yes, therapy helps!
Dromophobia: characteristics, symptoms, causes and treatment

Dromophobia: characteristics, symptoms, causes and treatment

June 24, 2024

There are a large number of situations, people, objects or animals that generate an irrational fear in part of the population. All these make up a long list of phobias that most people face to a greater or lesser extent.

One of these phobias is dromphobia . This strange anxiety disorder prevents people who suffer from crossing any street or street, reaching to interfere in a very significant way in the daily routine of this.

  • Related article: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

What is dromatophobia?

Like the rest of phobias, the dromofobia is considered an anxiety disorder in which the person experiences an excessive and irrational terror to cross the street , and in which the extremely high anxiety he feels every time he has to cross a street inhibits him from doing so.


Despite the fact that dromatophobia is a little known phobia, it can become a very disabling disorder, in which people who suffer from it live many difficulties when residing in urban areas because of the fear they feel in the moment of crossing the street.

Fortunately, there are very effective treatments for dromatophobia thanks to which the person is able to overcome the phobia and lead a normal life.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 16 most common mental disorders"

Clinical features

As mentioned earlier, dromatophobia is considered an anxiety disorder. It is necessary to specify that the focus of the phobia is not the street or its intersections, but the action of crossing the street per se.


The main consequence of the dromphobia is that the person avoids all those situations or actions in which he must cross the street, to the point of getting to seclude yourself in your home , thus interfering with their daily obligations and needs.

Like many other anxiety disorders, dromatophobia is distinguished by being a phobic fear, which has the following characteristics:

  • Excessive and disproportionate fear taking into account the real danger of the situation
  • It is an irrational fear
  • The person is unable to master this fear
  • Generates avoidance behaviors of the situation
  • It's about constant fear and permanent

Symptomatology

The main symptom of the dromphobia is the experimentation of a great anxiety, with all the symptoms that this one has associated. This symptomatology does not appear continuously in time, only when the person confronts or knows that he is going to face the feared action, in this case crossing the street.


This symptomatology can be classified into three categories, according to physical, cognitive or behavioral symptoms.

1. Physical symptoms

In general any phobia, as well as the experimentation of an exaggerated fear produces a series of changes and alterations at a physical and organic level, due to the acceleration of the activity of the peripheral nervous system. These physical symptoms include:

  • Acceleration of heart rhythm
  • Increase in the respiratory rate
  • Palpitations
  • Feeling that air is missing
  • Muscular stiffness
  • Excessive sweating
  • Headaches
  • Gastric pain
  • Nausea, dizziness and fainting
  • Vomiting

2. Cognitive symptoms

These physical symptoms are accompanied in turn by a series of distorted and irrational thoughts about the situation or situations in which the person must cross the street.

These thoughts are distinguished by containing a high negative charge, in which the person can reach perceive that some type of accident or catastrophe may occur at the moment , or while crossing the street.

3. Behavioral symptoms

As usual in specific phobias, the phobia itself ends interfering in the behavior patterns of the person . Altering his way of proceeding in daily life and generating two types of response: avoidance behavior and escape from the situation.

Avoidance behaviors are those behaviors that the person with dromophobia performs in order to avoid having to perform the behavior, such as not leaving home. While escape behaviors originate when you are about to face the dreaded situation, an example would be crossing all the streets running.

Causes of dromatophobia

Although it is not always possible to detect at first sight, or know the causes of a phobia, there are a number of possible causes common to all phobias which encourage and promote them.

These mechanisms or associated risk factors are:

  • Genetic elements
  • Personality
  • Cognitive styles
  • Direct conditioning
  • Vicarial learning

Diagnosis

There is a series of established diagnostic criteria and mandatory compliance when evaluating and diagnosing a person with dromatophobia.

  • Excessive, persevering and irrational fear that originates from the anticipation of the action or the confrontation to it, in this case it is concreted in the action of crossing a street or urban route.
  • The patient admits that the fear he feels is exaggerated and illogical .
  • Exposure to the dreaded action immediately triggers an anxiety or crisis response.
  • The person avoids or dodges the situation.
  • The feeling of anxiety or fear , and the avoidant actions associated with it, interfere in a remarkable way in the person's daily life, or provoke a clinically relevant malaise.
  • The duration of symptoms must be at least 6 months.
  • The above symptoms they can not be explained by another type of mental disorder or illness .

Treatment

As discussed at the beginning of the article, despite how disabling this specific phobia can be, there are effective treatments for that the person may end up leading a normal rhythm and lifestyle .

In the case of phobias, the type of intervention with the highest success rate is cognitive-behavioral therapy, where systematic desensitization (DS) has been shown to be highly effective.

In this systematic desensitization the patient is exposed in an imaginary way to a series of situations related to the phobia, which are arranged gradually, from less to greater degree of fear. Likewise, Relaxation techniques are applied to decrease the level of anxiety.


Tellur - Zho (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Dromophobie: caractéristiques, symptômes, causes et traitement

Dromophobie: caractéristiques, symptômes, causes et traitement

Septembre 23, 2019

Un grand nombre de situations, personnes, objets ou animaux génèrent une peur irrationnelle chez une partie de la population. Tous ces éléments constituent une longue liste de phobies auxquelles la plupart des gens sont confrontés dans une mesure plus ou moins grande.

Une de ces phobies est la dromphobie . Cet étrange trouble anxieux empêche les personnes souffrant de traverser une rue ou une rue et de s'immiscer de manière considérable dans la routine quotidienne de cette activité.

  • Article connexe: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

Qu'est-ce que la dromatophobie?

Comme le reste des phobies, la dromofobie est considérée comme un trouble anxieux dans lequel la personne vit une terreur excessive et irrationnelle pour traverser la rue et dans laquelle l’anxiété extrêmement forte qu’il ressent chaque fois qu’il doit traverser une rue l’empêche de le faire.


Bien que la dromatophobie soit une phobie peu connue, elle peut devenir un trouble très invalidant, dans lequel les personnes qui en souffrent vivent beaucoup de difficultés lorsqu'elles résident dans des zones urbaines en raison de la peur qu'elles ressentent. le moment de traverser la rue.

Par chance, il existe des traitements très efficaces contre la dromatophobie grâce à quoi la personne est capable de surmonter sa phobie et de mener une vie normale.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 16 troubles mentaux les plus courants"

Caractéristiques cliniques

Comme mentionné précédemment, la dromatophobie est considérée comme un trouble anxieux. Il faut préciser que le centre de la phobie n'est pas la rue ou ses intersections, mais l'action de traverser la rue lui-même


La principale conséquence de la dromphobie est que la personne évite toutes les situations ou actions dans lesquelles elle doit traverser la rue, au point de vous isoler chez vous , interférant ainsi avec leurs obligations et besoins quotidiens.

Comme beaucoup d'autres troubles anxieux, la dromatophobie se distingue par une peur phobique, qui présente les caractéristiques suivantes:

  • Peur excessive et disproportionnée compte tenu du danger réel de la situation
  • C'est une peur irrationnelle
  • La personne est incapable de maîtriser cette peur
  • Génère des comportements d'évitement de la situation
  • Il s'agit d'une peur constante et permanent

Symptomatologie

Le principal symptôme de la dromphobie est l'expérimentation d'une grande anxiété, avec tous les symptômes que celle-ci a associés. Cette symptomatologie n'apparaît pas en permanence à temps, seulement lorsque la personne affronte ou sait qu'elle va faire face à l'action redoutée, dans ce cas, traverser la rue.


Cette symptomatologie peut être classée en trois catégories, selon les symptômes physiques, cognitifs ou comportementaux.

1. symptômes physiques

En général, toute phobie, ainsi que l'expérimentation d'une peur exagérée, produit une série de changements et d'altérations au niveau physique et organique, dues à l'accélération de l'activité du système nerveux périphérique. Ces symptômes physiques incluent:

  • Accélération du rythme cardiaque
  • Augmentation de la fréquence respiratoire
  • Palpitations
  • Sentant que l'air manque
  • Rigidité musculaire
  • Transpiration excessive
  • Maux de tête
  • Douleur gastrique
  • Nausée, vertiges et évanouissements
  • Vomissements

2. symptômes cognitifs

Ces symptômes physiques s'accompagnent à leur tour d'une série de pensées déformées et irrationnelles sur la situation ou les situations dans lesquelles la personne doit traverser la rue.

Ces pensées se distinguent en contenant une charge négative élevée, dans laquelle la personne peut atteindre percevoir qu'un certain type d'accident ou de catastrophe peut se produire au moment , ou en traversant la rue.

3. symptômes comportementaux

Comme d'habitude dans certaines phobies, la phobie elle-même se termine interférer dans les comportements de la personne . Changer sa façon de procéder dans la vie quotidienne et générer deux types de réponses: comportement d'évitement et évasion de la situation.

Les comportements d'évitement sont les comportements que la personne atteinte de dromophobie adopte afin d'éviter de devoir adopter ce comportement, par exemple ne pas quitter la maison. Tandis que les comportements d'évasion prennent naissance lorsque vous êtes sur le point de faire face à la situation redoutée, un exemple serait de traverser toutes les rues en courant.

Causes de la dromatophobie

Bien qu'il ne soit pas toujours possible de détecter à première vue ou de connaître les causes d'une phobie, il existe un certain nombre de causes possibles communes à toutes les phobies qui les encouragent et les favorisent.

Ces mécanismes ou facteurs de risque associés sont:

  • Éléments génétiques
  • Personnalité
  • Styles cognitifs
  • Conditionnement direct
  • Apprentissage par le vicariat

Diagnostic

Il existe une série de critères de diagnostic établis et de conformité obligatoire lors de l'évaluation et du diagnostic d'une personne atteinte de dromatophobie.

  • Une peur excessive, persévérante et irrationnelle qui découle de l’anticipation de l’action ou de sa confrontation, elle est concrétisée dans l’action de traverser une rue ou une voie urbaine.
  • Le patient admet que la peur qu'il ressent est exagérée et illogique .
  • L'exposition à l'action redoutée déclenche immédiatement une réaction d'anxiété ou de crise.
  • La personne évite ou esquive la situation.
  • Le sentiment d'anxiété ou de peur et les actions d'évitement qui y sont associées, interfèrent de manière remarquable dans la vie quotidienne de la personne ou provoquent un malaise cliniquement pertinent.
  • La durée des symptômes doit être d'au moins 6 mois.
  • Les symptômes ci-dessus ils ne peuvent pas être expliqués par un autre type de trouble mental ou de maladie .

Traitement

Comme discuté au début de l’article, malgré l’ampleur de cette phobie spécifique, il existe des traitements efficaces contre la que la personne puisse finir par suivre un rythme et un mode de vie normaux .

Dans le cas des phobies, le type d'intervention ayant le taux de réussite le plus élevé est la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale, où la désensibilisation systématique (DS) s'est avérée très efficace.

Dans cette désensibilisation systématique, le patient est exposé de manière imaginaire à une série de situations liées à la phobie, qui s’organisent progressivement, de moins en moins à craindre. De même Les techniques de relaxation sont appliquées diminuer le niveau d'anxiété.


Dromophobie (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes