yes, therapy helps!
How do psychologically mature people act? 10 keys

How do psychologically mature people act? 10 keys

May 3, 2024

The expression "being an immature" is a label that is used in a very usual way to describe those people who, in some of their vital areas, do not develop in a coherent, competent or stable way. Although this type of personal functioning is maladaptive, it does not exist as a specific category in the current classification system for mental disorders, the DSM-V. However, this behavioral and attitudinal style can be presented in an underlying way as a common element in various personality disorders.

Yes, in the same way that we can speak, using everyday language, of immature people, it is also possible to talk about psychologically mature people . Let's see what characterizes them.


  • Related article: "The 9 stages of the life of human beings"

The mature personality style

For the psychiatrist and expert Enrique Rojas (2001) there are three areas to which the so-called state of personal maturity can be circumscribed: the affective, the intellectual and the professional. In terms of the author, maturity is a state of knowledge and good judgment, prudence and knowledge , that has been achieved and that leads to positively manage one's own psychology. In this way, a person who is in that state has an adequate level of ability to conduct their life in a competent and effective emotional level.

A key aspect is to understand this construct as a dynamic process, a phenomenon that does not have a specific purpose or destination, but that is constantly and permanently modulated throughout the life cycle. Therefore, the idea that there is a perfect and ideal degree of personal maturity to which to arrive and maintain in a static way must be banished.


Neuroanatomical keys of psychological maturity

When reference is made to the neuroanatomical development of different structures and connections that make up the human brain , infinity of investigations have demonstrated how the areas of the frontal lobes have a central role in the behavior linked to the decision making, to the capacity to plan future events, to the flexibility when carrying out complex reasoning in the resolution of problems and improvise and adopt adaptive or flexible behavior, etc.

These competences seem very much linked to the definition that has been indicated above of what a mature personal style implies; they are the skills that give the human being such a category and differentiates it from other less intellectually developed animal species.

Scientific studies have determined that these frontal areas they do not reach their full development until well into the third decade of life , approximately at 25 years old. In addition, the studies that have substantiated the knowledge that today is held about the concept of emotional intelligence, also closely linked to the question of personal maturity, affirm how the neuronal circuitry established between the frontal lobe and the structures of the system is determinant. limbic, whose function is the regulation of emotional states.


Broadly speaking, it can be said that the latter is in charge of controlling the most instinctive physiological responses of stress, anger or fear and intervenes in motivational processes and in the learning of more complex behaviors and made based on past experiences. On the other hand, the orbitofrontal zone modulates the feelings analytically and gives the orders on how to behave behaviorally when the information of the limbic system is received as the individual is experiencing a certain emotional state. Failures in the connections between both areas cause unthinking, disproportionate and socially mismatched responses.

A classic example that explains this phenomenon is found in the literature that founded the development of neuroscience as such: the case of Phineas Gage (1948), a foreman who worked in the construction of railways and who suffered serious alterations in personality after a impressive accident in which a metal rod completely crossed the brain in the front.

  • You may be interested: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

Main characteristics of psychologically mature people

What has been said so far seems to indicate a great relationship between the constructs of personal maturity, competence in emotional regulation and the affective world in general. In this sense, Individuals who enjoy a good level of maturity in the field of feelings they develop skillfully in the following competitions (Rojas, 2001):

1. Know the nature of the emotional world

That is to say, that psychologically mature people are capable of observe themselves and associate situations or events with emotional experiences .

2. Establish a solid foundation in the sentimental area

This quality refers to having experienced the feeling of love in its depth and know the necessary implications and commitments for the maintenance of such a loving relationship.

3. Possess a realistic vision of the couple

Avoid idealizations and biased perceptions of the other is essential. Having too high expectations of the relationship and the other member of the couple hinders the positive resolution of the adversities or disagreements that may arise between them.

4. Consider the other person and the relationship as one more piece of life

Emotional independence from others is very closely linked to a good level of self-esteem and self-confidence, a fundamental fact in the establishment of healthy interpersonal relationships .

5. Understand the dynamic nature of emotions and feelings

This implies considering that these phenomena are changeable and modifiable over time and that it is necessary to carry out daily actions and behaviors that constantly feed them positively.

6. Being able to give and receive love in a healthy way

This point implies having the ability to communicate the affection with verbalizations and actions, as well as being aware that this fact is part of human nature. In effect, a mature person understands that she is worthy of the intrinsic affection on the part of the other person and, therefore, that you want to correspond to it in the same way.

7. Be prepared to build a project in common with another person

Mainly, this aspect involves sharing areas of one's life with another individual in a satisfactory manner and also having the competence and commitment to wish to solve possible conflicts that may arise in its course.

8. Have sufficient qualities of intelligence, will and commitment

These three qualities imply the ability to find the balance between achieving one's vital goals and those common to the couple. The latter must be shared by both members voluntarily, so that effective communication between the two parties It becomes a fundamental and necessary aspect.

9. Maintain the long-term feeling of love

It is important to be aware that it is positive not to fall into a succession of phases of superficial infatuation. This point is linked very closely with the previous with regard to the level of commitment required so that the sentimental project has a satisfactory continuity.

10. Self-regulate

Finally, it is important to internalize that oneself can learn to internally regulate their emotions and feelings . Closely related to the first point, a mature individual is able to not be carried away by their emotions and is competent to identify, communicate and analyze them rationally in order to achieve a more adaptive final behavior.

In conclusion

It has been observed throughout the text that, broadly speaking, a psychologically mature person possesses the qualities of emotional intelligence; sense of commitment, responsibility and effort; a rational and regulated operating style (intra and interpersonal) where the world of emotions is balanced against the world of the cognitive ; and, finally, a sufficient degree of ethical and moral behavior.

In addition, aspects such as having a good level of competence in one's own knowledge, where strengths and weaknesses are assumed, are also relevant ingredients; an adequate capacity to analyze, reflect and make decisions in a coherent manner and based on solid arguments; Y a positive development of the self-image in which emotional independence from the other is the main component.

Bibliographic references:

  • Pereda, I. (2018) The map of the brain. Bonalletra Alcompas, S.L .: Spain.
  • Rojas, E. (2001) Who are you? From personality to self-esteem (4th ed.) Topics of Today: Madrid.

Mentally Fragile to Mentally STRONG! You have to listen to this! (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment agissent les personnes psychologiquement matures? 10 clés

Comment agissent les personnes psychologiquement matures? 10 clés

Mars 25, 2019

L’expression "être immature" est une étiquette utilisée de manière très habituelle pour décrire les personnes qui, dans certains de leurs domaines vitaux, ne se développent pas de manière cohérente, compétente ou stable. Bien que ce type de fonctionnement personnel soit inadapté, il n’existe pas de catégorie spécifique dans le système actuel de classification des troubles mentaux, le DSM-V. Cependant, ce style comportemental et comportemental peut être présenté de manière sous-jacente comme un élément commun à divers troubles de la personnalité.

Ça oui; de la même manière que nous pouvons parler, en utilisant le langage courant, de gens immatures, il est également possible de parler de personnes psychologiquement matures . Voyons ce qui les caractérise.


  • Article connexe: "Les 9 étapes de la vie des êtres humains"

Le style de personnalité mature

Pour le psychiatre et expert Enrique Rojas (2001), il est possible de circonscrire ce qu'on appelle l'état de maturité personnelle: l'affectif, l'intellectuel et le professionnel. En termes d’auteur, la maturité est un état de connaissance et de bon jugement, de prudence et de connaissance , cela a été réalisé et cela conduit à gérer positivement sa propre psychologie. De cette manière, une personne qui se trouve dans cet état a un niveau suffisant de capacité à mener sa vie dans un niveau émotionnel compétent et efficace.

Un aspect essentiel est de comprendre cette construction en tant que processus dynamique, un phénomène qui n’a pas de but ni de destination spécifique, mais qui est modulé de façon constante et permanente tout au long du cycle de vie. Par conséquent, il faut bannir l’idée qu’il existe un degré de maturité personnelle parfait et idéal pour arriver et se maintenir de manière statique.


Clés neuroanatomiques de la maturité psychologique

Lorsqu'il est fait référence au développement neuroanatomique de différentes structures et connexions qui composent le cerveau humain , une infinité d’enquêtes ont montré comment les régions des lobes frontaux jouent un rôle central dans le comportement lié à la prise de décision, à la capacité de planification d’événements futurs, à la souplesse nécessaire pour effectuer un raisonnement complexe dans la résolution résoudre des problèmes et improviser et adopter un comportement adaptatif ou flexible, etc.

Ces compétences semblent très liées à la définition donnée ci-dessus de ce qu’implique un style personnel mûr; ce sont les compétences qui donnent à l'être humain une telle catégorie et la différencient d'autres espèces animales moins développées intellectuellement.

Des études scientifiques ont déterminé que ces zones frontales ils n'atteignent pas leur plein développement avant la troisième décennie de leur vie , approximativement à 25 ans. De plus, les études qui ont corroboré les connaissances actuelles sur le concept d'intelligence émotionnelle, également étroitement lié à la question de la maturité personnelle, confirment le caractère déterminant des circuits neuronaux établis entre le lobe frontal et les structures du système. limbique, dont la fonction est la régulation des états émotionnels.


En gros, on peut dire que ce dernier est chargé de contrôler les réponses physiologiques les plus instinctives du stress, de la colère ou de la peur et intervient dans les processus de motivation et dans l'apprentissage de comportements plus complexes et faite sur la base des expériences passées. D'autre part, la zone orbitofrontale module les sentiments de manière analytique et donne des ordres sur la manière de se comporter de manière comportementale lorsque les informations du système limbique sont reçues lorsque l'individu vit un certain état émotionnel. Les défaillances dans les liens entre les deux domaines entraînent des réponses irréfléchies, disproportionnées et socialement inadéquates.

Un exemple classique expliquant ce phénomène se trouve dans la littérature fondant le développement de la neuroscience: le cas de Phineas Gage (1948), contremaître qui a travaillé dans la construction de chemins de fer et qui a subi de graves changements de accident impressionnant dans lequel une tige de métal a complètement traversé le cerveau à l'avant.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Principales caractéristiques des personnes psychologiquement matures

Ce qui a été dit jusqu’à présent semble indiquer une grande relation entre les notions de maturité personnelle, de compétence en régulation émotionnelle et le monde affectif en général. Dans ce sens, Les individus qui jouissent d'un bon niveau de maturité dans le domaine des sentiments ils développent habilement dans les compétitions suivantes (Rojas, 2001):

1. Connaître la nature du monde émotionnel

C’est-à-dire que les personnes psychologiquement matures sont capables de s'observer et associer des situations ou des événements à des expériences émotionnelles .

2. Etablir une base solide dans le domaine sentimental

Cette qualité fait référence à avoir expérimenté le sentiment de l'amour dans sa profondeur et connaître les implications et les engagements nécessaires pour le maintien d'une telle relation d'amour.

3. Posséder une vision réaliste du couple

Éviter les idéalisations et les perceptions biaisées de l'autre est essentiel. Avoir des attentes trop élevées vis-à-vis de la relation et de l’autre membre du couple empêche la résolution positive des difficultés ou des désaccords qui peuvent survenir entre eux.

4. Considérez l’autre personne et la relation comme un élément de vie supplémentaire

L’indépendance émotionnelle vis-à-vis des autres est très étroitement liée à un bon niveau d’estime de soi et de confiance en soi, élément fondamental l'établissement de relations interpersonnelles saines .

5. Comprendre la nature dynamique des émotions et des sentiments

Cela implique de considérer que ces phénomènes sont changeants et modifiables dans le temps et qu'il est nécessaire de mener des actions et des comportements quotidiens qui les alimentent constamment de manière positive.

6. Être capable de donner et de recevoir de l'amour d'une manière saine

Ce point implique d'avoir la capacité de communiquer l'affection par des verbalisations et des actions, ainsi que de savoir que ce fait fait partie de la nature humaine. En effet, une personne mature comprend qu'elle est digne de l'affection intrinsèque de l'autre personne et, par conséquent, que vous voulez y correspondre de la même manière.

7. Soyez prêt à construire un projet en commun avec une autre personne

Cet aspect implique principalement de partager de manière satisfaisante les zones de sa vie avec une autre personne, ainsi que d’avoir la compétence et l’engagement de vouloir résoudre les conflits éventuels pouvant survenir au cours de son parcours.

8. Posséder suffisamment de qualités d'intelligence, de volonté et d'engagement

Ces trois qualités impliquent la capacité de trouver un équilibre entre la réalisation de ses objectifs vitaux et ceux du couple. Ce dernier doit être partagé volontairement par les deux membres, de sorte que communication efficace entre les deux parties Cela devient un aspect fondamental et nécessaire.

9. Maintenir le sentiment d'amour à long terme

Il est important de savoir qu’il est positif de ne pas tomber dans une succession de phases d’engouement superficiel. Ce point est très étroitement lié à la précédente en ce qui concerne le niveau d'engagement requis afin que le projet sentimental ait une continuité satisfaisante.

10. Autoréguler

Enfin, il est important d’intérioriser cela peut apprendre à réguler en interne leurs émotions et leurs sentiments . En relation étroite avec le premier point, un individu mature ne peut pas se laisser emporter par ses émotions et est compétent pour l'identifier, le communiquer et l'analyser de manière rationnelle afin de parvenir à un comportement final plus adaptatif.

En guise de conclusion

Il a été observé dans l'ensemble du texte que, d'une manière générale, une personne psychologiquement mûre possède les qualités d'intelligence émotionnelle; sens de l'engagement, de la responsabilité et des efforts; un style de fonctionnement rationnel et réglementé (intra et interpersonnel) où le monde des émotions est équilibré avec le monde du cognitif ; et, enfin, un degré suffisant de comportement éthique et moral.

En outre, des aspects tels que le fait d'avoir un bon niveau de compétence dans ses propres connaissances, où des forces et des faiblesses sont supposées, sont également des ingrédients pertinents; une capacité adéquate pour analyser, réfléchir et prendre des décisions de manière cohérente et fondée sur des arguments solides; et un développement positif de l'image de soi dans lequel l'indépendance émotionnelle de l'autre est la composante principale.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Pereda, I. (2018) La carte du cerveau. Bonalletra Alcompas, S.L.: Espagne.
  • Rojas, E. (2001) Qui êtes-vous? De la personnalité à l'estime de soi (4 e éd.) Sujets de nos jours: Madrid.

7 clés pour être fort émotionnellement (Mars 2019).


Articles Connexes