yes, therapy helps!
Fluid Intelligence and Crystallized Intelligence: what are they?

Fluid Intelligence and Crystallized Intelligence: what are they?

July 21, 2022

According to the dictionary of theReal academy of the Spanish language, “intelligence "Comes from the Latin word intelligentia. Some of the meanings that we want to rescue are the following:

  • Ability to understand or understand
  • Ability to solve problems
  • Knowledge, understanding
  • Skill, skill and experience

What is intelligence?

Each of these meanings refers to a differentiated field in which, intelligence routinely plays a fundamental role. From a rational perspective, the Understanding and understanding are essential factors for problem solving . The way in which human beings analyze the options we have to find the best procedure towards a result that we do not know supposes a high level of cognitive development. Skill and skill are also products of each other's intelligence.


The experience Finally, it has a bidirectional relationship with intelligence: they develop in parallel, and they feed back. However, the truth is that there must be a categorization that better understands the different kinds of intelligence that exist, in order to better understand the concept and the way in which it helps us to solve tasks of such a disparate nature.

Capabilities related to intelligence

Traditionally, Intelligence has been closely linked to these capabilities:

  • Think and establish associations between concepts
  • Solve everyday problems
  • Generate new problems (of greater complexity)
  • Create innovations and solve problems in the cultural field

Primary intelligence skills according to Thurstone

During the second third of the 20th century, the psychologist at the University of Chicago Louis Leon Thurstone (1887 - 1955) developed his studies on the primary intelligence skills, which resulted in the following:


  • Understanding the language
  • Perceptive agility
  • Logic reasoning
  • Numerical and mathematical ability
  • Verbal fluency
  • Spatial perception

Raymond Cattell

More than three decades later, the British psychologist Raymond Cattell (1905 - 1998) established a novel distinction between two types of intelligences: fluid and crystallized intelligence .

The fluid intelligence , according to Cattell, refers to a inherited ability to think and reason in an abstract way , while the crystallized intelligence born of experience and embodies the level of acculturation, education and learning.

Intelligence skills according to Robert Sternberg

It was not until 1985 that the psychologist at Yale University Robert J. Sternberg (born in 1949) categorized the different skills that emanate from intelligence in three groups:


  • Compromial intelligence : represents the ability to acquire and store information.
  • Intelligence experience l: it is the skill based on experience and that we use to choose, codify, combine and compare information in order to configure new concepts and impressions.
  • Contextual intelligence : refers to the adaptive behavior of the person in the natural and social environment that surrounds him.

Fluid intelligence and crystallized intelligence

The difference between these two types of intelligence is usually linked to the variable age. However, it is more accurate to conceive the difference between fluid and crystallized intelligence based on the influence of the inheritance and / or the environment.

Fluid Intelligence

The Fluid intelligence refers to the person's ability to adapt and face new situations in an agile way , without previous learning, experience or acquired knowledge suppose a decisive help for its manifestation.

The fluid intelligence is very linked to the variables neurophysiological (for example, with the development of neuronal connections), and its influence is more pronounced since its development depends largely on the genetic basis. The same thing does not happen with crystallized intelligence.

In this same sense, we can establish a link between the potential development of fluid intelligence and the growth of the child in an enriching environment. Living in a positive and enriching environment correlates with the development of neuronal connections in brain regions associated with memory, learning and orientation in space.

Components of fluid intelligence

The fluid intelligence is composed of:

  • The ability to reason with abstract content
  • The logical reasoning
  • The ability to establish relationships or extract differences

The fluid intelligence Acquires its peak of development early, around adolescence . This is a big difference from the moment of apogee of crystallized intelligence.In this way, during adult life, this capacity is usually reduced progressively as the body ages, as neuronal structures deteriorate.

The decline in fluid intelligence may be due to several factors: regulatory aging, accidents, pathologies, drug consumption, et cetera. These last three factors can cause injuries or alterations in the different structures of the brain and in the central nervous system.

→ Crystallized Intelligence

Crystallized Intelligence is the set of skills, strategies and knowledge that constitute the degree of cognitive development achieved through a person's learning history .

Components of crystallized intelligence

The crystallized intelligence includes the skills related to:

  • The understanding of language
  • The degree of understanding and use of semantic relationships
  • The evaluation of the experience
  • The ability to establish judgments and conclusions
  • Mechanical knowledge
  • Orientation in space

The crystallized intelligence depends to a great extent on the learning obtained from the experience of the person in the cultural context in which he lives and relates. The development of each person's crystallized intelligence depends to a large extent on making a good investment of their historical fluid intelligence in habits that allow them to learn new things. In other words, the potential for intellectual development with which we are born (also called historical fluid intelligence) will achieve a higher or lower level depending on the educational experiences that occur during life.

In fact, the development of intellectual abilities can be progressed during life to the extent that the experiential context and the motivation of the person to continue learning allow it.

The way in which the vital experience intervenes in the intelligence of a person can be known through the observation of the effects of stress in the persondeterioration of brain structures . According to a recent study from the University of Toronto, the hormones that the human body secretes when we are worried or nervous directly affect a brain area linked to cognitive functions, such as memory or orientation in space.

So, as we pointed out in the article "5 tricks to increase your intelligence", it is essential both the constant search for new knowledge and lead a balanced life if we aim to keep our cognitive abilities at their best.

Bibliographic references:

  • Rice, Philips F. et al. (1997). "Human development". Pearson.
  • Shaffer, D. (2005). "Psychology of development: childhood and adolescence". Edition, 5th ed. Publication, Mexico, D.F
  • Triglia, Adrián; Regader, Bertrand; and García-Allen, Jonathan (2018). "What is intelligence?" EMSE Publishing.

Crystallized Vs. Fluid Intelligence (July 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Intelligence fluide et intelligence cristallisée: de quoi s'agit-il?

Intelligence fluide et intelligence cristallisée: de quoi s'agit-il?

Décembre 9, 2021

Selon le dictionnaire duAcadémie royale de la langue espagnole, “l'intelligence "Vient du mot latin intelligentia. Certaines des significations que nous voulons sauver sont les suivantes:

  • Capacité à comprendre ou à comprendre
  • Capacité à résoudre des problèmes
  • Connaissance, compréhension
  • Compétence, compétence et expérience

Qu'est-ce que l'intelligence?

Chacune de ces significations renvoie à un domaine différencié dans lequel l'intelligence joue systématiquement un rôle fondamental. D'un point de vue rationnel, le La compréhension et la compréhension sont des facteurs essentiels pour la résolution de problèmes . La manière dont les êtres humains analysent les options à leur disposition pour trouver la meilleure procédure pour obtenir un résultat que nous ne connaissons pas suppose un niveau élevé de développement cognitif. Les compétences et les compétences sont également des produits de l'intelligence de chacun.


Le expérience Enfin, elle entretient une relation bidirectionnelle avec l'intelligence: elles se développent en parallèle et se retournent. Cependant, la vérité est qu'il doit exister une catégorisation qui permette de mieux comprendre les différents types de renseignements existants, afin de mieux comprendre le concept et la manière dont il nous aide à résoudre des tâches d'une telle nature.

Capacités liées au renseignement

Traditionnellement L'intelligence a été étroitement liée à ces capacités:

  • Penser et établir des associations entre des concepts
  • Résoudre les problèmes quotidiens
  • Générer de nouveaux problèmes (plus complexes)
  • Créer des innovations et résoudre des problèmes dans le domaine culturel

Principales compétences du renseignement selon Thurstone

Au cours du deuxième tiers du XXe siècle, le psychologue de l’Université de Chicago Louis Leon Thurstone (1887 - 1955) développa ses études sur le compétences de base du renseignement, ce qui a eu les conséquences suivantes:


  • Comprendre la langue
  • Agilité perceptive
  • Raisonnement logique
  • Capacité numérique et mathématique
  • Fluence verbale
  • Perception spatiale

Raymond Cattell

Plus de trois décennies plus tard, le psychologue britannique Raymond Cattell (1905 - 1998) ont établi une nouvelle distinction entre deux types d’intelligence: intelligence fluide et cristallisée .

L'intelligence fluide , selon Cattell, se réfère à un capacité héritée de penser et de raisonner de manière abstraite , tandis que le intelligence cristallisée né de expérience et incarne le niveau d'acculturation, d'éducation et d'apprentissage.

Qualités intellectuelles selon Robert Sternberg

Ce n’est qu’en 1985 que le psychologue de l’Université de Yale Robert J. Sternberg (né en 1949) a classé les différentes compétences émanant de l'intelligence en trois groupes:


  • Intelligence de compromis : représente la capacité d’acquérir et de stocker des informations.
  • Expérience de l'intelligence l: c'est la compétence basée sur l'expérience et que nous utilisons pour choisir, codifier, combiner et comparer des informations afin de configurer de nouveaux concepts et impressions.
  • Intelligence contextuelle : fait référence au comportement adaptatif de la personne dans l'environnement naturel et social qui l'entoure.

Intelligence fluide et intelligence cristallisée

La différence entre ces deux types d’intelligence est généralement liée à la variable l'âge. Cependant, il est plus précis de concevoir la différence entre intelligence fluide et intelligence cristallisée en fonction de l'influence de l'héritage et / ou de l'environnement.

Intelligence fluide

Le Intelligence fluide se réfère à la capacité de la personne à s'adapter et faire face à de nouvelles situations de manière agile , sans apprentissage préalable, expérience ou connaissances acquises supposent une aide décisive pour sa manifestation.

L'intelligence fluide est très liée aux variables neurophysiologique (par exemple, avec le développement de connexions neuronales), et son influence est plus prononcée car son développement dépend en grande partie de la base génétique. La même chose ne se produit pas avec l'intelligence cristallisée.

Dans le même sens, nous pouvons établir un lien entre le développement potentiel d’une intelligence fluide et la croissance de l’enfant dans un environnement enrichissant. Vivre dans un environnement positif et enrichissant en corrélation avec le développement de connexions neuronales dans les régions du cerveau associées à la mémoire, à l'apprentissage et à l'orientation dans l'espace.

Composants de l'intelligence fluide

L'intelligence fluide est composée de:

  • La capacité de raisonner avec un contenu abstrait
  • Le raisonnement logique
  • La capacité d'établir des relations ou d'extraire des différences

L'intelligence fluide Acquiert son apogée de développement tôt, vers l'adolescence . C'est une grande différence par rapport au moment d'apogée de l'intelligence cristallisée.De cette manière, au cours de la vie adulte, cette capacité est généralement réduite progressivement à mesure que le corps vieillit et que les structures neuronales se détériorent.

La baisse de l’intelligence liquidienne peut être due à plusieurs facteurs: vieillissement réglementaire, accidents, pathologies, consommation de drogue, et cetera. Ces trois derniers facteurs peuvent provoquer des lésions ou des altérations des différentes structures du cerveau et du système nerveux central.

→ Intelligence cristallisée

L’intelligence cristallisée est l’ensemble des compétences, des stratégies et des connaissances constituant le degré de développement cognitif atteint grâce à l'historique d'apprentissage d'une personne .

Composants de l'intelligence cristallisée

L'intelligence cristallisée comprend les compétences liées à:

  • La compréhension de la langue
  • Le degré de compréhension et d'utilisation des relations sémantiques
  • L'évaluation de l'expérience
  • La capacité d'établir des jugements et des conclusions
  • Connaissances mécaniques
  • Orientation dans l'espace

L'intelligence cristallisée dépend dans une large mesure de l'apprentissage tiré de l'expérience de la personne dans le contexte culturel dans lequel il vit et se raconte. Le développement de l'intelligence cristallisée de chaque personne dépend dans une large mesure d'un bon investissement de son intelligence fluide et historique dans des habitudes lui permettant d'apprendre de nouvelles choses. En d'autres termes, le potentiel de développement intellectuel avec lequel nous sommes nés (également appelé intelligence fluide historique) atteindra un niveau supérieur ou inférieur en fonction des expériences éducatives qui se produisent au cours de la vie.

En fait, le développement des capacités intellectuelles peut être progressé au cours de la vie dans la mesure où le contexte expérientiel et la motivation de la personne pour continuer à apprendre le permettent.

La manière dont l'expérience vitale intervient dans l'intelligence d'une personne peut être connue à travers l'observation des effets du stress sur la personnedétérioration des structures cérébrales . Selon une étude récente de l'Université de Toronto, les hormones sécrétées par le corps humain lorsque nous sommes inquiets ou nerveux affectent directement une zone du cerveau liée à des fonctions cognitives, telles que la mémoire ou l'orientation dans l'espace.

Ainsi, comme nous l'avons souligné dans l'article "5 astuces pour augmenter votre intelligence", il est essentiel à la fois de rechercher constamment de nouvelles connaissances et de mener une vie équilibrée si nous voulons garder nos capacités cognitives au mieux.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Rice, Philips F. et al. (1997). "Développement humain". Pearson.
  • Shaffer, D. (2005). "Psychologie du développement: enfance et adolescence". Edition, 5ème éd. Publication, Mexique, D.F
  • Adriano Triglia; Regader, Bertrand; et García-Allen, Jonathan (2018). "Qu'est-ce que l'intelligence?" EMSE Publishing.

Qu'est-ce que l'intelligence? 2 éléments essentiels à retenir (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes