yes, therapy helps!
Aprosodia: types and symptoms of this language deficit

Aprosodia: types and symptoms of this language deficit

July 28, 2022

Speech has its rhythm and its times . When we speak we do not just let go of an idea, we separate the words, we give more emphasis to some than to others and we structure our discourse. We pause and give an intonation and a melody that make communication an understandable flow of information in various aspects. This is derived from a large number of aspects, including emotionality and the sense of rhythm.

The prosody can be trained and is usually acquiring a greater wealth and skill in it as we learn. But some people, for different reasons, or fail to achieve this learning or even if they have lost it as a result of some type of brain injury. These people present aprosodia , a phenomenon of speech that can lead to communication difficulties. Let's see what it consists of.


  • You may be interested: "The 8 types of speech disorders"

What is aprosodia?

The aprosodia is considered a deficit or inability to understand and / or produce changes in the tone of the voice, rhythm or intonation . It is an alteration of one of the main verbal aspects of language, that is, one of the elements that allow us to vary the acoustics of the message we provide and that can have different effects on the message itself.

Considering that prosody allows us to provide information with emotional meaning, qualify or even imply the opposite of what is expressed, and also makes the message much more understandable to the recipient, we can consider that a person with aprosodia goes to show an inability to reflect your emotions in your voice, regulate the tone of voice or control the times and rhythms of speech , resulting in his speech much more difficult to interpret.


Your message will be much flatter, not knowing exactly what you want to emphasize unless you indicate it explicitly. Definitely, the speech of someone suffering from aprosodia tends to be monotonous and neutral . In some cases, you may not separate the words or phrases well, making comprehension even more complicated.

It will also have greater difficulty or even it can be difficult to understand elements such as changes in the voice of other people and what it may involve regarding the message. There may be difficulties in capturing emotions. But we are not before subjects who lack the ability to express their thoughts or have no emotions.

Neither are people who have to have any intellectual deficit or a neurodevelopmental disorder (although it often appears in some of them). They simply are not able to print their language of the intonation, the rhythm and the emotional meaning what other people do.


As a problem that affects communication, it can have different effects on the life of the sufferer. Although in itself it is not usually a serious limitation that prevents social participation or the performance of any action, the person can be seen as cold and strange . Their way of expressing themselves can lead to misunderstandings and discussions, which can cause some type of social rejection or even some difficulty at work. It is likely that there is an avoidance on the part of the affected party to start or maintain conversations.

Types of aprosodia

Not all subjects with aprosodia have the same difficulties. In fact, at the time the concept was proposed, the existence of different typologies was also proposed depending on the affected brain localization . Considering this aspect, we can find different typologies, but three main types stand out.

1. Sensory aprosodia

In this type of aprosodia the problem is at the level of understanding. The subject has severe difficulties at the time of understand and process changes in rhythms and intonation of others , may cost him to recognize the emotions of the recipients.

2. Motor aprosodia

In this type of aprosodia the problem is fundamentally the expression: as we have said before the subject has a monotonous language and lack of emotionality , not being able to modulate the voice correctly so that it offers information beyond the content of the message in question and / or not controlling the rhythm. It is also common to have a certain silence, facial rigidity and lack of gesticulation.

3. Mixed aprosodia

In this case, the two types of previous difficulties occur together.

What are your causes?

The causes of aprosodia can be multiple, but can usually be found in the presence of neurological alterations or injuries .

The different investigations carried out indicate that these lesions would be found generally in the temporal and parietal lobes of the right hemisphere of the brain, linked emotional expression and the use of rhythm.Specifically, the damage would correspond especially to the area of ​​Broca and the Wernicke area of ​​said hemisphere. It is a very common disorder in the clinical population, especially in those who have some type of aphasic problem.

These injuries can occur due to multiple conditions. It is frequent to appear before traumatism cranioencephalic , cerebrovascular accidents or neurodegenerative processes such as dementia (for example, it is common in dementias caused by Alzheimer's disease and Parkinson's).

It is also common and very characteristic of subjects with autism spectrum disorder. Likewise, aprosody appears associated with the consumption of substances such as alcohol, as in subjects with dependence to said substance or those subjects with fetal alcohol syndrome. Finally, it can appear in mental disorders such as schizophrenia, or in some cases in people who have experienced severe traumas.

Possible treatments

The aprosodia approach is usually multidisciplinary. Keep in mind that in most cases we are talking about the consequence of a brain injury, so that must be taken into account first what caused it .

One of the main strategies is to apply speech therapy techniques and treatment using modeling and techniques based on imitation in order to reduce their communicative limitations. It is also frequent that biofeedback is used, especially in the motor type. The work on emotional expression through different ways can also be very useful. Psychoeducation and information are also important in order that the person and the environment can understand what is happening and know how to take it and understand it.

Bibliographic references:

  • Ardila, A .; Arocho, J.L .; Labos, E. & Rodríguez, W. (2015). Dictionary of Neuropsychology.
  • Leon, S.A. & Rodríguez, A.D. (s.f.). Aprosodia and Its Treatment. American Speech Language Hearing Association. Florida.
  • Stringer, A. Y. (1996). Treatment of motor aprosodia with pitch biofeedback and expression modeling. Brain Inj., 10, 583-590.

Examples of different levels of severity in Childhood Apraxia of Speech (CAS) (July 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Aprosodia: types et symptômes de ce déficit linguistique

Aprosodia: types et symptômes de ce déficit linguistique

Octobre 30, 2022

La parole a son rythme et son temps . Lorsque nous parlons, nous ne lâchons pas une idée, nous séparons les mots, nous accordons plus d'importance à certains qu'à d'autres et nous structurons notre discours. Nous faisons une pause et donnons une intonation et une mélodie qui font de la communication un flux d’informations compréhensible sous différents aspects. Cela découle d'un grand nombre d'aspects, y compris l'émotivité et le sens du rythme.

La prosodie peut être formée et acquiert généralement une plus grande richesse et une plus grande compétence à mesure que nous apprenons. Mais certaines personnes, pour différentes raisons, ne parviennent pas à réaliser cet apprentissage ou même s’ils l’ont perdu suite à un type de lésion cérébrale. Ces personnes présentent aprosodia , un phénomène de parole pouvant entraîner des difficultés de communication. Voyons en quoi cela consiste.


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Les 8 types de troubles de la parole"

Qu'est-ce que aprosodia?

Aprosodia est considéré comme un déficit ou une incapacité à comprendre et / ou à produire changements dans le ton de la voix, du rythme ou de l'intonation . Il s’agit d’une modification de l’un des principaux aspects verbaux du langage, c’est-à-dire l’un des éléments nous permettant de faire varier l’acoustique du message que nous transmettons et qui peut avoir des effets différents sur le message lui-même.

Considérant que la prosodie nous permet de fournir des informations ayant une signification émotionnelle, de qualifier ou même d'impliquer le contraire de ce qui est exprimé, et rend également le message beaucoup plus compréhensible pour le destinataire, nous pouvons considérer qu'une personne atteinte d'aprosodia va: montrer une incapacité à refléter vos émotions dans votre voix, régler le ton de la voix ou contrôler les temps et les rythmes de la parole , ce qui rend son discours beaucoup plus difficile à interpréter.


Votre message sera beaucoup plus plat, ne sachant pas exactement ce que vous voulez souligner, à moins que vous ne l’indiquiez explicitement. Finalement, le discours d'une personne souffrant d'aprosodia a tendance à être monotone et neutre . Dans certains cas, vous pouvez ne pas bien séparer les mots ou les phrases, ce qui complique encore plus la compréhension.

Il sera également plus difficile, voire difficile, de comprendre des éléments tels que les changements de voix des autres et ce que cela peut impliquer en ce qui concerne le message. Il peut être difficile de capturer les émotions. Mais nous ne sommes pas devant des sujets qui n'ont pas la capacité d'exprimer leurs pensées ou qui n'ont aucune émotion.

Il ne s'agit pas non plus de personnes ayant un déficit intellectuel ou un trouble neurodéveloppemental (bien que cela apparaisse souvent dans certaines d'entre elles). Ils ne peuvent tout simplement pas imprimer leur langue de l'intonation, le rythme et la signification émotionnelle ce que font les autres


En tant que problème qui affecte la communication, il peut avoir différents effets sur la vie du patient. Bien que ce ne soit pas en soi une limitation sérieuse empêchant la participation sociale ou la réalisation de quelque action que ce soit, la personne peut être considérée comme froide et étrange . Leur façon de s’exprimer peut donner lieu à des malentendus et à des discussions, ce qui peut entraîner un certain rejet social ou même des difficultés au travail. Il est probable que la partie concernée évite d’engager ou de poursuivre des conversations.

Types d'aprosodia

Tous les sujets avec aprosodia n'ont pas les mêmes difficultés. En fait, au moment où le concept a été proposé, l’existence de différentes typologies a également été proposée. en fonction de la localisation du cerveau affecté . Compte tenu de cet aspect, on peut trouver différentes typologies, mais trois types principaux se dégagent.

1. Aprosodia sensorielle

Dans ce type d'aprosodia, le problème se situe au niveau de la compréhension. Le sujet a de graves difficultés au moment de comprendre et traiter les changements de rythme et d'intonation des autres , peut lui coûter de reconnaître les émotions des destinataires.

2. Moteur aprosodia

Dans ce type d'aprosodia, le problème est fondamentalement l'expression: comme nous l'avons dit avant a un langage monotone et manque d'émotivité , ne pouvant pas moduler correctement la voix afin qu’elle offre des informations allant au-delà du contenu du message en question et / ou ne contrôlant pas le rythme. Il est également courant d'avoir un certain silence, une rigidité faciale et un manque de gesticulation.

3. aprosodia mixte

Dans ce cas, les deux types de difficultés précédentes se rencontrent.

Quelles sont ses causes?

Les causes d’aprosodia peuvent être multiples, mais se trouvent généralement dans la présence d'altérations neurologiques ou de blessures .

Les différentes investigations effectuées indiquent que ces lésions seraient généralement retrouvées dans les lobes temporaux et pariétaux de l'hémisphère droit du cerveau, l'expression émotionnelle liée et l'utilisation du rythme.Plus précisément, les dommages correspondraient particulièrement aux régions de Broca et de Wernicke dudit hémisphère. C'est un trouble très courant dans la population clinique, en particulier chez ceux qui ont un type de problème aphasique.

Ces blessures peuvent survenir en raison de multiples conditions. Il est fréquent de comparaître devant un traumatisme cranio-encéphalique , accidents cérébrovasculaires ou processus neurodégénératifs tels que la démence (par exemple, il est fréquent dans les démences causées par la maladie d’Alzheimer et la maladie de Parkinson).

Il est également courant et très caractéristique des sujets atteints de troubles du spectre autistique. De même, l’aprosodie semble être associée à la consommation de substances telles que l’alcool, comme chez les sujets dépendants de cette substance ou les sujets atteints du syndrome d’alcoolisme foetal. Enfin, il peut apparaître dans des troubles mentaux tels que la schizophrénie ou, dans certains cas, chez des personnes ayant subi des traumatismes graves.

Traitements possibles

L'approche aprosodia est généralement multidisciplinaire. N'oubliez pas que dans la plupart des cas, nous parlons des conséquences d'une lésion cérébrale, de sorte doit être pris en compte en premier lieu la cause .

L'une des principales stratégies consiste à appliquer des techniques d'orthophonie et des traitements utilisant la modélisation et des techniques basées sur l'imitation afin de réduire leurs limitations en matière de communication. Il est également fréquent que le biofeedback soit utilisé, en particulier dans le type de moteur. Le travail sur l'expression émotionnelle de différentes manières peut également être très utile. La psychoéducation et l'information sont également importantes afin que la personne et l'environnement puissent comprendre ce qui se passe et savoir comment le prendre et le comprendre.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Ardila, A .; Arocho, J.L .; Labos, E. & Rodríguez, W. (2015). Dictionnaire de neuropsychologie.
  • Leon, S.A. & Rodríguez, A.D. (par exemple). Aprosodia et son traitement. American Speech Language Hearing Association. Floride
  • Stringer, A. Y. (1996). Traitement de l'aprosodia moteur avec biofeedback de la poix et modélisation de l'expression. Brain Inj., 10, 583-590.

Examples of different levels of severity in Childhood Apraxia of Speech (CAS) (Octobre 2022).


Articles Connexes