yes, therapy helps!
Temporal lobe: structure and functions

Temporal lobe: structure and functions

June 24, 2021

Although the brain as a whole works in a continuous interaction between the different brain areas, the studies carried out from the neurosciences show that many of the aptitudes, abilities, capacities and functions of the nervous system are especially linked to certain regions.

In this sense, the human cerebral cortex has traditionally been divided into five sections, called the lobes of the brain. One of them is the temporal lobe, fundamental brain region for fundamental skills such as speech or auditory perception, in addition to being closely linked to affectivity, memory and recognition.

Location of the temporal lobe

The temporal lobe It is located on the lower side of the brain, approximately at the height of the ears . This region is anatomically separated from the parietal lobe, which corresponds to the upper lateral zone, by the Sylvian fissure, and is in close contact with the occipital lobe. Also, it is the lobe with the greatest connection to the limbic system (together with the orbito-frontal area), thus having great influence on emotions and moods, as well as memory.


It is necessary to keep in mind that there are actually two temporal lobes, one in each cerebral hemisphere. This consideration is relevant, since some of the functions of this lobe are located in most people in a specific hemisphere. However, when due to neurological alterations a part of a temporal lobe stops functioning, these functions can be performed totally or partially by its counterpart in the opposite hemisphere.

Most relevant brain locations

Within the temporal lobe there are a large number of structures . This is so because in this area of ​​the cerebral cortex there are many interconnections coming from different parts of the brain, some of which do not bear much resemblance to each other in terms of their functions. Actually, the concept of temporal lobe responds to criteria much more anatomical than functional, so it is natural that there are groups of nerve cells and small organs specialized in different tasks.


This causes the temporal lobe to incorporate groups of neurons in charge of performing many tasks, for example, integrating types of perceptual information that come from different senses. This is what makes it have an important role in the language, mental function in which they have to see sounds, letters, etc.

Some of the most relevant parts of the temporal lobe They are the following.

1. Auditory cortex

The primary, secondary and associative auditory cortices are located in the temporal lobe . These areas of the brain are responsible for, in addition to perceiving sounds, perform the encoding, decoding and interpretation of auditory information, being an essential element for survival and communication. In this last aspect he emphasizes his participation in the understanding of speech, which occurs in the Wernicke area.


2. Wernicke area

Within the secondary auditory area of ​​the dominant cerebral hemisphere, which is generally the left hemisphere for the majority of the population, the Wernicke area can be found. This area is the main person in charge of understanding the language , allowing verbal communication between individuals. However, the production of language occurs in another area known as the Broca area, located in the frontal cortex.

3. Angular turn

This area is of special relevance, because it is what allows literacy . It associates visual and auditory information, allowing each grapheme to assign its corresponding phoneme and making it possible for a change in the type of data with which the brain works, from images to sounds with a symbolic component.

In people with injuries in this area, the reading is usually affected, being very slow or non-existent.

4. Supramarginal rotation

It is part of the tertiary sensitive area . This turn participates in tactile recognition, in addition to participating in the language. Thanks to it we are able to recognize the relief of letters through the fingers and associate them with sounds.

5. Temporary medial

This area, which includes the hippocampal region and several relevant cortices, participates in memory and recognition , processing the information and helping to move from short-term memory to long-term memory. The left hemisphere is in charge of verbal information, while visual patterns are stored in the right hemisphere.

It is in this area of ​​the temporal lobe where the first lesions appear in Alzheimer's, producing its initial symptoms.

6. Area of ​​parieto-temporo-occipital association

It is an area of ​​association that is responsible for integrating visual, auditory and somatic perception . Among many other functions of great relevance, its participation in the perception and attention to space stands out, being able to cause his injury the suffering of a heminegligencia.

7. Area of ​​association of the limbic system

This part of the temporal lobe is responsible for providing emotional information to perceptions , integrating emotion and perception. It also participates in memory and learning. Also, other research has shown that it also has to do with the regulation of sexual behavior and the maintenance of emotional stability.

In short, this part of the temporal lobe integrates mental processes linked to emotions and allows our experiences to leave a mark on us that goes beyond what we can explain with words.

Disorders arising from injuries in the temporal

All the areas we have seen are of great importance for the proper functioning of the human organism in general and the temporal lobes in particular.

But nevertheless, it is not uncommon for accidents, diseases and alterations to occur that can cause a malfunction of some of them. Let's see some typical disorders of the temporal lesion.

1. Cortical deafness

This disorder supposes the total loss of the auditory faculty , even though the sensory organs work correctly. That is to say, the auditory information reaches the perceptive organs, but it does not get processed by the brain, with which the perception of the sound is completely lost. This alteration is produced by the destruction of the primary and secondary auditory cortices, or the nerve pathways that access them, of both hemispheres.

2. Hemiacusia

As with deafness, this affectation is produced by the destruction of the primary and secondary auditory cortex, with the difference that this destruction has only occurred in one hemisphere . In this way, the hearing of the opposite ear to the hemisphere in which the injury has occurred is completely lost, but since the auditory cortices of the other hemisphere remain functional, hearing is possible through the other ear.

3. Prosopagnosia

In cases of prosopagnosia, the affected person loses the ability to recognize faces, even of their most loved ones. The recognition of people has to occur through other ways of processing the brain.

This alteration is caused by bilateral injury in the temporoccipital area .

4. Heminegligencia

Caused by the affectation of the parieto-temporo-occipital association area, this disorder involves the difficulty to orient, act or respond to stimuli that occur on the opposite side with respect to the injured hemisphere . The attention towards that perceptive hemifield ceases, although the person himself can move so that the stimuli that are lost are within the reach of the functional perceptual field. It usually appears together with anosognosia, which is ignorance of the existence of an alteration.

5. Aphasias

Aphasias are understood as language disorders due to brain injury . The effects vary according to the location of the lesion, and when it affects the temporal lobe there are certain characteristic symptoms.

Of the aphasias that are produced by a lesion in the temporal highlight Wernicke's aphasia (caused by an injury in the area of ​​the same name, in which there is a loss or difficulty in verbal understanding and repetition, which causes serious problems who suffers it), the anomic (loss or difficulty finding the name of things, produced by injuries in associative temporo-parieto-occipital areas) or the sensory transcortical (in which there are difficulties in understanding but not in repetition , being the product of injuries in associative temporo-parieto-occipital areas).

If the connection of the Wernicke area with the area of ​​Broca, the arcuate fasciculus, is damaged, the so-called driving aphasia will be produced, in which the difficulty in repetition and a somewhat altered understanding stand out, but a good creep is maintained.

6. Antegrade amnesia

This disorder implies the inability to record new material in the memory . That is, it is impossible for the patient to recover (whether permanent or temporary incapacity) the declarative information of the activity performed after the injury.

This alteration is produced by lesion in the medial temporal lobe, especially in the hippocampus. Lesions in the left hemisphere will affect verbal information, while in the right the involvement will tend to be of other ways or nonverbal.

7. Klüver-Bucy syndrome

It is a very common disorder in dementia, such as Alzheimer's . This affectation is characterized by the presence of meekness, passivity, hyperorality, difficulties of sustained attention, disappearance of fear and hypersexuality. Occurs in medial temporal lesions bilaterally.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association (2002). DSM-IV-TR.Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Spanish edition. Barcelona: Masson. (Original in English of 2000).
  • Baños, R. and Perpiña, C. (2002). Psychopathological exploration. Madrid: Synthesis.
  • Belloch, A., Baños, R. and Perpiñá, C. (2008) Psychopathology of perception and imagination. In A. Belloch, B. Sandín and F. Ramos (Eds.) Manual of Psychopathology (2nd edition). Vol I. Madrid: McGraw Hill Interamericana.
  • Carlson, N.R. (2005). Physiology of behavior. Madrid: Pearson Education
  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H .; Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principles of Neuroscience. Madrird: MacGrawHill
  • Kolb, B. & Wishaw, I. (2006). Human neuropsychology Madrid: Panamericana Medical Publishing House
  • Manes, F. and Niro, M. (2014). Use the brain Buenos Aires: Planet.
  • Netter, F. (1989). Nervous system. Anatomy and physiology Volume 1.1. Barcelona: Salvat
  • Young, P.A. & Young, P.H. (2004). Clinical and functional neuroanatomy. Barcelona: Masson

067 The Anatomy and Functions of the Occipital and Temporal Lobes (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Lobe temporal: structure et fonctions

Lobe temporal: structure et fonctions

Avril 15, 2021

Bien que le cerveau dans son ensemble fonctionne dans une interaction continue entre les différentes zones du cerveau, les études menées à partir des neurosciences montrent que nombre des aptitudes, capacités, capacités et fonctions du système nerveux sont particulièrement liées à certaines régions.

En ce sens, le cortex cérébral humain a été traditionnellement divisé en cinq sections, appelées les lobes du cerveau. L’un d’eux est le lobe temporal, région cérébrale fondamentale pour des compétences fondamentales telles que la parole ou la perception auditive, en plus d'être étroitement lié à l'affectivité, à la mémoire et à la reconnaissance.

Localisation du lobe temporal

Le lobe temporal Il est situé sur la partie inférieure du cerveau, approximativement à la hauteur des oreilles . Cette région est séparée anatomiquement du lobe pariétal, qui correspond à la zone latérale supérieure, par la fissure de Sylvian et est en contact étroit avec le lobe occipital. En outre, il s'agit du lobe ayant le plus grand lien avec le système limbique (ainsi que la zone orbito-frontale), ce qui a une grande influence sur les émotions et les humeurs, ainsi que sur la mémoire.


Il faut garder à l'esprit qu'il existe en réalité deux lobes temporaux, un dans chaque hémisphère cérébral. Cette considération est pertinente, car certaines des fonctions de ce lobe sont localisées chez la plupart des gens dans un hémisphère spécifique. Cependant, lorsqu'une partie d'un lobe temporal cesse de fonctionner en raison d'altérations neurologiques, ces fonctions peuvent être remplies totalement ou partiellement par sa contrepartie située dans l'hémisphère opposé.

Les endroits les plus pertinents du cerveau

Dans le lobe temporal, il existe un grand nombre de structures . En effet, dans cette zone du cortex cérébral, de nombreuses interconnexions proviennent de différentes parties du cerveau, dont certaines ne ressemblent pas beaucoup à leurs fonctions. En réalité, le concept de lobe temporal répond à des critères beaucoup plus anatomiques que fonctionnels, il est donc naturel qu'il existe des groupes de cellules nerveuses et de petits organes spécialisés dans différentes tâches.


Cela amène le lobe temporal à incorporer des groupes de neurones chargés d'effectuer de nombreuses tâches, par exemple, l'intégration de types d'informations de perception provenant de différents sens. C'est ce qui fait qu'il joue un rôle important dans la langue, la fonction mentale dans laquelle ils doivent voir les sons, les lettres, etc.

Certaines des parties les plus pertinentes du lobe temporal Ils sont les suivants.

1. cortex auditif

Les cortex auditifs primaire, secondaire et associatif sont situés dans le lobe temporal . Ces zones du cerveau sont responsables, outre la perception des sons, de l'encodage, du décodage et de l'interprétation des informations auditives, constituant un élément essentiel de la survie et de la communication. Dans ce dernier aspect, il souligne sa participation à la compréhension de la parole, qui se produit dans la région de Wernicke.


2. région de Wernicke

Dans la région auditive secondaire de l'hémisphère cérébral dominant, qui est généralement l'hémisphère gauche de la majorité de la population, se trouve la région de Wernicke. Cette zone est la principale personne responsable de la compréhension de la langue , permettant la communication verbale entre les individus. Cependant, la production du langage a lieu dans une autre zone appelée zone de Broca, située dans le cortex frontal.

3. virage angulaire

Ce domaine revêt une importance particulière, car c’est ce qui permet l’alphabétisation. . Il associe des informations visuelles et auditives, permettant à chaque graphème d'attribuer son phonème correspondant et rendant possible un changement du type de données avec lequel le cerveau travaille, des images aux sons à composante symbolique.

Chez les personnes blessées dans ce domaine, la lecture est généralement affectée, étant très lente ou inexistante.

4. Rotation supramarginale

Il fait partie de la zone sensible tertiaire . Ce tour participe à la reconnaissance tactile, en plus de participer à la langue. Grâce à cela, nous pouvons reconnaître le relief des lettres à travers les doigts et les associer à des sons.

5. Médial temporaire

Cette zone, qui comprend la région de l'hippocampe et plusieurs cortex pertinents, participe à la mémoire et à la reconnaissance , traitant l’information et aidant à passer de la mémoire à court terme à la mémoire à long terme. L’hémisphère gauche est responsable de l’information verbale, tandis que les schémas visuels sont stockés dans l’hémisphère droit.

C'est dans cette région du lobe temporal que les premières lésions apparaissent dans la maladie d'Alzheimer, produisant ses symptômes initiaux.

6. Zone d'association pariéto-temporo-occipitale

C’est un espace d’association responsable de l’intégration de la perception visuelle, auditive et somatique . Parmi de nombreuses autres fonctions d'une grande pertinence, se distingue sa participation à la perception et son attention à l'espace, pouvant causer à sa blessure la souffrance d'une héminegligence.

7. Zone d'association du système limbique

Cette partie du lobe temporal est chargée de fournir des informations émotionnelles aux perceptions , intégrant émotion et perception. Il participe également à la mémoire et à l'apprentissage. En outre, d'autres recherches ont montré que cela avait également à voir avec la régulation du comportement sexuel et le maintien de la stabilité émotionnelle.

En bref, cette partie du lobe temporal intègre les processus mentaux liés aux émotions et permet à nos expériences de nous laisser une marque qui dépasse ce que nous pouvons expliquer avec des mots.

Troubles résultant de blessures dans le temporal

Tous les domaines que nous avons vus sont d’une grande importance pour le bon fonctionnement de l’organisme humain en général et des lobes temporaux en particulier.

Cependant, il n’est pas rare que des accidents, des maladies et des modifications se produisent, susceptibles de provoquer un dysfonctionnement de certains d'entre eux. Voyons quelques troubles typiques de la lésion temporale.

1. Surdité corticale

Ce trouble suppose la perte totale de la faculté auditive , même si les organes sensoriels fonctionnent correctement. C'est-à-dire que les informations auditives atteignent les organes perceptifs, mais elles ne sont pas traitées par le cerveau, avec lequel la perception du son est complètement perdue. Cette altération est produite par la destruction des cortex auditifs primaire et secondaire, ou des voies nerveuses qui y accèdent, des deux hémisphères.

2. hémiacusie

Comme pour la surdité, cette affectation est produite par la destruction du cortex auditif primaire et secondaire, à la différence que cette destruction n'a eu lieu que dans un hémisphère . De cette manière, l'ouïe de l'oreille opposée à l'hémisphère dans laquelle la blessure est survenue est complètement perdue, mais comme les cortex auditifs de l'autre hémisphère restent fonctionnels, il est possible d'entendre par l'autre oreille.

3. Prosopagnosie

En cas de prosopagnosie, la personne touchée perd la capacité de reconnaître les visages, même de leurs proches. La reconnaissance des personnes doit se faire par d'autres moyens de transformer le cerveau.

Cette altération est causée par une lésion bilatérale dans la région temporocipitale .

4. Heminegligencia

Causée par l'affectation de la zone d'association pariéto-temporo-occipitale, ce trouble implique la difficulté d'orienter, d'agir ou de répondre aux stimuli qui se produisent du côté opposé par rapport à l'hémisphère blessé . L'attention vers cet hémifield perceptif cesse, bien que la personne elle-même puisse se déplacer de sorte que les stimuli perdus soient à la portée du champ perceptuel fonctionnel. Il apparaît généralement avec l'anosognosie, qui est l'ignorance de l'existence d'une altération.

5. Aphasies

Les aphasies sont comprises comme troubles du langage dus à une lésion cérébrale . Les effets varient en fonction de la localisation de la lésion et certains symptômes caractéristiques se manifestent lorsqu'il affecte le lobe temporal.

Parmi les aphasies produites par une lésion dans le temporel, soulignez l'aphasie de Wernicke (causée par une blessure dans la région du même nom, entraînant une perte ou une difficulté de compréhension et de répétition verbales, ce qui cause de graves problèmes qui le subit), l'anomique (perte ou difficulté à trouver le nom des choses, produite par des blessures dans les zones associatives temporo-pariéto-occipitales) ou le transcortical sensoriel (dans lequel il y a des difficultés à comprendre mais pas à répéter étant le produit de lésions dans les zones associatives temporo-pariéto-occipitales).

Si le lien entre la région de Wernicke et la région de Broca, le fascicule arqué, est endommagé, il se produira une soi-disant aphasie motrice, dans laquelle la difficulté de répétition et une compréhension quelque peu modifiée se démarqueront, tout en maintenant un bon fluage.

6. Amnésie antérograde

Ce désordre implique l'impossibilité d'enregistrer de nouveaux documents dans la mémoire . En d'autres termes, il est impossible pour le patient de récupérer (qu'il s'agisse d'une incapacité permanente ou temporaire) les informations déclaratives de l'activité réalisée après la lésion.

Cette altération est produite par une lésion du lobe temporal médial, en particulier de l'hippocampe. Les lésions dans l'hémisphère gauche affecteront les informations verbales, tandis que dans l'hémisphère droit, l'implication aura tendance à être d'une autre manière ou non verbale.

7. syndrome de Klüver-Bucy

Il s'agit d'un trouble très courant dans la démence, tel que la maladie d'Alzheimer. . Cette affectation est caractérisée par la présence de douceur, de passivité, d'hyperoralité, de difficultés d'attention soutenue, de disparition de la peur et d'hypersexualité. Se produit dans les lésions temporales médiales bilatérales.

Références bibliographiques:

  • American Psychiatric Association (2002). DSM-IV-TR.Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Édition espagnole. Barcelone: ​​Masson. (Original en anglais de 2000).
  • Baños, R. et Perpiña, C. (2002). Exploration psychopathologique. Madrid: synthèse.
  • Belloch, A., Baños, R. et Perpiñá, C. (2008) Psychopathologie de la perception et de l'imagination. Dans A. Belloch, B. Sandín et F. Ramos (Eds.) Manuel de psychopathologie (2e édition). Vol I. Madrid: McGraw Hill Interamericana.
  • Carlson, N.R. (2005). Physiologie du comportement. Madrid: Éducation Pearson
  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H .; Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principes de neuroscience. Madrird: MacGrawHill
  • Kolb, B. & Wishaw, I. (2006). Neuropsychologie humaine Madrid: Maison d'édition médicale panaméricaine
  • Manes, F. et Niro, M. (2014). Utiliser le cerveau Buenos Aires: Planète.
  • Netter, F. (1989). Système nerveux. Anatomie et physiologie Volume 1.1. Barcelone: ​​Salvat
  • Young, P.A. & Young, P.H. (2004). Neuroanatomie clinique et fonctionnelle. Barcelone: ​​Masson

Régions fonctionnelles du cerveau (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes