yes, therapy helps!
Self-improvement through resilience

Self-improvement through resilience

May 26, 2024

We usually associate traumatic events or difficult as something negative and we tend to feel compassion or pity with the people who are going through, but I would like to offer the other side of the coin. We can learn from them and grow in various aspects of our lives thanks to the bad spells or moments that have caused us a great psychological impact. Not for that reason we must reduce the importance or seriousness of the event, but we must assess the fact that it has both negative and positive aspects and focus on the latter.

Surely an event comes to your mind that since it happened, your life has never been the same again, and it is common for you to believe that things are now better than before . Because, after all, most people are able to turn the page to these bad times.


This is precisely what I want to talk about today, resilience .

What is resilience?

Resilience is the ability to cope with the adversities of life coming out strengthened from them . It is the result of a dynamic process that varies according to the circumstances, the nature of the situation, the context and the stage of the individual's life, which can be expressed differently according to the culture (Manciaux et al., 2001).

How the process is, it is not so much the person itself, but rather evolution and the process of structuring their own life story (Cynulnik, 2001).

How are resilient people?

To know how resilient people are, nothing better than reading the article by Bertrand Regader entitled "The resistant personality: are you a strong person?", Where you can have a more extensive view on this issue. The fundamental characteristics of the resilient personality, summarized, are the following:


  • They have confidence in themselves and their ability to cope.
  • They have social support.
  • They have a significant purpose in life.
  • They believe that they can influence what happens around them.
  • They know that you can learn from positive as well as negative experiences.
  • They conceive and face life in a more optimistic, enthusiastic and energetic way.
  • They are curious people and open to new experiences.
  • They have high levels of positive emotionality.

They face difficult experiences using el humor , creative exploration and optimistic thinking (Fredickson and Tugade , 2003). East positive change that they experience the result of the struggle process leads them to a better situation in which they were before the event occurred (Calhoun and Tedechi, 1999). Changes can be in oneself (at an individual level), in interpersonal relationships (with other people) and in the philosophy of life.


Changes in one same or : confidence in our own capacities increases to face the adversities that the future presents us. It is common in people who have been subjected to very strict rules in the past and from their struggle, have managed to redirect their lives.

Changes in personal relationships : the traumatic experience can strengthen the union of relationships with people who have been in these hard times.

Changes in the philosophy of life : hard experiences have to shake the ideas on which our vision of the world is built (Janoff-Bulman, 1992). The scales of values ​​change and the value of things that were previously ignored or taken for granted is more often appreciated.

Does that mean there is no suffering?

Of course you experience negative emotions and stress, in fact, without it personal growth would not be possible through them, it does not eliminate the pain, but coexists with it.

Neither does it mean that you grow in all aspects of the person's life, but that you may experience positive changes in some areas but not in others.

Among the most studied life events are the divorce of parents and traumatic stressors such as abuse, abandonment and war (Grarmezy and Masten, 1994 ).

Of the best known cases of resilience is that of Tim Guenard and he explains it in his book: "Stronger than hate ”.

When he was 3 years old his mother abandoned him on a power pole. At 5 his father gave him a beating that made him stay in the hospital until 7. The rest of his childhood was spent in a foster home in a foster home. He suffered abuse from the people in charge of his care and ended up in a psychiatric hospital because of an administrative error and from there to a reformatory, where he learned to hate the whole world and only the desire to kill his father kept him on his feet.

The vicious circle continued with more escapes, physical abuse, street experiences, a rape and the mafias of prostitution.

After 16 his life began to change and now Tim is a man of almost 50 years happily married with 4 children . He welcomes in his own house people with problems to which he orients and encourages them to find new reasons to live by offering them a roof and a helping hand. Thus he fulfills his promise that he made in adolescence: to welcome others with the same needs that he suffered.

Can we do something to develop resilience?

According to American Sociological Association There are 8 things that are in our hands and we can do to be more resilient:

  • Establish relations : in these moments we have to let help more than ever and establish emotional bonds with family, friends and people that for us are important. Helping others can also be beneficial to strengthen resilience.
  • Avoid seeing events as obstacles : it can not be avoided that certain events that harm us appear but the way we interpret them and react to them. Think about the future and keep hope that everything will change sooner or later.
  • Do activities that make you feel better about the situation while it lasts: if you feel better walking, talking with a friend, hugging your pet, do it frequently.
  • Carry out decisive actions : in adverse situations look for solutions and act in the best way you can according to your situation. You will feel that you are doing something productive to change your situation.
  • Find opportunities to discover yourself : think about those things that thanks to this you have learned and in what aspects you have improved. You will see that the suffering has not been in vain and that you have grown in this process, look at all the things you have gained and not those that you have left on the way.
  • Cultivate a positive vision about yourself : Trust your abilities to solve the conflicts you are going through and how valid you are.
  • Do not lose hope a: no matter how dark the sky is, the sun will always rise. Visualize yourself in the situation in which you want to be and not in what you fear.
  • Take care of yourself : Pay attention to your needs and desires. It will help you to keep your body and mind healthy and ready to face the situation you are living.

Bibliographic references:

  • Poseck, V., Carbelo, B., Vecina, M. (2006). The traumatic experience from positive psychology: resilience and post-traumatic growth. Papers of the Psychologist. Vol. 27 (1). 40-49.
  • Gómez Campos, A. M. (2008). Ten actions to develop resilience. Portfolio Retrieved on November 12th from: //search.proquest.com/docview/334389604?accountid=15299

Becoming More Resilient Through Self Love | Nichole Mullen | TEDxUSFSP (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Auto-amélioration par la résilience

Auto-amélioration par la résilience

Novembre 17, 2022

Nous associons habituellement événements traumatiques ou difficile comme quelque chose de négatif et nous avons tendance à ressentir de la compassion ou de la pitié avec les gens qui traversent, mais je voudrais offrir l'autre côté de la médaille. Nous pouvons apprendre d'eux et grandir dans divers aspects de notre vie grâce aux mauvais moments ou aux mauvais moments qui nous ont causé un grand impact psychologique. Ce n’est pas pour cette raison que nous devons réduire l’importance ou la gravité de l’événement, mais nous devons évaluer le fait qu’il présente des aspects à la fois négatifs et positifs et nous concentrer sur ces derniers.

Évidemment, un événement vous vient à l’esprit: depuis lors, votre vie n’a plus jamais été la même, et il est courant que vous croyiez que la situation est meilleure qu’auparavant. . Car après tout, la plupart des gens sont capables de tourner la page vers ces temps difficiles.


C’est précisément ce dont je veux parler aujourd’hui, résilience .

Qu'est-ce que la résilience?

La résilience est la capacité de faire face aux épreuves de la vie qui en sortent fortifiées . C'est le résultat d'un processus dynamique, variable selon les circonstances, la nature de la situation, le contexte et le stade de la vie de l'individu, qui peut s'exprimer différemment selon la culture (Manciaux et al., 2001).

En quoi consiste le processus, ce n’est pas tant la personne elle-même que l’évolution et le processus de structuration de sa propre histoire de vie (Cynulnik, 2001).

Comment sont les personnes résilientes?

Pour savoir à quel point les personnes sont résilientes, rien de mieux que de lire l'article de Bertrand Regader intitulé "La personnalité résistante: êtes-vous une personne forte?", Où vous pouvez avoir une vision plus étendue de la question. Les caractéristiques fondamentales de la personnalité résiliente, résumées, sont les suivantes:


  • Ils ont confiance en eux-mêmes et en leur capacité de faire face.
  • Ils ont un soutien social.
  • Ils ont un but important dans la vie.
  • Ils croient qu'ils peuvent influencer ce qui se passe autour d'eux.
  • Ils savent que vous pouvez apprendre des expériences positives aussi bien que négatives.
  • Ils conçoivent et affrontent la vie de manière plus optimiste, enthousiaste et énergique.
  • Ce sont des gens curieux et ouverts à de nouvelles expériences.
  • Ils ont une forte émotion positive.

Ils font face à des expériences difficiles en utilisant el humour , exploration créative et pensée optimiste (Fredickson et Tugade , 2003). Celui-ci changement positif le fait qu’ils éprouvent le résultat du processus de lutte les conduit à une meilleure situation dans laquelle ils se trouvaient avant l’événement (Calhoun et Tedechi, 1999). Les changements peuvent être en soi (au niveau individuel), dans les relations interpersonnelles (avec d'autres personnes) et dans la philosophie de la vie.


Changements dans un même o : la confiance en nos propres capacités augmente pour faire face aux difficultés que l'avenir nous présente. C'est fréquent chez les personnes qui ont été soumises à des règles très strictes dans le passé et qui ont réussi à réorienter leurs vies à cause de leurs luttes.

Changements dans les relations personnelles : l'expérience traumatique peut renforcer l'union des relations avec les personnes qui ont vécu ces temps difficiles.

Changements dans la philosophie de la vie : les expériences difficiles doivent ébranler les idées sur lesquelles repose notre vision du monde (Janoff-Bulman, 1992). Les échelles de valeurs changent et la valeur de choses auparavant ignorées ou considérées comme acquises est plus souvent appréciée.

Est-ce que cela signifie qu'il n'y a pas de souffrance?

Bien sûr, vous ressentez des émotions négatives et du stress, en fait, sans cela la croissance personnelle ne serait pas possible à travers eux, il n'élimine pas la douleur, mais coexiste avec elle.

Cela ne signifie pas non plus que vous grandissez dans tous les aspects de la vie de la personne, mais que vous pouvez expérimenter des changements positifs dans certains domaines mais pas dans d'autres.

Parmi les événements de la vie les plus étudiés figurent le divorce des parents et les facteurs de stress traumatiques tels que les abus, l’abandon et la guerre (Grarmezy et Masten, 1994 ).

Parmi les cas de résilience les mieux connus est celui de Tim Guenard et il l'explique dans son livre: "Plus fort que la haine ”.

Quand il avait 3 ans, sa mère l'a abandonné sur un poteau d'alimentation. À cinq ans, son père lui a infligé des coups qui l'ont fait rester à l'hôpital jusqu'à sept heures. Le reste de son enfance a été passé dans une famille d'accueil. Il a subi des abus de la part des responsables de ses soins et s'est retrouvé dans un hôpital psychiatrique à cause d'une erreur administrative, puis d'un réformateur, où il a appris à détester le monde entier et seul le désir de tuer son père le maintenait debout.

Le cercle vicieux s'est poursuivi avec davantage d'évasions, de sévices physiques, des expériences de rue, un viol et les mafias de la prostitution.

Après 16 ans, sa vie a commencé à changer et Tim est maintenant un homme de presque 50 ans, marié et père de 4 enfants. . Il accueille chez lui des personnes aux prises avec des problèmes qu'il oriente et les encourage à trouver de nouvelles raisons de vivre en leur offrant un toit et un coup de main. Ainsi, il remplit sa promesse qu'il a faite à l'adolescence: accueillir les autres avec les mêmes besoins que ceux qu'il a subis.

Pouvons-nous faire quelque chose pour développer la résilience?

Selon la Association de sociologie américaine Il y a 8 choses qui sont entre nos mains et que nous pouvons faire pour être plus résilient:

  • Établir des relations : dans ces moments, nous devons plus que jamais aider et établir des liens affectifs avec la famille, les amis et des personnes qui sont importants pour nous. Aider les autres peut également être bénéfique pour renforcer la résilience.
  • Évitez de voir les événements comme des obstacles : on ne peut éviter que certains événements qui nous font du mal apparaissent, mais que nous interprétons et réagissons à leur égard. Pensez à l'avenir et gardez l'espoir que tout changera tôt ou tard.
  • Faire des activités vous vous sentez mieux dans la situation pendant qu'elle dure: si vous vous sentez mieux à marcher, parler avec un ami, étreindre votre animal de compagnie, faites-le souvent.
  • Réaliser des actions décisives : dans les situations difficiles, cherchez des solutions et agissez de la meilleure façon possible en fonction de votre situation. Vous sentirez que vous faites quelque chose de productif pour changer votre situation.
  • Trouvez des occasions de vous découvrir : Pensez aux choses que vous avez apprises grâce à cela et aux aspects que vous avez améliorés. Vous verrez que la souffrance n'a pas été vaine et que vous avez grandi dans ce processus. Regardez tout ce que vous avez gagné et non pas ce que vous avez laissé sur le chemin.
  • Cultivez une vision positive de vous-même : Faites confiance à vos capacités pour résoudre les conflits que vous vivez et à votre validité.
  • Ne pas perdre espoir a: peu importe la noirceur du ciel, le soleil se lèvera toujours. Visualisez-vous dans la situation dans laquelle vous voulez être et non dans ce que vous craignez.
  • Prends soin de toi même : Faites attention à vos besoins et désirs. Cela vous aidera à garder votre corps et votre esprit en bonne santé et prêts à faire face à la situation que vous vivez.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Poseck, V., Carbelo, B., Vecina, M. (2006).. L'expérience traumatique de la psychologie positive: résilience et croissance post-traumatique. Papiers du psychologue. Volume 27 (1). 40-49.
  • Gómez Campos, A. M. (2008). Dix actions pour développer la résilience. Portefeuille Extrait le 12 novembre de: //search.proquest.com/docview/334389604?accountid=15299

Améliorer sa résilience émotionnelle – partie 1 (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes