yes, therapy helps!
Half of psychologists say they suffer from depression

Half of psychologists say they suffer from depression

May 2, 2024

The data published by the World Health Organization (WHO) in October 2015 show worrying figures, because it is estimated that depression affects some 350 million individuals worldwide . Experts have long warned that depression has become the most common disease of the 21st century, along with stress and anxiety.

This pathology manifests itself with frequent variations of the state of mind and with serious emotional problems that affect the day to day. It is a serious problem that millions of people have to face, because it affects work, the family, has a negative effect on interpersonal relationships and, in the worst cases, can lead to suicide.


Psychologists, the most depressed professionals?

There is often much talk of stress or burnout at work, but depression is also a serious problem in the workplace. In this context, in addition to great discomfort and suffering, depression causes a decrease in performance, accidents, as well as continuous changes in personnel. Some investigations estimate that between 15% and 30% of professionals will suffer some type of mental health problem during their working life , among them, the depressive disorder.

A study coordinated by Dr. Marta Torres that was carried out in a health center in Lleida (Spain), analyzed 275 dismissal processes caused by mental health problems during one year. The analysis of the data provided interesting information, stating that depression was responsible for 68 percent of the total cases analyzed. Therefore, it is the most frequent cause of sick leave, followed by anxiety (12%), mixed anxious-depressive disorders (9%), altered affectivity (2%) and other associated personality disorders such as abuse. of toxic substances. According to this study, 55 percent of patients with depression are over 40 years old, with the majority of cases being women.


The economic crisis has worsened the situation

Health professionals are the sector that has suffered most from this disorder, and recent research conducted in the United States concludes that doctors and dentists are the groups with the highest rate of depression and suicide. But in Spain, the situation is not more hopeful. The economic crisis in which the country is immersed has worsened in recent years and working conditions have changed for many employees.

The cuts by the government, the null expectations of improvement, low salaries and the stress resulting from the excessive workload and the scarce recognition for the work carried out by these professionals, among other factors, they contribute to feed a situation that for many has become desperate .

The psychologist Arturo Torres, regular contributor to the journal Psychology and Mind, explains: "Depression is a serious and real problem that affects the different areas of a person's life. It has an impact on work performance, but working conditions also affect the person and can cause problematic emotional situations, as well as depression. This is a particularly sensitive issue for many young people, who view the future with pessimism. " In addition, Torres argues that: "Work is one of the keys to the well-being of an individual, and before the few expectations of improvement, many young people decide to go and try their luck without leaving everything behind. They even go to Latin America, something unthinkable a few years ago ".


Psychologists also suffer from depression at work

Because of the crisis, we have seen many groups go out in search of work and social improvements. Like the nurses, the professors, the jurists, etc. But one of the groups that we have not seen manifest and barely talk about are the psychologists. Have psychologists not suffered the crisis? According to the psychologist Arturo Torres, psychologists are in a dramatic situation . "In Spain, they have serious difficulties finding a job, they do not even find precarious work and that is alarming. The vast majority of my colleagues in my profession are either unemployed or working in other guilds such as the hospitality industry, "says Torres, who concludes that" psychologists have no future expectations in this country. "

But, then, do psychologists also suffer from depression? So is. A study published in the United Kingdom assures that almost half of psychologists (46%) suffer from this pathology. The survey was conducted by the British Psychological Society, and it collects 1,300 testimonies in which the majority of psychologists declare to feel burnout, low morale and high levels of stress.It seems incredible that the professionals in charge of treating depression are just as depressed as the patients.

Do psychologists suffer stress and burnout?

In addition to 46% of psychologists who claim to be depressed, 49.5% feel unsuccessful and 70% find their work stressful. These results were presented at the Psychological Therapies in the NHS conference held in London, and the data showed a 12% increase in the stress of psychology professionals with respect to the previous year, that is, 2014. On the other On the other hand, the cases of bullying had doubled from one year to the next.

Professor Jamie Hacker Hughesm, president of the British Psychological Society says: "Occupational health and well-being are of vital importance and we should be aware of this. I have worked and directed the NHS services (Health Service of the United Kingdom) and I have been able to see with my own eyes the effect of stress, work overload, incorrect supervision and burnout "

Following these conclusions, leading organizations in mental health in the United Kingdom are committed to supporting a cooperative effort to improve the well-being and resilience of psychologists who provide a key service to society. In collaboration with the New Savoy Partnership and the Public Health England, the British Psychological Society has made a Letter for the Welfare and Resilience of Psychology staff (Charter for Psychological Staff Wellbeing and Resilience).

Psychologists are also people

After the results of the study carried out in the United Kingdom, it will be necessary to know if in Spain the same thing happens and, on the other hand, if the same thing happens in other areas of psychology, not only the clinic . There are many branches of psychology, such as the psychology of organizations or social psychology, in which psychologists also do a great job.

What is important to understand after this survey is that psychologists are also people. They suffer, they cry, they get stressed and they go through difficult stages in their life. Psychologists do not live on another planet, but they are also affected by the environment and by the reality that surrounds us. In fact, it is an essential requirement for a clinical psychologist who is as objective as possible in his work, and that, in many cases, requires a consultation to find emotional balance. Sounds weird that a psychologist goes to another psychologist? Well, I would not have to be.


Psychology of Depression (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La moitié des psychologues disent souffrir de dépression

La moitié des psychologues disent souffrir de dépression

Janvier 4, 2023

Les données publiées par l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) en octobre 2015 montrent des chiffres inquiétants, car on estime que la dépression affecte environ 350 millions de personnes dans le monde . Les experts ont depuis longtemps averti que la dépression est devenue la maladie la plus répandue du 21ème siècle, avec le stress et l’anxiété.

Cette pathologie se manifeste par de fréquentes variations de l'état d'esprit et par de graves problèmes émotionnels qui affectent le quotidien. C'est un problème grave auquel des millions de personnes doivent faire face, car il affecte le travail, la famille, les relations interpersonnelles et, dans le pire des cas, peut conduire au suicide.


Les psychologues, les professionnels les plus dépressifs?

On parle souvent de stress ou d'épuisement professionnel au travail, mais la dépression est également un problème grave sur le lieu de travail. Dans ce contexte, la dépression, en plus d’un grand inconfort et de grandes souffrances, entraîne une diminution des performances, des accidents ainsi que des changements permanents de personnel. Quelques enquêtes estime qu'entre 15% et 30% des professionnels souffriront d'un problème de santé mentale au cours de leur vie professionnelle , parmi eux, le trouble dépressif.

Une étude coordonnée par la Dre Marta Torres et menée dans un centre de santé de Lleida (Espagne) a analysé 275 processus de licenciement causés par des problèmes de santé mentale au cours d'une année. L'analyse des données a fourni des informations intéressantes, indiquant que la dépression était responsable de 68% du total des cas analysés. Par conséquent, il s'agit de la cause la plus fréquente de congé de maladie, suivi de l'anxiété (12%), des troubles mixtes anxieux-dépressifs (9%), d'une altération de l'affectivité (2%) et d'autres troubles de la personnalité associés tels que la maltraitance. de substances toxiques. Selon cette étude, 55% des patients souffrant de dépression ont plus de 40 ans, la majorité des cas étant des femmes.


La crise économique a aggravé la situation

Les professionnels de la santé sont le secteur qui a le plus souffert de ce trouble, et une étude récente menée aux États-Unis conclut que les médecins et les dentistes sont les groupes qui présentent le taux de dépression et de suicide le plus élevé. Mais en Espagne, la situation n’est pas plus optimiste. La crise économique dans laquelle le pays est plongé s'est aggravée ces dernières années et les conditions de travail ont changé pour de nombreux employés.

Les coupes effectuées par le gouvernement, les attentes nulles d'amélioration, les bas salaires et le stress résultant de la charge de travail excessive et de la faible reconnaissance du travail effectué par ces professionnels, entre autres facteurs, ils contribuent à nourrir une situation qui, pour beaucoup, est devenue désespérée .

Le psychologue Arturo Torres, collaborateur régulier de la revue Psychology and Mind, explique: "La dépression est un problème grave et réel qui affecte les différents domaines de la vie d'une personne. Cela a un impact sur le rendement au travail, mais les conditions de travail affectent également la personne et peuvent provoquer des situations émotionnelles problématiques, ainsi que la dépression. C’est un sujet particulièrement sensible pour de nombreux jeunes qui voient l’avenir avec pessimisme. " En outre, Torres affirme que: "Le travail est l’une des clés du bien-être des individus et, face aux quelques attentes en matière d’amélioration, de nombreux jeunes décident d’essayer de tenter leur chance sans rien oublier. Ils vont même en Amérique latine, ce qui était impensable il y a quelques années ".


Les psychologues souffrent également de dépression au travail

En raison de la crise, de nombreux groupes se sont mis à la recherche de travail et d’améliorations sociales. Comme les infirmières, les professeurs, les juristes, etc. Mais un des groupes que nous n'avons pas vu se manifester et à peine parler sont les psychologues. Les psychologues n'ont-ils pas souffert de la crise? Selon le psychologue Arturo Torres, les psychologues sont dans une situation dramatique . "En Espagne, ils ont de grandes difficultés à trouver un emploi, ils ne trouvent même pas un travail précaire et c'est alarmant. La grande majorité de mes collègues de ma profession sont soit au chômage, soit au sein d’autres guildes telles que l’industrie de l’hôtellerie », déclare Torres, qui conclut que« les psychologues n’ont aucune attente pour l’avenir dans ce pays ».

Mais alors, les psychologues souffrent-ils également de dépression? C'est comme ca. Une étude publiée au Royaume-Uni assure que près de la moitié des psychologues (46%) souffrent de cette pathologie. L’enquête a été réalisée par le Société psychologique britannique, et il recueille 1 300 témoignages dans lesquels la majorité des psychologues déclarent se sentir épuisés, au moral bas et au stress intense.Il semble incroyable que les professionnels en charge du traitement de la dépression soient aussi déprimés que les patients.

Les psychologues souffrent-ils de stress et d'épuisement professionnel?

En plus des 46% des psychologues qui affirment être déprimés, 49,5% se sentent infructueux et 70% trouvent leur travail stressant. Ces résultats ont été présentés lors de la conférence sur les thérapies psychologiques organisée par le NHS à Londres et les données ont montré une augmentation de 12% du stress des professionnels de la psychologie par rapport à l'année précédente, soit en 2014. En revanche, Par contre, les cas d’intimidation ont doublé d’une année sur l’autre.

Le professeur Jamie Hacker Hughesm, président du Société psychologique britannique «La santé et le bien-être au travail sont d’une importance vitale et nous devons en être conscients. J'ai travaillé et dirigé les services du NHS (service de santé du Royaume-Uni) et j'ai pu constater de mes propres yeux les effets du stress, de la surcharge de travail, de la supervision inappropriée et de l'épuisement professionnel "

À la suite de ces conclusions, des organisations de premier plan dans le domaine de la santé mentale au Royaume-Uni se sont engagées à soutenir un effort de coopération visant à améliorer le bien-être et la résilience des psychologues fournissant un service essentiel à la société. En collaboration avec le Partenariat Nouvelle Savoie et le Santé publique en Angleterre, le Société psychologique britannique a fait un Lettre pour le personnel de bien-être et de résilience de la psychologie (Charte pour le bien-être psychologique du personnel et la résilience).

Les psychologues sont aussi des gens

Après les résultats de l’étude réalisée au Royaume-Uni, il sera nécessaire de savoir si, en Espagne, la même chose se produit et, d'autre part, si la même chose se produit dans d'autres domaines de la psychologie, pas seulement à la clinique . Il existe de nombreuses branches de la psychologie, telles que la psychologie des organisations ou la psychologie sociale, dans lesquelles les psychologues font également un excellent travail.

Ce qu'il est important de comprendre après cette enquête, c'est que les psychologues sont aussi des personnes. Ils souffrent, ils pleurent, ils sont stressés et traversent des étapes difficiles de leur vie. Les psychologues ne vivent pas sur une autre planète, mais ils sont également affectés par l'environnement et par la réalité qui nous entoure. En fait, il s’agit d’une exigence essentielle pour un psychologue clinicien qui soit aussi objectif que possible dans son travail et qui, dans de nombreux cas, nécessite une consultation pour rechercher un équilibre émotionnel. Cela semble étrange qu'un psychologue aille chez un autre psychologue? Eh bien, je n'aurais pas à l'être.


POURQUOI J'AI "PRIS DU POIDS" ? (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes