yes, therapy helps!
Emotions are the main obstacle to losing weight

Emotions are the main obstacle to losing weight

June 18, 2024

When you try to address such a sensitive issue as training of Overweight people , the fulfillment or not of the objectives that have been marked will depend basically on two factors.

First, the technical aspects related to training and nutrition; and second, the management of the client's environment: emotions, customs and habits, beliefs or motivation.

Emotions are key to gain or lose weight

Most people know that to lose weight it is necessary to eat less and / or exercise more, but many overlook other factors that will favor or hinder this goal (lose weight), such as psychological aspects .


The relationship between emotions and weight loss is clear. For example, at times of emotional instability we are more likely to consume fatty foods. But psychological and emotional variables are not only important for success in the diet, but also have an important effect on the success of physical training (for example, in the adherence).

The experts in physical activity have long have paid attention to psychological factors (motivation, emotional management, realistic expectations, beliefs about oneself, etc.), since research on the aspects that affect exercise and nutrition has led them to explore emotional needs, and many times they have revealed patterns of lifestyle that are harmful, behaviors that are addictive and personal and family challenges that interfere in the achievement of client objectives.


Regarding this, it is necessary that these factors be redirected to be able to follow the weight loss plan successfully.

Psychology has also provided scientific evidence in this regard

But not only physical activity experts have explored the emotional variables that affect success in weight loss, but psychologists have also been interested in the relationship between emotions and the achievement of this goal.

A study conducted by Consumer Reports National Research Center, which involved 1,300 psychologists who answered questions about their work with clients who had problems losing weight, concluded that the emotional aspects can hamper the weight loss plan .

44% of psychologists said they used the strategy of "understanding and managing behaviors and emotions related to weight control", because it worked very well to lose weight and not recover it, 43% of psychologists also cited "the Emotional eating "as a barrier to weight loss.


92% of respondents offering weight loss treatment reported that they helped patients correct emotional problems related to weight gain. More than 70% identified the cognitive behavioral therapy (problem solving, attention techniques, etc.) as an excellent weight loss strategy. That is, cognitive behavioral therapy is useful because it helps people identify and address negative thoughts and emotions that can lead to unhealthy behaviors that interfere with the achievement of nutritional goals and physical exercise.

The relationship between emotional intelligence and motivation

In addition, 43% of respondents also commented that "maintaining a routine of regular exercise" is one of the keys to lose weight.Regarding this, there are many studies that talk about the relationship between emotional intelligence and intrinsic motivation, and Jose Maria Buceta, in his book "Psychological Variables Related to Physical and Sports Performance" explains the relationship between motivation and adherence to physical training.

On the other hand, the psychologist Adrián Triglia, in an article of Psychology and Mind called "Why diets may not work", reviews the psychological and emotional strategies proposed by Traci Mann, of the University of Minnesota, to improve adherence to the weight loss diet, such as replacing thoughts about a cake for others in which there is wholemeal bread or a food with even less carbohydrates.

In conclusion, emotions and the commitment to exercise are one of the most common challenges faced by people who want to lose weight . Many people can shatter many of the efforts they have made for a long time because of psychological issues. When these people combine emotional work with lifestyle change, the results come.


Weight Loss: 5 Behavioral Strategies for Success (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les émotions sont le principal obstacle à la perte de poids

Les émotions sont le principal obstacle à la perte de poids

Janvier 14, 2023

Lorsque vous essayez de traiter un problème aussi sensible que la formation de personnes en surpoids , la réalisation ou non des objectifs marqués dépendra essentiellement de deux facteurs.

Premièrement, les aspects techniques liés à la formation et à la nutrition; et deuxièmement, la gestion de l'environnement du client: émotions, coutumes et habitudes, croyances ou motivation.

Les émotions sont la clé pour gagner ou perdre du poids

La plupart des gens savent que pour perdre du poids, il est nécessaire de manger moins et / ou de faire plus d'exercice, mais beaucoup négligent d'autres facteurs qui favoriseront ou entraveront cet objectif (perdre du poids), tels que aspects psychologiques .


La relation entre les émotions et la perte de poids est claire. Par exemple, lors de instabilité émotionnelle nous sommes plus susceptibles de consommer des aliments gras. Mais les variables psychologiques et émotionnelles sont non seulement importantes pour le succès du régime, mais ont également un effet important sur le succès de l'entraînement physique (par exemple, dans prise).

Les experts en activité physique ont longtemps ont prêté attention aux facteurs psychologiques (motivation, gestion émotionnelle, attentes réalistes, croyances personnelles, etc.), car la recherche sur les aspects qui affectent l'exercice et la nutrition les a amenés à explorer les besoins émotionnels, et ils ont souvent révélé des schémas de mode de vie nuisible, comportements addictifs et défis personnels et familiaux empêchant la réalisation des objectifs du client.


À cet égard, il est nécessaire de rediriger ces facteurs pour pouvoir suivre le plan de perte de poids avec succès.

La psychologie a également fourni des preuves scientifiques à cet égard

Mais non seulement les experts en activité physique ont exploré les variables émotionnelles qui affectent le succès dans la perte de poids, mais les psychologues se sont également intéressés à la relation entre les émotions et à la réalisation de cet objectif.

Une étude menée par Consumer Reports Centre national de recherche, qui a impliqué 1 300 psychologues qui ont répondu à des questions sur leur travail avec des clients qui avaient des problèmes de perte de poids, a conclu que les aspects émotionnels peuvent entraver le plan de perte de poids .

44% des psychologues ont déclaré avoir utilisé la stratégie consistant à "comprendre et gérer les comportements et les émotions liés au contrôle du poids", car cela fonctionnait très bien pour perdre du poids sans le récupérer, 43% des psychologues ont également cité Manger émotionnel "comme un obstacle à la perte de poids.


92% des répondants proposant un traitement de perte de poids ont déclaré avoir aidé les patients à corriger les problèmes émotionnels liés à la prise de poids. Plus de 70% ont identifié le thérapie cognitivo-comportementale (résolution de problèmes, techniques d’attention, etc.) comme une excellente stratégie de perte de poids. En d’autres termes, la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale est utile car elle aide les personnes à identifier et à éliminer les pensées et les émotions négatives susceptibles de conduire à des comportements malsains qui entravent la réalisation des objectifs nutritionnels et de l’exercice physique.

La relation entre intelligence émotionnelle et motivation

En outre, 43% des répondants ont également déclaré que "maintenir une routine d'exercice régulier" était l'une des clés pour perdre du poids. À cela, de nombreuses études parlent du lien entre l'intelligence émotionnelle et la motivation intrinsèque, et Jose Maria. Buceta, dans son livre "Variables psychologiques liées aux performances physiques et sportives", explique la relation entre motivation et adhésion à un entraînement physique.

De son côté, le psychologue Adrián Triglia, dans un article de Psychologie et esprit intitulé "Pourquoi les régimes peuvent ne pas fonctionner", examine les stratégies psychologiques et émotionnelles proposées par Traci Mann, de l'Université du Minnesota, pour améliorer l'adhésion au régime amaigrissant, comme le remplacement des idées un gâteau pour les autres dans lequel il y a du pain complet ou un aliment avec encore moins de glucides.

En conclusion, les émotions et l'engagement à faire de l'exercice sont l'un des défis les plus courants auxquels sont confrontées les personnes qui souhaitent perdre du poids . De nombreuses personnes peuvent briser nombre des efforts qu’elles ont déployés depuis longtemps en raison de problèmes psychologiques. Lorsque ces personnes associent travail émotionnel et changement de mode de vie, les résultats sont obtenus.


How to Master the Art of Texting a Crush | Board of Dating (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes