yes, therapy helps!
Coprophobia (fear of stool): causes, symptoms and treatment

Coprophobia (fear of stool): causes, symptoms and treatment

May 26, 2024

Coprophabia, also known as scaphobia, is a specific phobia whose affected manifest an irrational and unjustified fear towards excrements. The patients of this rare disorder suffer high levels of anxiety when they are facing a dregs. In this way, they try to avoid seeing or perceiving excrement whenever they can.

Although it is an uncommon malaise, those affected by coprophobia can see their daily life altered and suffer a malaise that requires psychological treatment. In this summary we will review what coprofobia consists of, its most frequent causes, its symptoms and signs and different types of intervention that can help manage it.


  • Related article: "The 15 purest phobias that exist"

What is coprofobia?

The coprofobia is an alteration of the anxiety . It is a specific phobia that is unusual and that requires health and / or psychological intervention in most cases.

These subjects feel an extreme aversion towards the feces, appearing an unusual and exaggerated fear towards the excrements. This fear may be based on certain beliefs or irrational thoughts and generate great anxiety.

Characteristics and diagnosis

Not all fears or rejection of feces can be labeled with the diagnosis of coprophagous. In fact, for the diagnosis to be reliable, it will be essential that there are certain symptoms and specific characteristics. They are the following.


1. Exaggerated fear

The fear of faeces experienced by those affected by coprophagosis is clearly excessive in its intensity and in terms of the discomfort it generates. . This means that, when exposed to excrement, his mind reacts with acute symptoms of anxiety and nervousness.

The excrement does not pose a real threat to humans, but the individuals affected by coprofobia have distorted cognitions and perceive them as highly threatening or dangerous.

2. Irrational thoughts

The fear that coprofobia generates is high intensity and exaggerated because it is not based on rational thoughts. These distorted cognitions generate anxiety in the face of a false threat .

Distorted and unrealistic ideas about the potential danger of faeces are the cause of the discomfort manifested by the affected subject.


3. Uncontrollable fear

Another characteristic symptom of coprofobia is that fear is uncontrollable . That is, the affected individual has no recourse to manage the emergence of negative sensations, as well as unwanted anxiety responses.

4. Persistent fear

Fear is also characterized by being prolonged in time, that is, persistent . It is not a fear that arises in isolation or on time, at a specific stage or after a specific experience.

In this way, the phobic fear of feces may not be resolved if psychological measures are not taken and a clinical intervention is performed on the patient.

5. Avoidance

Finally, phobic fear of excrement generates the main behavior of this phobia: avoidance. The subjects with this phobia try to avoid as much as possible exposing themselves to the feces, even escaping suddenly to avoid such contact.

Symptoms Coprofobia is an anxiety disorder, since its symptoms are mainly those of an anxious patient.

The expressions that have the coprofobia in the behavior and the mind of the affected can be of three types: cognitive symptoms, physical symptoms and behavioral symptoms.

1. Physical symptoms

The fear suffered by people with coprofobia generate the emergence of a long list of alterations in the proper functioning of their body when the affected is exposed to excrement.

This alteration is caused by a mismatch of the normal activity of the autonomic nervous system. This increase can lead to a series of signs of anxiety , like the following:

  • Increased heart rate
  • Increased breathing rhythm
  • Palpitations
  • Tachycardia
  • Muscle tension
  • Sweating
  • Feeling of unreality
  • Dizziness, nausea and vomiting

2. Cognitive symptoms

In addition to the physical signals, coprofobia also produces a series of cognitive-type alterations . These are based on irrational ideas and thoughts about the discomfort and the threat posed by excrement.

These thoughts arise with greater force and intensity when the affected person is exposed to the phobic element. In addition, the physical symptoms feed back and stimulate the anxiety produced by the phobic stimulus.

3. Behavioral symptoms

By last, the coprofobia also presents several behavioral or behavioral symptoms . These manifestations arise in response to physical and cognitive symptoms, due to the increased anxiety and general malaise suffered by the affected person.

The most common behaviors in this disorder are avoidance and flight. Avoidance is defined as that series of behaviors that the patient does in order not to come into contact with excrement. On the other hand, flight is the behavior that takes place when the individual can not avoid coming into contact with feces and instinctively departs from the phobic stimulus.

Causes

The coprofobia is a phobia that can be due to different causes and factors that can be considered risk.

The propensity to suffer anxiety, vicarious conditioning, verbal conditioning, certain personality traits or genetic risk factors make a person more at risk of developing this phobic disorder.

Treatment

The best treatment for this type of phobias is psychological therapy . Specifically, cognitive-behavioral therapy has been shown to be highly effective in controlling symptoms and returning the subject to normal.

This therapy is based on the progressive exposure to the phobic stimulus. Slowly, the patient gets closer (throughout the therapy sessions) and habituates to the feces and learns to manage his anxiety and the discomfort he feels.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. DSM-IV-TR Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (2002). Barcelona: Masson.
  • Braunstein, N. A. (2015). Classify in psychiatry. 2a. reprint. Mexico: Siglo XXI

25 Strange Phobias You May Not Know You Have (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Coprophobie (peur des selles): causes, symptômes et traitement

Coprophobie (peur des selles): causes, symptômes et traitement

Janvier 27, 2023

La coprophabie, également appelée scaphobie, est une phobie spécifique dont les affectés manifestent une peur irrationnelle et injustifiée envers les excréments. Les patients atteints de cette maladie rare souffrent d'anxiété lorsqu'ils font face à la lie. De cette façon, ils essaient d'éviter de voir ou de percevoir les excréments chaque fois qu'ils le peuvent.

Bien que ce soit un malaise peu commun, les personnes touchées par la coprophobie peuvent voir leur vie quotidienne se modifier et subir un malaise nécessitant un traitement psychologique. Dans ce résumé, nous examinerons en quoi consiste la coprofobie, ses causes les plus fréquentes, ses symptômes, ses signes et les différents types d’intervention pouvant aider à la gérer.


  • Article connexe: "Les 15 phobies les plus pures qui existent"

Qu'est-ce que la coprofobie?

La coprofobie est une altération de l'anxiété . C'est une phobie particulière qui est inhabituelle et qui nécessite une intervention sanitaire et / ou psychologique dans la plupart des cas.

Ces sujets éprouvent une extrême aversion pour les excréments, apparaissant comme une peur inhabituelle et exagérée envers les excréments. Cette peur peut être basée sur certaines croyances ou pensées irrationnelles et générer une grande anxiété.

Caractéristiques et diagnostic

Toutes les peurs ou tous les rejets d'excréments ne peuvent être étiquetés avec le diagnostic de coprophage. En effet, pour que le diagnostic soit fiable, il est essentiel qu’il existe certains symptômes et certaines caractéristiques spécifiques. Ils sont les suivants.


1. Peur exagérée

La peur des matières fécales ressentie par les personnes atteintes de coprophagose est manifestement excessive dans son intensité et dans l'inconfort qu'elle génère. . Cela signifie que, lorsqu'il est exposé aux excréments, son esprit réagit avec des symptômes aigus d'anxiété et de nervosité.

Les excréments ne représentent pas une menace réelle pour l'homme, mais les personnes touchées par la coprofobie ont une connaissance déformée et la perçoivent comme très menaçante ou dangereuse.

2. pensées irrationnelles

La peur que génère la coprofobie est de haute intensité et exagérée car elle ne repose pas sur des pensées rationnelles. Ces cognitions déformées génèrent de l'anxiété face à une fausse menace .

Des idées déformées et irréalistes sur le danger potentiel des matières fécales sont la cause de la gêne manifestée par le sujet touché.


3. Peur incontrôlable

Un autre symptôme caractéristique de la coprofobie est que la peur est incontrôlable . Autrement dit, l'individu affecté n'a aucun recours pour gérer l'émergence de sensations négatives, ainsi que les réponses anxieuses non désirées.

4. Peur persistante

La peur se caractérise également par une prolongation dans le temps, c'est-à-dire persistante . Ce n'est pas une peur qui se pose de manière isolée ou à temps, à un stade spécifique ou après une expérience spécifique.

De cette manière, la peur phobique des excréments peut ne pas être résolue si aucune mesure psychologique n'est prise et si une intervention clinique est effectuée sur le patient.

5. évitement

Enfin, la peur phobique des excréments génère le comportement principal de cette phobie: l'évitement. Les sujets atteints de cette phobie essaient d'éviter autant que possible de s'exposer aux matières fécales, voire de s'échapper soudainement pour éviter un tel contact.

Symptômes La coprofobie est un trouble anxieux, car ses symptômes sont principalement ceux d'un patient anxieux.

Les expressions qui ont la coprofobie dans le comportement et l'esprit des personnes affectées peuvent être de trois types: symptômes cognitifs, symptômes physiques et symptômes comportementaux.

1. symptômes physiques

La peur ressentie par les personnes atteintes de coprofobie entraîne l'apparition d'une longue liste d'altérations dans le bon fonctionnement de leur corps lorsque les personnes touchées sont exposées à des excréments.

Cette altération est causée par une inadéquation de l'activité normale du système nerveux autonome. Cette augmentation peut entraîner une série de signes d'anxiété , tels que:

  • Augmentation du rythme cardiaque
  • Rythme respiratoire accru
  • Palpitations
  • Tachycardie
  • Tension musculaire
  • Transpiration
  • Sentiment d'irréalité
  • Vertiges, nausées et vomissements

2. symptômes cognitifs

En plus des signaux physiques, la coprofobie produit également une série d'altérations de type cognitif . Celles-ci sont basées sur des idées irrationnelles et des réflexions sur le malaise et la menace que représentent les excréments.

Ces pensées surgissent avec plus de force et d'intensité lorsque la personne affectée est exposée à l'élément phobique. De plus, les symptômes physiques se manifestent et stimulent l’anxiété produite par le stimulus phobique.

3. symptômes comportementaux

Finalement, le coprofobia présente également plusieurs symptômes comportementaux ou comportementaux . Ces manifestations surviennent en réponse à des symptômes physiques et cognitifs, en raison de l'anxiété accrue et du malaise général souffert par la personne affectée.

Les comportements les plus courants dans ce trouble sont l'évitement et la fuite. L'évitement est défini comme la série de comportements que le patient fait pour ne pas entrer en contact avec les excréments. D'autre part, la fuite est le comportement qui se produit lorsque l'individu ne peut pas éviter d'entrer en contact avec les matières fécales et s'éloigne instinctivement du stimulus phobique.

Les causes

La coprofobie est une phobie qui peut être due à différentes causes et facteurs pouvant être considérés comme à risque.

La propension à souffrir d'anxiété, de conditionnement par procuration, de conditionnement verbal, de certains traits de personnalité ou de facteurs de risque génétiques rend une personne plus à risque de développer ce trouble phobique.

Traitement

Le meilleur traitement pour ce type de phobies est la thérapie psychologique . En particulier, la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale s'est révélée très efficace pour contrôler les symptômes et ramener le sujet à la normale.

Cette thérapie est basée sur l'exposition progressive au stimulus phobique. Lentement, le patient se rapproche (au cours des séances de thérapie) et s’habitue aux matières fécales et apprend à gérer son anxiété et le malaise qu’il ressent.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux DSM-IV-TR (2002). Barcelone: ​​Masson.
  • Braunstein, N. A. (2015). Classer en psychiatrie. 2a. réimpression Mexique: Siglo XXI

25 FAITS SUR MOI | 25 REAL FACTS ABOUT ME | GET TO KNOW ME ||SOYDIDIE (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes