yes, therapy helps!
Child sexual abuse and attachment problems in adulthood

Child sexual abuse and attachment problems in adulthood

March 1, 2021

Child abuse affects millions of children around the world . Commonly speaking of 4 types of abuse: the physical, sexual, emotional and negligence. All of them are cause for great physical and / or psychological discomfort. In general, child sexual abuse is a serious public health problem that interferes with the development of the victim who suffers it, causing short and long-term repercussions in the entire biopsychosocial sphere of the person.

  • Related article: "The Theory of Attachment and the bond between parents and children"

Child sexual abuse

Child sexual abuse refers to the set of behaviors of a sexual nature established between two people, one of whom is a minor, so that there is a situation of inequality, for reasons of age or power , and in which the minor is used for the sexual stimulation of the other person (López, 1997). Abusive behaviors include physical contact (genital, anal or oral), or involve the use of the child as an object of the sexual stimulation of the aggressor (exhibitionism or voyeurism) or of third parties (Madansky, 1996).


The prevalence rates are around 13% -15%. These rates are higher in girls, although the impact is equally detrimental to both sexes. It has been detected that the age of greatest vulnerability is between 7 and 13 years of age and that in 70 and 90% of cases it is committed by males, middle-aged and, frequently, relatives or acquaintances of the victim .

  • Maybe you're interested: "The different forms of child abuse"

Link and attachment styles

The development and quality of early relationships are important aspects in the social-emotional development, personality and mental health of people. In this sense, attachment is defined as the biological link established between the baby and the primary caregiver, who is seen as a safe base from which the child can explore the environment and return when he perceives that there is some danger (Bowlby 1969/1982).


These links allow children to develop internal work models from which they create expectations about the possibility of receiving support and how to get it. They influence individual emotions, expectations and adult relationships and help individuals cope with stressful situations.

There are 4 types of attachment styles : secure attachment and insecure attachment, within which we find the avoidant, the anxious-ambivalent and the disorganized-disoriented.

Secure attachment occurs when the primary caregiver responds to the child's distress consistently, promoting trust in the relationship. On the other hand, an avoidant attachment develops when the anguish is ignored or there is a persistent rejection.

Anxious style develops when caregivers respond to the baby's distress inconsistently, the child presents Difficulties in relying on caregiver availability to meet their needs and high levels of anxiety.


Finally, the disorganized-disoriented style, the baby shows disorganized and / or disoriented behavior in the presence of the mother.

The family environment that parents create around their children in the first years it may favor or hinder their future social relations. When secure attachments are established, they help children to be more socially competent. Attachment provides emotional security for an adequate development of personality, self-esteem and subsequent emotional regulation.

Repercussions of sexual abuse in the bond of attachment

The impact of sexual abuse on attachment is established in childhood and remains stable until adulthood .

Frequently, children exposed to parental violence have no basic needs covered and their caregivers are less available, which implies a higher prevalence of insecure attachment compared to children growing up in an adequate family environment. When those responsible for the abuse are the parents themselves, 80% of the cases, the ability to establish intimate relationships and trust are more damaged , since the person who must protect and take care is the one who harms.

Insecure attachment styles in adults they are associated with different psychological problems (substance use, alcohol abuse, criminal behavior, affective and anxiety disorders, low self-esteem, etc.) and health.

However, victims of sexual abuse also present difficulties at the social level, including sexual and marital problems in adulthood, behavioral and somatic level (general chronic pains, gastrointestinal disorders, feeding, sleep disturbances and difficulties in attention, memory and concentration).

Author: Tamara Garrido, Psychologist.


How Childhood Emotional Abuse Affects You In Adulthood (March 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Abus sexuel d'enfant et problèmes d'attachement à l'âge adulte

Abus sexuel d'enfant et problèmes d'attachement à l'âge adulte

Août 11, 2020

La maltraitance d'enfants affecte des millions d'enfants à travers le monde . Communément parlant de 4 types de maltraitance: la physique, sexuelle, émotionnelle et la négligence. Tous sont la cause d'un grand malaise physique et / ou psychologique. En général, les abus sexuels sur des enfants constituent un grave problème de santé publique qui entrave le développement de la victime, ce qui a des répercussions à court et à long terme sur l'ensemble de la sphère biopsychosociale de la personne.

  • Article connexe: "La théorie de l'attachement et le lien entre parents et enfants"

Abus sexuel d'enfant

L'exploitation sexuelle d'enfants désigne l'ensemble des comportements à caractère sexuel établis entre deux personnes, dont l'une est mineure, de sorte que il y a une situation d'inégalité, pour des raisons d'âge ou de pouvoir et dans lequel le mineur est utilisé pour la stimulation sexuelle de l’autre personne (López, 1997). Les comportements abusifs incluent le contact physique (génital, anal ou oral) ou impliquent l'utilisation de l'enfant comme objet de stimulation sexuelle de l'agresseur (exhibitionnisme ou voyeurisme) ou de tiers (Madansky, 1996).


Les taux de prévalence se situent autour de 13% à 15%. Ces taux sont plus élevés chez les filles, bien que l’impact soit également préjudiciable aux deux sexes. Il a été constaté que l'âge de la plus grande vulnérabilité se situait entre 7 et 13 ans et qu'il était commis dans 70 à 90% des cas par des hommes, des personnes d'âge moyen et, souvent, des parents ou des connaissances de la victime. .

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les différentes formes de maltraitance d'enfants"

Styles de lien et d'attachement

Le développement et la qualité des relations initiales sont des aspects importants dans le développement socio-émotionnel, la personnalité et la santé mentale des personnes. En ce sens, l’attachement est défini comme le lien biologique établi entre le bébé et le fournisseur de soins principal, qui est perçu comme une base sûre à partir de laquelle l’enfant peut explorer l’environnement et revenir lorsqu’il a l'impression qu'il existe danger (Bowlby 1969/1982).


Ces liens permettent aux enfants de développer des modèles de travail internes à partir desquels ils créent des attentes quant à la possibilité de recevoir un soutien et à la manière de l'obtenir. Ils influencent les émotions individuelles, les attentes et les relations entre adultes et aident les individus à faire face aux situations stressantes.

Il y a 4 types de styles d'attachement : attachement sécurisé et attachement non sécurisé, dans lesquels se trouvent l'évitant, l'anxiété ambivalente et le désorganisé désorienté.

L'attachement sécurisé se produit lorsque le principal fournisseur de soins réagit de manière constante à la détresse de l'enfant, favorisant ainsi la confiance dans la relation. D'autre part, un attachement évitant se développe lorsque l'angoisse est ignorée ou en cas de rejet persistant.

Le style anxieux se développe lorsque les soignants réagissent de manière incohérente à la détresse du bébé lorsque celui-ci se présente. Difficulté à compter sur la disponibilité des aidants naturels pour répondre à leurs besoins et à un niveau d'anxiété élevé.


Enfin, dans le style désorganisé-désorienté, le bébé manifeste un comportement désorganisé et / ou désorienté en présence de la mère.

L'environnement familial créé par les parents autour de leurs enfants dès les premières années cela peut favoriser ou entraver leurs relations sociales futures. Lorsque des attachements sécurisés sont établis, ils aident les enfants à être plus compétents sur le plan social. L'attachement procure une sécurité émotionnelle permettant un développement adéquat de la personnalité, de l'estime de soi et une régulation émotionnelle ultérieure.

Répercussions de l'abus sexuel sur le lien d'attachement

L'impact de l'abus sexuel sur l'attachement est établi dans l'enfance et reste stable jusqu'à l'âge adulte .

Souvent, les enfants exposés à la violence parentale ne couvrent pas leurs besoins fondamentaux et leurs aidants sont moins disponibles, ce qui implique une prévalence plus élevée d'attachement non sécurisé par rapport aux enfants grandissant dans un environnement familial adéquat. Lorsque les auteurs des abus sont les parents eux-mêmes, 80% des cas, la capacité d'établir des relations intimes et la confiance sont plus endommagés , puisque la personne qui doit protéger et prendre soin est celle qui nuit.

Styles d'attachement non sécurisés chez les adultes ils sont associés à différents problèmes psychologiques (toxicomanie, alcoolisme, comportement criminel, troubles affectifs et anxieux, manque d'estime de soi, etc.) et santé.

Cependant, les victimes d’abus sexuels présentent également des difficultés au niveau social, notamment des problèmes sexuels et conjugaux à l’âge adulte, des troubles comportementaux et somatiques (douleurs chroniques générales, troubles gastro-intestinaux, alimentation, troubles du sommeil et difficultés d’attention, etc.). mémoire et concentration).

Auteur: Tamara Garrido, psychologue.


Les personnes victimes de violence psychologique pendant leur enfance, font ces choses... (Août 2020).


Articles Connexes