yes, therapy helps!
The age of the father can influence the mental health of the child

The age of the father can influence the mental health of the child

January 29, 2023

A study published in JAMA Psychiatry affirms that Children born to parents over 45 years of age are at higher risk of suffering from psychological disorders in the future .

The relationship between the age of parents and psychological disorders

The study confirms research carried out in the past, which claimed that there was a relationship between certain disorders such as autism and children born to parents of advanced age.

According to the data published in this research, children of parents who have had their children past 45 years of age have a greater risk (up to 34 percent) of suffering from mental disorders such as bipolarity or schizophrenia.


In addition, this study also confirms that, compared to the descendants of young parents, the descendants of parents over 45 suffer more academic problems: a low IQ , low academic grades or a low educational level.

The study was carried out between Indiana and Sweden

The research has been carried out by the University of Indiana, in the United States, together with the Karolinska Institute, in Stockholm, Sweden. The data that were used were extracted from Swedish hospitals, and medical records of births produced between 1973 and 2001 were used. In total, 2.6 million subjects were counted.


The study compared the data provided by children born to parents over 45 years of age and the data provided by descendants of parents between 24 and 29 years of age.

Results

This study is not the first to find an association between the advanced age of the parents and mental disorders or educational problems of their children.

The results of the sample of Swedish subjects seem to indicate that there are numerous psychiatric problems and learning difficulties that can be suffered by the descendants of parents in old age , including: attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, suicide attempts and problems of substance abuse or autism.

Among the results obtained, it can be noted that there is 3.5 times more chance of suffering from autism if the parents are over 45 years old when the children are born, 2.5 times more likely that the children will develop suicidal behavior or 13 times more likely to suffer ADHD.


The causes

Past research already claimed that The aged uterus of a woman over 40 is a risk factor for her children , but this study seems to indicate that the sperm of the father older than 45 years can also bring negative consequences for the later development of the child, that is, the low semen quality of parents in advanced age can affect their children.

As the researchers say, men transmit to their children a higher percentage of spontaneous mutations (not hereditary) that cause psychological problems and future learning disorders. As the man gets older, he is exposed to more environmental toxins that can lead to DNA changes in his sperm.

Spaniards increasingly delay age to have children

The social conditions experienced by the population in Spain and the difficulties of leaving home and becoming independent before the age of 30, favors that the age of reproduction of Spaniards has changed in recent years, and there are many parents who have their first child after 30 .

Therefore, despite the fact that the delay in the age of procreation is seen as normal, health professionals have raised the alarm on numerous occasions and point out that procreation at late ages has negative consequences for the child.

Bibliographic references:

  • JAMA Psychiatry. 2014 Mar; 71 (3): 301-9. doi: 10.1001 / jamapsychiatry.2013.4081.

What is the most important influence on child development | Tom Weisner | TEDxUCLA (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'âge du père peut influencer la santé mentale de l'enfant

L'âge du père peut influencer la santé mentale de l'enfant

Octobre 25, 2021

Une étude publiée dans JAMA Psychiatrie affirme que Les enfants nés de parents âgés de plus de 45 ans risquent davantage de souffrir de troubles psychologiques à l'avenir .

La relation entre l'âge des parents et les troubles psychologiques

L'étude confirme les recherches effectuées dans le passé, selon lesquelles il existait une relation entre certains troubles, tels que l'autisme, et les enfants nés de parents d'un âge avancé.

Selon les données publiées dans cette étude, les enfants de parents ayant eu leurs enfants au-delà de 45 ans courent un risque plus élevé (jusqu'à 34%) de souffrir de troubles mentaux tels que la bipolarité ou la schizophrénie.


En outre, cette étude confirme également que, par rapport aux descendants de jeunes parents, les descendants de parents âgés de plus de 45 ans souffrent davantage de problèmes scolaires: faible QI , faibles notes académiques ou un faible niveau d'éducation.

L’étude a été réalisée entre l’Indiana et la Suède.

La recherche a été effectuée par l’Université d’Indiana, aux États-Unis, conjointement avec l’Institut Karolinska, à Stockholm, en Suède. Les données utilisées ont été extraites d’hôpitaux suédois et les dossiers médicaux des naissances produits entre 1973 et 2001. Au total, 2,6 millions de sujets ont été comptés.


L'étude a comparé les données fournies par les enfants de parents âgés de plus de 45 ans et celles fournies par les descendants de parents âgés de 24 à 29 ans.

Les résultats

Cette étude n’est pas la première à trouver une association entre l’âge avancé des parents et les troubles mentaux ou les problèmes d’éducation de leurs enfants.

Les résultats de l’échantillon de sujets suédois semblent indiquer que il y a de nombreux problèmes psychiatriques et difficultés d'apprentissage que peuvent souffrir les descendants de parents âgés , incluant: le trouble déficitaire de l'attention avec hyperactivité (TDAH), le trouble bipolaire, la schizophrénie, les tentatives de suicide et les problèmes de toxicomanie ou d'autisme.

Parmi les résultats obtenus, il est à noter qu'il y a 3,5 fois plus de risque de souffrir d'autisme si les parents ont plus de 45 ans à la naissance des enfants, 2,5 fois plus de risques de développer un comportement suicidaire ou 13 fois plus de souffrir TDAH.


Les causes

Des recherches antérieures ont déjà affirmé que L'utérus âgé d'une femme de plus de 40 ans est un facteur de risque pour ses enfants , mais cette étude semble indiquer que le sperme du père âgé de plus de 45 ans peut aussi avoir des conséquences négatives sur le développement ultérieur de l'enfant, c'est-à-dire faible qualité de sperme des parents en âge avancé peuvent affecter leurs enfants.

Comme le disent les chercheurs, les hommes transmettent à leurs enfants un pourcentage plus élevé de mutations spontanées (non héréditaires) causant des problèmes psychologiques et des troubles de l'apprentissage à venir. Au fur et à mesure que l'homme vieillit, il est exposé à davantage de toxines environnementales pouvant entraîner des modifications de l'ADN de son sperme.

Les Espagnols retardent de plus en plus l'âge pour avoir des enfants

Les conditions sociales de la population espagnole et les difficultés à quitter son domicile et à devenir indépendantes avant l'âge de 30 ans montrent que l'âge de reproduction des Espagnols a changé au cours des dernières années. de nombreux parents ont leur premier enfant après 30 ans .

Par conséquent, bien que le retard dans l'âge de procréation soit considéré comme normal, les professionnels de la santé ont sonné l'alarme à de nombreuses reprises et ont souligné que la procréation tardive avait des conséquences négatives pour l'enfant.

Références bibliographiques:

  • JAMA psychiatrie. 2014 mars; 71 (3): 301-9. doi: 10.1001 / jamapsychiatry.2013.4081.

Ma femme est partie avec mes enfants dans une secte ! (Octobre 2021).


Articles Connexes