machover).

He also pointed out similarities between war and totemic festivals based on the works of his teacher, as the whole community comes together to do things that are absolutely forbidden to the individual. Finally, it should be noted that Abraham conducted numerous investigations to try to understand criminal perversions.

Melanie Klein

Melanie Klein found that children with social and antisocial tendencies were the ones who feared the possible retaliation of their parents as punishment. He concluded that, it is not the weakness of the superego, but the overwhelming severity of this one responsible for the characteristic behavior of asocial and criminal people , this as a result of the unreal projection of his persecutory fears and fantasies in the early sadistic phase against his parents.

When the child manages to unlink the unreal and destructive imago that the child projects to his parents and the process of social adaptation is initiated by the introjection of values ​​and desires to repay the projected aggressive fantasies, the more the tendency to correct his guilt for the false image he had of the parents and grow their creative capacity will more appease the superego; but in cases where strong superego structure prevails as a result of strong sadism and destructive tendencies, there will be a strong and overwhelming anguish for what the individual may feel compelled to destroy or kill. We see here that the same psychological roots of personality can develop into paranoia or criminality.

Jacques Lacan

Without a doubt, Jacques Lacan is the most prominent figure in current psychoanalysis . What most interested Lacan in terms of criminological issues, were the crimes committed by psychotic paranoids, where delusions and hallucinations are the cause of their behavior. For Lacan, the aggressive drive that resolves in the crime thus arises, as the condition that serves as the basis for psychosis, can be said to be unconscious which means that the intentional content that translates it into consciousness can not be manifested without a commitment to the social demands integrated by the subject, that is, without a camouflage of the constituent motives of the crime.

The objective characters of the crime, the choice of the victim, the criminal effectiveness, its unleashing and execution vary continuously according to the significance of the fundamental position. The criminal drive that he conceives as the basis of paranoia, would simply be an unsatisfying abstraction if it were not controlled by a series of correlative anomalies of the socialized instincts. The murder of the other represents only the attempt to murder ourselves, precisely because the other would represent our own ideal. It will be the analyst's job to find the forcific contents that cause the psychotic delusions that lead to homicide.

Erich Fromm

Humanist psychoanalyst, he proposes that destructiveness differs from sadism in the sense that the former proposes and seeks the elimination of the object, but is similar insofar as it is a consequence of isolation and impotence. For Erich Fromm, the sadistic behaviors are deeply rooted in a fixation in the anal sadistic stage . The analysis carried out by him considers that destructiveness is a consequence of existential anguish.

In addition to Fromm, the explanation of destructiveness can not be found in terms of animal or instinctive heritage (as proposed by Lorenz, for example) but must be understood in terms of the factors that distinguish man from other animals.

Bibliographic references:

  • Marchiori, H. (2004). Criminal psychology. 9th edition. Editorial Porrúa.
  • Fromm, E. (1975). Anatomy of human destructiveness. 11th edition. Editorial XXI century.

We Need To Talk About Kevin-Antisocial Personality Disorder (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comportement antisocial vu de la psychanalyse

Comportement antisocial vu de la psychanalyse

Avril 22, 2019

Quand il s'agit de parler des motivations profondes et inconscientes de ceux qui commettent des crimes atroces, la psychanalyse est la pierre angulaire des disciplines qui se consacrent au dur labeur consistant à tenter de mettre au jour un comportement antisocial et violent.

Comportement violent de psychanalyse

À ce jour nous passerons en revue l'approche psychanalytique de certaines des figures les plus significatives de la psychanalyse en ce qui concerne les comportements antisociaux, essayer d'apporter un peu de lumière sur cette question complexe.

Sigmund Freud

Le père de la psychanalyse Sigmund Freud a essayé d'étudier les délinquants en le divisant en deux catégories, principalement:


A) Délinquants pour culpabilité

En 1915, Freud publia un article dans lequel il déclarait que, aussi paradoxal que cela puisse paraître, ces criminels présenter un sentiment de culpabilité avant le crime , raison pour laquelle il en arrive à la conclusion que la consommation de son acte représente, pour le sujet délinquant, un soulagement psychique lié à la nécessité d’atténuer la faute antérieure. En d’autres termes, lorsqu’il commet l’infraction, le sujet répond à un besoin d’auto-punition par un sentiment de culpabilité inconscient (et qui, selon lui, découle de la culpabilité originelle dans le complexe d’Œdipe: tuer le père pour rester avec la mère).

Pour Freud, la culpabilité est la manifestation ambivalente des instincts de vie et de mort car la culpabilité proviendrait des tensions entre le surmoi et le ça qui se manifestent dans un besoin latent d'être punies. Elle précise également que seule la culpabilité n'émerge pas dans le champ de la conscience mais est souvent réprimée dans l'inconscient.


B) Délinquants sans sentiment de culpabilité

Ce sont des sujets qui ils n'ont pas développé d'inhibitions morales ou croient que leur comportement est justifié pour leur lutte contre la société (personnalités psychopathes et psychopathologiques) avec un affaiblissement marqué du surmoi, ou avec une structure du moi incapable de préserver les pulsions agressives et les tendances sadiques du id à travers des mécanismes de défense.

Il ajoute également deux caractéristiques du délinquant: l'égocentrisme et une tendance destructive, mais indique également que, chez tous les hommes, il existe une disposition naturelle ou une agressivité due au narcissisme.

Alfred Adler

Alfred Adler fut l'un des premiers étudiants et le premier dissident des théories de Freud, créateur de la soi-disant psychologie individuelle . Plasma tout son travail basé sur trois postulats principaux: des sentiments d'infériorité, impulsions de puissance et les sentiments de communauté. Pour lui, les sentiments de communauté sont ceux qui atténuent les sentiments d'infériorité (qui sont aussi congénitaux et universels) et contrôlent les impulsions du pouvoir.


Adler souligne qu'un fort sentiment d'infériorité, l'aspiration à la supériorité personnelle et un sentiment de communauté déficient sont toujours reconnaissables dans la phase précédant la déviation du comportement. En outre, l'activité antisociale dirigée contre le voisin est acquise précocement pour les enfants qui tombent dans l'opinion erronée que tous les autres peuvent être considérés comme des objets de leur appartenance. Leur comportement dangereux dépendra du degré de sentiment envers la communauté. Selon Adler, le délinquant est convaincu de sa supériorité, conséquence subséquente et compensatoire de son infériorité dès son plus jeune âge.

Theodor Reik

Theodor Reik a consacré une grande partie de sa théorie et de ses recherches au comportement criminel. Exemple de ceci est son livre La psychanalyse de la criminel, Reik souligne qu'il doit exister un effort commun des psychanalystes et des criminologues pour clarifier les faits criminels, indiquant que l'un des moyens les plus efficaces de découvrir le criminel anonyme est de préciser le mobile du crime.

Il a souligné que l'acte criminel devait être l'expression de la tension mentale de l'individu, résultant de son état mental pour constituer la satisfaction promise à ses besoins psychologiques. Selon les concepts psychanalytiques, il existe des mécanismes de projection dans les crimes: le criminel fuit sa propre conscience comme il le ferait devant un ennemi externe, projetant vers l'extérieur cet ennemi interne. Sous une telle pression, l'ego criminel se débat en vain et le criminel devient négligent et se trahit lui-même dans une sorte de contrainte mentale, en faisant des erreurs qui ont été réellement déterminées par l'inconscient.

Un exemple en est l’incapacité d’un sujet de laisser ses traces, bien au contraire, de laisser des indices sur les lieux du crime. Le retour des criminels sur le lieu du crime est un autre exemple qui montre clairement le désir inconnu de se rendre devant la justice.

Alexander et Staub

Pour ces auteurs chaque homme est un criminel et son adaptation à la société commence après la victoire sur le complexe d'Œdipe . Ainsi, si un individu normal parvient à réprimer les véritables tendances criminelles de ses pulsions et à les sublimer dans un sens prosocial, pendant la période de latence, le criminel échoue dans cette adaptation.

Il affirme que les névrosés et les criminels ont échoué dans leur capacité à résoudre le problème de leurs relations avec la famille au sens social. Alors que le névrosé s’extériorise symboliquement et par des symptômes hystériques, le délinquant se manifeste par son comportement criminel. Une caractéristique de tous les névrosés et de la plupart des criminels est l'incorporation incomplète du surmoi.

Sandor Ferenczi

Sandor Ferenczi a observé à travers la psychanalyse de divers criminels anarchistes que le complexe d'Œdipe était encore en pleine évolution, il va sans dire qu'il n'avait pas encore été résolu et que ses actes représentaient symboliquement une revanche déplacée contre la tyrannie primitive ou oppressif de son père. Il constate que le criminel ne peut jamais vraiment expliquer ce qu'il a commis, car il est et sera toujours incompréhensible pour lui. Les raisons qu'il donne pour ses méfaits sont toujours des rationalisations complexes.

Pour Sandor, la personnalité est composée de trois éléments: J'ai instinctif, Je réel et Je social (semblable au deuxième sujet freudien: it, I and superego) lorsque le moi instinctif prédomine dans le sujet, Ferenczi dit qu'il est un véritable criminel; Si le vrai moi est faible, le crime prend un caractère névrotique et lorsque la faiblesse exprimée est centrée sur l'hypertrophie du moi social, il y a crimes du fait d'un sentiment de culpabilité.

Karl Abraham

Disciple de Freud, Karl Abraham soutient que les individus présentant des caractéristiques délinquantes sont fixés au premier stade sadique oral : des individus avec des traits agressifs régis par le principe du plaisir (comme nous l’avons expliqué dans un article précédent, les personnalités antisociales doivent projeter des traits d’agressivité orale lors du test de la figure humaine de Machover).

Il a également souligné les similitudes entre les festivals de guerre et les festivals totémiques basés sur les œuvres de son professeur, alors que toute la communauté se réunissait pour faire des choses absolument interdites à l'individu. Enfin, il convient de noter qu'Abraham a mené de nombreuses enquêtes pour tenter de comprendre les perversions criminelles.

Mélanie Klein

Melanie Klein a découvert que les enfants ayant des tendances sociales et antisociales craignaient les représailles possibles de leurs parents en guise de punition. Il a conclu que ce n’était pas la faiblesse du surmoi, mais la sévérité accablante de celui-ci responsable du comportement caractéristique des personnes asociales et criminelles Ceci est le résultat de la projection irréelle de ses peurs et fantasmes de persécution au début de la phase sadique contre ses parents.

Lorsque l'enfant parvient à dissocier l'imaginaire irréel et destructeur qu'il projette à ses parents et que le processus d'adaptation sociale est initié par l'introjection de valeurs et le désir de rembourser les fantasmes d'agression projetés, plus la tendance à corriger sa culpabilité pour le la fausse image qu'il avait des parents et développer leur capacité créative apaisera davantage le surmoi; mais dans les cas où une forte structure de surmoi prévaut en raison d'un sadisme fort et de tendances destructrices, l'angoisse sera forte et accablante face à ce que l'individu peut se sentir obligé de détruire ou de tuer. Nous voyons ici que les mêmes racines psychologiques de la personnalité peuvent se développer en paranoïa ou en criminalité.

Jacques Lacan

Jacques Lacan est la figure la plus en vue de la psychanalyse actuelle . Ce qui intéressait le plus Lacan sur le plan criminologique, c’était les crimes commis par des paranoïaques psychotiques, où les délires et les hallucinations sont la cause de leur comportement. Pour Lacan, la pulsion agressive qui résout dans le crime survient ainsi. On peut dire que la condition qui sert de base à la psychose est inconsciente, ce qui signifie que le contenu intentionnel qui le traduit en conscience ne peut se manifester sans engagement vis-à-vis des revendications sociales intégrées par le sujet, c'est-à-dire sans camoufler les motifs constitutifs du crime.

Les caractères objectifs du crime, le choix de la victime, l'efficacité pénale, son déclenchement et son exécution varient continuellement en fonction de l'importance de la position fondamentale. Le pulsion criminelle qu’il conçoit comme la base de la paranoïa serait simplement une abstraction insatisfaisante s’il n’était pas contrôlé par une série d’anomalies corrélatives des instincts socialisés. Le meurtre de l'autre ne représente que la tentative de nous assassiner nous-mêmes, précisément parce que l'autre représenterait notre propre idéal. Ce sera à l'analyste de trouver le contenu forcé qui cause les délires psychotiques qui conduisent à l'homicide.

Erich Fromm

Psychanalyste humaniste, il propose que la destructivité se distingue du sadisme en ce sens que le premier propose et cherche à éliminer l’objet, mais est similaire dans la mesure où il résulte de l’isolement et de l’impuissance. Pour Erich Fromm, les comportements sadiques sont profondément enracinés dans une fixation au stade sadique anal . L'analyse qu'il effectue considère que la destructivité est une conséquence de l'angoisse existentielle.

Outre Fromm, l'explication de la destructivité ne peut pas être trouvée en termes de patrimoine animal ou instinctif (comme proposé par Lorenz, par exemple), mais doit être comprise en termes de facteurs qui distinguent l'homme des autres animaux.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Marchiori, H. (2004). Psychologie criminelle. 9ème édition. Editorial Porrúa.
  • Fromm, E. (1975). Anatomie de la destructivité humaine. 11ème édition. Éditorial XXIème siècle.

Une histoire de perversion 3/3 : la femme perverse - PSYCHORAMA #06 (Avril 2019).


Articles Connexes