yes, therapy helps!
Autonomic nervous system: structures and functions

Autonomic nervous system: structures and functions

May 1, 2024

Throughout our lives we perform a lot of actions. We run, we jump, we talk ... All these acts are voluntary elements that we do voluntarily. However, also we do a lot of things that we are not even aware of, many of which are in fact those that keep us alive and with the possibility of doing the voluntary ones, such as the control of the heart and respiratory rhythm, the acceleration or deceleration of the physiological systems or the digestion.

At the neurological level, these two types of actions are carried out by two differentiated systems, carrying out the conscious actions by the somatic nervous system and the unconscious ones by the autonomic nervous system .


What is the vegetative nervous system?

The autonomic nervous system, also called vegetative nervous system , is one of the two divisions that have been made of the nervous system at the functional level. This system takes care of connect the neurons of the central nervous system with those of the rest of the body systems and organs , forming part of both the central nervous system and peripheral. Its basic function is the control of the internal processes of the organism, that is to say of the viscera, being the processes ruled by this system alien to our will.

The connections with the different target organs of this system are both motor and sensitive, having both eferences and afferences. It is therefore a system that sends information from the parts of the brain to the organs, provoking in them a specific reaction or action while at the same time recapturing information about their status and sending it to the brain, where it can be processed and act accordingly. . Despite this, in the autonomic nervous system the presence of eferences predominates , that is to say, that its function is mostly to emit signals in the direction of the organs.


The neurons of the autonomic nervous system that connect with the various organs of the body do so as a rule through the ganglia, having pre and postganglionic neurons . The action of the preganglionic neuron is always due to the action of acetylcholine, but in the neuron that interacts between the ganglion and the target organ the hormone released will vary according to the subsystem (acetylcholine in the parasympathetic nervous system and noradrenaline in the sympathetic nervous system) .

Principal function

The autonomic nervous system is one of the most vital systems to keep us alive, mainly due to the function it performs.

The main function of this system is the control, as we have previously indicated, of unconscious and involuntary processes, such as respiration, blood circulation or digestion. It is responsible for keeping fit and activated the processes of the internal organs and viscera , at the same time that allows the detection and control of internal problems .


It also prepares us to deal with specific situations mediated by the environment, such as the secretion of saliva or digestive enzymes in view of food, the activation of possible threats or the deactivation and regeneration of the system through rest.

What controls the autonomic nervous system?

As part of the nervous system responsible for controlling the proper unconscious visceral functioning, the autonomic or vegetative nervous system is innervating most organs and body systems, with the exception of the muscles and joints that govern voluntary movement.

Specifically, we can find that this system controls the smooth musculature of the viscera and various organs such as the heart or lungs . It also participates in the synthesis and expulsion of most secretions to the outside of the body and part of the endocrine, as well as in metabolic processes and reflexes.

Some of the organs and systems in which this system has participation are the following.

1. Vision

The autonomic nervous system governs the opening of the pupil and the ability to focus the gaze , connecting with the muscles of the iris and the eye.

2. Heart and blood vessels

The heartbeat and blood pressure they are fundamental elements for the human being, which are governed unconsciously. In this way, it is the vegetative nervous system that is responsible for regulating these vital elements that keep us alive second by second.

3. Lungs

While we are able to control breathing to a certain extent the fact of breathing continuously is not conscious , as well as as a general rule, neither is the rhythm with which we need to inhale. Thus, breathing is also partially controlled by the autonomic nervous system.

4. Digestive tube

Through food the human being is able to acquire the various nutrients that the body needs to continue functioning. While the eating behavior is consciously controlled by the process by which the digestive tube transforms the food and acquires the necessary components, not being the set of actions that the body performs during digestion involuntary and governed by the autonomic nervous system.

5. Genitals

Although the sexual act itself is performed consciously, the set of elements and physiological reactions that allow its realization are controlled primarily by the autonomous system, which governs processes such as erection and ejaculation . In addition, these processes become complicated when you experience a sense of fear or anxiety, something that links you to various physiological states.

6. Secretion of enzymes and waste

Tears, sweat, urine and feces are some of the substances that the body expels to the environment. Its secretion and expulsion is due to and / or may be altered in part due to the functioning of the autonomic nervous system . The same happens with the secretion of digestive enzymes and saliva.

Parts of the autonomic nervous system

Within the autonomic nervous system we can find a series of very important subdivisions that perform differentiated functions . Specifically highlight the sympathetic nervous system and the parasympathetic , that perform opposite functions in order to allow the existence of a balance in the activity of the organism. You can also find a third system, the enteric system , which is mainly responsible for the control of the digestive tract.

1. Sympathetic nervous system

Being one of the divisions of the autonomic nervous system, the sympathetic system is responsible for preparing the agency for action , facilitating the fight or flight response to threatening stimuli. For this it produces an acceleration of some systems of the organism and inhibits the functioning of others, making a great expenditure of energy in the process.

The mission of this part of the autonomic nervous system is to prepare the body to respond agilely to situations of risk, subtracting priority to certain biological processes and granting them to those that allow us to react with agility. That is why its function is of ancestral characteristics, although that is not the least useful; it adapts to the situations of modern life and can be activated by relatively abstract ideas, such as the certainty that we will be late for a business meeting.

2. Parasympathetic nervous system

This branch of the autonomic nervous system is the one is responsible for returning to a state of rest after a period of high energy expenditure . It is responsible for regulating and decelerating the body, allowing energy recovery while allowing the operation of various systems. In other words, it is responsible for the regeneration of the organism, although it also intervenes in the generation of orgasm, something that does not seem to have much to do with the other functions with which it shares biological roots.

3. Enteric nervous system

While the parasympathetic nervous system also has a clear influence on the digestive tract , there is a subdivision of the autonomic nervous system that specializes almost exclusively in the system by which we incorporate nutrients into our body. It is the enteric system, which innervates the digestive tract and regulates its normal functioning.

As it is responsible for one of the most important systems for survival, the enteric nervous system must be essentially automatic, and constantly worry about maintaining the biochemical balance that exists in the different media of the organism, adapting to the alterations that may occur depending on what is ingested, of the state of activation, of the hormones circulating in the blood, etc.

Bibliographic references

  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H. & Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principles of neuroscience. Fourth edition. McGraw-Hill Interamericana. Madrid.
  • Guyton, A. C. & Hall, J. (2006). Treaty of Medical Physiology. Elsevier; 11th edition.
  • Snell, R.D. (1997). Autonomic nervous system. In: Clinical neuroanatomy, (pp 449-478). Buenos Aires: Panamericana.

Autonomic Nervous System: Crash Course A&P #13 (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Système nerveux autonome: structures et fonctions

Système nerveux autonome: structures et fonctions

Juillet 26, 2022

Tout au long de notre vie, nous effectuons beaucoup d'actions. Nous courons, nous sautons, nous parlons ... Tous ces actes sont des éléments volontaires que nous faisons volontairement. Cependant, aussi nous faisons beaucoup de choses dont nous ne sommes même pas conscients, beaucoup sont en fait ceux qui nous maintiennent en vie et avec la possibilité de faire des volontaires, tels que le contrôle du rythme cardiaque et respiratoire, l'accélération ou la décélération des systèmes physiologiques ou la digestion.

Au niveau neurologique, ces deux types d’actions sont réalisées par deux systèmes différenciés, réalisant les actions conscientes par le système nerveux somatique. et les inconscients par le système nerveux autonome .


Quel est le système nerveux végétatif?

Le système nerveux autonome, aussi appelé système nerveux végétatif , est l’une des deux divisions du système nerveux au niveau fonctionnel. Ce système prend en charge relier les neurones du système nerveux central à ceux du reste des systèmes et des organes du corps , faisant partie à la fois du système nerveux central et périphérique. Sa fonction fondamentale est le contrôle des processus internes de l'organisme, c'est-à-dire des viscères, processus régis par ce système étranger à notre volonté.

Les connexions avec les différents organes cibles de ce système sont à la fois motrices et sensibles, et ont à la fois des références et des afférences. C'est donc un système qui envoie des informations des parties du cerveau aux organes, provoquant en eux une réaction ou une action spécifique, tout en récupérant des informations sur leur statut et les envoyant au cerveau, où elles peuvent être traitées et agies en conséquence. . Malgré cela, dans le système nerveux autonome la présence d'éférences prédomine , c’est-à-dire que sa fonction est principalement d’émettre des signaux en direction des organes.


Les neurones du système nerveux autonome qui se connectent aux divers organes du corps le font généralement par les ganglions, ayant des neurones pré et postganglionnaires . L'action du neurone préganglionnaire est toujours due à l'action de l'acétylcholine, mais dans le neurone qui interagit entre le ganglion et l'organe cible, l'hormone libérée varie en fonction du sous-système (acétylcholine dans le système nerveux parasympathique et noradrénaline dans le système nerveux sympathique). .

Fonction principale

Le système nerveux autonome est l’un des systèmes les plus vitaux pour nous maintenir en vie, principalement en raison de la fonction qu’il remplit.

La fonction principale de ce système est le contrôle, comme nous l’avons indiqué précédemment, des processus inconscients et involontaires, tels que la respiration, la circulation sanguine ou la digestion. Il est responsable de garder la forme et d'activer les processus des organes internes et des viscères , tandis que permet la détection et le contrôle des problèmes internes .


Cela nous prépare également à faire face à des situations spécifiques médiatisées par l'environnement, telles que la sécrétion de salive ou d'enzymes digestives en vue de l'alimentation, l'activation de menaces éventuelles ou la désactivation et la régénération du système par le repos.

Qu'est-ce qui contrôle le système nerveux autonome?

En tant que partie du système nerveux responsable du contrôle du bon fonctionnement viscéral inconscient, le système nerveux autonome ou végétatif innerve la plupart des organes et systèmes du corps, à l'exception des muscles et des articulations qui régissent les mouvements volontaires.

Plus précisément, nous pouvons trouver que ce système contrôle la musculature lisse des viscères et de divers organes tels que le cœur ou les poumons . Il participe également à la synthèse et à l'expulsion de la plupart des sécrétions vers l'extérieur du corps et une partie du système endocrinien, ainsi qu'aux processus et aux réflexes métaboliques.

Certains des organes et systèmes dans lesquels ce système a une participation sont les suivants.

1. vision

Le système nerveux autonome régit la ouverture de l'élève et capacité à focaliser le regard , reliant les muscles de l’iris et de l’œil.

2. Cœur et vaisseaux sanguins

Le rythme cardiaque et la pression artérielle ce sont des éléments fondamentaux pour l'être humain, qui sont gouvernés inconsciemment. De cette manière, c'est le système nerveux végétatif qui est responsable de la régulation de ces éléments vitaux qui nous maintient en vie seconde par seconde.

3. poumons

Alors que nous sommes capables de contrôler la respiration dans une certaine mesure le fait de respirer continuellement n'est pas conscient , ainsi qu’en règle générale, le rythme avec lequel nous devons respirer n’est pas non plus. Ainsi, la respiration est également partiellement contrôlée par le système nerveux autonome.

4. tube digestif

Grâce à la nourriture, l'être humain est capable d'acquérir les divers nutriments dont le corps a besoin pour continuer à fonctionner. Bien que le comportement alimentaire soit contrôlé consciemment par le processus par lequel le tube digestif transforme la nourriture et acquiert les composants nécessaires, sans être l'ensemble des actions que le corps effectue pendant la digestion involontaire et régi par le système nerveux autonome.

5. organes génitaux

Bien que l'acte sexuel lui-même soit accompli consciemment, l'ensemble des éléments et réactions physiologiques qui en permettent la réalisation est principalement contrôlé par le système autonome. régit les processus tels que l'érection et l'éjaculation . En outre, ces processus se compliquent lorsque vous éprouvez un sentiment de peur ou d’anxiété, ce qui vous lie à divers états physiologiques.

6. Sécrétion d'enzymes et de déchets

Les larmes, la sueur, l'urine et les matières fécales font partie des substances que l'organisme expulse dans l'environnement. Sa sécrétion et son expulsion sont dues et / ou peuvent être altérées en partie à cause du fonctionnement du système nerveux autonome . La même chose se produit avec la sécrétion d'enzymes digestives et de la salive.

Parties du système nerveux autonome

Dans le système nerveux autonome, on peut trouver une série de subdivisions très importantes qui remplissent des fonctions différenciées . Spécifiquement mettre en évidence le système nerveux sympathique et le parasympathique , qui remplissent des fonctions opposées afin de permettre l’existence d’un équilibre dans l’activité de l’organisme. Vous pouvez également trouver un troisième système, le système entérique , qui est principalement responsable du contrôle du tube digestif.

1. Système nerveux sympathique

Être une des divisions du système nerveux autonome, le système sympathique est responsable de la préparation de l'agence pour l'action , facilitant la réponse de combat ou de fuite à des stimuli menaçants. Pour cela, il produit une accélération de certains systèmes de l'organisme et inhibe le fonctionnement des autres, entraînant une grande dépense d'énergie.

La mission de cette partie du système nerveux autonome est de préparer le corps à réagir avec agilité aux situations de risque, en soustrayant la priorité à certains processus biologiques et en les accordant à ceux qui nous permettent de réagir avec agilité. C'est pourquoi sa fonction a des caractéristiques ancestrales, bien que ce ne soit pas le moins utile; il s'adapte aux situations de la vie moderne et peut être activé par des idées relativement abstraites, telles que la certitude que nous serons en retard pour une réunion de travail.

2. Système nerveux parasympathique

Cette branche du système nerveux autonome est celle est responsable du retour au repos après une période de forte dépense énergétique . Il est responsable de la régulation et de la décélération du corps, permettant la récupération d'énergie tout en permettant le fonctionnement de divers systèmes. En d'autres termes, il est responsable de la régénération de l'organisme, bien qu'il intervienne également dans la génération de l'orgasme, ce qui ne semble pas avoir grand chose à voir avec les autres fonctions avec lesquelles il partage des racines biologiques.

3. Système nerveux entérique

Bien que le système nerveux parasympathique ait également une nette influence sur le tube digestif , il existe une subdivision du système nerveux autonome qui se spécialise presque exclusivement dans le système par lequel nous incorporons des nutriments dans notre corps. C'est le système entérique, qui innerve le tube digestif et régule son fonctionnement normal.

En tant qu’il est responsable de l’un des systèmes les plus importants pour la survie, le système nerveux entérique doit être essentiellement automatique et se préoccuper constamment du maintien de l’équilibre biochimique existant dans les différents milieux de ce qui est ingéré, de l'état d'activation, des hormones circulant dans le sang, etc.

Références bibliographiques

  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H. & Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principes de neuroscience. Quatrième édition. McGraw-Hill Interamericana. Madrid
  • Guyton, A.C. et Hall, J. (2006). Traité de physiologie médicale. Elsevier; 11ème édition.
  • Snell, R.D. (1997). Système nerveux autonome Dans: Neuroanatomie clinique, (pp 449-478). Buenos Aires: Panamericana.

Système nerveux central et système nerveux périphérique (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes