yes, therapy helps!
Haloperidol (antipsychotic): uses, effects and risks

Haloperidol (antipsychotic): uses, effects and risks

November 27, 2021

Diazepam, lorazepam, olanzapine, methylphenidate ... Some of these names can be very familiar to read and listen in today's society.

All of them are psychotropic drugs, substances that through certain mechanisms of action fight a series of specific symptoms such as anxiety, depression or hallucinations. They are used in many cases as a treatment of choice or as a first step to control the symptoms of a disorder to be treated through therapy, as a way to keep the symptoms under control or as a reinforcer of the effects of psychological therapy.

In the present article we are going to talk about one of the psychotropic drugs used mainly in the treatment of psychotic symptoms, haloperidol.


What is haloperidol?

Haloperidol is a typical neuroleptic or antipsychotic encompassed within the group of butyrophenones , depressant agents of the central nervous system with sedative effect and which act as very potent antagonists of cerebral dopamine receptors. That means that they prevent certain neurons from absorbing the neurotransmitter known as dopamine.

Haloperidol causes a powerful motor sedation, which is useful to reduce symptoms of motor agitation and even in cases of pain.

This medicine is mainly used for the treatment of schizophrenia and its positive symptoms, these being understood as those that could be considered something that alters and excites the patient, added to the content of their thinking, speech or behavior: hallucinations, delusions, agitation, Acceleration or distracted speech, neat and shallow. Haloperidol, however, like most conventional antipsychotics, does not have great effects on negative symptoms (those that "take away" something from the patient, causing slowness, speech poverty, anhedonia or lack of logic).


Mechanism of action

Haloperidol acts by blocking dopamine receptors in the mesolimbic pathway, specifically D2 receptors, a fact that it involves the suppression of positive symptoms (especially hallucinations and delusions) by reducing an excess of dopamine in this brain system.

However, haloperidol has a non-specific action, that is, it does not only block the receptors of the mesolimbic pathway but also has an effect on other pathways, which can cause unwanted side effects.

Side effects and risks

Like most psychotropic drugs, haloperidol has a series of secondary symptoms or possible adverse effects. Likewise, like most of the typical antipsychotics, the effect of the action on dopamine blockade has possible repercussions in different systems.


Specifically, its performance on the nigrostriado circuit causes effects related to movement such as slowness, incoordination, hypertonia or muscular rigidity, or even tremors and restlessness . Thus, it is possible that a bad reaction to this medication may cause extrapyramidal syndrome, causing the above symptoms together with gestural inexpressiveness, static attitude, speech and writing difficulties and lack of reflexes. It is possible to control these symptoms with antiparkinsonians. In addition, it can cause akathisia or constant motor restlessness, akinesia or lack of movement and tardive dyskinesias, involuntary movements of the facial muscles that imitate grimaces and masticatory gestures, among others.

At the tuberoinfubular level, where haloperidol also acts even though there is no alteration in psychotic episodes in this pathway, the production of prolactin increases, which affects the reproductive system and can cause gynecomastia (growth of the breasts in men) galactorrhea or emission of milk by the breasts (even in males) and the absence of menstruation or amenorrhea.

Apart from this, Its powerful sedative effect can cause a rejection by patients , since it decreases the level of consciousness and therefore sometimes flattens affection and personal abilities.

Malignant Neuroleptic Syndrome

Although it is very uncommon, The possible side effect that can entail the greatest danger is Malignant Neuroleptic Syndrome . This picture of great severity usually appears shortly after the start of treatment with the drug. It causes muscle rigidity, high fever, tachycardia, arrhythmia and can lead to death in 20% of cases. For causes such as this it is essential to perform a correct graduation of the administration of antipsychotics.

Pros and cons of its use

Although these antipsychotics usually have greater side effects than the atypical ones, given that the latter only act at the mesolimbic-mesocortical level, while the typical ones such as haloperidol also affect the nigrostriatal system, they continue to be applied in cases with resistance to atypical neuroleptics. As already mentioned, its function is based on the treatment of positive symptoms, causing little improvement in negative symptoms .

It should be remembered that these are possible side effects, which do not have to occur but that must be assessed and that can cause the change of medication. However, haloperidol has a very powerful action that can make it very useful to control certain symptoms, being able to use both in psychotic disorders such as schizophrenia as in other problems and conditions.

Other indications

Apart from its application in schizophrenia, haloperidol can be used in a large number of problems due to its various properties. This medicine It is very useful in the treatment of acute psychoses and other psychiatric disorders .

Due to its sedative properties, it has been used occasionally when the usual therapies have no effect on cases of severe anxiety. It has also been used occasionally as an anesthetic and even to treat chronic pain. In the same way, it is used as a sedative in states of great motor agitation, as in cases of manic episodes or delirium tremens.

It also serves as an antiemetic, that is, as a mechanism to prevent vomiting in those cases or syndromes in which the cessation of the vomiting process is necessary.

It is also used for the treatment of tics, Tourette syndrome, stuttering or Huntington's disease in order to control involuntary spasmodic movements.

Contraindications of haloperidol

Haloperidol is contraindicated during pregnancy . It will only be applied in these cases if there are no other alternatives. It is also contraindicated during lactation since it is excreted through breast milk. In case of specifying the use of haloperidol, it is necessary to consider the risks and the possibility of not applying breastfeeding.

Due to its powerful action, haloperidol is not recommended for patients who have to take a car or motorbike, as sedation and decreased mental alertness can have serious repercussions on driving ability.

Its potency also makes it not recommended in cases with liver or kidney failure. In the same way it can have serious repercussions of mixing with barbiturates, analgesics, morphine, antihistamines or benzodiazepines, among others.

Also, in patients with hypersensitivity to antipsychotics, cases of coma or depression of the nervous system due to alcohol and other drugs or patients with previous lesions in the basal ganglia is also contraindicated, and its harmful effects may be.

Medication taking pattern

The taking of haloperidol, as well as that of any antipsychotic, must be regulated with great precision in order to avoid or minimize the existence of dangerous secondary symptoms. Although the dose in question will depend on the problem to be treated, the general pattern will be as follows:

In acute phases of the disorder, a certain dose is recommended, powerful enough to control the symptoms , repeating the same dose until the descent of the outbreak or symptoms.

It is advisable to wait around six weeks in order to determine if the medication has the expected effects, being able to switch to another antipsychotic if not.

Once the acute phase of the disorder is over, the dose applied will be reduced as the symptoms are withdrawn until reaching a maintenance dose, which is recommended to maintain in order to avoid relapses.

In the case of patients resistant to taking medication due to low awareness of disease, a depot presentation of haloperidol can be applied, introducing a preparation that is injected intramuscularly, producing a slow release of the medication.

Bibliographic references:

  • Azanza, J.R. (2006), Practical Guide to Central Nervous System Pharmacology. Madrid: Ed. Creation and design.
  • Franco-Bronson, K. & Gajwani, P. (1999). Hypotension associated with intravenous haloperidol and imipenem. J Clin Psychopharmacol.; 19 (5): pp. 480-481.
  • Salazar, M .; Peralta, C .; Pastor, J. (2006). Manual of Psychopharmacology. Madrid, Panamericana Medical Publishing House.

Haldol Nursing Considerations, Side Effects, and Mechanism of Action Pharmacology for Nurses (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Halopéridol (antipsychotique): utilisations, effets et risques

Halopéridol (antipsychotique): utilisations, effets et risques

Juillet 22, 2022

Diazépam, lorazépam, olanzapine, méthylphénidate ... Certains de ces noms peuvent être très familiers à lire et à écouter dans la société d'aujourd'hui.

Ce sont tous des médicaments psychotropes, des substances qui, par certains mécanismes d’action, combattent une série de symptômes spécifiques tels que l’anxiété, la dépression ou les hallucinations. Ils sont souvent utilisés comme traitement de choix ou comme première étape pour contrôler les symptômes d'un trouble à traiter par thérapie, comme moyen de maîtriser les symptômes ou comme renforçant les effets de la thérapie psychologique.

Dans le présent article, nous allons parler de l’un des médicaments psychotropes utilisés principalement dans le traitement des symptômes psychotiques, l’halopéridol.


Qu'est-ce que l'halopéridol?

L'halopéridol est un neuroleptique ou un antipsychotique typique appartenant au groupe des butyrophénones. , agents dépresseurs du système nerveux central ayant un effet sédatif et agissant comme antagonistes très puissants des récepteurs cérébraux de la dopamine. Cela signifie qu'ils empêchent certains neurones d'absorber le neurotransmetteur appelé dopamine.

L'halopéridol provoque une sédation motrice puissante, utile pour réduire les symptômes d'agitation motrice et même en cas de douleur.

Ce médicament est principalement utilisé pour le traitement de la schizophrénie et de ses symptômes positifs, ceux-ci étant compris comme pouvant être considérés comme quelque chose qui altère et excite le patient, ajouté au contenu de sa pensée, de son discours ou de son comportement: hallucinations, délires, agitation, etc. Accélération ou discours distrait, net et peu profond. L'halopéridol, cependant, comme la plupart des antipsychotiques classiques, n'a pas de grands effets sur les symptômes négatifs (ceux qui "enlèvent" quelque chose au patient, causant la lenteur, la pauvreté de parole, l'anhédonie ou le manque de logique).


Mécanisme d'action

L'halopéridol agit en bloquant les récepteurs de la dopamine dans la voie mésolimbique, en particulier les récepteurs D2, un fait elle implique la suppression des symptômes positifs (en particulier des hallucinations et des délires) en réduisant un excès de dopamine dans ce système cérébral.

Cependant, l’halopéridol a une action non spécifique, c’est-à-dire qu’il ne bloque pas seulement les récepteurs de la voie mésolimbique mais a également un effet sur d’autres voies, ce qui peut provoquer des effets secondaires indésirables.

Effets secondaires et risques

Comme la plupart des médicaments psychotropes, l'halopéridol présente une série de symptômes secondaires ou des effets indésirables éventuels. De même, comme la plupart des antipsychotiques classiques, l’effet de l’action sur le blocage de la dopamine a des répercussions possibles sur différents systèmes.


Plus précisément, ses performances sur le circuit nigrostriado ont des effets liés au mouvement tels que lenteur, incoordination, hypertonie ou rigidité musculaire, voire tremblements et agitation . Ainsi, il est possible qu'une mauvaise réaction à ce médicament provoque un syndrome extrapyramidal, provoquant les symptômes susmentionnés ainsi qu'une inexpression gestuelle, une attitude statique, des difficultés d'élocution et d'écriture et un manque de réflexes. Il est possible de contrôler ces symptômes avec des antiparkinsoniens. En outre, il peut provoquer une acathisie ou une agitation motrice constante, une akinésie ou un manque de mouvement et des dyskinésies tardives, des mouvements involontaires des muscles du visage imitant les grimaces et les gestes masticateurs, entre autres.

Au niveau de la tubéroinfubulaire, où l'halopéridol agit également, même s'il n'y a aucune modification d'épisodes psychotiques dans cette voie, la production de prolactine augmente, ce qui affecte le système reproducteur et peut provoquer une gynécomastie (croissance de la poitrine chez l'homme), galactorrhée ou émission de lait par les seins (même chez les hommes) et absence de menstruation ou d'aménorrhée.

En dehors de cela, Son puissant effet sédatif peut provoquer un rejet par les patients , car il diminue le niveau de conscience et afflige donc parfois l’affection et les capacités personnelles.

Syndrome neuroleptique malin

Bien que ce soit très rare, Le syndrome neuroleptique malin est l’effet indésirable potentiel pouvant entraîner le plus grand danger. . Cette image d'une grande gravité apparaît généralement peu de temps après le début du traitement avec le médicament. Il provoque une rigidité musculaire, une forte fièvre, une tachycardie, une arythmie et peut entraîner la mort dans 20% des cas. Pour de telles causes, il est essentiel de procéder à une graduation correcte de l'administration des antipsychotiques.

Avantages et inconvénients de son utilisation

Bien que ces antipsychotiques aient généralement des effets secondaires plus importants que les atypiques, étant donné que ces derniers agissent uniquement au niveau mésolimbique-mésocortical, alors que les antécédents typiques tels que l'halopéridol affectent également le système nigrostriatal, ils continuent à être appliqués en cas de résistance aux neuroleptiques atypiques. Comme déjà mentionné, sa fonction est basée sur le traitement des symptômes positifs, causant peu d'amélioration des symptômes négatifs .

Il faut se rappeler que ce sont des effets secondaires possibles, qui ne doivent pas nécessairement se produire, mais qui doivent être évalués et qui peuvent entraîner un changement de médicament. Cependant, l'halopéridol a une action très puissante qui peut s'avérer très utile pour contrôler certains symptômes, car il peut être utilisé à la fois dans des troubles psychotiques tels que la schizophrénie et dans d'autres problèmes et conditions.

Autres indications

Outre son application dans la schizophrénie, l'halopéridol peut être utilisé dans un grand nombre de problèmes en raison de ses diverses propriétés. Ce médicament Il est très utile dans le traitement des psychoses aiguës et autres troubles psychiatriques .

En raison de ses propriétés sédatives, il a été utilisé occasionnellement lorsque les thérapies habituelles n’ont aucun effet sur les cas d’anxiété grave. Il a également été utilisé occasionnellement comme anesthésique et même pour traiter la douleur chronique. De la même manière, il est utilisé comme sédatif dans les états de forte agitation motrice, comme dans les cas d'épisodes maniaques ou de delirium tremens.

Il sert également d'antiémétique, c'est-à-dire comme mécanisme de prévention des vomissements dans les cas ou les syndromes dans lesquels la cessation du processus de vomissement est nécessaire.

Il est également utilisé pour le traitement des tics, du syndrome de Tourette, du bégaiement ou de la maladie de Huntington afin de contrôler les mouvements spasmodiques involontaires.

Contre-indications de l'halopéridol

L'halopéridol est contre-indiqué pendant la grossesse . Il ne sera appliqué dans ces cas s'il n'y a pas d'autre alternative. Il est également contre-indiqué pendant l'allaitement, car il est excrété par le lait maternel. En cas de spécification de l'utilisation d'halopéridol, il est nécessaire de prendre en compte les risques et la possibilité de ne pas appliquer l'allaitement.

En raison de son action puissante, l'halopéridol n'est pas recommandé pour les patients qui doivent prendre une voiture ou une moto, car la sédation et une baisse de la vigilance mentale peuvent avoir de graves répercussions sur l'aptitude à la conduite.

Sa puissance le rend également déconseillé dans les cas d'insuffisance hépatique ou rénale. De la même manière, il peut avoir de graves conséquences en cas de mélange avec des barbituriques, des analgésiques, de la morphine, des antihistaminiques ou des benzodiazépines, entre autres.

En outre, chez les patients présentant une hypersensibilité aux antipsychotiques, les cas de coma ou de dépression du système nerveux dus à l'alcool et à d'autres médicaments ou les patients présentant des lésions antérieures dans les ganglions de la base sont également contre-indiqués, avec des effets néfastes.

Schéma de prise de médicaments

La prise d'halopéridol, ainsi que celle de tout antipsychotique, doit être régulée avec une grande précision afin d'éviter ou de réduire au minimum l'existence de dangereux symptômes secondaires. Bien que la dose en question dépende du problème à traiter, le schéma général sera le suivant:

Dans les phases aiguës du trouble, une certaine dose est recommandée, suffisamment puissante pour contrôler les symptômes. en répétant la même dose jusqu’à la descente de l’épidémie ou des symptômes.

Il est conseillé d'attendre environ six semaines afin de déterminer si le médicament a les effets escomptés, en étant en mesure de passer à un autre antipsychotique, dans le cas contraire.

Une fois la phase aiguë de la maladie terminée, la dose appliquée sera réduite à mesure que les symptômes disparaîtront jusqu'à ce que la dose d'entretien soit atteinte, qu'il est recommandé de maintenir afin d'éviter les rechutes.

Dans le cas de patients résistant à la médication en raison d'une sensibilisation insuffisante à la maladie, une présentation de dépôt d'halopéridol peut être appliquée, en introduisant une préparation injectée par voie intramusculaire, produisant une libération lente du médicament.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Azanza, J.R. (2006), Guide pratique de la pharmacologie du système nerveux central. Madrid: Ed. Création et design.
  • Franco-Bronson, K. & Gajwani, P. (1999). Hypotension associée à l'halopéridol et à l'imipénem par voie intraveineuse. J Clin Psychopharmacol .; 19 (5): pp. 480-481.
  • Salazar, M .; Peralta, C .; Pastor, J. (2006). Manuel de psychopharmacologie. Madrid, maison d'édition médicale panaméricaine.

Les Chasses du Général Zaroff - Chapitre 2 (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes