yes, therapy helps!
Cultural shock: its 6 phases and characteristics

Cultural shock: its 6 phases and characteristics

November 27, 2021

Mobilization and cultural exchange are characteristic phenomena of human societies. They have generated among other things the need to rearrange the ways of relating and identifying ourselves. This rearrangement is a process that may seem simple, but that is characterized by important experiences of amazement, estrangement and even some discomfort; which we know as "cultural shock".

Next we will see in more detail what is a cultural shock, what elements make it up according to sociology and psychology , and what are the stages for which it is characterized.

  • Related article: "What is Cultural Psychology?"

What is a culture shock?

The term "shock" may refer to a violent confrontation, a confrontation, an impact, a friction, or a sense of strangeness. In this sense a "cultural shock" can be defined as a sense of strangeness that occurs because of the confrontation between different cultures . Being a confrontation, cultural shock can be visible from different phases and can also generate psychological and social conflicts.


For example, njnjf tell us that the term cultural shock also refers to the state of disorientation and frustration that it generates in recognition of the differences that exist between cultures. Such recognition may involve surprise, stress, anxiety, nostalgia, anger, uncertainty, impotence and feelings of incompetence.

On the other hand García and Verdú (2008) tell us that cultural shock is an inherent conflict and characteristic of the global context of the 21st century, which among other things It has been distinguished by a cosmopolitan discourse that defends the advantages of globalization and cultural exchange. These advantages, however, converge with a series of psychosocial elements that force the internalization of new norms and values, as well as the rearrangement of imaginaries and identities.


3 characteristic elements of cultural shock

Cultural shock is a phenomenon that occurs on the margins of the scenario where the integration of different cultures takes place. For this reason, it is an experience that especially accompanies the migratory process, where it is inevitable to face new forms of communication, new social hierarchies, new identities and cultural codes .

However, cultural shock can occur beyond migration; for example, during the meeting of two people with different cultural backgrounds but who have shared the same group of belonging since birth. In both cases, the cultural shock generates strangeness in the first place and in the second place the need to rearrange the codes of interaction. To explain this we will see below some elements that characterize the cultural shock .


1. Language and communication

It is to be expected that one of the elements that can facilitate or hinder the cultural shock experience is the language. Facing a different language and the communicative difficulties that this poses is one of the factors that can cause the cultural shock to be experienced with greater or lesser intensity. The same may occur elements of non-verbal language as the gestures or postures or bodily forms that are expected within one culture and not in another.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 4 main branches of Anthropology: how they are and what they investigate

2. Modify the interaction codes

The communicative encounters are mediated by different interaction codes. So, a person who speaks natively the language of a destination, does not necessarily share the integration rules of that place .

For the latter to take place, it is necessary that a negotiation of the interaction codes also take place. For example, roles, ways of speaking or moving, ways to say hello or goodbye, thanks, manners and rules of space transit, among others.

3. Identity

The aforementioned has a final impact on the process of individual and collective identification, that is, on the ethnic identity of origin that is necessarily articulated with the behavior expectations of the destination culture.

The people involved modify their self-representation through communicative encounters. In addition to linguistic and communicative competences, this representation includes tastes, interests, lifestyles . It also has to do with a process of rearranging the imaginaries of both the society of origin and the society of destiny.

The cultural shock in the immigration process

As we have said, cultural shock is a phenomenon that almost inevitably presents itself in the migratory process. For this reason, it is in this context that different studies have been developed from sociology and psychology. García and Verdú (2008), for example, speak of 7 stages that are characteristic of the cultural shock surrounding the migratory event.

Specifically, these stages have to do with the evolution of the imaginary of the reference society and the society of belonging of the person who migrates :

1. Idealization

In the beginning there is a utopia about international migration; where imaginative images about the migratory processes are articulated (that have to do with the idea of ​​"better opportunities" and "try your luck"), with the imaginaries of the society of origin that are generally negative .

2. Frustration

There follows a stage of disappointment or frustration, where initial illusions or aspirations are confronted with systems of exclusion and real difficulties for integration.

3. Yearning

A phase of idealization of the place of origin continues, characterized by a process is longing for family or friends and of the codes that are part of the communicative meeting of reference.

4. Fusion

After the idealization and before the permanence in the place of destination, the process of maintaining certain own cultural practices occurs, and at the same time incorporate practices of the society of belonging.

5. Solidarity

The above converges with new survival strategies, which consist of create supportive migratory networks , often centered on the nuclear family. At the same time there is a process of psychology adaptation and cultural learning of the knowledge and skills that are necessary for socialization.

6. Settlement

As a result, the need to articulate the feeling of stability in the target society (with the permanence of both positive and negative aspects), and its correlate that often goes in the opposite direction on the country of origin becomes visible.

Bibliographic references:

  • García, J.T. and Verdú, A.D. (2008). Social imaginaries about migration: evolution of the self-image of the immigrant. Papers, 89: 81-101.
  • Zlobina, A., Basabe, N. and Páez, D. (2004). Adaptation of foreign immigrants in Spain: overcoming cultural shock. Migrations, 15: 43-84.
  • Cortés, G. (2002). Culture shock. Retrieved July 23, 2018. Available at //www.azc.uam.mx/publicaciones/tye/elchoquecultural.htm.

Living Abroad - What Happens When You Move Abroad - Stages of Culture Shock (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Choc culturel: ses 6 phases et ses caractéristiques

Choc culturel: ses 6 phases et ses caractéristiques

Juin 12, 2024

La mobilisation et les échanges culturels sont des phénomènes caractéristiques des sociétés humaines. Ils ont généré, entre autres, le besoin de réorganiser les moyens de se mettre en relation et de s'identifier. Ce réarrangement est un processus qui peut sembler simple, mais qui se caractérise par d'importantes expériences d'étonnement, d'éloignement et même de malaise; que nous connaissons comme "choc culturel".

Ensuite, nous verrons plus en détail qu'est-ce qu'un choc culturel, quels sont les éléments qui le composent selon la sociologie et la psychologie et quelles sont les étapes pour lesquelles il est caractérisé.

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que la psychologie culturelle?"

Qu'est-ce qu'un choc culturel?

Le terme "choc" peut désigner une confrontation violente, une confrontation, un impact, une friction ou un sentiment d'étrangeté. En ce sens, un "choc culturel" peut être défini comme un sentiment d'étrangeté qui résulte de la confrontation entre différentes cultures . En tant que confrontation, le choc culturel peut être visible à partir de différentes phases et peut également générer des conflits psychologiques et sociaux.


Par exemple, njnjf nous dit que le terme choc culturel désigne également l’état de désorientation et de frustration qu’il génère en reconnaissance des différences qui existent entre les cultures. Cette reconnaissance peut impliquer la surprise, le stress, l’anxiété, la nostalgie, la colère, l’incertitude, l’impuissance et des sentiments d’incompétence.

Par ailleurs, García et Verdú (2008) nous disent que le choc culturel est un conflit inhérent et caractéristique du contexte mondial du XXIe siècle, qui entre Il a été distingué par un discours cosmopolite qui défend les avantages de la mondialisation et échange culturel. Ces avantages, toutefois, convergent avec une série d'éléments psychosociaux qui forcent l'internalisation de nouvelles normes et valeurs, ainsi que le réarrangement des imaginaires et des identités.


3 éléments caractéristiques du choc culturel

Le choc culturel est un phénomène qui se produit en marge du scénario dans lequel l'intégration de différentes cultures a lieu. C’est pour cette raison qu’il s’agit d’une expérience qui accompagne particulièrement le processus migratoire, où il est inévitable de nouvelles formes de communication, nouvelles hiérarchies sociales, nouvelles identités et codes culturels .

Cependant, un choc culturel peut survenir au-delà de la migration; par exemple, lors de la rencontre de deux personnes de cultures différentes mais qui partagent le même groupe d'appartenance depuis leur naissance. Dans les deux cas, le choc culturel engendre l’étrangeté d’abord et la nécessité de réorganiser les codes d’interaction. Pour expliquer cela, nous verrons ci-dessous certains éléments qui caractérisent le choc culturel .


1. Langue et communication

Il faut s’attendre à ce que la langue soit l’un des éléments pouvant faciliter ou empêcher le choc culturel. Faire face à une langue différente et aux difficultés de communication qu’elle pose est l’un des facteurs pouvant causer une plus ou moins grande intensité du choc culturel. La même chose peut se produire des éléments du langage non verbal comme les gestes ou les postures ou les formes corporelles attendues dans une culture et non dans une autre.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 4 branches principales de l’anthropologie: comment elles sont et ce qu’elles étudient

2. Modifier les codes d'interaction

Les rencontres communicatives sont médiées par différents codes d'interaction. Donc, une personne qui parle nativement la langue d’une destination, ne partage pas nécessairement les règles d'intégration de cet endroit .

Pour que ces derniers puissent avoir lieu, il est nécessaire qu'une négociation des codes d'interaction ait également lieu. Par exemple, rôles, manières de parler ou de bouger, façons de dire bonjour ou au revoir, remerciement, moeurs et règles du transit spatial, entre autres.

3. identité

Ce qui précède a un impact final sur le processus d’identification individuelle et collective, c’est-à-dire sur l’identité ethnique d’origine qui s’articule nécessairement avec les attentes comportementales de la culture de la destination.

Les personnes impliquées modifient leur représentation de soi par le biais de rencontres communicatives. Outre les compétences linguistiques et communicatives, cette représentation comprend les goûts, les intérêts, les modes de vie . Il s’agit également d’un processus de réorganisation des imaginaires de la société d’origine et de la société du destin.

Le choc culturel dans le processus d'immigration

Comme nous l'avons dit, le choc culturel est un phénomène qui se produit presque inévitablement dans le processus migratoire. Pour cette raison, c’est dans ce contexte que différentes études ont été développées à partir de la sociologie et de la psychologie. García et Verdú (2008), par exemple, parlent de 7 étapes caractéristiques du choc culturel provoqué par l'événement migratoire.

Plus précisément, ces étapes ont à voir avec l'évolution de l'imaginaire de la société de référence et la société d'appartenance de la personne qui émigre :

1. idéalisation

Au début, il y a une utopie à propos de la migration internationale; où sont articulées des images imaginatives sur les processus migratoires (qui ont à voir avec l'idée de "meilleures opportunités" et "tentez votre chance"), avec les imaginaires de la société d'origine qui sont généralement négatifs .

2. frustration

S'ensuit une phase de déception ou de frustration, au cours de laquelle les illusions ou aspirations initiales sont confrontées à des systèmes d'exclusion et à de réelles difficultés d'intégration.

3. désir

Une phase d’idéalisation du lieu d’origine se poursuit, caractérisée par un processus aspire à la famille ou aux amis et des codes qui font partie de la réunion de référence de communication.

4. fusion

Après l'idéalisation et avant la permanence sur le lieu de destination, le processus de maintien de certaines pratiques culturelles propres se produit tout en intégrant les pratiques de la société d'appartenance.

5. solidarité

Ce qui précède converge avec de nouvelles stratégies de survie, consistant à créer des réseaux de migration favorables , souvent centré sur la famille nucléaire. En même temps, il existe un processus d’adaptation psychologique et d’apprentissage culturel des connaissances et des compétences nécessaires à la socialisation.

6. Règlement

En conséquence, la nécessité d'articuler le sentiment de stabilité dans la société cible (avec la permanence des aspects positifs et négatifs), et sa corrélation qui va souvent dans la direction opposée sur le pays d'origine devient visible.

Références bibliographiques:

  • García, J.T. et Verdú, A.D. (2008). Imaginaires sociaux sur la migration: évolution de l'image de soi de l'immigré. Papers, 89: 81-101.
  • Zlobina, A., Basabe, N. et Páez, D. (2004). Adaptation des immigrants étrangers en Espagne: surmonter le choc culturel. Migrations, 15: 43-84.
  • Cortés, G. (2002). Le choc culturel Extrait le 23 juillet 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.azc.uam.mx/publicaciones/tye/elchoquecultural.htm.

Secrets d'Histoire - La légende noire de la Reine Margot (Intégrale) (Juin 2024).


Articles Connexes