yes, therapy helps!
How to stop being impulsive: 5 keys to achieve it

How to stop being impulsive: 5 keys to achieve it

April 30, 2024

Impulsiveness can become a significant problem, both when relating to others and when managing our emotions and behaviors. Therefore, some people consider themselves too impulsive, and seek ways to limit this tendency to let go.

In this article we will see a series of tips on how to stop being impulsive (keeping in mind that impulsivity is a matter of degree).

  • Related article: "Impulsive people: their 5 characteristic traits and habits"

Tips to stop being impulsive

Any psychological change requires at least two things: time and effort . This is because the behaviors are not like the only biological processes, some of which can be modified in a matter of minutes by introducing a substance into the body; Psychology is fundamentally modifying habits and routines, and that requires continued practice.


Thus, knowing how to stop being impulsive implies being aware that this change will not be overnight and requires commitment and effort, which always causes a minimum amount of discomfort when leaving the comfort zone .

Having said that, let's look at the tips, keeping in mind that all of them must be adapted to the specific conditions in which each one lives, since each person is a world.

1. Change your environment to change yourself

Something that many people do not understand is that individual psychological changes do not occur in isolation from the environment, but maintain a bidirectional relationship with it. Therefore, the most lasting and significant changes come at least through the change of the environments in which we move in the usual way and to which we expose ourselves so that their characteristics shape how we are.


So, to stop being impulsive, a person should try to avoid exposing yourself to contexts in which impulsivity is a frequent reaction to what happens . For example, places with violence or physical dangers that require a quick response to virtually any stimulus, or sites full of elements that invite us to enter the vicious circle of obsessions or addictive behaviors.

2. Focus on your actions

The main theoretical model used to explain how self-control works in human beings indicates that the control of actions is related to the regulation of emotions and thoughts .

Therefore, one factor that can help to stop being excessively impulsive is to focus on not giving in to physical outbursts. Be clear about this objective at times when the temptation to perform a harmful action appears.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Self-control: 7 psychological tips to improve it"

3. Lead a healthy life

Good part of impulsivity may be due to stress.

The fact of walking in a state of alert produced by mental exhaustion, the feeling of having many fronts to attend and tasks to finish, or the feeling that one is in a hostile place, can cause the minimum reason to be frustrated to fall in impulsiveness, either tackling a problem aggressively, or by evading responsibilities through sensations that distract us (binge eating, impulse to buy, etc.).

Thus, the most common solutions to reduce stress and anxiety usually translate into a reduction in impulsivity, and among these, it is worth noting the maintenance of a balanced diet and adequate sleep schedules.

  • Related article: "Compulsive overeating: abuse and addiction to food"

4. Keep addictions away

Addictions are a constant source of frustration , and that leads us to be impulsive. For example, if you feel an extreme need to go out and smoke on the street, it is much more possible to respond in an aggressive way to someone who proposes something that would delay that appointment with cigarettes.

5. Question your beliefs

There are beliefs that predispose us to be impulsive in some contexts. Ideas that dehumanize certain people, for example, invite them to treat them as objects, that is, to disregard their feelings, so that the filters of socially acceptable behavior do not apply here.

Changing these beliefs is fundamental, and this is something that can be done, for example, through cognitive restructuring in psychotherapy.

6. Surround yourself with non-impulsive people

Finally, this element is also very relevant: stay in a context in which impulsivity is not a constant throughout the world .

We are part of what we see on a day-to-day basis, so being constantly interacting with impulsive people will make us tend to be more.In this way, changing social circles will help us a lot to leave impulsivity behind.

Bibliographic references:

  • Berkman, E. T .; Graham, A. M .; Fisher, P. A. (2012). "Training Self-Control: A Domain-General Translational Neuroscience Approach". Child Development Perspectives: n / a
  • Heatherton, T. F .; Baumeister, R. F. (1991). "Binge eating as escape from self-awareness". Psychological Bulletin. 110 (1): 86-108.
  • Nigg, J. T. (2000). "On inhibition / disinhibition in developmental psychopathology: Views from cognitive and personality psychology and a working inhibition taxonomy". Psychological Bulletin. 126 (2): 220-46.
  • Hofmann, W .; Schmeichel, B. J .; Baddeley, A. D. (2012). "Executive functions and self-regulation". Trends in Cognitive Sciences. 16 (3): 174-80.

How to Handle Acting Impulsively : Behavior Management (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment arrêter d'être impulsif: 5 clés pour y arriver

Comment arrêter d'être impulsif: 5 clés pour y arriver

Mai 27, 2022

L'impulsivité peut devenir un problème important, à la fois lors de relations avec les autres et lors de la gestion de nos émotions et de nos comportements. Par conséquent, certaines personnes se considèrent trop impulsives et cherchent des moyens de limiter cette tendance à se laisser aller.

Dans cet article nous verrons une série de conseils sur la façon de ne plus être impulsif (en gardant à l'esprit que l'impulsivité est une question de degré).

  • Article connexe: "Personnes impulsives: leurs 5 traits et habitudes"

Conseils pour ne plus être impulsif

Tout changement psychologique nécessite au moins deux choses: du temps et des efforts . En effet, les comportements ne ressemblent pas aux seuls processus biologiques, dont certains peuvent être modifiés en quelques minutes en introduisant une substance dans le corps; La psychologie modifie fondamentalement les habitudes et les routines, ce qui nécessite une pratique continue.


Ainsi, savoir cesser d’être impulsif, c’est être conscient du fait que ce changement ne se fera pas du jour au lendemain et nécessite un engagement et des efforts provoque toujours un minimum d'inconfort en quittant la zone de confort .

Cela dit, examinons les conseils, en gardant à l'esprit qu'ils doivent tous être adaptés aux conditions spécifiques dans lesquelles chacun vit, chacun étant un monde.

1. Changez votre environnement pour vous changer

Ce que beaucoup de gens ne comprennent pas, c’est que les changements psychologiques individuels ne se produisent pas indépendamment de l’environnement, mais entretiennent une relation bidirectionnelle avec celui-ci. Par conséquent, les changements les plus durables et les plus significatifs proviennent au moins du changement des environnements dans lesquels nous évoluons de la manière habituelle et auxquels nous nous exposons de manière à ce que leurs caractéristiques façonnent notre situation.


Donc, pour cesser d’être impulsif, une personne devrait essayer de évitez de vous exposer à des contextes dans lesquels l'impulsivité est une réaction fréquente à ce qui se passe . Par exemple, des lieux où la violence ou des dangers physiques exigent une réponse rapide à pratiquement n'importe quel stimulus, ou des sites contenant des éléments qui nous invitent à entrer dans le cercle vicieux des obsessions ou des comportements de dépendance.

2. Concentrez-vous sur vos actions

Le principal modèle théorique utilisé pour expliquer le fonctionnement de la maîtrise de soi chez l'homme indique que le contrôle des actions est liée à la régulation des émotions et des pensées .

Par conséquent, un facteur qui peut aider à cesser d’être excessivement impulsif est de ne pas céder aux explosions physiques. Soyez clair sur cet objectif lorsque la tentation d’agir est néfaste.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Maîtrise de soi: 7 astuces psychologiques pour l'améliorer"

3. mener une vie saine

Une bonne partie de l'impulsivité peut être due au stress.

Le fait de marcher dans un état d'alerte provoqué par l'épuisement mental, le sentiment d'avoir plusieurs fronts à accomplir et des tâches à terminer, ou le sentiment d'être dans un lieu hostile peut entraîner la chute du minimum de raison dans l'impulsivité, soit s'attaquer à un problème de manière agressive, ou en évitant les responsabilités par des sensations qui nous distraient (frénésie alimentaire, impulsion d'achat, etc.).

Ainsi, les solutions les plus courantes pour réduire le stress et l’anxiété se traduisent généralement par une réduction de l’impulsivité. Parmi celles-ci, il convient de noter le maintien d’une alimentation équilibrée et de programmes de sommeil adéquats.

  • Article connexe: "La suralimentation compulsive: abus et dépendance à la nourriture"

4. Éloignez les dépendances

Les dépendances sont une source constante de frustration et cela nous amène à être impulsif. Par exemple, si vous ressentez un besoin extrême de fumer dans la rue, il est beaucoup plus possible de réagir de manière agressive à quelqu'un qui propose quelque chose qui retarderait ce rendez-vous avec des cigarettes.

5. Questionnez vos croyances

Certaines croyances nous prédisposent à être impulsifs dans certains contextes. Les idées qui déshumanisent certaines personnes, par exemple, les invitent à les traiter comme des objets, c’est-à-dire à faire abstraction de leurs sentiments, afin que les filtres d’un comportement socialement acceptable ne s’appliquent pas ici.

Changer ces croyances est fondamental et c’est quelque chose qui peut être fait, par exemple, par le biais de la restructuration cognitive en psychothérapie.

6. Entourez-vous de personnes non impulsives

Enfin, cet élément est également très pertinent: rester dans un contexte où l'impulsivité n'est pas une constante dans le monde .

Nous faisons partie de ce que nous voyons au quotidien. Par conséquent, le fait d’interagir en permanence avec des personnes impulsives nous incitera à être plus nombreux.De cette manière, le changement des cercles sociaux nous aidera beaucoup à sortir de l'impulsivité.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Berkman, E. T.; Graham, A. M; Fisher, P. A. (2012). "Formation de maîtrise de soi: une approche de domaine des neurosciences translationnelles dans le domaine général". Perspectives de développement de l'enfant: n / a
  • Heatherton, T. F .; Baumeister, R. F. (1991). "Frénésie alimentaire comme échapper à la conscience de soi". Bulletin psychologique. 110 (1): 86-108.
  • Nigg, J. T. (2000). "Sur l'inhibition / désinhibition dans la psychopathologie du développement: Points de vue de la psychologie cognitive et de la personnalité et d'une taxonomie d'inhibition de travail". Bulletin psychologique. 126 (2): 220 à 46.
  • Hofmann, W .; Schmeichel, B.J.; Baddeley, A. D. (2012). "Fonctions exécutives et autorégulation". Tendances en sciences cognitives. 16 (3): 174-80.

Comment gérer sa colère : L'exercice qui va changer votre vie ! (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes