yes, therapy helps!
Interview with Adela Lasierra (IEPP): self-esteem to overcome adversities

Interview with Adela Lasierra (IEPP): self-esteem to overcome adversities

September 16, 2022

Self-esteem is one of the most worked concepts in psychology , and something that we constantly experience throughout our lives. It is linked to our perception of ourselves, to the notion that there is an "I", and precisely because of that, it is at the core of our way of being and behaving. To know more about her, we have asked several questions to Adela Lasierra, a psychologist and expert on the subject.

  • Related article: "Resilience: definition and 10 habits to enhance it"

Adela Lasierra: self-esteem to keep moving forward

Adela Lasierra is a psychologist and trainer of the European Institute of Positive Psychology, one of the main references in the field of Positive Psychology in both professional training and therapy. In this interview he will talk about self-esteem: what it is, how it develops and how it affects us on a daily basis and in the challenges we face.


Many people do not distinguish these two terms, but ... what is the difference between self-esteem and self-confidence? What is really our self-esteem?

It is difficult to give a unitary definition of the concept of self-esteem because for each author who has studied it widely, it involves different elements. Personally, I like the approaches of Walter Riso, Enrique Rojas Marcos or Silvia Congost.

By combining all of them, we can define self-esteem as the "internal, and therefore subjective, photograph that each person has of himself on a physical, psychological and social level". There are people who use the word self-confidence as a synonym, but I find it closer to associate self-confidence with the sense of ability we have for each of the areas of our life (as professionals, as friends, as a couple, as children ...) , and that in terms of self-esteem we call self-efficacy.

Why is the correct development of self-esteem during childhood important? What affects its development?

A well-known psychiatrist states that "childhood is the playground where we play the rest of our lives". I think that this phrase answers the question very well since the experiences of childhood are a part of the explanation of the level of self-esteem with which a person comes to the consultation.

At that time, it is configured in terms of the link with the parental figures, which can be unconditional love or unconditional love and experiences with significant people: family members, later school mates ... Later, adolescence will influence and finally the current moment, based on personal achievements and internal worth.


Can self-esteem vary throughout our lives?


Yes, it can fluctuate slightly and that is logical and normal. My objective in consultation is to achieve a good baseline based not on external achievements but on an internal feeling in which the experiences to the person affect him but do not condition him. It is about feeling a valid and capable person all the time.

What relation do the thoughts we have to our self-esteem?

They are the most important, the cornerstone! To work on self-esteem is to work on our internal dialogue, that is, our thoughts. Because in many cases the person who is having more signs of self-contempt and more frequent be yourself.


And emotional intelligence?

It is key: emotional intelligence is knowing how to choose the thoughts that suit you. It is to take the road of the brave: to work in your well-being. The lack of emotional intelligence leads us to take the opposite path, which is the easy, choosing for example the passive complaint or constant criticism.

  • Related article: "What is Emotional Intelligence?"

Having a good self-esteem is key to overcoming the obstacles that may appear in our life. Why?

Because the person who is going to get you out of all these obstacles will most likely be yourself. It's about turning your thoughts into your allies, not your worst enemy.


How can we cultivate good self-esteem?

It is a process that takes time and effort, just as if we wanted to get a toned body!

The first step I would recommend would be to work selective attention, that is, to be aware that the mind sometimes distorts reality and we only look at our elements that we do not like, both physical, psychological and when we relate to others people. We say for example "you have made a mistake writing this report, what a disaster you are" and we ignore that the rest of the morning you have been getting the job satisfactorily, without errors and in time.

It is necessary to stop zooming in on what we do not like about us and see the complete image.That does not mean denying reality and focus only on the good, but, taking the previous example, say "it's true, you've made a mistake in writing the report but what else have you done the rest of the morning? You have taken the job on time and with excellent quality "


At IEPP you offer a practical course on self-esteem and positive psychology. What benefits do you have for your participants?

The course provides them with a briefcase of specific techniques and tools to improve or strengthen their confidence in them. We work specifically on personal strengths, that is, the elements that contribute to the well-being of people, which make their operation optimal.

At the end of the course, if the recommended dynamics have been put into practice and there has been a proactive commitment to the study of video lessons, the sense of personal capacity and worth increases substantially and people get rid of many fears and doubts that were weighing on the that reach their potential, that Martin Seligman, father of positive psychology defined as the "extraordinary life" and that is not other than the purpose of study that focuses positive psychology.


LA ENTREVISTA POR ADELA TRATA DE PERSONAS (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Entretien avec Adela Lasierra (IEPP): l'estime de soi pour surmonter les épreuves

Entretien avec Adela Lasierra (IEPP): l'estime de soi pour surmonter les épreuves

Mai 20, 2019

L’estime de soi est l’un des concepts les plus travaillés en psychologie et quelque chose que nous vivons constamment tout au long de notre vie. Cela est lié à notre perception de nous-mêmes, à la notion qu'il existe un "je", et c'est précisément pour cette raison qu'il est au cœur de notre façon d'être et de se comporter. Pour en savoir plus sur elle, nous avons posé plusieurs questions à Adela Lasierra, psychologue et experte en la matière.

  • Article connexe: "Résilience: définition et 10 habitudes pour l'améliorer"

Adela Lasierra: l'estime de soi pour continuer à avancer

Adela Lasierra est psychologue et formatrice à l'Institut européen de psychologie positive, l'une des principales références dans le domaine de la psychologie positive, tant en formation professionnelle qu'en thérapie. Dans cette interview, il parlera de l'estime de soi: de quoi s'agit-il, comment se développe-t-il et comment cela nous affecte-t-il quotidiennement et face aux défis auxquels nous sommes confrontés.


Beaucoup de gens ne distinguent pas ces deux termes, mais ... quelle est la différence entre l'estime de soi et la confiance en soi? Quelle est vraiment notre estime de soi?

Il est difficile de donner une définition unitaire du concept d’estime de soi car pour chaque auteur qui l’a largement étudié, il comporte différents éléments. Personnellement, j'aime bien les approches de Walter Riso, Enrique Rojas Marcos ou Silvia Congost.

En les combinant tous, nous pouvons définir l'estime de soi comme "la photographie interne, et donc subjective, que chaque personne a de lui-même sur les plans physique, psychologique et social". Il y a des gens qui utilisent le mot confiance en soi comme synonyme, mais je trouve plus proche d'associer la confiance en soi au sens des capacités que nous avons pour chacun des domaines de notre vie (en tant que professionnels, amis, en couple, en tant qu'enfants ...) , et cela en termes d'estime de soi, nous appelons l'efficacité personnelle.

Pourquoi le développement correct de l'estime de soi pendant l'enfance est-il important? Qu'est-ce qui affecte son développement?

Un psychiatre bien connu affirme que "l’enfance est le terrain de jeu où nous jouons le reste de notre vie". Je pense que cette phrase répond très bien à la question puisque les expériences de l'enfance font partie de l'explication du niveau d'estime de soi avec lequel une personne se présente à la consultation.

À ce moment-là, il est configuré en termes de lien avec les figures parentales, qui peuvent être un amour inconditionnel ou un amour inconditionnel et des expériences avec des personnes significatives: membres de la famille, futurs camarades de classe ... et enfin le moment actuel, basé sur les réalisations personnelles et la valeur interne.


Est-ce que l'estime de soi peut varier au cours de nos vies?


Oui, cela peut légèrement fluctuer, ce qui est logique et normal. Mon objectif en consultation est d’atteindre une bonne base de référence non pas sur des réalisations externes mais sur un sentiment interne dans lequel les expériences vécues par la personne l’affectent sans la conditionner. Il s'agit de se sentir tout le temps une personne valide et capable.

Quelle relation entretenons-nous avec notre estime de soi?

Ils sont le plus important, la pierre angulaire! Travailler sur l'estime de soi, c'est travailler sur notre dialogue interne, c'est-à-dire nos pensées. Parce que dans de nombreux cas, la personne qui a plus de signes de mépris de soi et qui est plus souvent soi-même.


Et l'intelligence émotionnelle?

C'est essentiel: l'intelligence émotionnelle consiste à savoir choisir les pensées qui vous conviennent. C'est prendre le chemin du brave: travailler dans votre bien-être. Le manque d'intelligence émotionnelle nous amène à emprunter le chemin inverse, le plus facile, en choisissant par exemple la plainte passive ou la critique constante.

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que l'intelligence émotionnelle?"

Avoir une bonne estime de soi est la clé pour surmonter les obstacles qui peuvent apparaître dans notre vie. Parce que?

Parce que la personne qui va vous sortir de tous ces obstacles sera probablement vous-même. Il s'agit de transformer vos pensées en vos alliés et non en votre pire ennemi.


Comment pouvons-nous cultiver une bonne estime de soi?

C'est un processus qui demande du temps et des efforts, comme si nous voulions avoir un corps tonique!

La première étape que je recommanderais serait de travailler avec une attention sélective, c'est-à-dire d'être conscient du fait que l'esprit déforme parfois la réalité et que nous ne regardons que nos éléments que nous n'aimons pas, à la fois physiques, psychologiques et liés aux autres. les gens Nous disons par exemple "vous avez commis une erreur en écrivant ce rapport, quel désastre vous êtes" et nous ignorons que le reste de la matinée, vous avez obtenu un emploi satisfaisant, sans erreur et dans le temps.

Il est nécessaire d'arrêter de zoomer sur ce que nous n'aimons pas chez nous et de voir l'image complète.Cela ne signifie pas nier la réalité et se concentrer uniquement sur le bien, mais, en prenant l'exemple précédent, dites "c'est vrai, vous avez commis une erreur en rédigeant le rapport, mais qu'avez-vous fait d'autre le matin?" Vous avez pris le travail à temps et avec une excellente qualité "


À l'IEPP, vous proposez un cours pratique sur l'estime de soi et la psychologie positive. Quels avantages avez-vous pour vos participants?

Le cours leur fournit un dossier contenant des techniques et des outils spécifiques pour améliorer ou renforcer leur confiance en eux. Nous travaillons spécifiquement sur nos forces personnelles, c’est-à-dire les éléments qui contribuent au bien-être des personnes et qui optimisent leur fonctionnement.

À la fin du cours, si la dynamique recommandée a été mise en pratique et si un engagement proactif en faveur de l’étude des leçons vidéo a été pris, le sens des capacités personnelles et de la valeur personnelle s’est considérablement accru et les gens se sont débarrassés des nombreuses peurs et doutes qui atteignent leur potentiel, que Martin Seligman, père de la psychologie positive définie comme la "vie extraordinaire", n’est autre que le but de l’étude qui se concentre sur la psychologie positive.


Entrevista Completa El Chapo Guzman - Rolling Stone Joaquin El Chapo Guzmán (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes