yes, therapy helps!
Foreign Accent Syndrome: symptoms, causes and treatment

Foreign Accent Syndrome: symptoms, causes and treatment

June 16, 2022

The Foreign Accent Syndrome is an uncommon and little investigated clinical picture, but it raises one of the great enigmas of neuroscience in relation to language. Broadly speaking, it is a condition in which a person suddenly acquires an accent different from the native one without apparent explanation.

In this article we explain what is the Foreign Accent Syndrome , what are its main characteristics and what science has found so far.

  • Related article: "The 16 most common mental disorders"

What is the Foreign Accent Syndrome?

The Foreign Accent Syndrome is characterized by the sudden presence of an accent different from that of the mother tongue, while the speech proceeds in a normal way. It was first described in 1907 by the neurologist Pierre Marie, however there have been few cases investigated.


It usually occurs after strokes and occurs apparently suddenly. The person begins to speak in their mother tongue with full intelligibility, but with a seemingly foreign accent that can not be avoided and that the same person does not recognize as his own .

symptom

The accent is recognized by other people as distinct from the mother tongue, although it is not necessarily identified as that of a particular language. In other words, the accent is heard and interpreted by others as a foreigner, because significant changes are identified in the pronunciation of some syllables, consonants and vowels which are considered key to the mother tongue, but not necessarily corresponds completely with another accent.


The people who listen can recognize that the speaker uses their native language (for example, the Spanish language), but with an accent that can be French, English, German, or any other, which varies according to the opinions of the listeners. That is to say that, generally there is no agreement on what is the perceived accent, for this reason it is also called Pseudoextranjero Accent Syndrome.

This syndrome has been related to a neuromotor disturbance, whereby it is also defined as an acquired alteration of the bean , in which the central nervous system plays a very important role. It may be accompanied by manifestations related to language and communication disorders such as aphasias and dysarthria, although not necessarily.

  • You may be interested: "The 8 types of speech disorders"

Representative clinical cases

González-Álvarez, J., Parcet-Ibars, M.A., Avila, C. et al. (2003) have conducted a review of the scientific literature on the Foreign Accent Syndrome, and they tell us that the first documented case was in the year 1917. It was a Parisian who developed an "Alsatian" accent after receiving a war wound that had caused a right hemiparesis.


Thirty years later, another of the best-known cases of Foreign Accent Syndrome was published, where a 30-year-old Norwegian woman suffers a frontotemporoparietal injury after being the victim of a Nazi bombing, and as a result, her accent begins to be recognized by the listeners as a German.

Because of the highly conflictive context in which he found himself, the German accent caused him different problems to do the things of everyday life, since he was identified as being German.

In the scientific literature have also been described cases of Foreign Accent Syndrome without having had the previous experience of coexisting with a second language . Almost always they are monolingual people.

Associated medical conditions and possible causes

Most of the cases that have been investigated describe the onset of the syndrome after having been diagnosed with Broca's aphasia, transcortical motor aphasia, lesions in the subcortical white matter in specific convolutions.

In addition to the motor language areas, other brain areas that have been related to the Foreign Accent Syndrome have been the precentral gyrus, the lower central gyrus, the corpus callosum and the insular cortex. Likewise, the relationship with Rolando's fissure and temporal areas has been investigated.

More generally, the medical causes related to the Foreign Accent Syndrome are mainly cerebrovascular accidents in the left hemisphere , in relation to the areas that participate in the automation of complex motor behaviors (such as speech, which requires very important neuromuscular coordination).

Currently this syndrome is investigated in relation to the neural areas that regulate the joint, the acquisition of native speech and a second language, however there is no agreement on the methodological options that would be decisive to find a definitive explanation on this syndrome.

For this same reason, there is not enough information about the prognoses and treatments, although some auditory and sensory feedback techniques have been tested that seek to modify verbal fluency, as well as auditory masking techniques with noise that have been found satisfactory when dealing with, for example, stuttering, since people tend to improve their verbal fluency when they stop listening to their own voice.

Bibliographic references:

  • González-Álvarez, J., Parcet-Ibars, M.A., Avila, C. et al. (2003). A rare alteration of speech of neurological origin: the foreign accent syndrome. Neurology Magazine, 36 (3): 227-234.
  • Srinivas, H. (2011) Transient foreign accent syndrome. Journal List, doi: 10.1136 / bcr.07.2011.4466. Retrieved June 8, 2018. Available at //www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3214216/.

FOREIGN ACCENT SYNDROME, Causes, Signs and Symptoms, Diagnosis and Treatment. (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome d'accent étranger: symptômes, causes et traitement

Syndrome d'accent étranger: symptômes, causes et traitement

Juin 13, 2021

Le syndrome de l'accent étranger est un tableau clinique peu étudié et peu étudié, mais il soulève l'une des grandes énigmes de la neuroscience en relation avec le langage. De manière générale, il s'agit d'une condition dans laquelle une personne acquiert soudainement un accent différent de celui de l'indigène sans explication apparente.

Dans cet article nous expliquons ce qu'est le syndrome de l'accent étranger , quelles sont ses principales caractéristiques et ce que la science a trouvé jusqu’à présent.

  • Article connexe: "Les 16 troubles mentaux les plus courants"

Qu'est-ce que le syndrome de l'accent étranger?

Le syndrome de l'accent étranger se caractérise par la présence soudaine d'un accent différent de celui de la langue maternelle, alors que le discours se déroule de manière normale. Il a été décrit pour la première fois en 1907 par le neurologue Pierre Marie. Cependant, peu de cas ont été examinés.


Il survient généralement après un AVC et apparaît apparemment soudainement. La personne commence à parler dans sa langue maternelle avec une parfaite intelligibilité, mais avec un accent apparemment étranger qui ne peut être évité et que la même personne ne reconnaît pas comme sa propre .

Les symptômes

L'accent est reconnu par d'autres personnes comme étant distinct de la langue maternelle, bien qu'il ne soit pas nécessairement identifié comme celui d'une langue particulière. En d'autres termes, l'accent est entendu et interprété par d'autres comme un étranger, car des changements importants sont identifiés dans la prononciation de quelques syllabes, consonnes et voyelles qui sont considérés comme essentiels à la langue maternelle, mais ne correspondent pas nécessairement complètement à un autre accent.


Les personnes qui écoutent peuvent reconnaître que le locuteur utilise leur langue maternelle (l'espagnol, par exemple), mais avec un accent qui peut être français, anglais, allemand ou autre, qui varie en fonction de l'opinion de l'auditeur. C’est-à-dire qu’il n’ya généralement pas d’accord sur l’accent perçu; pour cette raison, on l’appelle également syndrome de Pseudoextranjero Accent.

Ce syndrome a été lié à une perturbation neuromotrice, par laquelle il est également défini comme une altération acquise du haricot , dans lequel le système nerveux central joue un rôle très important. Elle peut s'accompagner de manifestations liées à des troubles du langage et de la communication tels que l'aphasie et la dysarthrie, mais pas nécessairement.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Les 8 types de troubles de la parole"

Cas cliniques représentatifs

González-Álvarez, J., Parcet-Ibars, M.A., Avila, C. et al. (2003) ont passé en revue la littérature scientifique sur le syndrome de l'accent étranger et ils nous ont dit que le premier cas documenté remonte à 1917. un parisien qui a développé un accent "alsacien" après avoir reçu une blessure de guerre qui avait causé une hémiparésie droite.


Trente ans plus tard, un autre des cas les plus connus de syndrome d'accent étranger a été publié. Une Norvégienne âgée de 30 ans a été victime d'un traumatisme fronto-temporal multiple après avoir été victime d'un attentat nazi. les auditeurs en allemand.

En raison du contexte très conflictuel dans lequel il se trouvait, l'accent allemand lui causa différents problèmes pour faire les choses de la vie quotidienne, puisqu'il était identifié comme étant allemand.

Dans la littérature scientifique ont également été décrits des cas de syndrome d’accent étranger sans avoir eu l'expérience préalable de coexistence avec une deuxième langue . Presque toujours, ce sont des personnes monolingues.

Conditions médicales associées et causes possibles

La plupart des cas examinés décrivent l'apparition du syndrome après avoir été diagnostiqué avec l'aphasie de Broca, l'aphasie motrice transcorticale, des lésions de la substance blanche sous-corticale lors de convolutions spécifiques.

Outre les zones du langage moteur, le gyrus précentral, le gyrus central inférieur, le corps calleux et le cortex insulaire ont également été associés au cerveau. De même, la relation entre la fissure de Rolando et les zones temporelles a été étudiée.

Plus généralement, les causes médicales liées au syndrome de l'accent étranger sont principalement des accidents cérébrovasculaires dans l'hémisphère gauche , en relation avec les domaines qui participent à l’automatisation de comportements moteurs complexes (tels que la parole, qui nécessite une coordination neuromusculaire très importante).

Actuellement, ce syndrome est étudié en relation avec les zones neurales qui régulent l'articulation, l'acquisition de la langue maternelle et d'une seconde langue. Cependant, il n'y a pas d'accord sur les options méthodologiques qui seraient décisives pour trouver une explication définitive de ce syndrome.

Pour cette même raison, il n’ya pas assez d’informations sur les pronostics et les traitements, bien que certaines techniques de rétroaction auditive et sensorielle aient été testées dans le but de modifier la fluence verbale, ainsi que techniques de masquage auditif avec bruit par exemple le bégaiement, car les gens ont tendance à améliorer leur fluence verbale quand ils arrêtent d’écouter leur propre voix.

Références bibliographiques:

  • González-Álvarez, J., Parcet-Ibars, M.A., Avila, C. et al. (2003). Une altération rare du langage d'origine neurologique: le syndrome de l'accent étranger. Neurology Magazine, 36 (3): 227-234.
  • Srinivas, H. (2011) Syndrome d'accent étranger transitoire. Liste de revues, doi: 10.1136 / bcr.07.2011.4466. Récupéré le 8 juin 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3214216/.

Fièvre jaune (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes