yes, therapy helps!
Dementia with Lewy bodies: symptoms, causes and relationship with Alzheimer's

Dementia with Lewy bodies: symptoms, causes and relationship with Alzheimer's

June 17, 2024

The term "dementia" refers to a set of diseases that cause a progressive deterioration of functioning as a result of brain degeneration. Although not as well known as dementia due to Alzheimer's disease, the one that occurs as a result of the accumulation of Lewy bodies is also very prevalent.

In this article we will describe What is dementia with Lewy bodies and what are their symptoms and causes main. We will also analyze the physiopathological characteristics of this disease in comparison with those of Alzheimer's and Parkinson's, which share remarkable characteristics, and we will briefly review its history.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 12 most important brain diseases"

What is dementia with Lewy bodies?

Dementia with Lewy bodies is a neurodegenerative disease that is part of the group of cortical dementias, such as Alzheimer's disease and Pick's. In this set of disorders, the brain deterioration characteristic of dementias affects the cortex, which causes a very significant alteration in the higher cognitive functions.

Consequently, people with some type of cortical dementia usually have symptoms such as memory problems, disorientation, emotional instability, impulsivity and deterioration of complex cognitive processes such as abstraction and social judgment. These functions depend mostly on the activity of the frontal lobes of the brain.


Dementia with Lewy bodies is associated with presence in the brain of anomalous cellular structures relatively specific to this disease, and that give it a name. The degeneration of the cerebral cortex causes multiple symptoms and signs, the most characteristic being parkinsonism, visual hallucinations and fluctuations in attention.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Differences between dementia and Alzheimer's"

History, diagnosis and prevalence

This disease was first described by Kenji Kosaka in 1976; however, deposits known as Lewy bodies had been discovered by Frederic Lewy in the early years of the twentieth century. In the decade of 1990 the advances in diagnostic techniques allowed to detect the disease observing the brain after the death.

At present, it is known that it is the third most common type of dementia, surpassed only by that due to Alzheimer's disease and mixed dementia, in which the anterior and vascular dementia are combined. Research on epidemiology indicates that between 10 and 15% of dementias are due to Lewy bodies .


This dementia occurs more frequently in men than in women, although the differences in prevalence are not very large. It is more common in people who are over 60 years old, but it tends to appear later: the average age of onset of symptoms is around 75 years.

Symptoms and main signs

Dementia with Lewy bodies is a progressive disease; As such, the deficits and alterations it causes increase as the disease progresses and spreads through the brain. In spite of being a cortical dementia, memory problems are not very evident during the early phases of the disease, although they happen to be later.

The symptoms and cardinal signs of dementia with Lewy bodies there are three: fluctuations in attention and alertness, which cause episodes of confusion; Parkinsonian type manifestations such as quakes at rest, rigidity and slowness in movements; and recurrent visual hallucinations, which can be very vivid.

Along the course of the disease, other dysfunctions also appear in executive processes, such as those that affect visuospatial cognition and temporal and spatial orientation, as well as delusions, difficulties in walking, frequent falls, symptoms of depression and alterations. of REM or REM ("rapid eye movement") sleep.

Causes and physiopathology

Although it is not known exactly what is the cause of dementia with Lewy bodies, it is known to be associated with the PARK11 gene and that also shares a genetic basis with Alzheimer's disease , related to failures in the synthesis of apolipoprotein E. However, most cases of this disease is not due to hereditary factors.

At the pathophysiological level, the most characteristic feature of this dementia is the presence of Lewy bodies, accumulations of alpha-synuclein protein in the cytoplasm of neurons. This alteration is due to errors in phosphorylation, a process related to the activity of proteins and metabolism.

  • Related article: "Alzheimer's: causes, symptoms, treatment and prevention"

Relationship with Alzheimer's and Parkinson's dementias

Lewy bodies not only appear in the dementia that concerns us, but are also present in Parkinson's disease, in multiple systemic atrophy and in Alzheimer's disease; in the latter case, they are found concretely in the CA2-3 region of the hippocampus, a fundamental structure in the consolidation of memory.

In addition to Lewy bodies we can find amyloid plaques , one of the typical signs of Alzheimer's dementia, and deficits in the neurotransmitters dopamine and acetylcholine, as occurs in Parkinson's disease. This is why Lewy disease is often referred to as a midpoint between the other two, etiologically and symptomatically.

Unlike what happens in Alzheimer's disease, in dementia with Lewy bodies no atrophy is observed in the cortex of the middle part of the temporal lobes during the early stages of the disease. This fact explains part of the symptomatic differences between both dementias, particularly the course of memory problems.


Alzheimer Disease | Osmosis (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Démence à corps de Lewy: symptômes, causes et relation avec la maladie d'Alzheimer

Démence à corps de Lewy: symptômes, causes et relation avec la maladie d'Alzheimer

Juin 21, 2022

Le terme "démence" fait référence à un ensemble de maladies qui entraînent une détérioration progressive du fonctionnement à la suite d'une dégénérescence du cerveau. Bien que moins connue que la démence due à la maladie d'Alzheimer, celle qui survient à la suite de l'accumulation de corps de Lewy est également très répandue.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire Qu'est-ce que la démence à corps de Lewy et quels en sont les symptômes et les causes? principale. Nous analyserons également les caractéristiques physiopathologiques de cette maladie par rapport à celles d’Alzheimer et de Parkinson, qui partagent des caractéristiques remarquables, et nous passerons brièvement en revue son histoire.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 12 maladies du cerveau les plus importantes"

Qu'est-ce que la démence à corps de Lewy?

La démence à corps de Lewy est une maladie neurodégénérative qui fait partie du groupe des démences corticales, telles que la maladie d'Alzheimer et Pick. Dans cet ensemble de troubles, la détérioration cérébrale caractéristique des démences affecte le cortex, ce qui provoque une altération très significative des fonctions cognitives supérieures.

Par conséquent, les personnes atteintes d'une forme de démence corticale présentent généralement des symptômes tels que problèmes de mémoire, désorientation, instabilité émotionnelle, impulsivité et la détérioration de processus cognitifs complexes tels que l'abstraction et le jugement social. Ces fonctions dépendent principalement de l'activité des lobes frontaux du cerveau.


La démence à corps de Lewy est associée à présence dans le cerveau de structures cellulaires anormales relativement spécifique à cette maladie, et qui lui donne un nom. La dégénérescence du cortex cérébral provoque de nombreux symptômes et signes, le plus caractéristique étant le parkinsonisme, les hallucinations visuelles et les fluctuations de l'attention.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Différences entre démence et maladie d'Alzheimer"

Histoire, diagnostic et prévalence

Cette maladie a été décrite pour la première fois par Kenji Kosaka en 1976; Cependant, des gisements connus sous le nom de corps de Lewy avaient été découverts par Frédéric Lewy au début du XXe siècle. Dans les années 1990, les progrès des techniques de diagnostic ont permis de détecter la maladie observant le cerveau après le décès.

À l'heure actuelle, on sait qu'il s'agit du troisième type de démence le plus répandu, surpassé uniquement par celui dû à la maladie d'Alzheimer et à la démence mixte, dans lequel la démence antérieure et la démence vasculaire sont combinées. La recherche en épidémiologie indique que entre 10 et 15% des démences sont dues à des corps de Lewy .


Cette démence survient plus fréquemment chez les hommes que chez les femmes, bien que les différences de prévalence ne soient pas très importantes. Il est plus fréquent chez les personnes de plus de 60 ans, mais il a tendance à apparaître plus tard: l'âge moyen d'apparition des symptômes est d'environ 75 ans.

Symptômes et principaux signes

La démence à corps de Lewy est une maladie progressive; En tant que tel, les déficits et les altérations qu’il provoque augmentent à mesure que la maladie progresse et se propage dans le cerveau. En dépit d'être une démence corticale, les problèmes de mémoire ne sont pas très évidents pendant les premières phases de la maladie, bien qu'ils se trouvent être plus tard.

Les symptômes et signes cardinaux de démence à corps de Lewy il y en a trois: les fluctuations d'attention et de vigilance, qui provoquent des épisodes de confusion; Manifestations de type parkinsonien telles que tremblements de terre au repos, rigidité et lenteur des mouvements; et hallucinations visuelles récurrentes, qui peuvent être très vives.

Au cours de l'évolution de la maladie, d'autres dysfonctionnements apparaissent également dans les processus exécutifs, tels que ceux qui affectent la cognition visuospatiale et l'orientation temporelle et spatiale, ainsi que les illusions, les difficultés de marcher, les chutes fréquentes, les symptômes de dépression et les altérations. de sommeil paradoxal ou de sommeil paradoxal.

Causes et physiopathologie

Bien qu'on ne sache pas exactement quelle est la cause de la démence à corps de Lewy, on sait qu'elle est associée au gène PARK11 et que partage également une base génétique avec la maladie d'Alzheimer , liée à des échecs dans la synthèse de l’apolipoprotéine E. Cependant, la plupart des cas de cette maladie ne sont pas dus à des facteurs héréditaires.

Au niveau physiopathologique, le trait le plus caractéristique de cette démence est la présence de Corps de Lewy, accumulations de protéine alpha-synucléine dans le cytoplasme des neurones. Cette altération est due à des erreurs de phosphorylation, un processus lié à l'activité des protéines et au métabolisme.

  • Article connexe: "Alzheimer: causes, symptômes, traitement et prévention"

Relation avec les maladies d'Alzheimer et de Parkinson

Les corps de Lewy apparaissent non seulement dans la démence qui nous concerne, mais sont également présents dans la maladie de Parkinson, dans l’atrophie systémique multiple et dans la maladie d’Alzheimer; dans ce dernier cas, ils se retrouvent concrètement dans la région CA2-3 de l'hippocampe, structure fondamentale de la consolidation de la mémoire.

En plus des corps de Lewy on peut trouver des plaques amyloïdes , l'un des signes typiques de la démence d'Alzheimer et des déficits en neurotransmetteurs dopamine et acétylcholine, comme cela se produit dans la maladie de Parkinson. C'est pourquoi la maladie de Lewy est souvent qualifiée de point médian entre les deux autres, étiologiquement et symptomatiquement.

Contrairement à ce qui se passe dans la maladie d'Alzheimer, dans la démence à corps de Lewy, aucune atrophie n'est observée dans le cortex de la partie médiane des lobes temporaux au cours des premiers stades de la maladie. Ce fait explique en partie les différences symptomatiques entre les deux démences, en particulier l'évolution des problèmes de mémoire.


Alzheimer et Parkinson : Quand notre cerveau dégénère (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes