yes, therapy helps!
The 12 combinations of temperaments by Tim LaHaye

The 12 combinations of temperaments by Tim LaHaye

June 11, 2024

One of the most ambitious goals of psychology is to know how the personality of an individual is shaped, what influences its development and how it changes over time.

As a result of research and theories, it was found that humans have certain inclinations towards specific attitudes, ideas and preferences, which are influenced by an internal force called temperament. In this article we will see what they are the temperamental combinations of Tim LaHaye .

  • Related article: "Differences between personality, temperament and character"

What is temperament?

We understand by temperament the combination of attitudes and personal dispositions that we inherit from our family, especially our parents.


It's good to know what kind of temperament we have , because in addition to knowing each other more, we learn to optimize our resources and take advantage of the potential we have; in addition to knowing how to control it at times when we need more rationality and not allowing it to control us unconsciously. Normally we act according to what we have, we do not have any in particular for the actions we do. They can be from subtle acts such as certain preferences, to ways of thinking and attitudes.

Temperamental theories

Throughout history, different theories about the types of existing temperaments have been formulated. One of them is the one of the 4 basic temperaments, made by Galen . It is based on the theory of the 4 humors of Hippocrates, which said that the human body is made up of 4 elements (humours):


  • Blood.
  • Phlegm.
  • Yellow bile.
  • Black bile.

From this idea, Galen proposed his theory, which classified the types of temperaments in this way:

  • Bloodthirsty
  • Phlegmatic.
  • Cholerae
  • Melancholy

With this theory as a basis, the writer Tim LaHaye proposed a new one, with some modifications and extensions: the 12 temperamental combinations.

The combinations of temperament according to Tim LaHaye

For him, the fact that there were only 4 possible temperaments was an approach that was far from reality. Because of our complexity as beings, it is almost impossible for us to fit only into 4 categories, since each one has several strengths and several weaknesses, so the most convenient thing seemed to be consider that we can have combinations of temperaments , although one will always be the dominant and another the secondary.


1. San-Col

The most extroverted of all. It's the person-oriented, enthusiastic type. Good organization and productivity predominate . He talks too much and it is easy to expose his weaknesses to others; talks more without knowing all the facts. At the slightest provocation it can detonate his anger.

2. San-Mel

Very emotional with fluctuations of constant moods. They usually express their criticism towards other people or situations openly ; They are perfectionists. You can establish very good social relations when your arrogance does not come out. It is usually insecure.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Perfectionist personality: the disadvantages of perfectionism"

3. San-Flem

Normally he has good humor and is free; They tend to find the positive side of all situations. Likes to help people. It is regulated more by external circumstances and by its environment than by its internal motivation . Tends to appreciate family life and love. Its great weaknesses are the lack of motivation and discipline.

4. Col-San

Your effort is aimed at productivity and specific purposes. You have high energy levels, you always have to be doing something. Excellent communicator. The main weakness is hostility, it is very frank . It is difficult to concentrate on something for a long time.

5. Col-Mel

Oriented towards a goal and careful with the details. Very laborious and capable. He has an analytical mind, fast and determined . Excellent for the debates combining his verbal aggression with attention to the facts. Competitive and powerful in everything he does; leadership profile. Some of his weaknesses are that he tends to become an autocrat, is hostile and can hold a lot of resentment.

6. Col-Flem

A combination of the hot and the hot with the calm and the cold. Deliberate and calm. He is very organized, and is able to help others to give their best. It can nest resentment and bitterness . It is not easy for him to recognize his mistakes and he is very stubborn.

7. Mel-San

Good communicator. Pay attention to the details. It is a very emotional being, it can reflect total happiness or a very black mood. Charismatic, able to get followers . He tends to be rigid with others and be a strict critic.

8. Mel-Col

Perfectionist and good leader. Effective to manage and lead a business . Prone to detailed analysis. Few things cost him work or go wrong.It is very difficult to please and rarely feel satisfied with yourself.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 10 personality traits of a leader"

9. Mel-Flem

Good engaging relationships with others. Analytical and organized perfectionists. It is generally humanitarian. Excellent in spelling and in mathematics. Prefer to work alone in a quiet environment . It can nest anger and tends to have thoughts of revenge. It is vulnerable to fear, anxiety and a negative self-image.

10. Flem-San

Easily congenial with others, cooperative, attentive, diplomatic and fun. Oriented towards people, rarely expresses aggressive attitudes . One of its weaknesses is the lack of motivation and that is why, sometimes, it fails to exploit all its capabilities. Let good opportunities escape.

11. Flem-Col

He is an excellent counselor, because he likes to listen and is interested in people. You can be a good leader. It is reliable and gentle, it does not represent a threat to anyone . He always seeks to do the right thing. He can be very stubborn and resist giving in. His internal anger is reflected in his silence. Fearful.

12. Flem-Mel

Gentle, reliable and accurate. Rarely do you feel hostility. He is very empathetic, organized and likes to help others. It works very well under pressure, although it tends to be passive . Some of its weaknesses are fear, negativity, selfishness and the lack of a stable self-image. When he realizes that his fears are what prevent him from reaching success, he leaves his shell and becomes successful.

Our complexity goes beyond

Even with these 12 temperamental categories maybe there is not one that totally represents you , that's why you can continue to make more combinations or give percentages to those that best describe you. Human beings are complex beings, so it is very difficult to accurately classify any of the elements that make up our personality.


The 4 Temperaments (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 12 combinaisons de tempéraments de Tim LaHaye

Les 12 combinaisons de tempéraments de Tim LaHaye

Mars 4, 2021

L'un des objectifs les plus ambitieux de la psychologie est de savoir comment la personnalité d'un individu est façonnée, ce qui influence son développement et son évolution dans le temps.

À la suite de recherches et de théories, il a été constaté que les humains ont certaines inclinations envers des attitudes, idées et préférences spécifiques, qui sont influencées par une force interne appelée tempérament. Dans cet article, nous verrons ce qu'ils sont les combinaisons de tempérament de Tim LaHaye .

  • Article connexe: "Différences entre personnalité, tempérament et caractère"

Quel est le tempérament?

Nous comprenons par tempérament le combinaison d'attitudes et de dispositions personnelles que nous héritons de notre famille, en particulier de nos parents.


Il est bon de savoir quel genre de tempérament nous avons parce qu’en plus de nous connaître davantage, nous apprenons à optimiser nos ressources et à tirer parti de notre potentiel; en plus de savoir comment le contrôler à des moments où nous avons besoin de plus de rationalité et ne pas lui permettre de nous contrôler inconsciemment. Normalement, nous agissons en fonction de ce que nous avons, nous n’en avons pas en particulier pour les actions que nous faisons. Ils peuvent être des actes subtils tels que certaines préférences, des façons de penser et des attitudes.

Théories tempéramentales

Au cours de l'histoire, différentes théories sur les types de tempéraments existants ont été formulées. L'un d'eux est l'un des 4 tempéraments de base, créé par Galen . Il est basé sur la théorie des 4 humeurs d'Hippocrate, selon laquelle le corps humain est composé de 4 éléments (humeurs):


  • Du sang
  • Flegme
  • Bile jaune.
  • Bile noire.

A partir de cette idée, Galen a proposé sa théorie qui classait les types de tempéraments de la manière suivante:

  • Assoiffé de sang
  • Flegmatique.
  • Cholerae
  • Mélancolie

L’écrivain Tim LaHaye s’est fondé sur cette théorie pour en proposer une nouvelle, avec quelques modifications et extensions: les 12 combinaisons de tempérament.

Les combinaisons de tempérament selon Tim LaHaye

Pour lui, le fait qu'il n'y ait que 4 tempéraments possibles était une approche qui était loin de la réalité. En raison de notre complexité en tant qu'êtres, il nous est presque impossible de ne rentrer que dans 4 catégories, chacune ayant plusieurs forces et plusieurs faiblesses, de sorte que la chose la plus commode semblait être considérons que nous pouvons avoir des combinaisons de tempéraments , bien que l’un soit toujours dominant et l’autre secondaire.


1. San-Col

Le plus extraverti de tous. C'est le type enthousiaste, axé sur la personne. Bonne organisation et productivité prédominantes . Il parle trop et il est facile d'exposer ses faiblesses aux autres; parle plus sans connaître tous les faits. À la moindre provocation, cela peut faire exploser sa colère.

2. San-Mel

Très émotif avec des fluctuations d'humeur constante. Ils expriment généralement leurs critiques envers d’autres personnes ou des situations ouvertement. ; Ils sont perfectionnistes. Vous pouvez établir de très bonnes relations sociales lorsque votre arrogance ne se manifeste pas. C'est généralement peu sûr.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Personnalité perfectionniste: les inconvénients du perfectionnisme"

3. San-Flem

Normalement, il a la bonne humeur et est libre; Ils ont tendance à trouver le côté positif de toutes les situations. Il aime aider les gens. Il est régulé plus par des circonstances extérieures et par son environnement que par sa motivation interne . Tend à apprécier la vie de famille et l'amour. Ses grandes faiblesses sont le manque de motivation et de discipline.

4. Col-San

Vos efforts visent la productivité et des objectifs spécifiques. Vous avez un niveau d'énergie élevé, vous devez toujours faire quelque chose. Excellent communicateur. La principale faiblesse est l'hostilité, c'est très franc . Il est difficile de se concentrer sur quelque chose pendant longtemps.

5. Col-Mel

Orienté vers un but et attentif aux détails. Très laborieux et capable. Il a un esprit analytique, rapide et déterminé . Excellent pour les débats combinant son agressivité verbale et l’attention portée aux faits. Compétitif et puissant dans tout ce qu'il fait; profil de leadership. Certaines de ses faiblesses sont qu'il a tendance à devenir un autocrate, qu'il est hostile et qu'il peut susciter beaucoup de ressentiment.

6. Col-Flem

Une combinaison du chaud et du chaud avec le calme et le froid. Délibéré et calme. Il est très organisé et peut aider les autres à donner de leur mieux. Il peut engendrer le ressentiment et l'amertume . Il n'est pas facile pour lui de reconnaître ses erreurs et il est très têtu.

7. Mel-San

Bon communicateur Faites attention aux détails. C'est un être très émotionnel, il peut refléter un bonheur total ou une humeur très noire. Charismatique, capable d'avoir des suiveurs . Il a tendance à être rigide avec les autres et à être un critique strict.

8. Mel-Col

Perfectionniste et bon leader. Efficace pour gérer et diriger une entreprise . Soumis à une analyse détaillée. Peu de choses lui ont coûté du travail ou ont mal tourné.Il est très difficile de plaire et rarement satisfait de soi.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 10 traits de personnalité d'un dirigeant"

9. Mel-Flem

Bonnes relations d'engagement avec les autres. Perfectionnistes analytiques et organisés. C'est généralement humanitaire. Excellent en orthographe et en mathématiques. Préfère travailler seul dans un environnement calme . Il peut faire naître la colère et a tendance à avoir des pensées de vengeance. Il est vulnérable à la peur, à l'anxiété et à une image de soi négative.

10. Flem-San

Facilement sympathique avec les autres, coopératif, attentif, diplomate et amusant. Orienté vers les gens, exprime rarement des attitudes agressives . L'une de ses faiblesses est le manque de motivation et c'est pourquoi, parfois, il ne parvient pas à exploiter toutes ses capacités. Laisser échapper de bonnes opportunités.

11. Flem-Col

C'est un excellent conseiller, car il aime écouter et s'intéresse aux gens. Vous pouvez être un bon leader. Il est fiable et doux, il ne représente une menace pour personne . Il cherche toujours à faire la bonne chose. Il peut être très têtu et ne pas céder. Sa colère interne se reflète dans son silence. Craintif

12. Flem-Mel

Doux, fiable et précis. Vous ressentez rarement de l'hostilité. Il est très empathique, organisé et aime aider les autres. Il fonctionne très bien sous pression, même s’il est plutôt passif. . Certaines de ses faiblesses sont la peur, la négativité, l’égoïsme et l’absence d’une image de soi stable. Lorsqu'il se rend compte que ses peurs l'empêchent de réussir, il quitte sa coquille et réussit.

Notre complexité va au-delà

Même avec ces 12 catégories de tempérament peut-être il n'y a pas un qui vous représente totalement , c’est pourquoi vous pouvez continuer à faire plus de combinaisons ou donner des pourcentages à ceux qui vous décrivent le mieux. Les êtres humains sont des êtres complexes, il est donc très difficile de classer avec précision les éléments qui composent notre personnalité.


BIGGER by Celestine Donkor Ft Steve Crown (Mars 2021).


Articles Connexes