yes, therapy helps!
Kurt Lewin and the Theory of the Field: the birth of social psychology

Kurt Lewin and the Theory of the Field: the birth of social psychology

May 10, 2021

In the history of psychology there are few figures as important and influential as Kurt Lewin . This researcher was not only one of the promoters of Gestalt psychology, but is also considered the father of social psychology and the psychology of organizations.

Kurt Lewin was also the creator of the Field Theory , which has served as a basis for developing research on group dynamics, very applicable in the organizational and business environment. Then, to understand his legacy, we will go back to the years in which Kurt Lewin developed his ideas.

The firsts years

Kurt Lewin was born in 1890 into a Jewish family living in Mogilno, a town that belonged at that time to the kingdom of Prussia and is now part of Poland.


After he and his family moved to Berlin, Kurt Lewin started studying medicine at the University of Freiburg but soon after moved to Munich to embark on a career in biology. Back in Berlin, and without having finished his training, he became more interested in psychology and philosophy, a discipline he began studying in 1911. By that time he had already begun to participate in initiatives linked to socialism, Marxism and the struggle for the rights of women, and believed that applied psychology could be helpful in promoting reforms in favor of equality.

Forging the psychology of Gestalt

With the outbreak of World War I, Kurt Lewin was sent to the front to serve as an artilleryman. However, he was immediately wounded, so he remained convalescent for several days. At that time began to make a description of the battlefield using topological terms that resembled the one that would be made from the theory of Gestalt, which at that time was brewing, and also reminded the topological theory that he would create something later.


Once he had returned to Berlin, In addition to PhD in philosophy, Kurt Lewin started working at the Psychological Institute of Berlin . It is there where he came into contact with two other great representatives of Gestalt psychology: Wolfgang Köhler Y Max Wertheimer . The crossing of ideas between them allowed them to consolidate the ideas belonging to the Gestalt current and, at the same time, served as a breeding ground for the laboratory to be a place where young promises of European psychology were going to be formed. , like Bluma Zeigarnik.

Kurt Lewin in the United States

In 1933, when Hitler and the Nazis came to power, Kurt Lewin decided to move immediately to another country. He ends up emigrating to the United States after unsuccessfully trying to obtain a position as a university professor in Jerusalem, and thanks to the contacts of Wolfgang Köhler he manages to enter Cornell University to later work in Iowa. In 1944 he moved to Director of the Group Dynamics Research Center at MIT Massachusetts.


During this time, Kurt Lewin works especially in social phenomena that have to do with social interaction, and investigates from the effects of social pressure on children's eating habits to the work dynamics that are most effective in organizations. Therefore, the areas touched by Kurt Lewin went far beyond what used to be associated with the repertoire of activities of a psychologist, either from the Gestalt stream or from any other school.

When Kurt Lewin died in 1947, had already left open a door that would give way to the new branch of psychology: social psychology .

Field Theory of forces

In the years when Kurt Lewin lived in North America, behaviorism was the prevailing paradigm in the United States. The behaviorists understood that human behavior is the result of the way in which the environment influences individuals, but Lewin started from a psychology vision very different from this one. He, like the representatives of Gestalt in Europe, understood that people are not a simple passive agent that reacts to stimuli, but that they act according to the way in which they perceive that they interact with the environment . The interaction was, then, the fundamental element that Kurt Lewin started with in his analyzes.

The Field Theory is his way of capturing the idea that psychology should not focus on the study of the person and the environment as if these were two pieces to be analyzed separately, but we must see the way in which they affect each other. yes in real time.That is why Kurt Lewin worked with categories such as "living space" or "field": the interesting thing for him were the dynamics, the changes, and not the static images of what happens in each moment, which he understood were only useful for describe what happens in each phase of a process, and not to explain.

To describe the processes of change, Kurt Lewin was inspired by the studies of physics and borrowed the idea of ​​force field . For him, group or individual behavior can be understood as a process of change that leads from an initial situation to a different one. Thus, Lewin's Field Theory establishes that what happens while this process of change takes place passes within a dynamic field in which the state of each part of this force field affects all the others.

The most important variables that are acting in the fields or "vital spaces" are, for Kurt Lewin, the tension, the strength and the need, thanks to which the behavior has a purpose.

Kurt Lewin and action research

Kurt Lewin understood that, as in a field of forces all parties affect each other, To understand human behavior, we must take into account all the variables that are intervening in real time in the actions of people and groups , from the space in which they are to the temperature, the way in which they socialize between them, etc. In addition, these elements can not be analyzed in isolation, but we must focus on studying their interactions to have a holistic view of what happens.

But this leads to an idea that at that time was revolutionary: as what is studied is not something isolated but interaction, we must not be afraid to affect the object of study as researchers. Moreover, intervening in the force field allows us to introduce dynamics that will help us understand the mechanisms that work in this field.

In short, according to Kurt Lewin influence on these dynamics helps to have a true picture of what happens. This was crystallized in one of the most famous phrases of this psychologist: to understand a system, you have to change it. This is the principle of action research that Kurt Lewin proposed as an effective method to understand and improve social dynamics.


Lewin (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Kurt Lewin et la théorie du terrain: la naissance de la psychologie sociale

Kurt Lewin et la théorie du terrain: la naissance de la psychologie sociale

Mai 22, 2019

Dans l’histoire de la psychologie, il existe peu de personnages aussi importants et influents que Kurt Lewin . Ce chercheur n’était pas seulement l’un des promoteurs de la psychologie de la Gestalt, il était également considéré comme le père de la psychologie sociale et de la psychologie des organisations.

Kurt Lewin était également le créateur de la Théorie des champs , qui a servi de base au développement de recherches sur la dynamique de groupe, très applicable dans l’environnement organisationnel et commercial. Ensuite, pour comprendre son héritage, nous allons revenir aux années au cours desquelles Kurt Lewin a développé ses idées.

Les premières années

Kurt Lewin est né en 1890 dans une famille juive vivant à Mogilno, une ville qui appartenait alors au royaume de Prusse et fait maintenant partie de la Pologne.


Après avoir déménagé à Berlin avec sa famille, Kurt Lewin a commencé à étudier la médecine à l'université de Fribourg, mais peu après, il s'est installé à Munich. se lancer dans une carrière en biologie. De retour à Berlin, et sans avoir terminé sa formation, il s’intéresse de plus en plus à la psychologie et à la philosophie, discipline qu’il commence à étudier en 1911. À cette époque, il avait déjà commencé à participer à des initiatives liées au socialisme, au marxisme et à la lutte. pour les droits des femmes et a estimé que la psychologie appliquée pourrait être utile pour promouvoir des réformes en faveur de l'égalité.

Forger la psychologie de la Gestalt

Avec le déclenchement de la Première Guerre mondiale, Kurt Lewin fut envoyé au front pour servir d'artilleur. Cependant, il a été immédiatement blessé, il est donc resté en convalescence pendant plusieurs jours. A cette époque, il commençait à décrire le champ de bataille en utilisant des termes topologiques similaires à ceux qui seraient inspirés de la théorie de Gestalt, qui était alors en préparation, et rappelait également à la théorie topologique qu'il créerait quelque chose. plus tard.


Une fois rentré à Berlin, En plus d’un doctorat en philosophie, Kurt Lewin a commencé à travailler à l’Institut de psychologie de Berlin. . C'est là qu'il est entré en contact avec deux autres grands représentants de la psychologie de la Gestalt: Wolfgang Köhler et Max Wertheimer . Le croisement des idées entre eux leur a permis de consolider les idées du courant gestaltien tout en servant de terrain fertile au laboratoire pour qu’il devienne un lieu où de jeunes promesses de la psychologie européenne seraient formées. comme Bluma Zeigarnik.

Kurt Lewin aux États-Unis

En 1933, lorsque Hitler et les nazis sont arrivés au pouvoir, Kurt Lewin a décidé de s’installer immédiatement dans un autre pays. Il finit par émigrer aux États-Unis après avoir tenté sans succès d'obtenir un poste de professeur d'université à Jérusalem et, grâce aux contacts de Wolfgang Köhler, il parvint à entrer à la Cornell University pour travailler plus tard dans l'Iowa. Directeur du Centre de recherche sur la dynamique de groupe au MIT Massachusetts.


Pendant ce temps, Kurt Lewin travaille particulièrement sur les phénomènes sociaux liés aux interactions sociales et étudie les effets des pressions sociales sur les habitudes alimentaires des enfants et les dynamiques de travail les plus efficaces au sein des organisations. Par conséquent, les domaines abordés par Kurt Lewin vont bien au-delà de ce qui était associé au répertoire des activités d’un psychologue, issu de la Gestalt ou de toute autre école.

Quand Kurt Lewin est mort en 1947, avait déjà laissé ouverte une porte qui laisserait la place à la nouvelle branche de la psychologie: la psychologie sociale .

Théorie de terrain des forces

Dans les années où Kurt Lewin a vécu en Amérique du Nord, le behaviorisme était le paradigme dominant aux États-Unis. Les comportementalistes ont compris que le comportement humain est le résultat de la manière dont l'environnement influence les individus, mais Lewin est parti d'une vision de la psychologie très différente de celle-ci. Comme les représentants de la Gestalt en Europe, il comprit que les gens ne sont pas un simple agent passif réagissant aux stimuli, mais que ils agissent en fonction de la manière dont ils perçoivent leur interaction avec l'environnement . L’interaction a donc été l’élément fondamental de Kurt Lewin dans ses analyses.

The Field Theory est sa manière de saisir l’idée que la psychologie ne devrait pas être centrée sur l’étude de la personne et de l’environnement comme si c’était deux pièces à analyser séparément, mais il faut voir en quoi elles s’affectent. oui en temps réel.C’est pourquoi Kurt Lewin a travaillé avec des catégories telles que "espace vital" ou "champ": ce qui l’intéressait était la dynamique, les changements, et non les images statiques de ce qui se passait à chaque instant, ce qui, à son avis, n’était utile que pour Décrivez ce qui se passe à chaque phase du processus et non pas à expliquer.

Décrire les processus de changement, Kurt Lewin s’inspire des études de physique et emprunte l’idée du champ de force . Pour lui, un comportement individuel ou de groupe peut être compris comme un processus de changement menant d’une situation initiale à une autre. Ainsi, la théorie des champs de Lewin établit que ce qui se passe pendant que ce processus de changement a lieu passe dans un champ dynamique dans lequel l'état de chaque partie de ce champ de force affecte toutes les autres.

Les variables les plus importantes qui agissent dans les champs ou les "espaces vitaux" sont, pour Kurt Lewin, la tension, la force et le besoin, grâce auxquels le comportement a une raison d'être.

Kurt Lewin et la recherche-action

Kurt Lewin a compris que, comme dans un champ de forces, toutes les parties s’affectent, Pour comprendre le comportement humain, nous devons prendre en compte toutes les variables qui interviennent en temps réel dans les actions des personnes et des groupes. , de l'espace dans lequel ils se trouvent à la température, à la manière dont ils se socialisent entre eux, etc. De plus, ces éléments ne peuvent pas être analysés isolément, mais nous devons nous concentrer sur l’étude de leurs interactions pour avoir une vision globale de ce qui se passe.

Mais cela conduit à une idée qui était à l'époque révolutionnaire: comme ce qui est étudié n'est pas une chose isolée, mais une interaction, nous ne devons pas avoir peur d'affecter l'objet d'étude en tant que chercheurs. De plus, intervenir dans le champ de force nous permet d'introduire des dynamiques qui nous aideront à comprendre les mécanismes qui fonctionnent dans ce domaine.

En bref, selon Kurt Lewin, l’influence sur ces dynamiques aide à avoir une image fidèle de ce qui se passe. Cela a été cristallisé dans l'une des phrases les plus célèbres de ce psychologue: pour comprendre un système, il faut le changer. C'est le principe de la recherche-action proposé par Kurt Lewin en tant que méthode efficace pour comprendre et améliorer les dynamiques sociales.


Introduction à la Sociologie (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes