yes, therapy helps!
Psychotherapy and psychological support in infertility treatments

Psychotherapy and psychological support in infertility treatments

February 21, 2024

The difficulty of having children, in cases where there is a clear desire to have them, is one of the most difficult situations that a couple must face. In addition, it is usual that going to an assisted reproduction center involves high levels of emotional suffering, along with the appearance of feelings of anguish, loss and frustration.

Because of all this and because of the complex relationships between psychological factors and fertility, the figure of the psychologist in assisted reproduction centers is necessary in order to offer a psychological support during infertility treatments .

  • Related article: "Perinatal psychology: what is it and what functions does it perform?"

Objectives of psychological support in infertility treatments

Regardless of the theoretical framework within which accompaniment or intervention is carried out, the ultimate goal of such psychological accompaniment is help the patient, or patients, to achieve a better quality of life and mental health .


Regardless of the type of psychological support that is finally offered to the patient, it is advisable that all patients attend the first visit with the clinician. And in the case of being a couple treatment, go with them.

The goal of any psychological accompaniment is to ensure that patients understand the scope of their treatment options, receive enough emotional support and be able to face the consequences of the experience of an infertility treatment.

The techniques used within the therapeutic intervention They focus on the following aspects:

  • Facilitate the expression of emotions.
  • Identify the cause of the emotional difficulty.
  • Educate the person or the couple in infertility , making sure they have enough information to make a decision about the treatment.
  • Intervene to minimize the effects of stress and help patients to correctly manage coping strategies.

Who is the psychological support for?

Recent studies indicate that between 25-65% of patients who attend infertility centers have several psychological symptoms that are significant, being these mainly related to anxiety.


It is necessary to establish correct guidelines that allow detect those symptoms that denote the need for a psychological approach , and classify which patients require the accompaniment of a professional in psychology during infertility treatment.

There are a number of factors that can predict poor adjustment of patients to assisted reproduction treatment . Among these factors are the personal characteristics of the patient, their social situation and factors related to the treatment as the side effects that this may have on the person.

  • You may be interested: "The exercise of paternity: repentant mothers and fathers?"

Most common problems and treatment

Among the most common conditions in the population with infertility problems are included adaptive disorder, anxiety states, depressive moods , the couple's problems, the refusal to go to psychotherapy for infertility, and the coping of the results or the end of the treatment.


1. Adaptive disorder

This disorder is characterized by the appearance of emotional symptoms such as anxiety or depression, behavioral symptoms such as changes in behavior , or symptoms that arise in response to an external stressor such as loss of a job, financial problems, etc.

The symptoms manifest as follows:

  • Upset in response to the stressor.
  • Significant deterioration of social activity , family, work or academic.

Although these types of disorders generate a high degree of discomfort, they do not prevent the person from continuing with their daily routines. It is usually the couple, social or family relationships that are most affected.

The psychological intervention in infertile patients will be carried out according to the symptomatology that these present. Likewise, difficulties in the couple relationship will also be addressed independently.

2. States of anxiety

The cognitive and behavioral techniques of anxiety management and self-control are very useful for patients who are in the process, as well as for later confrontations of stressful situations.

Other somatic or psycho-physiological alterations derived from anxiety states such as eating disorders, sleep or fatigue, also can be treated by physiological activation control techniques ; as well as through relaxation techniques.

The types of intervention recommended for this type of alteration are:

  • Progressive muscle relaxation techniques .
  • Training in social skills and assertive behavior techniques.
  • Couple therapy.
  • Sex therapy .
  • Programming rewarding activities.

3. Depressive mood

Depression seems to be the most frequent emotional problem suffered by people before the knowledge of their infertility, and after the failed attempts of treatment. These problems tend to occur more in women than in men , which show a greater predisposition to present problems of repressed anxiety.

The first step is to normalize and legitimize the feelings and emotions that seize the couple, making them understand that most people who are in their situation feel the same as them.

Therapy focused on solutions It has been established as an affective therapy when it comes to working with the negative emotions associated with these processes, both individually and as a couple.

4. Couple problems

During the first contacts with patients, it is necessary that the professional values ​​the levels of communication and the strategies for the solution of conflicts that couples have. Likewise, it must explore what type of defense mechanism each one is using to deal with the situation, and thus identify the dysfunctional aspects of said mechanisms.

Within the framework of the therapy they will be taught to expose their pain and their needs, as well as to listen and address the concerns of their partner.

Communication within the couple can be affected during treatment. Often one's feelings do not reach the other, keeping emotions with the possible intention of protecting the couple. However, this lack of communication can increase feelings of anguish and guilt , and generate a greater tension in the couple's relationship.

5. Patients who reject psychological intervention

Due to high levels of stress, these people can refuse to go to the psychologist or accept any kind of psychological help. Many of these patients do not recognize the need to go to therapy.

The role of the psychologist in these cases will be to raise awareness of patients about the psychological effects that assisted reproduction therapies have on the person and the relationship.

6. Coping with the results or the end of the treatment

For some patients the failure of infertility treatments can lead to an existential crisis with strong emotional reactions. These patients, especially those with a sterility without cause, they come to believe that their sterility has a psychological origin .

The psychologist must be aware that the distress due to a failed sterility treatment is difficult to overcome. And it should encourage patients to seek professional, family and social support.

Once the couple decides to end the reproduction treatments, must build a new identity as couples without children . And for this it is convenient to reevaluate the bases of their relationship. It is possible that before this new situation certain issues that previously were not so important become relevant, generating new difficulties in the relationship.

As a solution they will have to discuss their priorities as a couple for the future, and remember the current reasons to continue working as a couple without children. One option is to see this new situation as a possibility of having greater independence and privacy as a couple.


Treatment Options for Infertility (February 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Psychothérapie et soutien psychologique dans les traitements contre l'infertilité

Psychothérapie et soutien psychologique dans les traitements contre l'infertilité

Octobre 25, 2021

La difficulté d'avoir des enfants, dans les cas où il y a un désir clair de les avoir, est l'une des situations les plus difficiles auxquelles un couple doit faire face. De plus, il est habituel que le fait de se rendre dans un centre de procréation assistée implique une grande souffrance émotionnelle, ainsi que des sentiments d'angoisse, de perte et de frustration.

En raison de tout cela et des relations complexes entre facteurs psychologiques et fécondité, la figure du psychologue dans les centres de procréation assistée est nécessaire pour offrir un soutien psychologique pendant les traitements d'infertilité .

  • Article connexe: "Psychologie périnatale: de quoi s'agit-il et quelles sont ses fonctions?"

Objectifs du soutien psychologique dans les traitements contre l'infertilité

Quel que soit le cadre théorique dans lequel l'accompagnement ou l'intervention est réalisé, l'objectif ultime de cet accompagnement psychologique est: aider le ou les patients à améliorer leur qualité de vie et leur santé mentale .


Quel que soit le type de soutien psychologique finalement offert au patient, il est conseillé que tous les patients assistent à la première visite avec le clinicien. Et dans le cas d'être un traitement en couple, allez-y.

L’accompagnement psychologique a pour objectif de permettre aux patients de comprendre la portée de leurs options de traitement, recevoir un soutien émotionnel suffisant et pouvoir faire face aux conséquences de l'expérience d'un traitement d'infertilité.

Les techniques utilisées dans l'intervention thérapeutique Ils se concentrent sur les aspects suivants:

  • Faciliter l'expression des émotions.
  • Identifiez la cause de la difficulté émotionnelle.
  • Eduquer la personne ou le couple en infertilité en s’assurant qu’ils ont suffisamment d’informations pour prendre une décision concernant le traitement.
  • Intervenir pour minimiser les effets du stress et aider les patients à gérer correctement leurs stratégies d'adaptation.

À qui s'adresse le soutien psychologique?

Des études récentes indiquent qu'entre 25 et 65% des patients fréquentant des centres d'infertilité présentent plusieurs symptômes psychologiques importants, principalement liés à l'anxiété.


Il est nécessaire d’établir des directives correctes permettant aux détecter les symptômes qui dénotent la nécessité d'une approche psychologique et classer les patients nécessitant l’accompagnement d’un professionnel en psychologie pendant le traitement de l’infertilité.

Un certain nombre de facteurs peuvent prédire une mauvaise adaptation des patients au traitement de procréation médicalement assistée . Parmi ces facteurs figurent les caractéristiques personnelles du patient, sa situation sociale et les facteurs liés au traitement, ainsi que les effets secondaires que cela peut avoir sur la personne.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "L'exercice de la paternité: mères et pères repentants?"

Problèmes les plus courants et traitement

Parmi les affections les plus courantes dans la population présentant des problèmes d’infertilité, on compte trouble adaptatif, états d'anxiété, humeurs dépressives , les problèmes du couple, le refus de recourir à la psychothérapie pour l'infertilité, l'adaptation des résultats ou la fin du traitement.


1. Trouble adaptatif

Ce trouble se caractérise par l’apparition de symptômes émotionnels tels que l’anxiété ou la dépression, symptômes comportementaux tels que des changements de comportement , ou des symptômes apparaissant en réponse à un facteur de stress externe, tel qu'une perte d'emploi, des problèmes financiers, etc.

Les symptômes se manifestent comme suit:

  • Bouleversé en réponse à l'agent stressant.
  • Détérioration significative de l'activité sociale , famille, travail ou universitaire.

Bien que ces types de troubles génèrent un degré d'inconfort élevé, ils n'empêchent pas la personne de poursuivre ses activités quotidiennes. Ce sont généralement les relations de couple, sociales ou familiales qui sont les plus touchées.

L'intervention psychologique chez les patients infertiles sera réalisée en fonction de la symptomatologie que ceux-ci présentent. De même, les difficultés dans la relation de couple seront également abordées indépendamment.

2. États d'anxiété

Les techniques cognitives et comportementales de la gestion de l'anxiété et de la maîtrise de soi sont très utiles pour les patients en cours de traitement, ainsi que pour les confrontations ultérieures de situations stressantes.

Autres altérations somatiques ou psychophysiologiques dérivées d’états d’anxiété, telles que troubles de l’alimentation, sommeil ou fatigue, peut être traité par des techniques de contrôle d'activation physiologique ; ainsi que par des techniques de relaxation.

Les types d'intervention recommandés pour ce type de modification sont les suivants:

  • Techniques de relaxation musculaire progressive .
  • Formation aux habiletés sociales et aux techniques de comportement assertif.
  • Thérapie de couple
  • Thérapie sexuelle .
  • Programmation d'activités enrichissantes.

3. humeur dépressive

La dépression semble être le problème émotionnel le plus fréquent chez les personnes avant la prise de conscience de leur infertilité et après les tentatives infructueuses de traitement. Ces problèmes ont tendance à se produire plus chez les femmes que chez les hommes , qui montrent une plus grande prédisposition aux problèmes actuels d’anxiété refoulée.

La première étape consiste à normaliser et à légitimer les sentiments et les émotions qui s'emparent du couple, en leur faisant comprendre que la plupart des personnes qui se trouvent dans leur situation se sentent pareil.

Thérapie centrée sur les solutions Il a été établi comme une thérapie affective lorsqu'il s'agit de travailler avec les émotions négatives associées à ces processus, à la fois individuellement et en couple.

4. Problèmes de couple

Lors des premiers contacts avec les patients, il est nécessaire que le professionnel valorise les niveaux de communication et les stratégies de résolution des conflits que les couples ont. De même, il doit explorer le type de mécanisme de défense que chacun utilise pour faire face à la situation et identifier ainsi les aspects dysfonctionnels de ces mécanismes.

Dans le cadre de la thérapie, on leur enseignera à exposer leur douleur et leurs besoins, ainsi qu’à écouter et à répondre aux préoccupations de leur partenaire.

La communication au sein du couple peut être affectée pendant le traitement. Souvent, nos sentiments n'atteignent pas les autres, conservant des émotions dans le but éventuel de protéger le couple. Cependant, ce manque de communication peut augmenter les sentiments d'angoisse et de culpabilité , et générer une plus grande tension dans la relation du couple.

5. Patients qui refusent une intervention psychologique

En raison du niveau élevé de stress, ces personnes peuvent refuser de consulter un psychologue ou accepter toute forme d'aide psychologique. Beaucoup de ces patients ne reconnaissent pas la nécessité de suivre une thérapie.

Dans ces cas, le rôle du psychologue sera de sensibiliser les patients aux effets psychologiques des traitements de procréation assistée sur la personne et la relation.

6. Faire face aux résultats ou à la fin du traitement

Pour certains patients, l'échec des traitements contre l'infertilité peut conduire à une crise existentielle avec de fortes réactions émotionnelles. Ces patients, en particulier ceux avec une stérilité sans cause, ils finissent par croire que leur stérilité a une origine psychologique .

Le psychologue doit être conscient du fait qu'il est difficile de surmonter le désarroi causé par un traitement de stérilité ayant échoué. Et il devrait encourager les patients à rechercher un soutien professionnel, familial et social.

Une fois que le couple décide de mettre fin aux traitements de reproduction, doit construire une nouvelle identité en tant que couples sans enfants . Et pour cela, il convient de réévaluer les bases de leur relation. Avant cette nouvelle situation, il est possible que certaines questions, qui auparavant étaient moins importantes, deviennent pertinentes, générant de nouvelles difficultés dans la relation.

Comme solution, ils devront discuter de leurs priorités en tant que couple pour l’avenir et se rappeler les raisons actuelles pour continuer à travailler en tant que couple sans enfants. Une option consiste à considérer cette nouvelle situation comme une possibilité de jouir d'une plus grande indépendance et d'une plus grande confidentialité en tant que couple.


Solution à l’infertilité inexpliquée : la Méthode Gynéco Psy & O.R.I.U.S. (Octobre 2021).


Articles Connexes