yes, therapy helps!
8 great myths about people with mental disorders

8 great myths about people with mental disorders

May 26, 2024

Mental disorders are a phenomenon that remains deeply stigmatized , partly because of the lack of knowledge. Under this label of "mental disorders", many people group all kinds of confusing and sometimes aberrant concepts that, in practice, only serve to exclude.

  • Maybe you're interested: "8 great myths about modern psychology"

Myths about people with mental disorders that you should refuse

Many times the idea of ​​mental disorder has been used simply as an adjective that speaks ill of the person and gives reasons to fear it, it is worth having some more information about it. Below you will find several myths about people with mental disorders .


1. They are irrecoverable and can only stagnate or worsen

It is true that the fact of having developed a mental disorder is something that is hard to forget, but that does not mean that their symptoms can not subside until they almost disappear. This, of course, varies greatly depending on the problem presented in each case, but we must bear in mind that there is no category with clear limits that define what it is to have a disorder or not have it.

For example, it is not necessary for the symptoms to disappear completely to recover , in the same way that there are many people who, because of their way of life, do not have problems because of fear of entering an airplane.


2. They do not understand what they are told

Presenting a mental disorder does not imply that there is also intellectual disability. Most of these patients are perfectly capable of understanding any explanation and even pretending not to have any emotional or cognitive problems in the course of a conversation.It is advisable not to treat these people with condescension and paternalism , which in practice are insulting.

  • Related article: "Intellectual and developmental disability"

3. They lose touch with reality

The belief that "madness" consists in cutting off all contact with reality is no more than an excuse to stigmatize people with mental disorders, a way of separating them from public life and to favor that their interests can not turn society in favor of more inclusive values.


In the same way that for centuries homosexuality was marginalized because it had the power to criminalize behaviors that clashed with the nuclear family model, today we talk about the supposed lack of criteria of these minorities to deprive them of many rights (in favor of the rest of the people).

Of course, there is no rational reason why it is possible to group people with disorders under the label "madness" and they are attributed the inability to defend their own interests anywhere and at any time.

4. They are hooked on medication

On the one hand, it is absolutely false that the fact of presenting a mental disorder involves generating a dependency relationship with a psychotropic drug. Many people decide not to take medication , or his disorder is of such low intensity that the use of these substances is not even considered to treat it.

In addition, even if a person develops addiction to a drug, this does not mean that he acquires a lower moral rank. Many times this dependency link appears relatively quickly and in situations of great difficulties and a lot of pressure. Partly, the drugs are a response to the need to create people that adapt to a society that is not willing to change too much for them.

  • Related article: "Psychotropic drugs: drugs that act on the brain"

5. They are violent people

Although people with mental disorders have extra reasons to experience anxiety, that does not mean they channel this discomfort by directing it against others. In fact, in many cases Its tendency is to isolate itself so as not to cause discomfort to your friends and family.

6. Mental disorders are an emotional problem

This is one of the classic interpretations of a current of "alternative therapies" that consider that diseases and disorders arise from unresolved emotional conflicts. Not only is it totally false, but it is also an extremely harmful idea, capable of causing great pain in patients and relatives, or can even lead to death.

The reason is that they hold the individual responsible for what happens to them, which in practice means that if there is no improvement the situation is seen as something the patient is guilty of , for not wanting to face those internal problems.

7. They can cure their disorders by talking about them

The simple act of receiving information or putting what one feels in words does not imply recovering. Mental disorders are beyond language , and although changing beliefs helps, recovery comes through other ways, such as by adopting different habits, techniques that are applied at home, etc.

So, advice is not an option, because the disorders are not born of lack of information or the absence of rationality. Smokers continue to consume cigarettes even though they know perfectly well that this is harmful, and the same goes for mental disorders. Even in spite of recognizing those actions and thoughts that are not appropriate, they manifest themselves, since you do not have control over them at the moment when the symptoms manifest themselves .

  • Perhaps you are interested: "Behavioral Cognitive Therapy: what is it and on what principles is it based?"

8. Part of the symptoms of mental disorders are attention calls

Some people believe that people with mental disorders enjoy making this a part of their identity before others, as if they were talking about this kind of problem for the pleasure of feeling the attention of the rest or, perhaps, his admiration. However, this is a clearly solipsistic conception of what it is to experience a disorder.

In the same way that a bad experience at work makes us talk about it, mental disorders, whose symptoms can become more painful and frequent than a boss's anger, make you naturally want to talk about it sometimes.


5 Myths about Mental Illnesses (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
8 grands mythes sur les personnes atteintes de troubles mentaux

8 grands mythes sur les personnes atteintes de troubles mentaux

Mai 16, 2022

Les troubles mentaux sont un phénomène qui reste profondément stigmatisé , en partie à cause du manque de connaissances. Sous cette étiquette de "troubles mentaux", de nombreuses personnes regroupent toutes sortes de concepts déroutants et parfois aberrants qui, dans la pratique, ne servent qu'à exclure.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "8 grands mythes sur la psychologie moderne"

Mythes sur les personnes atteintes de troubles mentaux que vous devriez refuser

Plusieurs fois, l'idée de trouble mental a été utilisée simplement comme un adjectif qui parle mal de la personne et donne des raisons de la craindre, cela vaut la peine d'avoir plus d'informations à ce sujet. Vous trouverez ci-dessous plusieurs mythes sur les personnes atteintes de troubles mentaux. .


1. Ils sont irrécupérables et ne peuvent que stagner ou s'aggraver

Il est vrai que le fait d’avoir développé un trouble mental est quelque chose qui est difficile à oublier, mais cela ne signifie pas que leurs symptômes ne peuvent pas s’affaiblir tant qu’ils n’ont presque pas disparu. Ceci, bien sûr, varie considérablement en fonction du problème présenté dans chaque cas, mais nous devons garder à l'esprit qu'il n'existe pas de catégorie avec des limites claires qui définissent ce qu'est un désordre ou ne pas l'avoir.

Par exemple, il n'est pas nécessaire que les symptômes disparaissent complètement pour récupérer , de la même manière qu'il y a beaucoup de gens qui, de par leur mode de vie, n'ont pas de problèmes de peur de monter dans un avion.


2. Ils ne comprennent pas ce qu'on leur dit

La présentation d'un trouble mental ne signifie pas qu'il existe également une déficience intellectuelle. La plupart de ces patients sont parfaitement capables de comprendre n'importe quelle explication et même de prétendre ne pas avoir de problèmes émotionnels ou cognitifs au cours d'une conversation.Il est conseillé de ne pas traiter ces personnes avec condescendance et paternalisme , qui en pratique sont insultants.

  • Article connexe: "Déficience intellectuelle et développementale"

3. Ils perdent le contact avec la réalité

La croyance que la "folie" consiste à couper tout contact avec la réalité n’est plus qu’une excuse pour stigmatiser les personnes atteintes de troubles mentaux, un moyen de les séparer de la vie publique et de favoriser que leurs intérêts ne puissent pas transformer la société en faveur de valeurs plus inclusives.


Tout comme pendant des siècles, l'homosexualité a été marginalisée parce qu'elle avait le pouvoir de criminaliser des comportements en conflit avec le modèle de famille nucléaire, on parle aujourd'hui de l'absence supposée de critères de ces minorités pour les priver de nombreux droits (en faveur du reste du peuple).

Bien sûr, il n’existe aucune raison rationnelle pour laquelle il est possible de regrouper des personnes atteintes de troubles sous le label "folie" et on leur attribue l'incapacité de défendre leurs propres intérêts n'importe où et à tout moment.

4. Ils sont accrochés aux médicaments

D'une part, il est absolument faux que le fait de présenter un trouble mental implique de générer une relation de dépendance avec une drogue psychotrope. Beaucoup de gens décident de ne pas prendre de médicaments , ou son trouble est d’une intensité si faible que l’utilisation de ces substances n’est même pas envisagée pour le traiter.

En outre, même si une personne développe une dépendance à une drogue, cela ne signifie pas qu’elle acquiert un rang moral inférieur. Bien souvent, ce lien de dépendance apparaît assez rapidement et dans des situations de grandes difficultés et de fortes pressions. En partie, les drogues sont une réponse au besoin de créer des personnes qui s’adaptent à la société cela ne veut pas trop changer pour eux.

  • Article connexe: "Drogues psychotropes: des drogues qui agissent sur le cerveau"

5. Ce sont des gens violents

Bien que les personnes atteintes de troubles mentaux aient des raisons supplémentaires de faire l'expérience de l'anxiété, cela ne signifie pas pour autant qu'elles canalisent cet inconfort en le dirigeant contre les autres. En fait, dans de nombreux cas Sa tendance est de s'isoler afin de ne pas causer de gêne à vos amis et votre famille.

6. Les troubles mentaux sont un problème émotionnel

C’est l’une des interprétations classiques d’un courant de «thérapies alternatives» qui considère que les maladies et les troubles résultent de conflits émotionnels non résolus. Non seulement c'est totalement faux, mais c'est aussi une idée extrêmement préjudiciable, capable de causer de grandes douleurs chez les patients et leurs proches, voire de causer la mort.

La raison en est qu’ils tiennent la personne responsable de ce qui leur arrive, ce qui signifie en pratique que s'il n'y a pas d'amélioration, la situation est considérée comme quelque chose dont le patient est coupable , pour ne pas vouloir faire face à ces problèmes internes.

7. Ils peuvent guérir leurs troubles en en parlant

Le simple fait de recevoir des informations ou de mettre des mots sur ce que l'on ressent ne signifie pas récupérer. Les troubles mentaux vont au-delà du langage et bien que l’évolution des croyances aide, la récupération passe par d’autres moyens, par exemple en adoptant des habitudes différentes, des techniques appliquées à la maison, etc.

Le conseil n'est donc pas une option, car les troubles ne sont pas nés d'un manque d'information ou de l'absence de rationalité. Les fumeurs continuent à consommer des cigarettes même s’ils savent parfaitement que c’est nocif, de même que les troubles mentaux. Même en reconnaissant ces actions et pensées qui ne sont pas appropriées, elles se manifestent, car vous ne les contrôlez pas au moment où les symptômes se manifestent .

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Thérapie cognitive comportementale: qu'est-ce que c'est et sur quels principes est-elle basée?"

8. Une partie des symptômes de troubles mentaux sont des appels d'attention

Certaines personnes croient que les personnes atteintes de troubles mentaux aiment en faire une partie de leur identité avant d’autres, comme s'ils parlaient de ce genre de problème pour le plaisir de sentir l'attention des autres ou peut-être son admiration. Cependant, il s’agit d’une conception clairement solipsiste de l’expérience d’un trouble.

De la même manière qu’une mauvaise expérience au travail nous en fait parler, les troubles mentaux, dont les symptômes peuvent devenir plus douloureux et fréquents que la colère d’un patron, vous donnent naturellement envie de parler de temps en temps.


FAQ | SANTÉ MENTALE | JE RÉPONDS À VOS QUESTIONS (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes