yes, therapy helps!
Gymnophobia (fear of nudity): causes, symptoms and treatment

Gymnophobia (fear of nudity): causes, symptoms and treatment

March 13, 2023

The nakedness of the human body has been the subject of ethical and moral debates for centuries . While some people consider it as a natural state of the person, others perceive a naked human body as something ordinary or vulgar, that should not be exposed to the sight of other people.

When this aversion to the perception of a naked person goes beyond the feelings of abhorrence or anger and becomes fear or exaggerated fear, we may be faced with a case of gymnophobia.

  • Related article: "The 7 most common specific phobias"

What is gymnophobia?

Gymnophobia, also known as nudofobia, is a specific type of phobia categorized within the classification of anxiety disorders . In the case of this particular phobia, the person experiences a pathological fear of their own and others' nudity.


This fear that is experienced as an exaggerated, persistent and irrational sensation, is presented in those who feel a pathological aversion to the possibility of being seen naked or seeing other people, even within those contexts in which nudity is something natural and acceptable, such as the changing rooms of a gym.

One of the most distinctive characteristics of people with gymnophobia is that, in certain cases, the anxiety response does not appear in a generalized way with all people, but is restricted to a small group of the population.

In the same way, through case studies, it has been possible to confirm that in many of the patients of gymnophobia there is a feeling of inferiority with respect to the body itself , which remains underlying the development of the phobia.


These people tend to compare their body with those that appear in media and publications, in which the ideals or beauty canons are so highly distorted that it included some natural features of the human being are seen as imperfections, leading to the person to experience high levels of anguish and frustration.

This pathological terror to see a naked body, including his own, can cause great interference in the most intimate planes of the person, which can deny to maintain physical or sexual contact, due to the anxiety that causes the idea of ​​having to be naked in front of someone and that someone else is in the same state of nudity.

In the same way, a gymnophobia will avoid encountering situations that involve having to take off your clothes, such as showering in a changing room with more people or even going to certain medical check-ups.


Characteristics of a phobic fear

As mentioned above, gymnophobia is an anxiety disorder, so the fear experienced in it is substantially different from a normative or adaptive fear.

The main characteristics that distinguish a pathological fear from a fear considered normal are:

  • Sensation of excessive and disproportionate fear compared to the real threat posed by the situation or the phobic stimulus
  • It is irrational, so the person is not able to find a reasonable explanation for their reaction
  • It is uncontrollable, so the person is unable to master the sensations experienced
  • Generates avoidance and flight behaviors
  • Although it only appears before the feared situation, this fear is constant through time and situations

Symptoms of fear of nudity

In spite of the fact that the main symptom of gymnophobia is the experimentation of a great fear before the appearance of the feared stimulus, in this case the nudity, There are many other symptoms of the anxiety reaction that the person experiences .

These symptoms do not have to appear in the same way in all people with gymnophobia. However, these symptoms can be classified into three different categories, depending on whether they correspond to physical, cognitive or behavioral symptoms.

1. Physical symptoms

The first symptoms that the person consciously perceives when facing the phobic stimulus are the physical symptoms. These are due to an overactivity of the nervous system which causes all kinds of changes and alterations in the body:

  • Increased heart rate
  • Increase in the respiratory rate
  • Palpitations
  • Feeling short of breath
  • Muscular stiffness
  • Increased sweating
  • Headache
  • Gastric changes such as stomach pain and / or diarrhea
  • Nausea and / or vomiting
  • Feeling dizzy or dizzy
  • Fainting and loss of consciousness

2. Cognitive symptoms

The physical symptoms of gymnophobia are always accompanied, in turn, by a series of cognitive symptoms manifested by distorted and irrational thoughts about human nudity.

These ideas are characterized by being irrational and intrusive and, in addition, can be accompanied by mental images of catastrophic content in relation to the possible dangers or threats of the phobic stimulus.

3. Behavioral symptoms

As often happens with specific phobias, the symptoms themselves end up interfering with or conditioning the person's own behavior patterns . These tend to alter the way in which this behaves in daily life, generating two types of responses considered as behavioral symptoms: avoidance behaviors and escape behaviors.

By avoidant behaviors we understand all those behaviors that the person with gymnophobia carries out in order to avoid the dreaded situation or stimulus. For example, avoid entering the changing rooms of a gym.

However, the escape behaviors originate when the subject has not been able to deal with the object of phobia, so he performs all possible acts or behaviors that allow him to escape from the situation as soon as possible.

Causes

At the beginning of the article it was commented that the base of gymnophobia may be related to a feeling of inferiority towards one's body, which has been potentiated or developed into a phobia.

However, there are many other factors that can play a special role when developing a phobia, being the most common experimentation or experiences highly traumatic or with a high emotional content, in which the nudity had a more or less relevant role .

Although it can sometimes be difficult to determine the specific origin of a phobia, there are a number of mechanisms or risk factors that may favor it. These are:

  • Genetic elements
  • Personality
  • Cognitive styles
  • Direct conditioning
  • Vicarial learning

Treatment

Fortunately, There are a series of very effective treatments that, regardless of the severity in which the phobia occurs , can help reduce the person's symptoms and allow them to lead a normal rhythm and lifestyle.

In the case of gymnophobia, and of any type of specific phobia, the type of intervention that is most successful is cognitive behavioral therapy; in which, in addition to a cognitive restructuring to eliminate distorted thoughts, live exposure or systematic desensitization (DS) techniques are carried out.

In this type of technique, the patient is exposed gradually to situations related to phobia, either directly or through imagination. Along with this, there is a training in relaxation techniques that allow to reduce the level of physical symptoms of anxiety.

Bibliographic references:

  • Bourne, Edmund (2005). The Anxiety & Phobia Workbook, 4th ed. New Harbinger Publications.
  • Wolpe, Joseph (1958). Psychotherapy by reciprocal inhibition. Stanford University Press.

Gymnophobia -- fear of nudity Hypnotherapy in Adelaide (March 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Gymnophobie (peur de la nudité): causes, symptômes et traitement

Gymnophobie (peur de la nudité): causes, symptômes et traitement

Mars 31, 2020

La nudité du corps humain fait l'objet de débats éthiques et moraux depuis des siècles . Alors que certaines personnes le considèrent comme un état naturel de la personne, d'autres perçoivent un corps humain nu comme une chose ordinaire ou vulgaire, cela ne devrait pas être exposé à la vue des autres.

Lorsque cette aversion pour la perception d'une personne nue dépasse les sentiments d'abhorreur ou de colère et devient une peur ou une peur exagérée, nous pouvons être confrontés à un cas de gymnophobie.

  • Article connexe: "Les 7 phobies spécifiques les plus courantes"

Qu'est-ce que la gymnophobie?

La gymnophobie, également appelée nudofobie, est un type spécifique de phobie classé dans la classification des troubles anxieux . Dans le cas de cette phobie particulière, la personne éprouve une peur pathologique de sa propre nudité et de celle des autres.


Cette peur, ressentie comme une sensation exagérée, persistante et irrationnelle, est présentée chez ceux qui ressentent une aversion pathologique pour la possibilité d'être vus nus ou de voir les autres, même dans les contextes où la nudité est quelque chose naturelles et acceptables, telles que les vestiaires d’une salle de sport.

L'une des caractéristiques les plus distinctives des personnes atteintes de gymnophobie est que, dans certains cas, la réponse à l'anxiété n'apparaît pas de manière généralisée chez toutes les personnes, mais se limite à un petit groupe de la population.

De la même manière, des études de cas ont permis de confirmer que chez de nombreux patients de gymnophobie, il existe un sentiment d'infériorité par rapport au corps lui-même , qui reste sous-jacent au développement de la phobie.


Ces personnes ont tendance à comparer leur corps à ceux qui apparaissent dans les médias et les publications, dans lesquels les idéaux ou les canons de beauté sont tellement déformés qu’il incluait certaines caractéristiques naturelles de l’être humain, considérées comme des imperfections, conduisant à la personne à éprouver des niveaux élevés d'angoisse et de frustration.

Cette terreur pathologique de voir un corps nu, y compris le sien, peut causer de grandes interférences dans les plans les plus intimes de la personne, ce qui peut nier le maintien du contact physique ou sexuel, en raison de l’anxiété qui en découle. être nu devant quelqu'un et que quelqu'un d'autre soit dans le même état de nudité.

De la même manière, une gymnophobie évitera de se retrouver dans des situations comportant l'obligation de se déshabiller, comme se doucher dans un vestiaire avec plus de personnes ou même se rendre à certains examens médicaux.


Caractéristiques d'une peur phobique

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, la gymnophobie est un trouble anxieux, de sorte que la peur qui y est vécue est sensiblement différente d'une peur normative ou adaptative.

Les principales caractéristiques qui distinguent une peur pathologique d'une peur considérée comme normale sont les suivantes:

  • Sensation de peur excessive et disproportionnée par rapport à la menace réelle posée par la situation ou le stimulus phobique
  • C'est irrationnel, donc la personne n'est pas en mesure de trouver une explication raisonnable à sa réaction.
  • C'est incontrôlable, donc la personne est incapable de maîtriser les sensations éprouvées
  • Génère des comportements d'évitement et de vol
  • Bien qu’elle apparaisse seulement avant la situation redoutée, cette peur est constante dans le temps et les situations

Symptômes de peur de la nudité

Bien que le principal symptôme de la gymnophobie soit l’expérimentation d’une grande peur avant l’apparition du stimulus redouté, dans ce cas la nudité Il y a beaucoup d'autres symptômes de la réaction d'anxiété que la personne éprouve .

Ces symptômes ne doivent pas nécessairement apparaître de la même manière chez toutes les personnes atteintes de gymnophobie. Cependant, ces symptômes peuvent être classés en trois catégories différentes, selon qu'ils correspondent à des symptômes physiques, cognitifs ou comportementaux.

1. symptômes physiques

Les premiers symptômes que la personne perçoit consciemment face au stimulus phobique sont les symptômes physiques. Ceux-ci sont dus à une hyperactivité du système nerveux qui provoque toutes sortes de changements et d'altérations dans le corps:

  • Augmentation du rythme cardiaque
  • Augmentation de la fréquence respiratoire
  • Palpitations
  • Sensation d'essoufflement
  • Rigidité musculaire
  • Transpiration accrue
  • Mal de tête
  • Modifications gastriques telles que douleurs à l'estomac et / ou diarrhée
  • Nausées et / ou vomissements
  • Se sentir étourdi ou étourdi
  • Évanouissement et perte de conscience

2. symptômes cognitifs

Les symptômes physiques de la gymnophobie sont toujours accompagnés, à leur tour, de une série de symptômes cognitifs manifestés par des pensées déformées et irrationnelles à propos de la nudité humaine.

Ces idées se caractérisent par leur irrationnel et leur intrusion et peuvent, en outre, être accompagnées d'images mentales au contenu catastrophique en relation avec les dangers ou menaces potentiels du stimulus phobique.

3. symptômes comportementaux

Comme cela arrive souvent avec des phobies spécifiques, les symptômes eux-mêmes finissent par interférer ou conditionner les propres comportements de la personne . Celles-ci ont tendance à modifier la façon dont cela se comporte dans la vie quotidienne, générant deux types de réponses considérées comme des symptômes comportementaux: les comportements d'évitement et les comportements d'évasion.

Par comportements évitants, nous entendons tous les comportements que la gymnophobie adopte pour éviter la situation ou le stimulus redoutés. Par exemple, évitez d'entrer dans les vestiaires d'un gymnase.

Cependant, les comportements d'évasion proviennent du fait que le sujet n'a pas été en mesure de traiter l'objet de la phobie. Il accomplit donc tous les actes ou comportements possibles lui permettant de fuir la situation le plus rapidement possible.

Les causes

Au début de l'article, il a été signalé que la base de la gymnophobie pouvait être liée à un sentiment d'infériorité vis-à-vis de son corps, qui avait été potentialisé ou transformé en une phobie.

Cependant, de nombreux autres facteurs peuvent jouer un rôle particulier dans le développement d'une phobie, qu'il s'agisse de l'expérimentation la plus courante ou d'expériences extrêmement traumatisantes ou à fort contenu émotionnel, dans lesquels la nudité a joué un rôle plus ou moins pertinent. .

Bien qu'il puisse parfois être difficile de déterminer l'origine spécifique d'une phobie, il existe un certain nombre de mécanismes ou de facteurs de risque qui peuvent la favoriser. Ceux-ci sont:

  • Éléments génétiques
  • Personnalité
  • Styles cognitifs
  • Conditionnement direct
  • Apprentissage par le vicariat

Traitement

Par chance, Il existe une série de traitements très efficaces qui, quelle que soit la gravité de la phobie , peut aider à réduire les symptômes de la personne et lui permettre de suivre un rythme normal

Dans le cas de la gymnophobie et de tout type de phobie spécifique, le type d’intervention qui a le plus de succès est la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale; dans lesquels, en plus d'une restructuration cognitive visant à éliminer les pensées déformées, des techniques d'exposition en direct ou de désensibilisation systématique (DS) sont mises en œuvre.

Dans ce type de technique, le patient est exposé progressivement à des situations liées à la phobie, directement ou par le biais de son imagination. Parallèlement à cela, il existe un entraînement aux techniques de relaxation permettant de réduire le niveau de symptômes physiques de l'anxiété.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bourne, Edmund (2005). Cahier d'exercices sur l'anxiété et la phobie, 4e éd. Nouvelles publications Harbinger.
  • Wolpe, Joseph (1958). Psychothérapie par inhibition réciproque, Stanford University Press.

Phobias 1 - Anuptaphobie (Mars 2020).


Articles Connexes