yes, therapy helps!
Fear of undressing (dyshabilophobia): causes, symptoms and treatment

Fear of undressing (dyshabilophobia): causes, symptoms and treatment

May 18, 2024

Human beings feel many emotions, some pleasant, and others that are not so much but, although sometimes they do not seem so, they are adaptive and have functionality. Fear is an emotion that puts us in alert mode, so that, in the face of danger, we can react quickly. Therefore, it is an adaptive emotion, but the current context can appear many times in an irrational way, causing a great feeling of anxiety and discomfort. In these cases we speak of a phobic disorder.

Phobias are of many types and appear in front of many stimuli. Today we will talk about the phobia of undressing, a phobia that can be disabling and that can seriously harm a person when having sex .


Related article: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

What is the phobia of undressing

Phobias can be classified in different ways. It is common to talk about three types of phobias: agoraphobia and specific phobias and social phobias. Dishabiliofobia belongs to this group. If you want to know more about what is a social phobia, you can read our article "Social phobia: what is it and how to overcome it?".

The phobia of undressing also belongs to those known as sexual phobias, which are those that interfere with a person's normal sexual behavior. . People with fear of undressing can have a really bad time in situations where they have to take off their clothes, either in a gym or when having intimate relationships with another person. In extreme cases, the phobia can appear even though nobody is nearby, simply by imagining someone watching when the affected person is naked or when there is someone nearby but not necessarily in the same room.


Causes of this phobia

The most frequent cause of the development of this phobia is having suffered a traumatic experience, usually in the privacy of a bathroom or in a changing room, or in a situation related to nudity. This fear occurs, therefore, as the result of an apprenticeship, specifically by classical conditioning, a type of associative learning that was initially investigated by the Russian physiologist Ivan Pavlov.

Now, one of the most important experiments in the history of psychology and in which John Watson managed to get a little boy, named Albert, to develop a phobia, occurred in 1920 in the United States.

  • You can know all the characteristics of classical conditioning in our article "Classical conditioning and its most important experiments"

Other causes of fear of nudity

Now, this phobia is complex, like the rest of social phobias. Some experts say that there is a relationship with low self-esteem and a distorted image of the body itself, which is known as body dysmorphic disorder. A disorder in which the sufferer feels an exaggerated concern for some defect (usually imaginary) in a physical characteristic of the body. These people suffer great anxiety when they have to show their body to other people in trying to avoid situations in which they must undress in front of other people.


Phobias can also develop by vicarious conditioning, that is, by observing unpleasant experiences in other people . Vicar conditioning has different characteristics to observation learning. You can check it in our article "Vicar conditioning: how does this type of learning work?".

Finally, experts say that human beings are biologically predisposed to suffer phobias, because fear is an adaptive emotion that does not respond to logical arguments. The reason for this is that it is produced by primitive and non-cognitive associations.

Symptoms of the deficiency phobia

Phobias, despite having different types, share the same symptomatology. These symptoms are usually of three types: cognitive, behavioral and physical . As for the former, they emphasize fear, anguish, shame, lack of concentration or catastrophic thoughts. Regarding behavioral symptoms, the person with this disorder tends to avoid the feared stimulus. The most prominent physical symptoms are: hyperventilation, headache, dry mouth, increased heart rate and nausea.

Treatment

The fear of nudity is a complex situation that requires psychological treatment, as it can cause great discomfort and an inability to have not only sexual relationships, but also amorous ones. There are many types of psychotherapy, but according to scientific studies, The most effective for the treatment of phobias is cognitive behavioral therapy .

There are many cognitive behavioral techniques, but the most effective have been exposure techniques and relaxation techniques. A very popular and widely used technique in the treatment of phobias is the systematic desensitization, which contains the two previous ones and which exposes the patient to the phobic stimulus in a gradual manner. Before but, it is necessary for the patient to learn a series of coping strategies.

  • You can know more about this technique in our article "What is systematic desensitization and how does it work?" Now, there are other types of therapy that have also proved to be very effective in the treatment of these pathologies. Cognitive therapy based on Mindfulness and therapy of acceptance and commitment are some examples.

In addition, nowadays, new technologies have also positively influenced the treatment of phobias, since virtual reality is used to simulate the presence of the phobic stimulus.

  • Related article: "8 apps to treat phobias and fears from your smartphone"

Dishabiliophobia Fear of undressing in front of someone (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Peur du déshabillage (dyshabilophobie): causes, symptômes et traitement

Peur du déshabillage (dyshabilophobie): causes, symptômes et traitement

Novembre 28, 2022

Les êtres humains ressentent de nombreuses émotions, certaines agréables et d’autres moins, mais, même si parfois, cela ne semble pas être le cas, elles sont adaptatives et ont une fonctionnalité. La peur est une émotion qui nous met en alerte, afin de pouvoir réagir rapidement face au danger. Il s’agit donc d’une émotion adaptative, mais le contexte actuel peut apparaître de nombreuses fois de manière irrationnelle, provoquant un grand sentiment d’anxiété et de malaise. Dans ces cas, on parle de trouble phobique.

Les phobies sont de plusieurs types et apparaissent devant de nombreux stimuli. Aujourd'hui, nous allons parler de la phobie du déshabillage, une phobie qui peut être invalidante et qui peut nuire gravement à une personne lors de rapports sexuels .


Article connexe: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

Quelle est la phobie de se déshabiller

Les phobies peuvent être classées de différentes manières. Il est courant de parler de trois types de phobies: l'agoraphobie et des phobies spécifiques et des phobies sociales. Dishabiliofobia appartient à ce groupe. Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur ce qu'est une phobie sociale, vous pouvez lire notre article "La phobie sociale: qu'est-ce que c'est et comment le surmonter?".

La phobie de se déshabiller appartient également à celles connues sous le nom de phobies sexuelles, qui interfèrent avec le comportement sexuel normal d'une personne. . Les personnes qui ont peur de se déshabiller peuvent être très mal dans des situations où elles doivent se déshabiller, que ce soit dans un gymnase ou lorsqu’elles ont une relation intime avec une autre personne. Dans des cas extrêmes, la phobie peut apparaître même si personne ne se trouve à proximité, simplement en imaginant une personne regarder quand la personne touchée est nue ou lorsqu'il y a quelqu'un à proximité mais pas nécessairement dans la même pièce.


Causes de cette phobie

La cause la plus fréquente du développement de cette phobie est d'avoir vécu une expérience traumatisante, généralement dans l'intimité d'une salle de bain ou dans un vestiaire, ou dans une situation liée à la nudité. Cette crainte découle donc d'un apprentissage, plus particulièrement du conditionnement classique, un type d'apprentissage associatif initialement étudié par le physiologiste russe Ivan Pavlov.

Or, une des expériences les plus importantes de l’histoire de la psychologie et dans laquelle John Watson a réussi à obtenir un petit garçon, nommé Albert, à développer une phobie, a eu lieu en 1920 aux États-Unis.

  • Vous pouvez connaître toutes les caractéristiques du conditionnement classique dans notre article "Le conditionnement classique et ses expériences les plus importantes"

Autres causes de peur de la nudité

Maintenant, cette phobie est complexe, comme le reste des phobies sociales. Certains experts affirment qu’il existe une relation entre une faible estime de soi et une image déformée du corps lui-même, connue sous le nom de trouble dysmorphique corporel. Trouble dans lequel le patient ressent une préoccupation exagérée pour un défaut (généralement imaginaire) d'une caractéristique physique du corps. Ces personnes souffrent d'une grande anxiété lorsqu'elles doivent montrer leur corps à d'autres personnes pour éviter des situations dans lesquelles elles doivent se déshabiller devant d'autres personnes.


Les phobies peuvent également se développer par conditionnement indirect, c'est-à-dire en observant des expériences déplaisantes chez d'autres personnes. . Le conditionnement du vicaire a des caractéristiques différentes de l’apprentissage par observation. Vous pouvez le vérifier dans notre article "Conditionnement du vicaire: comment fonctionne ce type d'apprentissage?".

Enfin, les experts affirment que les êtres humains sont biologiquement prédisposés à souffrir de phobies, car la peur est une émotion adaptative qui ne répond pas aux arguments logiques. La raison en est qu'il est produit par des associations primitives et non cognitives.

Symptômes de la phobie de carence

Les phobies, bien qu’elles soient de types différents, partagent la même symptomatologie. Ces symptômes sont généralement de trois types: cognitif, comportemental et physique. . Quant aux premiers, ils mettent l'accent sur la peur, l'angoisse, la honte, le manque de concentration ou les pensées catastrophiques. En ce qui concerne les symptômes comportementaux, la personne atteinte de ce trouble a tendance à éviter le stimulus redouté. Les symptômes physiques les plus importants sont les suivants: hyperventilation, maux de tête, bouche sèche, accélération du rythme cardiaque et nausées.

Traitement

La peur de la nudité est une situation complexe qui nécessite un traitement psychologique, car elle peut causer un grand malaise et l’incapacité d’avoir des relations non seulement sexuelles mais aussi amoureuses. Il existe de nombreux types de psychothérapie, mais selon des études scientifiques, La thérapie cognitivo-comportementale est la plus efficace pour le traitement des phobies. .

Il existe de nombreuses techniques cognitivo-comportementales, mais les plus efficaces sont les techniques d'exposition et les techniques de relaxation. Une technique très répandue et largement utilisée dans le traitement des phobies est la désensibilisation systématique, qui contient les deux précédentes et qui expose le patient au stimulus phobique de manière progressive. Avant mais, il est nécessaire que le patient apprenne une série de stratégies d'adaptation.

  • Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur cette technique dans notre article "Qu'est-ce que la désensibilisation systématique et son fonctionnement?" Il existe maintenant d'autres types de traitements qui se sont également révélés très efficaces dans le traitement de ces pathologies. La thérapie cognitive basée sur la pleine conscience et la thérapie de l'acceptation et de l'engagement en sont des exemples.

De plus, les nouvelles technologies ont également eu une influence positive sur le traitement des phobies, la réalité virtuelle servant à simuler la présence du stimulus phobique.

  • Article connexe: "8 applications pour traiter les phobies et les peurs de votre smartphone"

ESSAYEZ DE NE PAS AVOIR PEUR (99% IMPOSSIBLE) (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes