yes, therapy helps!
George Armitage Miller: biography of a pioneer of cognitive psychology

George Armitage Miller: biography of a pioneer of cognitive psychology

November 27, 2021

George A. Miller (1920-2012) was an American psychologist who contributed very relevant knowledge for psychology and cognitive neurosciences. Among other things, he analyzed how human beings process the information we receive, and was the first to maintain that our memory has the capacity to store up to seven differential elements per moment.

Then we'll see a biography of George A. Miller , as well as some of his main contributions to cognitive psychology.

  • Related article: "Cognitive psychology: definition, theories and main authors"

George A. Miller: biography of a cognitive psychologist

George Armitage Miller, better known as George A. Miller, was born on February 3, 1920 in Charleston, United States. In the year 1940 he received a higher degree in history and speech, and a year later, in 1941, he obtained a master's degree in the same area. Both degrees were part of the University of Alabama program.


Finally in 1946 He earned a Ph.D. in psychology from Harvard University .

As part of his activities within the latter institution, Miller collaborated in the communications arm of the US Army (Army Signal Corps) during the Second World War. In fact, in the year of 1943, Miller conducted a military investigation related to the intelligibility of speech and sound; themes that he moved years later in his studies on psycholinguistics.

Subsequently, he served as a professor and researcher at the same university, as well as at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and the Rockefeller University. Years later, in 1979, he started academic activities at Princeton University, where he was recognized as professor emeritus in 1990.


Likewise, he was a member of the prestigious American Academy of Arts and Sciences and of the National Academy of Sciences. He was also co-founder (together with Jerome S. Bruner) of the Center for Cognitive Studies at Harvard, in 1960, and participated in the establishment of the Princeton Cognitive Science Laboratory in 1986.

Thanks to his theories about short-term memory, Miller is recognized as one of the founders of cognitive science and cognitive neuroscience . He also made relevant contributions in psycholinguistics and in human communication studies, which earned him the Outstanding Vitality Contribution for Psychology award from the American Psychological Association (APA).

  • Maybe you are interested: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

From the behavioral paradigm to cognitive psychology

During the years in which George A. Miller was a researcher in psychology (between 1920 and 1950), the behavioral paradigm was on the rise. One of the things that behaviorism maintained was that the mind could not be studied scientifically, since it was not an entity whose reality was observable.


In other words, for behaviorism, there was no possibility of studying mental processes scientifically, because they are states and operations that can not be observed directly.

Miller, on the other hand, argued that the behavioral paradigm could be very limiting. From your perspective, mental phenomena could be a legitimate object of study for empirical research in psychology.

Studies in short-term memory

Miller was interested in measure the ability of the mind to establish information processing channels . From the research he did, he realized that people could reliably associate between four and ten continuous stimuli.

For example noises, line lengths or a series of points. People could quickly identify the stimulus as long as there were seven or less, and could retain between five and nine elements in immediate memory.

With this he developed one of his greatest proposals: the short-term memory in the human being is not unlimited, but has the general capacity to store up to seven pieces of information. Likewise, said capacity can be modified according to how subsequent processes are carried out, as the recoding of information .

The above is recognized to this day as one of the basic assumptions of information processing, precisely because it maintained that human memory can only efficiently capture a total of seven units at the same time (more or less two additional pieces of information) .

For example, the latter occurs when when we have to distinguish between different sounds , or when we have to perceive an object through a disguised or very fast glance.

Impact on psychology

Miller's proposals significantly impacted subsequent research in cognitive psychology, which ultimately led to develop and validate psychometric tests for the study of memory and other cognitive processes.

Likewise, it allowed to generalize the idea that it is important to limit the number of elements that are presented to a person when we want to retain certain information (for example the digits of a number or the number of stimuli that make up a presentation, etc.).

Outstanding works

Some of George A. Miller's most important works are Language and communication, of 1951; Plans and behavior structure, of 1957; Y The magic number seven, plus or minus two: some limitations in our ability to process information , of 1956, which is perhaps the work that marked his beginnings as a prestigious cognitive psychologist.

Bibliographic references:

  • Doorey, M. (2018). George A. Miller. Encyclopedia Britannica. Retrieved August 29, 2018. Available at //www.britannica.com/biography/George-A-Miller.
  • Pinker, S. (2012). George A. Miller (1920-2012). Obituaries. American Psychological Association. Retrieved August 29, 2018. Available at //stevenpinker.com/files/pinker/files/miller_obituary.pdf.

George Armitage Miller | Wikipedia audio article (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
George Armitage Miller: biographie d'un pionnier de la psychologie cognitive

George Armitage Miller: biographie d'un pionnier de la psychologie cognitive

Décembre 9, 2021

George A. Miller (1920-2012) était un psychologue américain qui a apporté des connaissances très pertinentes en psychologie et en neurosciences cognitives. Entre autres choses, il a analysé la manière dont les êtres humains traitent les informations que nous recevons et a été le premier à affirmer que notre mémoire avait la capacité de stocker jusqu'à sept éléments différentiels par moment.

Ensuite nous verrons une biographie de George A. Miller , ainsi que certaines de ses principales contributions à la psychologie cognitive.

  • Article connexe: "Psychologie cognitive: définition, théories et principaux auteurs"

George A. Miller: biographie d'un psychologue cognitif

George Armitage Miller, mieux connu sous le nom de George A. Miller, est né le 3 février 1920 à Charleston, aux États-Unis. En 1940, il obtient un diplôme supérieur en histoire et en discours et, un an plus tard, en 1941, il obtient une maîtrise dans la même région. Les deux diplômes faisaient partie du programme de l'Université de l'Alabama.


Enfin en 1946 Il a obtenu un doctorat en psychologie de l'Université Harvard. .

Dans le cadre de ses activités au sein de cette dernière institution, Miller a collaboré au sein du bras de communication de l'armée américaine (Army Signal Corps) pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. En fait, en 1943, Miller mena une enquête militaire sur l'intelligibilité de la parole et du son; thèmes qu’il a abordés des années plus tard dans ses études en psycholinguistique.

Par la suite, il a été professeur et chercheur dans la même université, ainsi qu'au Massachusetts Institute of Technology et à la Rockefeller University. Des années plus tard, en 1979, il a commencé ses activités académiques à l’Université de Princeton, où il a été reconnu professeur émérite en 1990.


De même, il était membre de la prestigieuse Académie américaine des arts et des sciences et de la National Academy of Sciences. Il a également été cofondateur (avec Jerome S. Bruner) du Centre for Cognitive Studies de Harvard, en 1960, et a participé à la création du laboratoire de sciences cognitives de Princeton en 1986.

Grâce à ses théories sur la mémoire à court terme, Miller est reconnu comme l'un des fondateurs des sciences cognitives et des neurosciences cognitives . Il a également apporté des contributions pertinentes en psycholinguistique et en études de la communication humaine, ce qui lui a valu le prix de contribution exceptionnelle à la psychologie décerné par l'American Psychological Association (APA).

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Du paradigme comportemental à la psychologie cognitive

Pendant les années où George A. Miller était chercheur en psychologie (entre 1920 et 1950), le paradigme comportemental était à la hausse. Une des choses qui a été maintenue par le behaviorisme était que l'esprit ne pouvait pas être étudié scientifiquement, car ce n'était pas une entité dont la réalité était observable.


En d'autres termes, pour le behaviorisme, il n'était pas possible d'étudier scientifiquement les processus mentaux, car ce sont des états et des opérations qui ne peuvent pas être observés directement.

Miller, quant à lui, a soutenu que le paradigme comportemental pourrait être très limitant. De votre point de vue, les phénomènes mentaux pourraient être un objet d'étude légitime pour des recherches empiriques en psychologie.

Etudes en mémoire à court terme

Miller était intéressé par mesurer la capacité de l'esprit à établir des canaux de traitement de l'information . Grâce à ses recherches, il s'est rendu compte que les gens pouvaient associer de manière fiable entre quatre et dix stimuli continus.

Par exemple des bruits, des longueurs de lignes ou une série de points. Les personnes pouvaient rapidement identifier le stimulus tant qu'il y en avait sept ou moins et conserver entre cinq et neuf éléments dans la mémoire immédiate.

Avec cela, il a développé l'une de ses plus grandes propositions: la mémoire à court terme de l'être humain n'est pas illimitée, mais a la capacité générale de stocker jusqu'à sept informations. De même, cette capacité peut être modifiée en fonction de la manière dont les processus ultérieurs sont effectués, comme recodage de l'information .

Ce qui précède est reconnu à ce jour comme l’une des hypothèses de base du traitement de l’information, précisément parce qu’il maintient que la mémoire humaine ne peut capturer efficacement que sept unités à la fois (plus ou moins deux informations supplémentaires). .

Par exemple, ce dernier se produit lorsque quand on doit faire la distinction entre différents sons , ou lorsque nous devons percevoir un objet à travers un regard déguisé ou très rapide.

Impact sur la psychologie

Les propositions de Miller ont eu un impact significatif sur les recherches ultérieures en psychologie cognitive, qui conduit à développer et valider des tests psychométriques pour l'étude de la mémoire et d'autres processus cognitifs.

De même, cela a permis de généraliser l'idée qu'il est important de limiter le nombre d'éléments présentés à une personne lorsque l'on souhaite conserver certaines informations (par exemple les chiffres d'un nombre ou le nombre de stimuli constituant une présentation, etc.).

Œuvres en vedette

Certaines des œuvres les plus importantes de George A. Miller sont Langue et communicationde 1951; Plans et structure de comportementde 1957; et Le nombre magique sept, plus ou moins deux: quelques limitations dans notre capacité à traiter l'information , de 1956, qui est peut-être l’ouvrage qui a marqué ses débuts en tant que psychologue cognitif prestigieux.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Doorey, M. (2018). George A. Miller. Encyclopédie Britannica. Récupéré le 29 août 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.britannica.com/biography/George-A-Miller.
  • Pinker, S. (2012). George A. Miller (1920-2012). Avis de décès. American Psychological Association. Récupéré le 29 août 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //stevenpinker.com/files/pinker/files/miller_obituary.pdf.

Quantrill Raiders (f. Jesse James) in Texas (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes