yes, therapy helps!
Emotions in capitalism (and the rise of homo sentimentalis)

Emotions in capitalism (and the rise of homo sentimentalis)

May 10, 2021

Intimacies Frozen (2007) is the title of the work in which the sociologist Eva Illouz It is proposed to analyze emotions in the instrumentalization that capitalism has made of them during the last century .

Studying the impact of psychology in the development of an "emotional capitalism" in which economic relations parasitize and end up transforming the culture of affects, the author composes the aforementioned work through the three conferences that will be reviewed. The first of the conferences is titled The emergence of homo sentimentalis.

Related article: "Liquid love: the commodification of love in the 21st century"

What are emotions (and their role in capitalism)

Illouz starts by considering emotions as an intersection between "cultural meanings and social relationships" that, by simultaneously engaging "cognition, affection, evaluation, motivation and body", involve a condensation of energy capable of enabling human action.


Likewise, the author considers that emotions have a "pre-reflexive and often semi-conscious" character since they are the result of social and cultural elements that escape the conscious decision of the subjects.

A new emotional style

At the beginning of the 20th century, and through the dissemination of the therapeutic discourse promoted by clinical psychology, a "new emotional style" was extended, consisting of "a new way of thinking about the relationship of the self with others". The main elements to consider for this "new interpersonal imagination" of psychoanalytic type were:

  1. The crucial role played by the nuclear family in the conformation of the self.
  2. The importance of the events proper to everyday life in the configuration of normal and the pathological.
  3. The centrality of sex , sexual pleasure and sexuality in an imagination structured linguistically.

Beginning in the 1920s, this new emotional style spread mainly through what Illouz calls "advice literature." But while the psychoanalytic style provided "the vocabularies through which the self understands itself" in a manifest omnipresent vocation, it ended up being especially functional to the business world, contributing both to the emotional management of workers' lives , as to the systematization and rationalization of its activities during the productive process.


The role of psychology in business management

The author argues that "the language of psychology was very successful in shaping the discourse of corporate individuality" to the extent that contributed to neutralize the class struggle by displacing labor conflict towards the emotional framework related to the worker's personality .

In any case, the uses of psychology in the business world should not be understood only as a subtle mechanism of control by management, since they also established "budgets of equality and cooperation" in the relations "between workers and managers". Such contributions would not have been possible without the development of a "linguistic model of communication", whose foundation lies in the search for empathy on the part of the interlocutors.

Thus, the communicative ability that allows social recognition ended up being a strategy through which to achieve business objectives in such a way that the knowledge of the emotions of the other through communication facilitated the practices of professional competence, while mitigating uncertainties regarding the advent of a flexible mode of production. Illouz sums it up in this way: "Emotional capitalism reorganized emotional cultures and made the economic individual become emotional and emotions to be more closely linked with instrumental action."


The role of psychology in the family

After "promoting efficiency and social harmony in the company", psychology penetrated the family field in order to extend "the market of therapeutic services" to a middle class that, since the second half of the 20th century, increased considerably in the advanced capitalist countries. Likewise, therapeutic psychology was supported by the rise of feminism from the seventies , whose main concerns were around family and sexuality.

Both psychology and feminism contributed to converting into public, and therefore political, that which until then had been experienced as personal and private.

This attitude shared by the therapeutic and feminist discourse regarding the "ideal of intimacy" was based on the equality between the members of an affective relationship, so that "pleasure and sexuality [were founded] in the instrumentation of fair conduct and in affirming and preserving women's fundamental rights. "

The rationalization of emotional relationships

As a consequence of a new egalitarian paradigm in intimate relationships, it tended to systematically and rationally systematize the values ​​and beliefs of the members of the couple . Accordingly, "intimate life and emotions [became] measurable and calculable objects, which can be translated into quantitative affirmations."

The rationalization of intimate relationships based on the questioning of the emotional bonds on which they are based led to the transformation of such relationships "into cognitive objects that can be compared to each other and susceptible to a cost-benefit analysis". Subtracted from its particularity, depersonalized and subject to a process of commensuration, the relations assumed a condition of indetermination and transience .

Bibliographic references:

  • Illouz, Eva. (2007). Frozen Intimacies. The emotions in capitalism. Katz Editores (p.11-92).

Why fascism is so tempting -- and how your data could power it | Yuval Noah Harari (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les émotions dans le capitalisme (et la montée de l'homo sentimentalis)

Les émotions dans le capitalisme (et la montée de l'homo sentimentalis)

Septembre 26, 2022

Intimacies Frozen (2007) est le titre de l’ouvrage dans lequel la sociologue Eva Illouz Il est proposé d'analyser les émotions dans l'instrumentalisation que le capitalisme en a faites au cours du siècle dernier. .

Étudiant l'impact de la psychologie sur le développement d'un "capitalisme émotionnel" dans lequel les relations économiques parasitent et finissent par transformer la culture des affects, l'auteur compose le travail susmentionné au travers des trois conférences qui seront passées en revue. La première des conférences est intitulée L'émergence de l'homo sentimentalis.

Article connexe: "L'amour liquide: la marchandisation de l'amour au XXIe siècle"

Que sont les émotions (et leur rôle dans le capitalisme)

Illouz commence par considérer les émotions comme une intersection entre "significations culturelles et relations sociales" qui, en engageant simultanément "la cognition, l'affection, l'évaluation, la motivation et le corps", impliquent une condensation d'énergie capable de permettre l'action humaine.


De même l'auteur considère que les émotions ont un caractère "pré-réflexif et souvent semi-conscient" puisqu'ils sont le résultat d'éléments sociaux et culturels qui échappent à la décision consciente des sujets.

Un nouveau style émotionnel

Au début du XXe siècle et à travers la diffusion du discours thérapeutique promu par la psychologie clinique, un "nouveau style émotionnel" a été étendu, consistant en "une nouvelle façon de penser sur la relation de soi avec les autres". Les principaux éléments à considérer pour cette "nouvelle imagination interpersonnelle" de type psychanalytique sont les suivants:

  1. Le rôle crucial joué par la famille nucléaire dans la conformation du moi.
  2. L’importance des événements propres à la vie quotidienne dans la configuration de la normale et le pathologique.
  3. La centralité du sexe , plaisir sexuel et sexualité dans un imaginaire structuré linguistiquement.

À partir des années 1920, ce nouveau style émotionnel se répandit principalement à travers ce que Illouz appelle "la littérature de conseil". Mais tandis que le style psychanalytique fournissait "les vocabulaires à travers lesquels le soi se comprend" dans une vocation manifeste et omniprésente, il finit par être particulièrement fonctionnel pour le monde des affaires, contribuant à la fois à la gestion émotionnelle de la vie des travailleurs. , quant à la systématisation et à la rationalisation de ses activités au cours du processus de production.


Le rôle de la psychologie dans la gestion des affaires

L'auteur affirme que "le langage de la psychologie a très bien réussi à façonner le discours de l'individualité de l'entreprise" dans la mesure où contribué à neutraliser la lutte de classe en déplaçant les conflits de travail vers le cadre émotionnel lié à la personnalité du travailleur .

En tout état de cause, les utilisations de la psychologie dans le monde des affaires ne doivent pas être comprises uniquement comme un mécanisme subtil de contrôle par la direction, car elles établissent également des "budgets d'égalité et de coopération" dans les relations "entre travailleurs et dirigeants". De telles contributions n'auraient pas été possibles sans le développement d'un "modèle linguistique de communication", dont le fondement repose sur la recherche d'empathie de la part des interlocuteurs.

Ainsi, la capacité de communication qui permet la reconnaissance sociale a fini par être une stratégie permettant d’atteindre les objectifs de l’entreprise de telle manière que la connaissance des émotions de l’autre à travers la communication facilite la pratique de la compétence professionnelle tout en atténuant incertitudes quant à l’avènement d’un mode de production flexible. Illouz résume ainsi: "Le capitalisme émotionnel a réorganisé les cultures émotionnelles et fait en sorte que l'individu économique devienne émotionnel et que les émotions soient davantage liées à l'action instrumentale".


Le rôle de la psychologie dans la famille

Après avoir "promu l'efficacité et l'harmonie sociale dans l'entreprise", la psychologie a pénétré le champ familial afin d'étendre "le marché des services thérapeutiques" à une classe moyenne qui s'est considérablement accrue depuis la seconde moitié du XXe siècle. dans les pays capitalistes avancés. De même la psychologie thérapeutique a été soutenue par la montée du féminisme des années soixante-dix , dont les préoccupations principales concernaient la famille et la sexualité.

La psychologie et le féminisme ont tous deux contribué à la conversion en public, et donc en politique, de ce qui jusque-là avait été vécu comme personnel et privé.

Cette attitude partagée par le discours thérapeutique et féministe concernant "l'idéal de l'intimité" reposait sur l'égalité entre les membres d'une relation affective, de sorte que "le plaisir et la sexualité [étaient fondés] dans l'instrumentation de comportement juste et en affirmant et préservant les droits fondamentaux des femmes ".

La rationalisation des relations émotionnelles

Conséquence d’un nouveau paradigme égalitaire dans les relations intimes, il avait tendance à systématiser systématiquement et rationnellement les valeurs et les croyances des membres du couple . En conséquence, "la vie intime et les émotions [devinrent] des objets mesurables et calculables, pouvant être traduits en affirmations quantitatives".

La rationalisation des relations intimes basée sur la remise en question des liens émotionnels sur lesquels elles sont fondées a conduit à la transformation de telles relations "en objets cognitifs pouvant être comparés les uns aux autres et susceptibles de faire l'objet d'une analyse coûts-avantages". Soustrait de sa particularité, dépersonnalisé et soumis à un processus de commensuration, les relations supposaient une condition d'indétermination et de fugacité .

Références bibliographiques:

  • Illouz, Eva. (2007). Intimités figées. Les émotions dans le capitalisme. Katz Editores (p.11-92).

Will New Technology Replace Jobs and Result in Greater Economic Freedom? (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes