yes, therapy helps!

"It", the movie that explores our deepest fears

June 24, 2021

The writer Stephen King is known for exploiting his great creative talent of the most twisted forms. Its objective is to create worlds in which terror sneaks into the lives of the protagonists of their fictions.

The latest adaptation of one of his works has recently arrived in cinemas. "It" is a story about childhood , friendship and the way in which adult life breaks violently in the comfort zone exploiting our weaknesses. And he does this by using one of the most interesting psychological resources to create a disturbing atmosphere: the fear of clowns, which can become a real phobia.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Why do we like horror movies?"

What is the film about?

The history of It is relatively simple. A child disappears during a rainy nightfall while chasing a paper boat dragged by the water of the street, and his brother intends to find him exploring the sewers of the small town in which his family and he live. He will do it accompanied by his friends, all of them socially excluded by the rest of the students (that's why they call them the Losers' band), by a young deschooled and by a teenager stigmatized by their sexuality.

Little by little, this group will discover that the trace of the missing person leads to an entity that takes the form of a clown with grotesque features and that is hidden in the sewer system of the city.


Fear, bullying and a comfort zone

Although the book of the same name by Stephen King has a very complex and nuanced story, this adaptation to the big screen sacrifices part of the original story (or rather, of its first half) in a very dignified way. What does not change is the way in which the aesthetics of the clown serves to express without words what is the nature of terror in It.

Pennywise (Bill Skarsgård), the murderous creature referred to in the title of the film, takes the form of a clown for most of the time to be able to approach the children. However, actually is a creature linked more to the demonic than to the world of the circus: has the ability to transform into the most intimate fears of people to make them lose control until they are helpless. In that moment, he feeds on his fear and his flesh.


Now, what makes this adaptation of It special is the way in which it shapes everyday life. In the film, the life of the protagonists, just before the doors of puberty, is captured with its most insignificant details: from their problems to make friends, their ways of having fun and even, and this is important, the way in which They relate to their families.

In both the book and the film, the story of Stephen King consists of introduce the terror element in a context defined by the familiar . A world in which, even if there is violence (as for example in the case of bullying), it occurs within clear limits and that everyone knows. Close to adults and with the police watching. But Pennywise breaks this dynamic, because it breaks the comfort zone of the protagonists, while revealing the darker side of that space that seemed safe.

Friendship as medicine in the face of fear

Something that attracts So much attention is the rawness with which it shows the world of adults. In this film, the trend towards child abuse is very present and clearly overrepresented and there is not a single adult who is characterized by correct morality.

In fact, what most of them have in common is that they try to isolate their children, keep them confined to the domestic and family environment. The degree of overprotection sometimes reaches pathological extremes, and expresses a very clear idea: the fear of entering the adult world, going beyond what would dictate the custom that has been following for years.

Pennywise and his ace in the sleeve

Pennywise, who uses her powers to take advantage of the fears of each of the young people, takes advantage of the deep vulnerability in which these family contexts leave the protagonists. The only thing he has to do is create visions that recreate the deepest fears from each of them. However, it does not take into account that in a context in which families are dysfunctional, these young people can build a second family. They have each other.

That's why Pennywise tries to attack through fear. Phobias have the characteristic of making us lose sight of the rational (literally, they are fears based on situations in which it is unreasonable to fear something). Appeal to the most basic emotions It's something that can divide us, and try to do the same with the Losers group, to capture the members one by one.

  • Related article: "What is the use of fear?

What the clown phobia tells us

Pennywise's aesthetics already tells us a lot about the movie . He is dressed as a timeless clown, with his own clothes from various historical stages, to emphasize that it is something that has been frightening the population since the beginning of the creation of the city. It is not a monster that represents a specific type of fear, but represents fear, in the abstract: it will adopt the form that is relevant to scare humans.

On the other hand, Pennywise presents a mixture of childish and demonic characteristics. What better way to express the break with childhood and the entry into the stage of the risks and uncertainty of adulthood than a clown childish cheekbones and mischievous smile and, at the same time, cracked skin and swollen head , striving to give the appearance of being what you really are not.

For evolutionary psychologists, fear makes sense as a mechanism of protection, to avoid danger without having to stop to question whether we should flee or not. Our nervous system automatically decides that the correct answer is: "run". But sometimes, this same terror causes us to develop fears unnecessarily, as if it were a clown phobia, that which appears in a safe context. Fear can make us lose sight of the fact that all adversity can be faced in company , whether it is from our royal family or not.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Coulrophobia (fear of clowns): causes, symptoms and treatment"

Terror is faced in a group

Maybe adulthood scares, but in the end we always have the opportunity not to face those fears when we are alone, with no one to cover our backs. Yes life gives us reasons to worry , it will be because we have the freedom to look beyond our individual limitations, to resort to our friends, the chosen family.

The clown phobia is an example that what is designed to have fun and make us feel good in a familiar and safe context, many times, we can get to experience it in a more toxic way than the real dangers of life as mature beings.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 18 best scary movies based on real events"

A Short History of the Horror Film (1890s - 2010s) (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!

"It", le film qui explore nos peurs les plus profondes

Janvier 12, 2023

L'écrivain Stephen King est connu pour exploiter son grand talent créatif des formes les plus tordues. Son objectif est de créer des mondes dans lesquels la terreur s'infiltre dans la vie des protagonistes de leurs fictions.

La dernière adaptation d'une de ses œuvres est récemment arrivée dans les salles de cinéma. "It" est une histoire d'enfance , l’amitié et la manière dont la vie adulte se brise violemment dans la zone de confort en exploitant nos faiblesses. Et il le fait en utilisant l'une des ressources psychologiques les plus intéressantes pour créer une atmosphère troublante: la peur des clowns, qui peut devenir une véritable phobie.


  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Pourquoi aimons-nous les films d'horreur?"

De quoi parle le film?

L'histoire de C'est relativement simple. Un enfant disparaît lors d'une nuit pluvieuse tout en poursuivant un bateau en papier traîné par les eaux de la rue, son frère a l'intention de le trouver en train d'explorer les égouts de la petite ville dans laquelle vivent sa famille et lui. Il le fera accompagné de ses amis, tous socialement exclus du reste des étudiants (c'est pourquoi ils les appellent le groupe des Losers), d'un jeune déscolarisé et d'un adolescent stigmatisé par sa sexualité.

Peu à peu, ce groupe découvrira que la trace de la personne disparue conduit à une entité qui prend la forme d'un clown aux traits grotesques et qui est caché dans les égouts de la ville.


Peur, intimidation et zone de confort

Bien que le livre du même nom de Stephen King ait une histoire très complexe et nuancée, cette adaptation au grand écran sacrifie une partie de l'histoire originale (ou plutôt de sa première moitié) d'une manière très digne. Ce qui ne change pas, c'est la manière dont l'esthétique du clown sert à exprimer sans paroles quelle est la nature de la terreur en cela.

Pennywise (Bill Skarsgård), la créature meurtrière mentionnée dans le titre du film, prend la forme d’un clown pour pouvoir s’approcher des enfants. Cependant, en réalité est une créature liée plus au démoniaque qu'au monde du cirque: a la capacité de se transformer en peurs les plus intimes des gens pour leur faire perdre le contrôle jusqu'à ce qu'ils soient impuissants. En ce moment, il se nourrit de sa peur et de sa chair.


Or, ce qui rend cette adaptation spéciale, c’est la manière dont elle façonne la vie quotidienne. Dans le film, la vie des protagonistes, juste avant les portes de la puberté, est capturée avec ses détails les plus insignifiants: leurs problèmes pour se faire des amis, leurs façons de s'amuser et même, et c'est important, la manière dont Ils ont des relations avec leurs familles.

Dans le livre et dans le film, l’histoire de Stephen King consiste en introduire l'élément terroriste dans un contexte défini par le familier . Un monde dans lequel, même s'il y a de la violence (comme dans le cas de l'intimidation, par exemple), elle se produit dans des limites claires et que tout le monde le sait. Près des adultes et sous la surveillance de la police. Mais Pennywise casse cette dynamique, car elle casse la zone de confort des protagonistes, tout en révélant le côté le plus sombre de cet espace qui semblait sans danger.

L'amitié comme médicament face à la peur

Quelque chose qui attire tant d'attention est la brutalité avec laquelle il montre le monde des adultes. Dans ce film, la tendance à la maltraitance envers les enfants est très présente et clairement surreprésentée et il n’ya pas un seul adulte caractérisé par une moralité correcte.

En fait, la plupart d'entre eux ont en commun d'essayer d'isoler leurs enfants et de les maintenir confinés à l'environnement familial et domestique. Le degré de surprotection atteint parfois des extrêmes pathologiques et exprime une idée très claire: la peur d'entrer dans le monde adulte, allant au-delà de ce qui dicterait la coutume suivie depuis des années.

Pennywise et son as dans la manche

Pennywise, qui utilise ses pouvoirs pour tirer profit des peurs de chacun des jeunes, profite de la profonde vulnérabilité dans laquelle ces contextes familiaux laissent les protagonistes. La seule chose qu'il doit faire est créer des visions qui recréent les peurs les plus profondes de chacun d'eux. Cependant, il ne tient pas compte du fait que dans un contexte de dysfonctionnement familial, ces jeunes peuvent constituer une deuxième famille. Ils se sont mutuellement.

C'est pourquoi Pennywise essaie d'attaquer par la peur. Les phobies ont pour caractéristique de nous faire perdre de vue le rationnel (littéralement, ce sont des peurs fondées sur des situations dans lesquelles il est déraisonnable de craindre quelque chose). Faire appel aux émotions les plus élémentaires C'est quelque chose qui peut nous diviser et essayer de faire la même chose avec le groupe des perdants, pour capturer les membres un par un.

  • Article connexe: «À quoi sert la peur?

Ce que la phobie du clown nous dit

L'esthétique de Pennywise nous en dit déjà beaucoup sur le film . Il est habillé comme un clown intemporel, avec ses propres vêtements de différentes époques historiques, pour souligner que c'est quelque chose qui effraie la population depuis le début de la création de la ville. Ce n'est pas un monstre qui représente un type spécifique de peur, mais plutôt la peur, dans l'abstrait: il adoptera la forme qui convient pour effrayer les humains.

Pennywise, quant à lui, présente un mélange de caractéristiques enfantines et démoniaques. Quelle meilleure façon d’exprimer la rupture avec l’enfance et l’entrée dans la phase des risques et de l’incertitude de la vie adulte qu’une pommette enfantine de clown et un sourire malicieux, et en même temps: peau craquelée et tête enflée , s'efforçant de donner l'apparence d'être ce que vous n'êtes vraiment pas.

Pour les psychologues de l'évolution, la peur a un sens en tant que mécanisme de protection, pour éviter les dangers sans avoir à s'arrêter pour se demander si nous devrions fuir ou non. Notre système nerveux décide automatiquement que la bonne réponse est: "courir". Mais parfois, cette même terreur nous fait développer des craintes inutilement, comme s'il s'agissait d'une phobie de clown, celle qui apparaît dans un contexte sécurisé. La peur peut nous faire perdre de vue le fait que toute l'adversité peut être affrontée en entreprise , que ce soit de notre famille royale ou non.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Coulrophobie (peur des clowns): causes, symptômes et traitement"

La terreur est confrontée dans un groupe

Peut-être que l'âge adulte fait peur, mais au final, nous avons toujours la possibilité de ne pas affronter ces peurs quand nous sommes seuls, sans personne pour nous couvrir le dos. Oui la vie nous donne des raisons de nous inquiéter Ce sera parce que nous avons la liberté de regarder au-delà de nos limites individuelles, de faire appel à nos amis, à la famille choisie.

La phobie des clowns est un exemple de ce qui est conçu pour s'amuser et nous faire sentir bien dans un contexte familier et sûr. Souvent, nous pouvons en faire l'expérience d'une manière plus toxique que les dangers réels de la vie en tant qu'êtres mûrs.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 18 meilleurs films d'horreur basés sur des événements réels"

Samadhi Movie, 2017 - Part 1 - "Maya, the Illusion of the Self" (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes