yes, therapy helps!
Is there a relationship between drugs and creativity?

Is there a relationship between drugs and creativity?

May 18, 2024

The use and abuse of drugs and psychoactive substances has traditionally been related to the ability to create and innovate, to the point that a large number of celebrities from the world of art, music and even science have linked their achievements and creations with the consumption of drugs.

However, the scientific evidence regarding this association is not so clear, the question of if drugs really make us more creative .

  • Related article: "Types of drugs: know their characteristics and effects"

Brain activity, creativity and drug use

Drugs and narcotics are a series of substances consumed with the intention of altering the state of mind, experiencing alternative sensations and in some cases trying to enhance physical and mental performance. However its side effects on the body can be extremely harmful and dangerous.


It is necessary to specify that this article is not intended to encourage or support the use of drugs. But we will try to shed some light on the myths and beliefs related to drug use and the development of creativity.

For this, it is necessary to know what direct effects drugs exert on our brain function and thus be able to discern if they really facilitate creative processes or, on the contrary, inhibit and hinder them.

At a general level, narcotics or drugs, both legal and illegal, cause a series of changes in the body. Its action on the biochemical reactions of the brain stimulate or inhibit neuronal functioning, which has numerous effects both physically and psychologically .


In the case of cannabis, it tends to act on the metabolic processes that regulate mood and pain, among many others. On the other hand cocaine is known to significantly increase the levels of dopamine in the body, generating large amounts of energy but also highly addictive.

As for heroin, it causes a feeling and experience of ecstasy in the person very associated with feelings of extreme happiness , but its effects on respiratory function can be lethal.

Enhance creativity with substances? Maticemos

In summary, regardless of the type of abuse substance that is consumed, it will change the way our brain works. Now, science must establish if these changes occur directly on brain processes related to creativity or if it is a secondary or collateral effect of the pleasurable sensations and ecstasy that these provoke.


Whatever the conclusion, the secondary effects of these can become so nefarious, and even deadly, that it is necessary to stop and think if it is really worth risking.

What do the studies say?

Contrary to what is asserted in some artistic contexts, according to which the consumption of drugs and narcotics significantly increases the creativity of people, a study carried out at the Eötvös Loránd University in Budapest by the expert in psychology of addiction Zsolt Demetrovics This association is not so simple, considering that there are nuances. The objective of this investigation was to demonstrate if the claim that drugs favor creativity was only a myth or if, on the contrary, there is empirical evidence that supports it.

Demetrovics and his collaborators carried out a systematic review of the articles related to this matter, as a result of which they discovered that there were only 14 empirical studies and 5 case studies in which an attempt was made to respond to the relationship between drugs and creativity. Which is a very small number in relation to the importance of the subject.

A further problem is that most of the empirical research reviewed presented methodological problems such as too small samples of participants, standardized assessment instruments and self-reported data. After a thorough review of these articles, it was found that there was a very general association between creativity and substance use. But none of them managed to provide any kind of substantial proof that drug use directly increased creativity. Therefore, the conclusion reached by Demetrovics was that there really is no direct link between these two factors.

On the other hand, it did come to be perceived a trend that associated people with high creativity with drug use , being the high creative capacity a risk factor for the consumption of drugs, and not vice versa.In addition, it was also shown that drugs had the ability to substantially alter a person's artistic approach, but that does not increase their creative production.

Finally, Demetrovics participated in a qualitative study with a sample of 72 people who were professionally dedicated to the art world. Most of these participants showed that the consumption of substances such as alcohol and cannabis helped them to balance the intense emotional states of the creative process, facilitating the appearance of new ideas and creativity.

However, despite the testimonies of the participants, it was not possible to specify or establish a direct relationship of causality between drug use and the increase of creative abilities, leaving the answer still on air.

Science, art and drug use

There are many cases and stories that relate to great celebrities from the world of art, music, literature and even science with the use of drugs, reaching the point that the artists themselves have publicly declared that they facilitated and enhanced the creative process.

1. Drugs and music: the case of Jim Morrison

It is well known that a large number of artists and composers turn to drug use to find inspiration , as well as to increase its performance on stage. Although there are dozens of cases, Jim Morrison's is one of the best known, both for his talent and for his unfortunate ending.

The vocalist of The Doors, went through numerous depressive and traumatic episodes that he tried to overcome through his musical creations and the consumption of drugs. Surely, the immense talent of Jim Morrison was independent of drug use but he clung to them as a driving force of inspiration and as a means to recover strength.

However, the drug addiction was wearing away more and more his creative capacity, as well as his physical state, causing his death at only 27 years old.

2. Aldous Huxley and inspiration through LSD

The prolific writer, author of great works like A Happy World (1932) or the island (1962), which came to try his luck with painting and even with parapsychology; came to attribute to LSD consumption the potential of their creativity . However, he himself warned of the dangers of their consumption, as well as the dependence that they can cause.

  • You may be interested: "LSD and other drugs may have therapeutic applications"

3. Science, technology and drugs

There are many other stories about the drug use tendency of a large number of famous inventors, scientists and technology geniuses. One of them is the famous inventor Thomas Alva Edison , known to consume a substance known as "cocaine elixir" which contained this substance combined with wine.

Another example is the well-known computer magnate Steve Jobs, who admitted to consuming LSD in some occasions with the aim of enhancing his creativity and expanding the limits of his mind.


Joe Rogan on Drugs & Creativity (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Existe-t-il une relation entre drogue et créativité?

Existe-t-il une relation entre drogue et créativité?

Juin 26, 2022

L'usage et l'abus de drogues et de substances psychoactives sont traditionnellement liés à la capacité de créer et d'innover, au point qu'un grand nombre de célébrités du monde de l'art, de la musique et même de la science ont associé leurs réalisations et leurs créations à la consommation de drogues.

Cependant, les preuves scientifiques concernant cette association ne sont pas si claires, la question de si les drogues nous rendent vraiment plus créatifs .

  • Article connexe: "Types de drogues: connaître leurs caractéristiques et leurs effets"

Activité cérébrale, créativité et consommation de drogue

Les drogues et les stupéfiants sont une série de substances consommées dans le but de modifier l'état d'esprit, d'éprouver des sensations alternatives et dans certains cas d'améliorer le rendement physique et mental. Cependant ses effets secondaires sur le corps peuvent être extrêmement nocifs et dangereux.


Il est nécessaire de préciser que cet article n'est pas destiné à encourager ou à soutenir l'utilisation de drogues. Mais nous tenterons de faire la lumière sur les mythes et les croyances liés à la consommation de drogue et au développement de la créativité.

Pour cela, il est nécessaire de connaître les effets directs que les médicaments exercent sur le fonctionnement de notre cerveau et ainsi de discerner s'ils facilitent réellement les processus de création ou, au contraire, les inhibent et les entravent.

De manière générale, les stupéfiants ou les drogues, légaux ou illégaux, provoquent une série de modifications corporelles. Son action sur les réactions biochimiques du cerveau stimule ou inhibe le fonctionnement neuronal, lequel a de nombreuses effets à la fois physiquement et psychologiquement .


Dans le cas du cannabis, il a tendance à agir entre autres sur les processus métaboliques régulant l'humeur et la douleur. D'autre part, la cocaïne est connue pour augmenter de manière significative les niveaux de dopamine dans le corps, générant de grandes quantités d'énergie mais également une forte dépendance.

L’héroïne, quant à elle, provoque chez la personne un sentiment et une expérience de l’extase très associé à des sentiments de bonheur extrême , mais ses effets sur la fonction respiratoire peuvent être mortels.

Améliorer la créativité avec des substances? Maticemos

En résumé, peu importe le type de substance consommée, cela changera le fonctionnement de notre cerveau. Maintenant, la science doit établir si ces changements se produisent directement sur les processus cérébraux liés à la créativité ou s'il s'agit d'un effet secondaire ou collatéral des sensations agréables et de l'extase que celles-ci provoquent.


Quelle que soit la conclusion, leurs effets secondaires peuvent devenir si néfastes, voire mortels, qu'il est nécessaire de s'arrêter et de penser si cela vaut vraiment la peine de le risquer.

Que disent les études?

Contrairement à ce qui est affirmé dans certains contextes artistiques, selon lequel la consommation de drogues et de stupéfiants augmente considérablement la créativité des gens, une étude réalisée à l'Université Eötvös Loránd de Budapest par l'expert en psychologie de la dépendance Zsolt Demetrovics Cette association n’est pas si simple compte tenu des nuances. L’objectif de cette enquête était de démontrer si l'affirmation selon laquelle les drogues favorisent la créativité n'était qu'un mythe ou si, au contraire, des preuves empiriques l’appuient.

Demetrovics et ses collaborateurs ont procédé à une revue systématique des articles sur le sujet. Ils ont ainsi découvert qu'il n'y avait que 14 études empiriques et 5 études de cas dans lesquelles on avait tenté de répondre au rapport entre drogue et créativité. Ce qui est un très petit nombre par rapport à l'importance du sujet.

Un autre problème est que la plupart des recherches empiriques examinées ont présenté des problèmes méthodologiques tels que des échantillons de participants trop petits, des instruments d’évaluation normalisés et des données autodéclarées. Après un examen approfondi de ces articles, il a été constaté qu’il existait un lien très général entre la créativité et la consommation de substances. Mais aucun d'entre eux n'a réussi à fournir la moindre preuve tangible que la consommation de drogue augmentait directement la créativité. Par conséquent, Demetrovics est parvenu à la conclusion qu'il n'existait aucun lien direct entre ces deux facteurs.

D'autre part, il est venu pour être perçu une tendance qui associe les gens à une grande créativité avec l'usage de drogues , étant la capacité créative élevée un facteur de risque pour la consommation de drogues, et non l'inverse.En outre, il a également été démontré que les drogues pouvaient modifier considérablement l'approche artistique d'une personne, mais cela n'augmentait pas leur production créative.

Enfin, Demetrovics a participé à une étude qualitative avec un échantillon de 72 personnes dédiées professionnellement au monde de l'art. La plupart de ces participants ont montré que la consommation de substances telles que l'alcool et le cannabis les aidait à équilibrer les états émotionnels intenses du processus créatif. faciliter l'apparition de nouvelles idées et la créativité.

Cependant, malgré les témoignages des participants, il n’a pas été possible de spécifier ou d’établir une relation directe de causalité entre la consommation de drogue et l’augmentation des capacités créatrices, laissant la réponse toujours en direct.

Science, art et consommation de drogue

Il existe de nombreux cas et récits concernant l'usage de drogues par de grandes célébrités du monde de l'art, de la musique, de la littérature et même de la science, jusqu'à ce que les artistes eux-mêmes aient publiquement déclaré processus créatif

1. Drogues et musique: le cas de Jim Morrison

Il est bien connu que un grand nombre d'artistes et de compositeurs se tournent vers la drogue pour trouver l'inspiration , ainsi que pour augmenter ses performances sur scène. Bien qu'il existe des dizaines de cas, Jim Morrison est l'un des plus connus, à la fois pour son talent et pour sa fin regrettable.

Le chanteur de The Doors a traversé de nombreux épisodes dépressifs et traumatiques qu'il a tenté de surmonter à travers ses créations musicales et sa consommation de drogue. Certes, l'immense talent de Jim Morrison était indépendant de la consommation de drogue, mais il s'en tenait à eux comme force d'inspiration et comme moyen de reprendre des forces.

Cependant, la toxicomanie épuisait de plus en plus sa capacité créatrice, ainsi que son état physique, causant sa mort à seulement 27 ans.

2. Aldous Huxley et l'inspiration à travers le LSD

L'écrivain prolifique, auteur de grands ouvrages comme Un monde heureux (1932) ou l'île (1962), qui venait tenter sa chance avec la peinture et même la parapsychologie; est venu attribuer à la consommation de LSD le potentiel de leur créativité . Cependant, il a lui-même mis en garde contre les dangers de leur consommation, ainsi que sur la dépendance qu'ils peuvent causer.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Le LSD et d'autres médicaments peuvent avoir des applications thérapeutiques"

3. Science, technologie et drogues

Il existe de nombreuses autres histoires sur la tendance à la consommation de drogues d'un grand nombre d'inventeurs célèbres, de scientifiques et de génies technologiques. L'un d'eux est le célèbre inventeur Thomas Alva Edison connu pour consommer une substance appelée "élixir de cocaïne" qui contenait cette substance combinée avec du vin.

Un autre exemple est le célèbre magnat de l'informatique Steve Jobs, qui a admis avoir consommé du LSD à certaines occasions dans le but d'améliorer sa créativité et d'élargir les limites de son esprit.


GUÉRIR DES MALADIES GRÂCE AU CANNABIS ? Vrai ou Faux #77 (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes