yes, therapy helps!
How to stimulate the orientation of people with blindness? 5 keys

How to stimulate the orientation of people with blindness? 5 keys

May 23, 2024

Orientation and mobility are fundamental skills for the development of autonomy, which are particularly relevant in the case of people who have blindness or reduced vision . Among other things, these skills facilitate the use of the cane and other important technologies for displacement, as well as strengthening awareness and recognition of oneself in relation to the environment.

In this article we explain in what way can we encourage orientation and mobility in people with blindness and what is the relevance of these functions in psychomotor development.

  • You may be interested: "For there to be blindness, it is not necessary for the eyes to work badly: the failure can be cerebral."

Orientation and Mobility

Orientation and mobility are two psychomotor processes of fundamental importance for our development and autonomy. Being psychomotor processes include elements of two distinct, but interrelated orders: elements of the psychological order, and elements of the motor order .


The first are those that are related to the processes necessary to execute actions, to perceive and interpret the phenomena of the world, to plan actions, make decisions, and so on. The second are those that have to do with the motor system, that is, with our voluntary and involuntary movements, our balance, our position, our extremities, among others.

Both orders are linked through the participation of our senses : touch, smell, taste, hatred and vision. Thus, according to the functioning of the latter, our psychomotricity can work in one way or another. Both psychomotricity, orientation and mobility are processes that are related to our body consciousness. Orientation is the process by which we use our senses to establish a position and a relationship with the objects of the world. And mobility is the ability to move between these objects.


  • Related article: "The intervention in Psychomotor: what is this discipline?"

Sensory scheme, orientation and mobility

As we have seen, the participation of the senses is fundamental for the development of orientation and mobility, and in the case of the total or partial absence of vision, its stimulation (that of the senses) becomes even more important. Likewise and as fundamental skills for the development of autonomy, the development of orientation and mobility are especially relevant in the case of people with blindness or visual weakness. In fact, these are two of the skills that are an important part of training for the use of the cane and other support technologies.

Beyond being the fundamental acts to move from one place to another, orientation and mobility they give us the possibility to organize and familiarize ourselves with the world through physical contact, knowing where we are and where we are going.


How to stimulate orientation and mobility in people with blindness?

The stimulation of the orientation and mobility of people with blindness depends on many factors that may be different according to the needs and circumstances of each person. For example, the process may be different between an adult who has acquired blindness and a child who has been born with blindness.

In the latter, orientation and mobility can be pre-stimulated through gross and fine motor skills, as well as through the acquisition of different concepts. This is because until 2 - 3 years old the child will be ready to begin the process of displacement. In the case of adults, the process may not require motor pre-stimulation, but it does a restructuring of the perception of space in relation to one's own body .

Likewise, blindness in many cases is not presented totally, but partially, or with a reduced vision, and in these cases, the strategies for stimulation may also be different.

In any case, it is not only about skills and processes, but orientation and mobility are two needs that the person himself develops by himself, through physical contact with the elements of the exterior . In this sense, the professionals or relatives that we intend to facilitate the process of autonomy must be aware and remain respectful to the rhythms of each person, as well as be flexible in the face of the individual need to explore and locate themselves bodily.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 11 parts of the eye and its functions"

5 strategies

Broadly speaking, some dimensions that we can stimulate to favor the orientation and mobility of people with blindness are the body outline, the concepts related to space and time, the concepts related to the environment or the city, fine motor skills and thick, and sensory perception.

All of them are part of the psychomotricity, are related to each other and have the common characteristic that allow us to relate our body to the material and semiotic elements that surround it and place it in a certain position.

1. Body outline

The body scheme is the representation that we build and acquire on our own body. It refers both to the parts of itself, and to its functions and movements. It includes the personal exploration of the body, and its relationship with external elements.

It also involves a social element, since the acquisition of the corporal scheme occurs in correspondence with the social norms that tell us how it is and what the parts of the body are, and that allow us to establish different relationships with ourselves. And also with external objects, because they allow us to engage in spatial relationships, identify stimuli that we recognize are not part of ourselves .

2. Spatial and temporal concepts

The spatial concepts are what allow us to establish relationship and position schemes. They make reference to the surfaces and the terms with which we can refer to these. They also relate to notions such as magnitude, distance, size, quantity, weight or volume ; and with concepts like left-right, up-down, recognize one side or the other.

We know that there is a development of spatial concepts such as position categories, forms and measures when the person has established an idea of ​​reference point and systematic search models through hands. This usually occurs from 2 or 3 years of age, and can be stimulated later.

In the same sense, the notions like yesterday, today, tomorrow, day, night favor among other things the spatio-temporal appropriation of the environment and the location of one's own body in this .

3. Environmental / urban concepts

Spatial concepts are basically the names of the objects that surround us. Above all it is important reinforce the recognition of the objects that are used more frequently . They also include concepts related to what exists in the immediate environment. For example, the elements of the environment, such as the floor, the room, the corridor, the traffic light, the cars, and so on.

It is about identifying salient elements of the environment, learning what places exist and where they are, and then establishing routes or sequences that connect all these elements together. Likewise this allows the identification of obstacles and generate avoidance tools (protection techniques).

From there the traveler can identify a path that directs him by a specific path or path, then update their positions with respect to signals on the road and finally use general concepts about space.

4. Thick and fine motor skills

It is about favoring elements such as posture, walking and balance, on the one hand, and other skills related to the manipulation of small objects, which helps in the estimation of distances and coordination. The gross motor and fine motor skills are fundamental for reinforce cognitive processes as well as the perception of one's own body and understand their relationship with external objects on a large scale.

Depending on the age of the person, many different activities can be carried out that favor these skills, and can range from driving a tricycle and skewering small accounts, to doing complex physical activity.

5. Sensory perception

Sensory stimulation is of fundamental importance because it allows us to establish reference points and discriminate between different stimuli in the environment as well as relationships with it. Specifically in the case of hearing, it is important to take into account concepts such as identification, discrimination, monitoring, and detection of "shadow of sound" areas.

In the case of touch it is important the direct experience of the skin in contact with objects , although there may also be intermediate contact (for example, the recognition of a fruit with a fork). The olfactory and gustatory senses can receive stimulation from discrimination and the identification of different stimuli, even the most daily ones.

Bibliographic references:

  • Martínez, C. (2010). Training in Orientation and Mobility: Must be done. Retrieved June 21, 2018. Available at //www.tsbvi.edu/seehear/fall98/waytogo-span.htm.

Bill Gates's Top 10 Rules For Success (@BillGates) (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment stimuler l'orientation des personnes aveugles? 5 clés

Comment stimuler l'orientation des personnes aveugles? 5 clés

Mai 16, 2022

L’orientation et la mobilité sont des compétences fondamentales pour le développement de l’autonomie, particulièrement utiles dans le cas des les personnes qui ont la cécité ou une vision réduite . Entre autres choses, ces compétences facilitent l’utilisation de la canne à sucre et d’autres technologies importantes pour les déplacements, ainsi que la prise de conscience et la reconnaissance de soi par rapport à l’environnement.

Dans cet article, nous expliquons de quelle manière pouvons-nous encourager l'orientation et la mobilité des personnes aveugles et quelle est la pertinence de ces fonctions dans le développement psychomoteur.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Pour qu’il y ait cécité, il n’est pas nécessaire que les yeux fonctionnent mal: l’échec peut être cérébral."

Orientation et mobilité

L'orientation et la mobilité sont deux processus psychomoteurs d'une importance fondamentale pour notre développement et notre autonomie. Les processus psychomoteurs comprennent des éléments de deux ordres distincts, mais interdépendants: éléments de l'ordre psychologique et éléments de l'ordre moteur .


Les premiers sont ceux qui sont liés aux processus nécessaires pour exécuter des actions, percevoir et interpréter les phénomènes du monde, planifier des actions, prendre des décisions, etc. La seconde concerne le système moteur, c’est-à-dire nos mouvements volontaires et involontaires, notre équilibre, notre position, nos extrémités, entre autres.

Les deux ordres sont liés par la participation de nos sens : toucher, sentir, goûter, haine et vision. Ainsi, selon le fonctionnement de ce dernier, notre psychomotricité peut fonctionner d’une manière ou d’une autre. La psychomotricité, l’orientation et la mobilité sont des processus liés à la conscience de notre corps. L'orientation est le processus par lequel nous utilisons nos sens pour établir une position et une relation avec les objets du monde. Et la mobilité est la capacité de se déplacer entre ces objets.


  • Article connexe: "L'intervention en psychomoteur: quelle est cette discipline?"

Schéma sensoriel, orientation et mobilité

Comme nous l'avons vu, la participation des sens est fondamentale pour le développement de l'orientation et de la mobilité, et dans le cas d'une absence totale ou partielle de vision, sa stimulation (celle des sens) devient encore plus importante. De même et en tant que compétences fondamentales pour le développement de l'autonomie, le développement de l'orientation et de la mobilité sont particulièrement pertinents dans le cas des personnes aveugles ou ayant une faiblesse visuelle. En fait, ce sont deux des compétences qui constituent une part importante de la formation à l’utilisation de la canne à sucre et des autres technologies d’appui.

Au-delà des gestes fondamentaux pour se déplacer d’un lieu à un autre, orientation et mobilité ils nous donnent la possibilité de nous organiser et de nous familiariser avec le monde par contact physique, en sachant où nous sommes et où nous allons.


Comment stimuler l'orientation et la mobilité des personnes aveugles?

La stimulation de l'orientation et de la mobilité des personnes aveugles dépend de nombreux facteurs qui peuvent varier en fonction des besoins et de la situation de chaque personne. Par exemple, le processus peut être différent entre un adulte atteint de cécité et un enfant né de cécité.

Dans ce dernier cas, l'orientation et la mobilité peuvent être pré-stimulées par la motricité globale et fine, ainsi que par l'acquisition de différents concepts. En effet, jusqu’à l’âge de 2 ou 3 ans, l’enfant sera prêt à commencer le processus de déplacement. Dans le cas des adultes, le processus peut ne pas nécessiter de pré-stimulation motrice, mais il une restructuration de la perception de l'espace par rapport à son propre corps .

De même, dans de nombreux cas, la cécité n'est pas présentée de manière complète, mais partielle ou avec une vision réduite, et dans ces cas, les stratégies de stimulation peuvent également être différentes.

Dans tous les cas, il ne s’agit pas uniquement de compétences et de processus, mais l’orientation et la mobilité sont deux besoins que la personne développe elle-même, par contact physique avec les éléments de l'extérieur . En ce sens, les professionnels ou les proches que nous entendons faciliter le processus d’autonomie doivent être conscients des rythmes de chaque personne et les respecter, ainsi que faire preuve de souplesse face au besoin de chacun d’explorer et de se localiser physiquement.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 11 parties de l'oeil et ses fonctions"

5 stratégies

De manière générale, certaines dimensions que nous pouvons stimuler pour favoriser l’orientation et la mobilité des aveugles sont les contours du corps, les concepts liés à l’espace et le temps, les concepts liés à l’environnement ou à la ville, la motricité fine et perception épaisse et sensorielle.

Tous font partie de la psychomotricité, sont liés les uns aux autres et ont pour caractéristique commune nous permettent de relier notre corps aux éléments matériels et sémiotiques qui l'entourent et placez-le dans une certaine position.

1. Contour du corps

Le schéma corporel est la représentation que nous construisons et acquérons sur notre propre corps. Il fait référence à la fois à ses parties, à ses fonctions et à ses mouvements. Cela inclut l'exploration personnelle du corps et sa relation avec les éléments extérieurs.

Cela implique également un élément social, dans la mesure où l’acquisition du schéma corporel se produit en correspondance avec les normes sociales qui nous disent comment il est et quelles sont les parties du corps, et qui nous permettent d’établir des relations différentes avec nous-mêmes. Et aussi avec des objets externes, car ils nous permettent de nous engager dans des relations spatiales, identifier les stimuli que nous reconnaissons ne font pas partie de nous-mêmes .

2. Concepts spatiaux et temporels

Les concepts spatiaux sont ce qui nous permet d’établir des schémas de relation et de position. Ils font référence aux surfaces et aux termes avec lesquels nous pouvons nous référer à celles-ci. Ils concernent également notions telles que grandeur, distance, taille, quantité, poids ou volume ; et avec des concepts comme gauche-droite, haut-bas, reconnaître un côté ou l'autre.

Nous savons qu'il existe un développement de concepts spatiaux tels que catégories de position, formes et mesures lorsque la personne a établi une idée du point de référence et des modèles de recherche systématique à l'aide des mains. Cela se produit généralement à partir de 2 ou 3 ans et peut être stimulé plus tard.

Dans le même sens, des notions comme hier, aujourd'hui, demain, le jour, la nuit, entre autres l’appropriation spatio-temporelle de l’environnement et la localisation de son propre corps dans cette .

3. Concepts environnementaux / urbains

Les concepts spatiaux sont essentiellement les noms des objets qui nous entourent. Avant tout c'est important renforcer la reconnaissance des objets utilisés plus fréquemment . Ils incluent également des concepts liés à ce qui existe dans l'environnement immédiat. Par exemple, les éléments de l'environnement, tels que le sol, la pièce, le couloir, le feu, les voitures, etc.

Il s'agit d'identifier les éléments essentiels de l'environnement, d'apprendre quels endroits existent et où ils se trouvent, puis d'établir des itinéraires ou des séquences reliant tous ces éléments. De même cela permet d'identifier les obstacles et de générer des outils d'évitement (techniques de protection).

À partir de là, le voyageur peut identifier un chemin qui le dirige par un chemin ou une route spécifique, puis mettre à jour sa position par rapport aux signaux sur la route et enfin utiliser des concepts généraux sur l'espace.

4. motricité épaisse et fine

Il s'agit de favoriser des éléments tels que la posture, la marche et l'équilibre, d'une part, et d'autres compétences liées à la manipulation de petits objets, ce qui facilite l'estimation des distances et la coordination. La motricité globale et la motricité fine sont fondamentales pour renforcer les processus cognitifs ainsi que la perception de son propre corps et comprendre leur relation avec les objets externes à grande échelle.

En fonction de l'âge de la personne, de nombreuses activités différentes, allant de la conduite d'un tricycle à la manipulation de petits comptes, en passant par la réalisation d'activités physiques complexes, peuvent être réalisées.

5. Perception sensorielle

La stimulation sensorielle est d’une importance fondamentale car elle nous permet d’établir des points de référence et de discriminer les différents stimuli dans l’environnement ainsi que les relations avec celui-ci. Dans le cas de l'audition en particulier, il est important de prendre en compte des concepts tels que l'identification, la discrimination, la surveillance et la détection des zones d'ombre du son.

Dans le cas du toucher, il est important l'expérience directe de la peau au contact d'objets , bien qu’il puisse aussi y avoir un contact intermédiaire (par exemple, la reconnaissance d’un fruit à la fourchette). Les sens olfactif et gustatif peuvent être stimulés par la discrimination et l'identification de différents stimuli, même les plus quotidiens.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Martínez, C. (2010). Formation en orientation et mobilité: à réaliser. Récupéré le 21 juin 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.tsbvi.edu/seehear/fall98/waytogo-span.htm.

Can we create new senses for humans? | David Eagleman (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes