yes, therapy helps!
Dependency Personality Disorder: what is it?

Dependency Personality Disorder: what is it?

February 5, 2024

Many times, mental disorders do not have to do with hallucinations or with the inability to perceive certain things or to do certain actions, but rather they are expressed through our social relationships and the way in which we live them.

This is the case of the Personality Disorder by Dependence , also known as Personality Dependent Disorder. If we had to explain in one sentence what it consists of, the explanation would be the following: the habit of transforming our social relationships into straps that bind us and totally limit our freedom. It is based on the fear of being abandoned by others.

Next we will see what are the characteristics, symptoms, causes and treatments associated with this disorder.


  • Related article: "The 18 types of mental illnesses"

What is Personality Dependent Disorder?

This is a mental disorder characterized by pathological need to maintain close personal relationships that provide protection and care to those who suffer it. In practice, this translates into adopting habits and attitudes related to submission and extreme dependence.

It is a personality disorder that, according to the diagnostic criteria of the DSM IV manual, belongs to group C, anxious or fearful disorders. This is a category that shares with Obsessive Compulsive Personality Disorder and Personality Disorder by Avoidance.


Regarding its epidemiology, it is believed that this disorder affects approximately 0.5% of the population and that is more frequent in women than in men.

Your symptoms

The main symptoms of Personality Disorder by Dependency are the following.

Fear to loneliness

People who have this disorder they fear being defenseless and in a situation of vulnerability in which they need help and can not obtain it. That makes them undertake desperate initiatives in order to anticipate the isolation, even if that makes them run the risk of breaking with certain social conventions (which would further away from their goal).

Low self-esteem

Constant dependence on others makes that the self-esteem of these people is very damaged . This makes them look for "complete" thanks to the presence of other people, since they feel that alone can not face life.


  • Related article: "10 keys to increase your self-esteem in 30 days"

Extreme indecision

People with Personality Disorder by Dependence adopt an extremely passive attitude and avoid having to make decisions, even if they are banal and of little importance. They always try to make others decide.

Pessimism about their own abilities

These individuals tend to believe that they are unable to perform the most basic actions and that they will fail in any proposed project; that is why they need to be in contact with someone whose side it is possible to survive.

Constant search for relationships

How I know need protection in an uninterrupted way , these people are always looking for new relationships when the previous ones are broken. The time spent without counting on someone's protection is seen as a danger, something that may involve receiving damages or reaching situations in which one's integrity is compromised.

Very low assertiveness

To people with this personality disorder It is very difficult to show disagreement with certain ideas, norms or opinions.

Constant need for the protection of others

It always looks the presence of someone with whom it is possible to have as a protective agent.

  • Related article: "What is a psychological evaluation?"

Causes

It is estimated that it is a disorder with high heritability (around 80% of the variance). However, it is well known which part of this heritability is due more to genetics and which has to do with the environments shared with fathers and mothers.

In any case, the person who detects the cases of Personality Disorder by Dependency must be a mental health professional, and the diagnosis must run entirely under his charge.

Subtypes of Personality Disorder by Dependence

A classification with different subtypes of Personality Disorder by Dependence has been proposed, to take into account the symptoms in a more detailed way . They are the following.

Disinterested

People who "abandon themselves" entirely to the other person and forget their interests beyond the need for protection and guidance. It has masochistic features.

Ineffective

It is characterized by a fear of facing any kind of problem and by extreme passivity.

Accommodating

A clearly anxious profile that structures his life around submission to another person.He is docile, complacent and dedicated.

Immature

With characteristics linked to innocence and children, fundamentally stands out for the credulity and incompetence when performing simple tasks for the adult standard.

Restless

A profile that expresses distrust and constant fear, avoids any type of problem and avoids the relationship with people who are not "the protective figure".

Treatments

Dependency Personality Disorder is based on very persistent mental and behavioral habits that remain present throughout the time, and it is very complicated to make your symptoms subside.

In this sense, cognitive behavioral therapy can be effective to improve self-esteem and to combat the symptoms of depression , a disorder that is often associated with this. In addition, through this form of psychotherapy is trained in social skills and routines to combat anxiety and fear.

On the other hand, the use of psychotropic drugs It is usually oriented to intervene on the symptoms derived from anxiety and depression, although always with a medical prescription and with an exhaustive monitoring.

  • Related article: "Psychotropic drugs: drugs that act on the brain"

Dependent Personality Disorder ¦ Treatment and Symptoms (February 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Dépendance, trouble de la personnalité: de quoi s'agit-il?

Dépendance, trouble de la personnalité: de quoi s'agit-il?

Juillet 25, 2022

Bien souvent, les troubles mentaux ne sont pas liés à des hallucinations ou à l'incapacité de percevoir certaines choses ou de faire certaines actions, mais ils s'expriment plutôt à travers nos relations sociales et la façon dont nous les vivons.

C’est le cas du trouble de la personnalité par dépendance , également connu sous le nom de trouble dépendant de la personnalité. Si nous devions expliquer en une phrase en quoi elle consiste, l’explication serait la suivante: l’habitude de transformer nos relations sociales en liens qui nous lient et limitent totalement notre liberté. Il est basé sur la peur d'être abandonné par d'autres.

Ensuite, nous verrons quels sont les caractéristiques, symptômes, causes et traitements associé à ce trouble.


  • Article connexe: "Les 18 types de maladies mentales"

Quel est le trouble dépendant de la personnalité?

Ceci est un trouble mental caractérisé par besoin pathologique d'entretenir des relations personnelles étroites qui fournissent une protection et des soins à ceux qui en souffrent. En pratique, cela se traduit par l'adoption d'habitudes et d'attitudes liées à la soumission et à la dépendance extrême.

Il s’agit d’un trouble de la personnalité qui, selon les critères de diagnostic du manuel du DSM IV, appartient au groupe C, troubles anxieux ou craintifs. Il s'agit d'une catégorie qui partage le trouble de la personnalité obsessive compulsive et le trouble de la personnalité par évitement.


En ce qui concerne son épidémiologie, on pense que ce trouble affecte environ 0,5% de la population et cela est plus fréquent chez les femmes que chez les hommes.

Vos symptômes

Les principaux symptômes du trouble de la personnalité par dépendance sont les suivants.

Peur de la solitude

Les gens qui ont ce trouble ils craignent d'être sans défense et dans une situation de vulnérabilité dans laquelle ils ont besoin d’aide et ne peuvent l’obtenir. Cela les oblige à prendre des initiatives désespérées pour anticiper l'isolement, même si cela les expose à un risque de rupture avec certaines conventions sociales (ce qui les éloignerait de leur objectif).

Faible estime de soi

La dépendance constante des autres fait que l'estime de soi de ces personnes est très endommagée . Cela les rend à la recherche de "complets" grâce à la présence d'autres personnes, car ils sentent que seuls ne peuvent pas faire face à la vie.


  • Article connexe: "10 clés pour augmenter votre estime de soi en 30 jours"

Indécision extrême

Les personnes ayant un trouble de la personnalité par dépendance une attitude extrêmement passive et évitez de prendre des décisions, même si elles sont banales et de peu d’importance. Ils essaient toujours de faire décider les autres.

Pessimisme sur leurs propres capacités

Ces personnes ont tendance à croient qu'ils sont incapables d'accomplir les actions les plus élémentaires et qu'ils échoueront dans tout projet proposé; c'est pourquoi ils doivent être en contact avec quelqu'un dont il est possible de survivre du côté.

Recherche constante de relations

Comment je sais besoin de protection de manière ininterrompue , ces personnes sont toujours à la recherche de nouvelles relations lorsque les précédentes sont brisées. Le temps passé sans compter sur la protection d'une personne est perçu comme un danger, pouvant impliquer de recevoir des dommages ou d'atteindre des situations dans lesquelles l'intégrité de sa personne est compromise.

Assertivité très faible

Aux personnes ayant ce trouble de la personnalité Il est très difficile de montrer son désaccord avec certaines idées, normes ou opinions.

Besoin constant de protection des autres

Il a toujours l'air la présence de quelqu'un avec qui il est possible d'avoir comme agent de protection.

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce qu'une évaluation psychologique?"

Les causes

On estime que c'est un trouble avec une grande héritabilité (environ 80% de la variance). Cependant, on sait très bien quelle partie de cette héritabilité est due davantage à la génétique et aux environnements partagés avec les pères et les mères.

Dans tous les cas, la personne qui détecte les cas de trouble de la personnalité par dépendance doit être un professionnel de la santé mentale et le diagnostic doit être entièrement sous sa responsabilité.

Sous-types de trouble de la personnalité par dépendance

Une classification avec différents sous-types de trouble de la personnalité par dépendance a été proposée, prendre en compte les symptômes de manière plus détaillée . Ils sont les suivants.

Désintéressé

Les personnes qui "s'abandonnent" entièrement à l'autre personne et oublient leurs intérêts au-delà du besoin de protection et d'orientation. Il a des caractéristiques masochistes.

Inefficace

Elle se caractérise par la peur de faire face à tout type de problème et par une extrême passivité.

Complaisant

Un profil clairement anxieux qui structure sa vie autour de la soumission à une autre personne.Il est docile, complaisant et dévoué.

Immature

Avec des caractéristiques liées à l'innocence et aux enfants, se distingue essentiellement par la crédulité et l'incompétence lors de l'exécution de tâches simples pour le niveau adulte.

Agité

Un profil qui exprime la méfiance et la peur constante, évite tout type de problème et évite les relations avec des personnes qui ne sont pas "le personnage protecteur".

Traitements

Dépendance Le trouble de la personnalité est basé sur des habitudes mentales et comportementales très persistantes qui restent présentes tout au long du temps et il est très compliqué de réduire vos symptômes.

En ce sens, la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale peut être efficace améliorer l'estime de soi et lutter contre les symptômes de la dépression , un trouble qui est souvent associé à cela. En outre, grâce à cette forme de psychothérapie, elle acquiert des compétences sociales et des routines pour lutter contre l'anxiété et la peur.

D'un autre côté, l'utilisation de médicaments psychotropes Il est généralement orienté vers l’intervention sur les symptômes dérivés de l’anxiété et de la dépression, mais toujours avec une ordonnance médicale et une surveillance exhaustive.

  • Article connexe: "Drogues psychotropes: des drogues qui agissent sur le cerveau"

Dépendance affective - peur de l'abandon & peur du rejet: la vraie solution (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes