yes, therapy helps!
Infantile amnesia: why do not we remember the first years of life?

Infantile amnesia: why do not we remember the first years of life?

September 6, 2022

What is your first memory? The answer to this question will be in most cases a situation or a brief image of some event or sensation that we experienced in our early childhood , mostly corresponding to when we were between three and five years old. But by then I had been alive for several years. Our brains already processed the information from the environment and we were even able to learn skills, information and ways of acting.

What happened before that first memory? Why can not we remember something before it, such as when we learned to walk or talk? The explanation to that void of memories has a name: it is called infantile amnesia .


  • Related article: "Episodic memory: definition and associated parts of the brain"

What is infantile amnesia?

Infantile amnesia is defined as the inability to remember the phenomena and situations that occurred in our early childhood , at an autobiographical level. That is, we conserve, for example, the skills acquired in this stage (for example, walking or talking), but not how we did it.

This amnesia usually affects the memories that occurred before three years of age . In fact, when they ask us about our first memories, most people usually indicate some type of element or situation that they experienced from that moment on. Occasionally it is possible to remember some previous element, but it is not frequent and it would be limited to some very significant phenomenon or a sensation or image.


It has been shown that Babies have the capacity to generate memories, but quickly forget them . And even at an autobiographical level: five-year-olds can identify and remember a situation that happened when they had two. It is not that children under three do not have memory: they are able to remember what happens to them. Simply these memories disappear with time. Thus, what would happen would be an authentic amnesia since it is not that they do not exist but that they fade with time.

There are cases of people who claim to remember vividly previous phenomena. Although in some cases it could be like this, for the most part we will not be before an authentic memory but before an elaboration generated from the information that we have in the present (for example, from what our parents have told us that happened). And in many cases who says such a thing is not that he is lying, but has generated a false memory that is lived as true.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 6 stages of childhood (physical and psychic development)"

When does it appear?

This amnesia of the first events has always been observed in adults, but research shows that amnesia is already visible in childhood. Specifically, the experiments and investigations of Bauer and Larkina in 2013 indicate that in general infantile amnesia appears approximately after seven years of age .

In addition to this, these investigations have allowed us to observe that smaller children are capable of having more memories but nevertheless they were less clear and detailed, while the older ones were able to evoke phenomena in a much more extensive, exact and detailed way despite They did not remember their early years.

  • You may be interested: "The different types of amnesia (and their characteristics)"

Why do not we remember anything from our early years?

The reason for childhood amnesia is something that has intrigued researchers dedicated to this area and has generated a lot of research in this regard. Although There is not yet a full consensus on the exact causes for which we are not able to remember practically anything of our first years of life, diverse hypotheses exist in this respect. Some of the best known are the following.

1. Linguistic hypothesis

Some authors consider that childhood amnesia is due to the lack of inadequate coding due to the absence or lack of language development , as a structure that allows organizing information. Until the development of this ability we would be using an iconic representation in which we would remember through images, but once the memory begins to be codified and organized through language, these first memories would end up weakening and later losing themselves.

2. Neurological hypothesis

There are also neurological hypotheses. In this sense some recent investigations seem to indicate that the absence of memory of this time could be linked to the immaturity of our brain and the neuronal overpopulation that we have during the first years of life.

During early childhood our hippocampus is submerged in a process of constant neurogenesis, dramatically increasing the number of neurons we have (especially in the dentate gyrus). This constant growth and creation of neurons makes it difficult to record information in a persistent and stable way, losing the autobiographical information.

The reason for this may be in the degradation of memories by replacing the new neurons pre-existing connections , or in the fact that the new ones are more excitable and are activated more than those that were already in the brain.

There may also be a connection between this oblivion and neural pruning, in which part of the neurons in our brain die preprogrammed to improve the efficiency of our nervous system and leaving only the most powerful and reinforced connections.

3. Hypothesis about the formation of the I

Another of the proposed explanations suggests that we are unable to remember our first moments because at those ages we still do not have a self-concept or an identity: we are not aware that we are, that we exist, with which there is no "I" from which we can elaborate a biography .

  • You may be interested: "What is" the Self "in Psychology?"

4. Other hypotheses

In addition to these, we can find many other hypotheses that have been overcome by the development of Psychology. For example, from the classical psychoanalytic model it was proposed that oblivion is due to the repression of our instincts and the Oedipus conflict.

Bibliographic references:

  • Bauer, P. J. & Larkina, M. (2013) The onset of childhood amnesia in childhood: A prospective investigation of the course and determinants of forgetting of early-life events. Memory.
  • Josselyn, S. & Frankland, P. (n.d). Infantile amnesia: A neurogenic hypothesis. Learning & Memory, 19 (9), 423-433.
  • Akers, K. G .; Martinez-Canabal, A .; Restivo, L .; Yiu, A. P .; From Cristofaro, A .; Hsiang, H. L. L .; Wheeler, A.L .; Guskjolen, A .; Niibori, Y .; Shoji, H .; Ohira, K .; Richards, B.A .; Miyakawa, T .; Josselyn, S.A. & Frankland, P. W. (2014). Hippocampal Neurogenesis Regulates Forgetting During Adulthood and Infancy. Science, 344 (6184), 598-602.

Why Can't We Remember Being Babies? (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Amnésie infantile: pourquoi ne nous souvenons-nous pas des premières années de la vie?

Amnésie infantile: pourquoi ne nous souvenons-nous pas des premières années de la vie?

Juillet 13, 2024

Quel est ton premier souvenir? La réponse à cette question sera dans la plupart des cas une situation ou une brève image de un événement ou une sensation que nous avons connu dans notre petite enfance , correspondant généralement à l'âge de trois à cinq ans. Mais à ce moment-là, j'étais en vie depuis plusieurs années. Notre cerveau a déjà traité les informations de l'environnement et nous avons même pu acquérir des compétences, des informations et des façons d'agir.

Que s'est-il passé avant ce premier souvenir? Pourquoi ne pouvons-nous pas nous souvenir de quelque chose avant, comme lorsque nous avons appris à marcher ou à parler? L'explication à ce vide de souvenirs a un nom: on l'appelle amnésie infantile .


  • Article connexe: "Mémoire épisodique: définition et parties associées du cerveau"

Qu'est-ce que l'amnésie infantile?

L'amnésie infantile est définie comme la incapacité de se souvenir des phénomènes et des situations survenus dans notre petite enfance , au niveau autobiographique. Autrement dit, nous conservons les compétences acquises à ce stade (par exemple, marcher ou parler), mais pas comment nous l’avons fait.

Cette amnésie affecte généralement la souvenirs qui se sont produits avant l'âge de trois ans . En fait, quand ils nous interrogent sur nos premiers souvenirs, la plupart des gens indiquent généralement un type d’élément ou de situation qu’ils ont connu à partir de ce moment-là. Il est parfois possible de rappeler certains éléments précédents, mais ce n'est pas fréquent et cela se limiterait à un phénomène très important, à une sensation ou à une image.


Il a été démontré que Les bébés ont la capacité de générer des souvenirs, mais les oublient vite . Et même à un niveau autobiographique: les enfants de cinq ans peuvent identifier et se souvenir d’une situation qui s’est produite alors qu’ils en avaient deux. Ce n’est pas que les enfants de moins de trois ans n’ont pas de mémoire: ils sont capables de se souvenir de ce qui leur arrive. Simplement ces souvenirs disparaissent avec le temps. Ainsi, ce qui arriverait serait une amnésie authentique puisque ce n’est pas qu’elles n’existent pas mais qu’elles s’effacent avec le temps.

Il y a des cas de personnes qui prétendent se souvenir de manière frappante de phénomènes antérieurs. Bien que dans certains cas, cela pourrait être comme ça, pour la plupart, nous ne serons pas avant un souvenir authentique mais avant une élaboration générée à partir des informations que nous avons dans le présent (par exemple, de ce que nos parents nous ont raconté ce qui s'est passé). Et dans de nombreux cas, qui dit une telle chose n’est pas qu’il ment, mais a généré une fausse mémoire vécue comme telle.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 6 étapes de l'enfance (développement physique et psychique)"

Quand apparaît-il?

Cette amnésie des premiers événements a toujours été observée chez les adultes, mais les recherches montrent que l’amnésie est déjà visible dans l’enfance. En particulier, les expériences et les enquêtes menées par Bauer et Larkina en 2013 indiquent qu'en général l'amnésie infantile apparaît environ après l'âge de sept ans .

De plus, ces enquêtes nous ont permis de constater que les enfants plus petits sont capables d’avoir plus de souvenirs mais qu’ils étaient néanmoins moins clairs et moins détaillés, tandis que les plus âgés étaient capables d’évoquer des phénomènes de manière beaucoup plus étendue, exacte et détaillée Ils ne se souvenaient pas de leurs premières années.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Les différents types d'amnésie (et leurs caractéristiques)"

Pourquoi ne nous souvenons-nous de rien de nos premières années?

La raison de l'amnésie chez les enfants est une chose qui a intrigué des chercheurs spécialisés dans ce domaine et qui a généré de nombreuses recherches à cet égard. Malgré que Il n'y a pas encore de consensus complet sur les causes exactes pour lesquels nous ne pouvons nous rappeler pratiquement rien de nos premières années de vie, diverses hypothèses existent à cet égard. Certains des plus connus sont les suivants.

1. Hypothèse linguistique

Certains auteurs considèrent que l’amnésie chez les enfants est due à l’absence de codage inadéquat. en raison de l'absence ou du manque de développement du langage , en tant que structure permettant d’organiser des informations. Jusqu'au développement de cette capacité, nous utiliserions une représentation iconique dans laquelle nous nous souviendrions à travers des images, mais une fois que la mémoire commencerait à être codifiée et organisée à travers le langage, ces premiers souvenirs finiraient par s'affaiblir puis à se perdre.

2. Hypothèse neurologique

Il y a aussi des hypothèses neurologiques. En ce sens, certaines enquêtes récentes semblent indiquer que l’absence de mémoire de cette époque pourrait être lié à l'immaturité de notre cerveau et la surpopulation neuronale que nous avons au cours des premières années de la vie.

Pendant la petite enfance, notre hippocampe est submergé par un processus de neurogenèse constant, ce qui augmente considérablement le nombre de neurones que nous avons (en particulier dans le gyrus denté). Cette croissance constante et la création de neurones rendent difficile l'enregistrement des informations de manière persistante et stable, en perdant les informations autobiographiques.

La raison de ceci peut être dans la dégradation des mémoires en remplaçant les nouveaux neurones des connexions préexistantes , ou du fait que les nouveaux sont plus excitables et sont activés plus que ceux qui étaient déjà dans le cerveau.

Il peut également y avoir un lien entre cet oubli et l'élagage neural, dans lequel une partie des neurones de notre cerveau meurt préprogrammée pour améliorer l'efficacité de notre système nerveux et ne laisse que les connexions les plus puissantes et les plus renforcées.

3. Hypothèse sur la formation du je

Une autre des explications proposées suggère que nous ne pouvons pas nous souvenir de nos premiers moments car, à ces âges, nous n’avons toujours pas de concept de soi ni d’identité: nous ne sommes pas conscients que nous sommes, que nous existons, avec lesquels il n'y a pas de "je" à partir duquel on peut élaborer une biographie .

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Qu'est-ce que" le Soi "en psychologie?"

4. Autres hypothèses

En plus de cela, nous pouvons trouver de nombreuses autres hypothèses qui ont été surmontées par le développement de la psychologie. Par exemple, dans le modèle psychanalytique classique, il a été suggéré que l'oubli est dû à la répression de nos instincts et au conflit d'Œdipe.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bauer, P. J. et Larkina, M. (2013) L'apparition de l'amnésie chez les enfants: une étude prospective sur l'évolution et les déterminants de l'oubli d'événements de la première enfance. La mémoire.
  • Josselyn, S. et Frankland, P. (n.d). Amnésie infantile: une hypothèse neurogénique. Apprentissage et mémoire, 19 (9), 423-433.
  • Akers, K. G.; Martinez-Canabal, A .; Restivo, L .; Yiu, A. P.; De Cristofaro, A .; Hsiang, H.L.L .; Wheeler, A.L .; Guskjolen, A .; Niibori, Y .; Shoji, H.; Ohira, K .; Richards, B.A .; Miyakawa, T .; Josselyn, S.A. & Frankland, P. W. (2014). La neurogenèse de l'hippocampe régule l'oubli pendant l'âge adulte et la petite enfance. Science, 344 (6184), 598-602.

Ho'oponopono y las Leyes Universales por María José Cabanillas (Juillet 2024).


Articles Connexes