yes, therapy helps!
Selective mutism: symptoms, causes and treatment

Selective mutism: symptoms, causes and treatment

July 30, 2022

When he is at home, Javi is a very moved and happy child, who is always asking his parents about how things work and tells them his thoughts and dreams. However, one day the teachers of their school call their parents to tell them that the child does not talk to their classmates or teachers, remaining mute before the attempts of others to interact with him although he usually responds on the basis of gestures.

Although at first they believed that it was mere shyness, the truth is that he has not spoken a word since the beginning of the course two months before. After arranging and conducting a medical and psychological exploration of the child, it is diagnosed that Javi suffers the disorder known as selective mutism .


  • Related article: "The 16 most common mental disorders"

Selective mutism: characteristic definition and symptoms

The aforementioned disorder, selective mutism, is a form of childhood disorder linked to anxiety in which the individual who suffers it is unable to speak in certain contexts.

The symptoms of selective mutism they are the diminution and disappearance of the capacity of speech in certain circumstances or before certain people, generally before people outside the circle closest to the child. This apparent lack of capacity only occurs in these circumstances or situations, with which in other contexts or with relatives in which it feels safe the child communicates normally. It is not a matter of lacking communication skills or that these have deteriorated for some reason, simply the child can not start them.


These symptoms occur for at least one month without any relevant change that justifies the appearance of possible shyness. Nor is it a difficulty caused by a medical illness that can justify the lack of oral communication.

Although the selective term may make it seem that the lack of speech is intentional, in a large number of cases it is not. In fact, often the child actually wants to express himself despite being unable to do so, and sometimes resorting to strategies such as the use of gestures. In spite of this, in some cases it does occur intentionally, as an attempt to show opposition to a situation or person.

So, selective mutism supposes a high level of anguish and suffering , besides that it produces a significant alteration in the social and academic life of the minor.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Personality Disorder by Avoidance: extreme shyness?"

Causes of this disorder

The diagnosis of selective mutism demands that the presence of medical diseases be ruled out or that the lack of speech is due to insufficient development of this capacity to allow oral communication.

The causes of this problem are mainly psychological , specifically to the presence of anxiety. It is an affectation similar to social phobia (in many cases comorbid with selective mutism), in which there is also a fear of being judged and evaluated. Risk and pressure when they are the center of attention cause the subject not to act, which has been understood as a response learned through conditioning.

It has also been observed that there is some hereditary family influence , since it is a more frequent disorder in families with anxiety or mood problems.

Because of the absence of speech, selective mutism can make the person suffering from it appear sullen and lack of interest in communication , with which the social contact diminishes and rejection may appear towards the minor in question. This fact reinforces the situation of mutism by producing greater tension and anxiety when judged negatively by others

Treating selective mutism

Although in some cases the disorder subsides after several months, in other cases it can last for years, which makes the social adaptation of the child in question difficult. The participation of the family and the environment is fundamental . It is especially important not to criticize the child's lack of speech, which can reduce their self-esteem and make the picture worse. Teaching forms of socialization, highlighting their strengths and supporting their efforts are very useful.

One of the most common types of psychological treatment in case of selective mutism is the use of different exposure therapies to phobic stimulation together with the handling of contingencies that may affect the emission or non-emission of speech.

Forms of psychological intervention

Exposure to situations must be gradual and careful. Performing a progressive immersion is also useful, for example moving people with whom the child do not be afraid to communicate to environments that are more problematic . With time, a stimulating fade will fade, stimulating, in which stimuli and people are gradually removed that provide security to the child so that this will eventually begin to communicate in other contexts.

Self-filming filmed and tricked It is also a fairly common technique: it records the child interacting with their close relatives in situations in which they communicate verbally and then modify the recording in a way that seems to be communicating with others. In the video is going to go forward in a hierarchical way, making him answer first in a monosyllabic way and little by little increasing the level until he speaks spontaneously.

It also seems to be effective the use of modeling and theatrical activities , in which the child can see how others interact and at the same time can begin little by little to express words that are not his but those that come in the script, so that its content can not be judged. Little by little the infant can incorporate his own ideas into the conversation. The level of complexity can be increased if the place where the videos are made is changed, first making videos in very safe environments so as to gradually move away from them.

There are also some programs social skills training that can help the child to gradually let go and express themselves. Cognitive-behavioral therapy has also been shown to be effective when the child can restructure his thoughts and beliefs about how he is seen by others.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 14 main social skills to succeed in life"

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelona.
  • Thief, A. (2012). Child Clinical Psychology. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 03. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Rosenberg, D.R .; Ciriboga, J.A. (2016). Anxiety disorders. In: Kliegman RM, Stanton BF, St Geme JW, Schor NF, eds. Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics. 20th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier.

Selective Mutism ¦ Treatment and Symptoms (July 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Mutisme sélectif: symptômes, causes et traitement

Mutisme sélectif: symptômes, causes et traitement

Novembre 28, 2022

Quand il est à la maison, Javi est un enfant très ému et heureux. Il demande toujours à ses parents comment ça marche et leur raconte ses pensées et ses rêves. Cependant, un jour, les enseignants de leur école appellent leurs parents pour leur dire que l'enfant ne parle pas à leurs camarades de classe ni à leurs enseignants, et reste muet avant les tentatives d'interaction des autres, bien qu'il réagisse généralement par gestes.

Bien qu’ils aient pensé au début que c’était une simple timidité, la vérité est qu’il n’a pas prononcé un mot depuis le début du cours, deux mois auparavant. Après avoir organisé et mené une exploration médicale et psychologique de l'enfant, il est diagnostiqué que Javi souffre le désordre connu sous le nom de mutisme sélectif .


  • Article connexe: "Les 16 troubles mentaux les plus courants"

Mutisme sélectif: définition et symptômes caractéristiques

Le trouble susmentionné, le mutisme sélectif, est une forme de trouble de l'enfance lié à l'anxiété dans lequel la personne qui la subit est incapable de parler dans certains contextes.

Les symptômes du mutisme sélectif ce sont la diminution et la disparition de la capacité d'expression dans certaines circonstances ou devant certaines personnes, généralement devant des personnes extérieures au cercle le plus proche de l'enfant. Ce manque apparent de capacité ne se produit que dans ces circonstances ou situations avec lesquelles, dans d'autres contextes ou avec des proches dans lesquels il se sent en sécurité, l'enfant communique normalement. Ce n’est pas une question de manque de compétences en communication ou de détérioration de celles-ci pour une raison quelconque, tout simplement, l’enfant ne peut pas les démarrer.


Ces symptômes se manifestent pendant au moins un mois sans changement important qui justifierait l’apparence d’une timidité possible. Ce n'est pas non plus une difficulté causée par une maladie médicale qui peut justifier le manque de communication orale.

Bien que le terme sélectif donne à penser que le manque de parole est intentionnel, dans de nombreux cas, ce n’est pas le cas. En fait souvent l'enfant veut réellement s'exprimer bien qu’en étant incapable de le faire, et ayant parfois recours à des stratégies telles que l’utilisation de gestes. Malgré cela, dans certains cas, cela se produit intentionnellement, comme une tentative de montrer son opposition à une situation ou à une personne.

Donc, mutisme sélectif suppose un haut niveau d'angoisse et de souffrance En outre, cela produit une modification importante de la vie sociale et académique du mineur.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Trouble de la personnalité par évitement: timidité extrême?"

Causes de ce trouble

Le diagnostic de demandes de mutisme sélectif que la présence de maladies médicales soit exclue ou que le manque de parole est dû au développement insuffisant de cette capacité à permettre la communication orale.

Les causes de ce problème sont principalement psychologiques , spécifiquement à la présence d'anxiété. C'est une affectation semblable à la phobie sociale (souvent associée à un mutisme sélectif), dans laquelle on craint également d'être jugé et évalué. Le risque et la pression lorsqu'ils sont au centre de l'attention empêchent le sujet d'agir, ce qui a été compris comme une réponse apprise par le conditionnement.

Il a également été observé que il y a une certaine influence familiale héréditaire , puisqu'il s'agit d'un trouble plus fréquent dans les familles souffrant d'anxiété ou de problèmes d'humeur.

En raison de l’absence de parole, un mutisme sélectif peut amener la personne qui en souffre paraître maussade et le manque d'intérêt pour la communication , avec lequel le contact social diminue et le rejet peut apparaître vers le mineur en question. Ce fait renforce la situation de mutisme en produisant une tension et une anxiété plus grandes lorsque jugé négativement par d'autres

Traiter le mutisme sélectif

Bien que dans certains cas, le trouble disparaisse après plusieurs mois, il peut parfois durer des années, ce qui rend difficile l'adaptation sociale de l'enfant en question. La participation de la famille et de l'environnement est fondamentale . Il est particulièrement important de ne pas critiquer le manque de langage de l'enfant, ce qui peut réduire son estime de soi et aggraver la situation. Enseigner des formes de socialisation, mettre en évidence leurs points forts et soutenir leurs efforts est très utile.

L’un des types de traitement psychologique les plus courants en cas de mutisme sélectif est l’utilisation de différentes thérapies d'exposition à la stimulation phobique ainsi que le traitement des éventualités pouvant affecter l'émission ou la non-émission de la parole.

Formes d'intervention psychologique

L'exposition à des situations doit être progressive et prudente. Effectuer une immersion progressive est également utile, par exemple déplacer des personnes avec qui l'enfant n'ayez pas peur de communiquer dans des environnements plus problématiques . Avec le temps, un fondu stimulant s'estompe, stimulant, dans lequel les stimuli et les personnes sont progressivement supprimés, ce qui assure la sécurité de l'enfant, de sorte que celui-ci puisse éventuellement commencer à communiquer dans d'autres contextes.

Autofilmer filmé et trompé C'est aussi une technique assez courante: il enregistre l'enfant en interaction avec ses proches parents dans des situations où il communique verbalement, puis modifie l'enregistrement de manière à ce qu'il semble communiquer avec les autres. Dans la vidéo va aller de l'avant de manière hiérarchique, le faisant répondre d'abord de manière monosyllabique et augmentant peu à peu le niveau jusqu'à ce qu'il parle spontanément.

Cela semble aussi être efficace l'utilisation de la modélisation et des activités théâtrales , dans lequel l’enfant peut voir comment les autres interagissent et en même temps peut commencer petit à petit à exprimer des mots qui ne sont pas les siens mais ceux qui entrent dans le script, de sorte que son contenu ne puisse pas être jugé. Petit à petit, le nourrisson peut incorporer ses propres idées dans la conversation. Le niveau de complexité peut être augmenté si l’endroit où les vidéos sont tournées est modifié, d’abord en réalisant des vidéos dans des environnements très sûrs afin de s’éloigner progressivement de ceux-ci.

Il y a aussi des programmes formation aux compétences sociales cela peut aider l'enfant à se laisser aller progressivement et à s'exprimer. La thérapie cognitivo-comportementale s'est également révélée efficace lorsque l'enfant peut restructurer ses pensées et ses croyances sur la manière dont il est perçu par les autres.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 14 compétences sociales essentielles pour réussir dans la vie"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelone.
  • Voleur, A. (2012). Psychologie clinique de l'enfant. Manuel de préparation du CEDE PIR, 03. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Rosenberg, D.R .; Ciriboga, J.A. (2016). Troubles anxieux. Dans: RM Kliegman, Stanton BF, St Geme JW, Schor NF, éds. Nelson Manuel de pédiatrie. 20ème éd. Philadelphie, PA: Elsevier.

MUTISME SÉLECTIF : Quand Parler est un Enfer. (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes