yes, therapy helps!
Delirious disorder (paranoid psychosis): causes, symptoms and treatment

Delirious disorder (paranoid psychosis): causes, symptoms and treatment

December 5, 2021

The Delirious Disorder , also known as Paranoid Psychosis, is a psychotic disorder. This disorder manifests itself with the presence of delusional ideas and thoughts, unrelated to reality, and without the presence of another basic psychopathology.

  • Recommended article: "The 8 types of psychotic disorders"

Delirious disorder: what is it?

But, What are the signs and signs that we can see in a person suffering from Delusional Disorder? The diagnosis of this disorder must be made by a mental health professional, and guided by several diagnostic criteria:

  • Delirious ideas must be presented for more than a month
  • The picture of delusions should not be the product of the abuse of toxic substances, drugs or other pathologies

Symptoms and signs

How do people with Delusional Disorder behave? The picture of paranoid psychosis usually manifests in the fact that people who suffer from it are totally convinced of things that are not real . For example, they may believe that they are famous athletes or successful singers, and from there think that people are chasing and harassing them on the street, or have paranoia thinking that there are people who want to harm them in some way.


This psychiatric involvement is usually encompassed within the group of psychopathologies in which a single delusional idea is manifested, or else a series of delusions closely linked to each other and which remain over time, being difficult to treat and persisting, in many cases , until the end of the life of the affected individual.

What kind of delusions do these people suffer?

Exactly, what goes through the heads of these people? Delirious ideas can vary greatly from one subject to another. They are usually paranoid thoughts related to delusions of greatness, hypochondria or persecution and harassment .


In other cases, the Delirious Disorder may manifest itself with recurrent thoughts and no real basis on infidelity of the sentimental partner, or the belief that others think that the subject is homosexual, for example.

Causes

Delirious Disorder can debut at any time of life. In cases where delirium refers to deformities of some part of the body, it usually appears at the beginning of adulthood.

The content of the delirious thoughts and the age of beginning of the same ones can keep a quite direct link with some experiences and experiences that can affect their psychological stability. It has been described that, on occasion, Paranoid ideas of persecution are more frequent in individuals belonging to historically disadvantaged ethnic minorities . Beyond the behaviors and attitudes linked to delusional ideation, these patients usually have no involvement in their empathy, in their communication skills or in general in any other important aspect.


Characteristics of Paranoid Psychosis

As we have commented, people suffering from Delusional Disorder they suffer recurrent and unreal ideas, thoughts and beliefs . Despite this, sometimes these delusions do not directly affect their daily routine.

  • In most cases, work and social life may not be negatively influenced by the psychopathological picture, unless delusions appear in those contexts. However, it is noteworthy that patients with this disorder usually present an irascible and, in some extreme, aggressive mood.
  • As for their way of being, they tend to show reserved and elusive, and do not talk openly about their affectation.
  • They may present unconnected ideas to each other, but for them all their thought patterns seem logical and grounded.

Most frequent types of delirious ideas

Mental health professionals describe up to four large groups of delusions according to their main characteristics . They are the ones described below.

1. Persecution delusions

It is the most common type of delirium. The person who suffers he lives thinking that he is the victim of a conspiracy , and that is spied on and followed by the street, constantly.

2. Delusions of grandeur

This kind of delirium causes the sufferer to be convinced that he is someone important, a celebrity. For example, they may think that they have an exceptional talent or that in their past they were renowned athletes, singers or thinkers.

3. Somatic delusions

It's a group of delusions that affect the perception of one's own body . The most common are: the belief that they smell bad, think that a part of the body grows uncontrollably, etcetera.

4. Erotomaniacal delusions

Is about the unreal belief and maintained in time that someone loves them madly . It is more frequent in women, and they believe they receive letters, hidden messages or signals from their "lover", who is usually an important person for her (a teacher, a famous soccer player, a singer, an actor ...). They can even get in touch with the man in whom they think through calls, messages, gifts, and correspondence.

5. Delusions of the jealous type

They think repeatedly that their romantic partner is with other people . This belief that their partner is unfaithful is based on erroneous conjectures that are based on delirium. It can be a danger because this belief, in some cases, motivates physical aggression.

Treatments and therapies

We have talked about the characteristics of Delusional Disorder, but: Is it possible that these people are cured, or at least improve their psychological normality?

There is a series of psychological treatments that help to control the symptoms, decreasing their impact and recurrence and allowing the patient to think and structure their perception of reality in a non-pathological way.

The clinical psychologist can contribute enormously to the recovery of the person affected by Delirious Disorder. Through the therapeutic sessions, and progressively, the psychologist can guide the patient to explain their thoughts and delusions, explore these contents and emotions and, slowly, get to identify the errors in their thinking schemes.

One of the most accepted therapeutic currents is Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy, which focuses on achieving changes in delusional beliefs and their psychological, emotional and behavioral effects. It is a good idea to encourage people suffering from this disorder to go to a psychologist or psychiatrist of trust, who can guide and guide them to significantly improve their quality of life.

Bibliographic references:

  • Belloch, A .; Sandín, B. and Ramos, F. (2006). Manual of Psychopathology. (2 Vol). Madrid; McGrawHill.
  • López-Ibor Aliño, Juan J. & Valdés Miyar, Manuel (dir.). (2002). DSM-IV-TR. Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Revised text. Barcelona: Editorial Masson.
  • Salavert, J. and others. (2003). Delirious disorder Reviewing aspects of paranoia. Benito Menni Mental Health Care Complex Barcelona. Available at: //www.researchgate.net/profile/Luis_San/publication/237358989_El_trastorno_delirante_Revisando_los_aspectos_de_la_paranoia/links/00b7d51e7953bbcccd000000/El-trastorno-delirante-Revisando-los-aspectos-de-la-paranoia.pdf

Delirium - causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment & pathology (December 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Trouble délirant (psychose paranoïaque): causes, symptômes et traitement

Trouble délirant (psychose paranoïaque): causes, symptômes et traitement

Mai 22, 2019

Le Trouble délirant , également connu sous le nom de psychose paranoïaque, est un trouble psychotique. Ce trouble se manifeste par la présence d'idées et de pensées délirantes, sans rapport avec la réalité et sans la présence d'une autre psychopathologie de base.

  • Article recommandé: "Les 8 types de troubles psychotiques"

Désordre délirant: qu'est-ce que c'est?

Mais Quels sont les signes et les signes que nous pouvons voir chez une personne souffrant de trouble délirant? Le diagnostic de cette maladie doit être posé par un professionnel de la santé mentale et guidé par plusieurs critères de diagnostic:

  • Les idées délirantes doivent être présentées pendant plus d'un mois
  • Le tableau des délires ne devrait pas être le produit de l'abus de substances toxiques, de drogues ou d'autres pathologies

Symptômes et signes

Comment se comportent les personnes atteintes de trouble délirant? L'image de la psychose paranoïaque se manifeste généralement par le fait que les personnes qui en souffrent sont totalement convaincues de choses qui ne sont pas réelles . Par exemple, ils peuvent croire qu’ils sont des athlètes célèbres ou des chanteurs à succès, et à partir de là, que des personnes les pourchassent et les harcelent dans la rue, ou souffrent de paranoïa en pensant que certaines personnes veulent leur nuire.


Cette implication psychiatrique est généralement comprise dans le groupe des psychopathologies dans lesquelles une seule idée délirante se manifeste, ou encore dans une série de délires étroitement liés les uns aux autres et qui restent dans le temps, difficiles à traiter et persistent dans de nombreux cas. jusqu’à la fin de la vie de la personne touchée.

Quel genre de délire ces personnes souffrent-elles?

Exactement, qu'est-ce qui traverse la tête de ces gens? Les idées délirantes peuvent varier considérablement d'un sujet à l'autre. Ce sont généralement des pensées paranoïaques liées à des illusions de grandeur, à l'hypochondrie ou à la persécution et au harcèlement .


Dans d'autres cas, le trouble délirant peut se manifester par des pensées récurrentes et sans fondement réel sur l'infidélité du partenaire sentimental ou la conviction que d'autres pensent que le sujet est homosexuel, par exemple.

Les causes

Délirious Disorder peut faire ses débuts à tout moment de la vie. Dans les cas où le délire fait référence aux déformations d'une partie du corps, il apparaît généralement au début de l'âge adulte.

Le contenu des pensées délirantes et l’âge de début des mêmes peuvent garder un lien assez direct avec certaines expériences et expériences qui peuvent affecter leur stabilité psychologique. Il a été décrit que, à l'occasion, Les idées paranoïaques de persécution sont plus fréquentes chez les personnes appartenant à des minorités ethniques historiquement défavorisées. . Au-delà des comportements et des attitudes liés aux idées délirantes, ces patients ne sont généralement pas impliqués dans leur empathie, dans leurs capacités de communication ou en général dans tout autre aspect important.


Caractéristiques de la psychose paranoïde

Comme nous l’avons dit, les personnes souffrant de troubles délirants ils souffrent d'idées, de pensées et de croyances récurrentes et irréelles . Malgré cela, parfois, ces délires n’affectent pas directement leur quotidien.

  • Dans la plupart des cas, le tableau psychopathologique ne doit pas avoir d’effet négatif sur la vie professionnelle et sociale, à moins que des illusions ne se manifestent dans ces contextes. Cependant, il est à noter que les patients atteints de ce trouble présentent généralement une humeur irascible et, dans certaines extrêmes, agressive.
  • Quant à leur façon d’être, ils ont tendance à se montrer réservés et évasifs, et ne parlent pas ouvertement de leur affectation.
  • Ils peuvent présenter des idées sans lien les uns avec les autres, mais pour eux, tous leurs schémas de pensée semblent logiques et fondés.

Types les plus fréquents d’idées délirantes

Professionnels de la santé mentale décrire jusqu'à quatre grands groupes de délires en fonction de leurs caractéristiques principales . Ce sont ceux décrits ci-dessous.

1. Délire de persécution

C'est le type de délire le plus courant. La personne qui souffre il vit pensant qu'il est victime d'un complot , et cela est espionné et suivi par la rue, constamment.

2. Délire de grandeur

Ce genre de délire amène le patient à être convaincu qu'il est quelqu'un d'important, une célébrité. Par exemple, ils peuvent penser qu’ils ont un talent exceptionnel ou qu’ils étaient autrefois des athlètes, des chanteurs ou des penseurs de renom.

3. Délires somatiques

C'est un groupe de délires qui affecter la perception de son propre corps . Les plus courantes sont: la conviction qu’elles sentent mauvais, qu’une partie du corps se développe de manière incontrôlable, etc.

4. Délires érotomanes

Il s'agit de la croyance irréelle et maintenu dans le temps que quelqu'un les aime follement . Il est plus fréquent chez les femmes et elles pensent recevoir des lettres, des messages cachés ou des signaux de leur "amoureux", qui est généralement une personne importante pour elle (enseignante, footballeuse célèbre, chanteuse, actrice ...). Ils peuvent même entrer en contact avec l'homme en qui ils réfléchissent par le biais d'appels, de messages, de cadeaux et de correspondances.

5. Délires du type jaloux

Ils pensent à plusieurs reprises que leur partenaire romantique est avec d'autres personnes . Cette croyance selon laquelle leur partenaire est infidèle est basée sur des conjectures erronées basées sur le délire. Cela peut être dangereux car cette croyance, dans certains cas, motive l'agression physique.

Traitements et thérapies

Nous avons parlé des caractéristiques du trouble délirant, mais: Est-il possible que ces personnes soient guéries ou au moins améliorent leur normalité psychologique?

Il existe une série de traitements psychologiques qui aident à contrôler les symptômes, diminuant leur impact et leur récurrence et permettant au patient de penser et de structurer sa perception de la réalité de manière non pathologique.

Le psychologue clinicien peut contribuer énormément au rétablissement de la personne atteinte du trouble du délire. À travers les séances thérapeutiques, et progressivement, le psychologue peut guider le patient pour expliquer ses pensées et ses délires, explorer ces contenus et ces émotions et, lentement, commencez à identifier les erreurs dans leurs schémas de pensée.

L'un des courants thérapeutiques les plus acceptés est la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale, qui vise à modifier les croyances délirantes et leurs effets psychologiques, émotionnels et comportementaux. C'est une bonne idée d'encourager les personnes souffrant de ce trouble à consulter un psychologue ou un psychiatre de confiance, qui peut les guider pour améliorer de manière significative leur qualité de vie.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Belloch, A .; Sandín, B. et Ramos, F. (2006). Manuel de psychopathologie. (2 Vol). Madrid McGrawHill.
  • López-Ibor Aliño, Juan J. et Valdés Miyar, Manuel (dir.). (2002). DSM-IV-TR. Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Texte révisé. Barcelone: ​​Éditorial Masson.
  • Salavert, J. et autres. (2003). Trouble délirant Examen des aspects de la paranoïa. Complexe de soins de santé mentale Benito Menni, Barcelone. Il est disponible à l’adresse suivante: //www.researchgate/

Qu'est-ce qui provoque une psychose? (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes