yes, therapy helps!
Barbiturates: effects, mechanisms of action and toxicity

Barbiturates: effects, mechanisms of action and toxicity

November 27, 2021

Anxiety and the different problems it can cause in our lives are widely known today. But while it is considered that our current pace of life facilitates the appearance of these types of problems, the truth is that anxiety is known since ancient times.

Throughout history they have tried to create different techniques and effective substances against anxiety. One of the most successful types of psychotropic drugs until the arrival of benzodiazepines have been the barbiturates .

  • Related article: "Types of psychotropic drugs: uses and side effects"

Barbiturates: what are they?

Barbiturates are a type of psycho-psychoactive drug , that is, it has calming and depressant effects on the central nervous system. These drugs are derivatives of barbituric acid, which was first synthesized by Adolf von Baeyer in 1863. However, the first drugs properly known as barbiturates did not emerge until 1903, under the guidance of Emil Fischer and Josef von Mering. They are considered the first psychotropic drugs with hypnotic-sedative effects.


The performance of barbiturates on the nervous system causes a high level of sedation, relaxing and decreasing muscle and mental activity. They have a great effect as hypnotic, anesthetic and analgesic . In addition, they are useful in the treatment of seizures and other motor symptoms.

On the other hand, barbiturates they generate alterations in the mood , as mild sensations of euphoria. Due to its effectiveness in reducing anxious symptoms, they were for a time the treatment of choice for the symptoms of anxiety, depression and insomnia.

  • Related article: "Benzodiazepines (psychodrugs): uses, effects and risks"

Risks of its consumption

The barbiturates, although highly effective in the treatment of certain symptoms and problems, are highly toxic and have a high level of danger.


Despite its effectiveness, the use of barbiturates It poses a high risk to health, generating dependency with great ease . In addition, doses that are therapeutic and those that are toxic are very close, which can cause poisoning and even overdose.

An overdose of barbiturates can lead to death in 1 out of 4 cases. In fact, there are many deaths linked to the overdose of these medications , such as Marilyn Monroe.

Currently, barbiturates have been ousted by benzodiazepines , which enjoy a higher level of security, at the same time that they do not generate so much dependence or provoke such serious side effects. Despite this, barbiturates continue to be used medically in specific cases in which other substances are not effective, such as anesthesia in surgical interventions or in neuropsychological explorations (always with a high level of control).


The risks multiply if the barbiturates are mixed with other substances. In combination with depressant substances can cause respiratory failure. Its combination with alcohol, antihistamines and depressant drugs they enhance depressant effects, and the result can be fatal. On the other hand, the taking of activating substances in the quest to counteract the effects of barbiturates can in turn generate cardiac problems.

Another risk of great importance it has to do in cases of pregnant women and nursing mothers . And is that barbiturates, highly liposoluble, can be transmitted through the placenta and breast milk. Likewise, an overdose can be dangerous for the life of the fetus, and an abortion may occur.

Some side effects

The consumption of these substances can cause a series of highly relevant side effects , which can even lead to death. Some of these effects may be the following.

1. Excessive sedation

Barbiturates have come to be used as an anesthetic due to their powerful sedative effect. While this can sometimes be sought, it can be a detriment to the proper functioning and personal performance to cause excessive sleepiness that reduces the physical and mental capabilities of the individual. May cause mild paralysis and tingling in different parts of the body.

2. Uncoordination of different functions

The consumption of barbiturates can cause the existence of problems of physical coordination, being more difficult to walk or even talk . You should not drive under the effects of this type of medication even if you do not get drowsy.

3. Cardiorespiratory problems

The barbiturates are psychopharmaceuticals of great power as depressants of the nervous system, as we have just commented. However, this depression can generate respiratory problems, and even in extreme cases there is a risk of entering cardiorespiratory arrest .

4. Behavioral disinhibition

Although, as a general rule, barbiturates generate depressant effects on the nervous system that are sedated in some people, they can produce a high level of behavioral disinhibition, which can lead to actions that under normal circumstances would not be carried out. In fact, they have been used as supposed "sera of the truth".

5. Risk of dependence

The addictive potential of this type of substances is very high , generating dependency with great ease. It is also easy to commit abuse in their consumption, which is especially dangerous with this medication. The main reason is the high level of tolerance that tends to cause, which makes it necessary every time a greater quantity to achieve the same effects as in the first shots.

6. Withdrawal syndrome

When a person with dependence on barbiturates ceases their use abruptly can suffer withdrawal syndrome. In the case of abstinence from barbiturates, it is common to generate the opposite effects to the consumption of the substance.

Specifically, it is easy to find restlessness, anxiety, aggression, gastrointestinal symptoms Insomnia or seizures. Hallucinations and delusions may also arise. It can cause a dangerous voltage drop for survival. In fact, in some cases the withdrawal syndrome can be deadly. That is why both the taking and the cessation of the use of these drugs have to be prescribed with special caution, withdrawing gradually.

Mechanism of action

The operation of barbiturates is based mainly on the facilitation of the action of gamma-aminobutyric acid or GABA, which reduces the overload of the nervous system by making it difficult for nerve impulses to occur and transmit.

This favoring of GABA is carried out through the action of the drug in the ion channels sensitive to said hormone in the brain. Specifically hinder the entry of sodium into the neuron , while facilitating the entry of chlorine into the cell.

Types of barbiturates

Barbiturates, like other medications, can be classified into several groups depending on how long they take to take effect and how long the effects last. However, even when the effects end, their characteristics cause them to remain in the organism for a long time. We can identify 4 types of barbiturates .

1. Ultrashort action

Ultra-short-acting barbiturates They are characterized by having a half-life of several minutes duration , starting its effects seconds after consumption. Within this group we can find thiopental and methohexital.

2. Short action

They are known as short-acting barbiturates such as hexobarbital, pentobarbital or secobarbital, which start their effects between ten and fifteen minutes after consumption to last for around 3 or 4 hours .

3. Intermediate action

Intermediate action barbiturates usually take about an hour to take effect, lasting between 6 and 8 hours . Within this type of barbiturates we find one of the best known and used in various procedures such as the Wada test, amobarbital.

4. Long action

Primidone and phenobarbital are some of the examples of long-acting barbiturates, which usually take more than an hour to take effect, but which nonetheless tend to last around 12 hours.

Uses and applications

Although they have now been replaced by other substances in the treatment of most conditions, barbiturates continue to be used in certain cases. Some of the uses that these substances have in the past or have had in the past are reflected below.

Neuropsychological exploration

Barbiturates are used in some neuropsychological evaluation procedures. An example of this is the Wada test , in which amobarbital sodium is used to sedate a specific area of ​​the brain and determine the functionality of areas linked to aspects such as laterality, memory or language.

Anesthetic

Some barbiturates are used both to start and to keep patients anesthetized during different surgical interventions. It is one of the main current applications.

Seizures

One of the indications of certain types of barbiturates is its use in cases where convulsions appear s , since they help to control motor symptoms thanks to its sedative effect and GABA reinforcement, which helps to inhibit the discharge of nerve impulses.

Injuries and cerebral accidents

The barbiturates are used to control and decrease the effects of cerebral infarcts , as well as the edemas produced by different traumatic brain injuries.

Insomnia

Although other types of sedatives such as benzodiazepines are currently used, barbiturates they have been used in the past as sleeping pills .

  • Related article: "Combat insomnia: 10 solutions to sleep better"

Anxiety

As with insomnia, other types of substances are currently used (the most frequent benzodiazepines and some antidepressants) to treat anxiety, but in the past barbiturates were the main substance used as an anxiety treatment .

Bibliographic references:

  • Gómez-Jarabo, G. (1999). Pharmacology of behavior. Basic manual for psychotherapists and clinicians. Madrid: Psychology synthesis.
  • Gómez, M. (2012). Psychobiology CEDE Preparation Manual PIR.12. CEDE: Madrid
  • Morón, F.G .; Borroto, R .; Calvo, D.M .; Cires, M .; Cruz, M.A. and Fernández, A. (2009). Clinical pharmacology. Havana: Editorial Medical Sciences; 1-30
  • Salazar, M .; Peralta, C .; Pastor, J. (2011). Manual of Psychopharmacology. Madrid, Panamericana Medical Publishing House.

Barbiturates - Mechanism, Uses, Adverse effects and Classification in Detail. (Urdu/Hindi). (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Barbituriques: effets, mécanismes d'action et toxicité

Barbituriques: effets, mécanismes d'action et toxicité

Mai 16, 2022

L'inquiétude et les différents problèmes qu'elle peut causer dans nos vies sont aujourd'hui largement connus. Mais si on considère que notre rythme de vie actuel facilite l'apparition de ce type de problèmes, la vérité est que l'anxiété est connue depuis l'Antiquité.

Tout au long de l'histoire, ils ont essayé de créer différentes techniques et substances efficaces contre l'anxiété. L’un des types de psychotropes les plus efficaces jusqu’à l’arrivée des benzodiazépines ont été les barbituriques .

  • Article connexe: "Types de médicaments psychotropes: usages et effets secondaires"

Les barbituriques: que sont-ils?

Les barbituriques sont un type de drogue psycho-psychoactive c’est-à-dire qu’il a des effets calmants et dépresseurs sur le système nerveux central. Ces médicaments sont des dérivés de l'acide barbiturique, synthétisé pour la première fois par Adolf von Baeyer en 1863. Cependant, les premiers médicaments connus sous le nom de barbituriques ne sont apparus qu'en 1903, sous la direction de Emil Fischer et Josef von Mering. Ils sont considérés comme les premiers médicaments psychotropes ayant des effets hypnotiques-sédatifs.


Les performances des barbituriques sur le système nerveux provoquent un taux élevé de sédation, de détente et de diminution des activités musculaires et mentales. Ils ont un grand effet hypnotique, anesthésique et analgésique . En outre, ils sont utiles dans le traitement des convulsions et autres symptômes moteurs.

D'autre part, les barbituriques ils génèrent des altérations de l'humeur , comme de légères sensations d'euphorie. En raison de son efficacité à réduire les symptômes anxieux, ils ont été pendant un temps le traitement de choix pour les symptômes d’anxiété, de dépression et d’insomnie.

  • Article connexe: "Benzodiazépines (psychodrugs): usages, effets et risques"

Risques de sa consommation

Les barbituriques, bien que très efficaces dans le traitement de certains symptômes et problèmes, sont hautement toxiques et présentent un niveau de danger élevé.


Malgré son efficacité, l’utilisation de barbituriques Il présente un risque élevé pour la santé, générant une dépendance avec une grande facilité . De plus, les doses thérapeutiques et toxiques sont très proches, ce qui peut provoquer une intoxication et même une surdose.

Une surdose de barbituriques peut entraîner la mort dans 1 cas sur 4. En fait il y a beaucoup de décès liés à la surdose de ces médicaments , comme Marilyn Monroe.

Actuellement, les barbituriques ont été évincés par les benzodiazépines , qui bénéficient d'un niveau de sécurité plus élevé, tout en ne générant pas autant de dépendance ou en provoquant des effets secondaires aussi graves. Malgré cela, les barbituriques continuent d'être utilisés à des fins médicales dans des cas spécifiques dans lesquels d'autres substances ne sont pas efficaces, telles que l'anesthésie lors d'interventions chirurgicales ou lors d'explorations neuropsychologiques (toujours avec un niveau de contrôle élevé).


Les risques se multiplient si les barbituriques sont mélangés à d'autres substances. En association avec des substances dépressives, peut provoquer une insuffisance respiratoire. Sa combinaison avec de l'alcool, des antihistaminiques et des médicaments dépresseurs ils améliorent les effets dépresseurs, et le résultat peut être fatal. D'autre part, la prise de substances activatrices dans le but de contrecarrer les effets des barbituriques peut à son tour générer des problèmes cardiaques.

Un autre risque de grande importance il doit faire dans les cas de femmes enceintes et allaitantes . Et est-ce que les barbituriques, hautement liposolubles, peuvent être transmis par le placenta et le lait maternel. De même, une surdose peut être dangereuse pour la vie du fœtus et un avortement peut survenir.

Quelques effets secondaires

La consommation de ces substances peut causer une série d'effets secondaires très pertinents , qui peut même conduire à la mort. Certains de ces effets peuvent être les suivants.

1. Sédation excessive

Les barbituriques sont désormais utilisés comme anesthésiques en raison de leur puissant effet sédatif. Bien que cela puisse parfois être recherché, cela peut nuire au bon fonctionnement et à la performance personnelle de provoquer une somnolence excessive qui réduit les capacités physiques et mentales de la personne. Peut causer une légère paralysie et des picotements dans différentes parties du corps.

2. Uncoordination de différentes fonctions

La consommation de barbituriques peut poser des problèmes de coordination physique, être plus difficile à marcher ou même parler . Vous ne devriez pas conduire sous les effets de ce type de médicament, même si vous ne vous sentez pas somnolent.

3. Problèmes cardiorespiratoires

Les barbituriques sont des psychopharmaceutiques de grand pouvoir dépresseurs du système nerveux, comme nous venons de le dire. Cependant, cette dépression peut générer des problèmes respiratoires, et même dans des cas extrêmes il y a un risque d'entrée en arrestation cardiorespiratoire .

4. Désinhibition comportementale

Bien qu'en règle générale, les barbituriques génèrent des effets dépresseurs sur le système nerveux qui sont sous sédation chez certaines personnes, ils peuvent entraîner un niveau élevé de désinhibition du comportement, pouvant conduire à des actions qui, dans des circonstances normales, ne seraient pas réalisées. En fait, ils ont été utilisés comme supposés "sérums de la vérité".

5. Risque de dépendance

Le potentiel de dépendance de ce type de substances est très élevé , engendrant une dépendance avec une grande facilité. Il est également facile de commettre des abus dans leur consommation, ce qui est particulièrement dangereux avec ce médicament. La principale raison est le niveau élevé de tolérance que cela a tendance à créer, ce qui oblige chaque fois davantage à obtenir les mêmes effets que lors des premiers coups.

6. syndrome de sevrage

Lorsqu'une personne dépendant de barbituriques cesse brusquement de l'utiliser, elle peut souffrir du syndrome de sevrage. En cas d'abstinence de barbituriques, il est courant de générer les effets opposés à la consommation de la substance.

Plus précisément, il est facile de trouver agitation, anxiété, agression, symptômes gastro-intestinaux L'insomnie ou des saisies. Des hallucinations et des délires peuvent également survenir. Cela peut provoquer une chute de tension dangereuse pour la survie. En fait, dans certains cas, le syndrome de sevrage peut être mortel. C’est pourquoi la prise et la cessation de l’utilisation de ces médicaments doivent être prescrites avec une prudence particulière, en se retirant progressivement.

Mécanisme d'action

Le fonctionnement des barbituriques repose principalement sur la facilitation de l’action de l’acide gamma-aminobutyrique ou GABA, qui réduit la surcharge du système nerveux en rendant difficile la transmission et la transmission des impulsions nerveuses.

Cette promotion du GABA est réalisée grâce à l'action du médicament dans les canaux ioniques sensibles à ladite hormone dans le cerveau. Spécifiquement empêcher l'entrée de sodium dans le neurone tout en facilitant l’entrée du chlore dans la cellule.

Types de barbituriques

Les barbituriques, comme d’autres médicaments, peuvent être classés en plusieurs groupes en fonction de leur durée d’effet et de leur durée. Cependant, même lorsque les effets prennent fin, leurs caractéristiques les incitent à rester longtemps dans l'organisme. Nous pouvons identifier 4 types de barbituriques .

1. Action ultracourte

Barbituriques à ultra courte action Ils se caractérisent par une demi-vie de plusieurs minutes , en commençant ses effets quelques secondes après la consommation. Dans ce groupe, on trouve du thiopental et du méthohexital.

2. Action courte

Ils sont connus comme des barbituriques à action brève tels que l'hexobarbital, le pentobarbital ou le sécobarbital, qui commencent à agir entre dix et quinze minutes après la consommation. durer environ 3 ou 4 heures .

3. Action intermédiaire

Barbituriques à action intermédiaire prend habituellement environ une heure pour prendre effet, et dure entre 6 et 8 heures . Parmi ce type de barbituriques, on trouve l’un des procédés les plus connus et utilisés dans diverses procédures telles que le test de Wada, l’amobarbital.

4. Action longue

Primidone et phénobarbital Parmi les exemples de barbituriques à longue durée d'action, qui prennent généralement plus d'une heure à produire leurs effets, mais qui ont néanmoins tendance à durer environ 12 heures.

Utilisations et applications

Bien qu'ils aient maintenant été remplacés par d'autres substances dans le traitement de la plupart des affections, les barbituriques continuent à être utilisés dans certains cas. Certaines des utilisations que ces substances ont eues ou ont eues par le passé sont indiquées ci-dessous.

Exploration neuropsychologique

Les barbituriques sont utilisés dans certaines procédures d'évaluation neuropsychologiques. Un exemple de ceci est le test de Wada , dans lequel l’amobarbital sodique est utilisé pour la sédation d’une zone spécifique du cerveau et la détermination de la fonctionnalité de zones liées à des aspects tels que la latéralité, la mémoire ou le langage.

Anesthésique

Certains barbituriques sont utilisés à la fois pour commencer et pour garder les patients anesthésiés au cours de différentes interventions chirurgicales. C'est l'une des principales applications actuelles.

Les saisies

L’une des indications de certains types de barbituriques est son utilisation dans les cas où des convulsions apparaissent s , car ils aident à contrôler les symptômes moteurs grâce à son effet sédatif et son renforcement GABA, qui aide à inhiber la décharge des impulsions nerveuses.

Blessures et accidents cérébraux

Les barbituriques sont utilisés pour contrôler et diminuer les effets des infarctus cérébraux , ainsi que les œdèmes produits par différentes lésions cérébrales traumatiques.

L'insomnie

Bien que d’autres types de sédatifs tels que les benzodiazépines soient actuellement utilisés, les barbituriques ils ont été utilisés dans le passé comme somnifères .

  • Article connexe: "Combattez l'insomnie: 10 solutions pour mieux dormir"

Anxiété

Comme pour l'insomnie, d'autres types de substances sont actuellement utilisées (les benzodiazépines les plus fréquentes et certains antidépresseurs) pour traiter l'anxiété, mais auparavant étaient la substance principale utilisée comme traitement de l'anxiété .

Références bibliographiques:

  • Gómez-Jarabo, G. (1999). Pharmacologie du comportement. Manuel de base pour les psychothérapeutes et les cliniciens. Madrid: synthèse de psychologie.
  • Gómez, M. (2012). Psychobiologie Manuel de préparation CEDE PIR.12. CEDE: Madrid
  • Morón, F.G .; Borroto, R .; Calvo, D.M .; Cires, M .; Cruz, M.A. et Fernández, A. (2009). Pharmacologie clinique. La Havane: sciences médicales éditoriales; 1-30
  • Salazar, M .; Peralta, C .; Pastor, J. (2011). Manuel de psychopharmacologie. Madrid, maison d'édition médicale panaméricaine.

7 histoires incroyables mais vraies - 28 - e-penser (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes