yes, therapy helps!
This is how LSD creates sleep states while awake

This is how LSD creates sleep states while awake

May 28, 2022

Psychedelic substances such as LSD They have always been involved in the controversy about its use, but there is no doubt that its effect on the organism reveals interesting aspects about the human brain.

Many people who habitually use these drugs, in fact, assure that under their influence they notice that they access other planes of reality. It's not just that they see strange things, impossible things; is that they really believe that, in their own way, the world they can see, touch and hear exists, and remains hidden when they do not use these substances.

This phenomenon is very similar to what happens when we dream. At the end of the day, the dream events, however surreal they may seem objectively, at the time seem valid to us, and we rarely question them just when we perceive them. But a recent investigation has revealed that the similarity between the effect of LSD and dreams goes beyond of this similarity.


  • Maybe you're interested: "We raffled 5 copies of the book" Psychologically Speaking "!"

The effects of psychedelics

The use of the psychedelic drug LSD, well known for its recreational use in areas such as concerts or music clubs, it makes the world of those who consume it change completely for several hours at a time. It changes everything that is seen around, but they also change the beliefs and ideas that one has about oneself (that is, self-concept).

This powerful effect on the minds of people is, in part, a mystery to be unveiled. The interaction between drugs and the human brain is a very complex process, and it is very difficult to distinguish what exactly what is happening in our brain when LSD is used .


Fortunately, a study carried out by a team of scientists from the University of Zurich has found the causes behind the states of consciousness similar to the dreams that appear after the consumption of LSD.

This group of researchers has been working to know the therapeutic potential of psychedelic substances known to generate hallucinations, that is, that they cause altered states of consciousness . Specifically, they focused on the effects of LSD, which last between 12 and 17 hours, and those of psilocybin, another similar substance whose effects are noted for about 4, 5 or 6 hours.

And although we use the term "drugs" to refer to several substances, their mechanisms of action are often very different, and those of psychedelic substances, in particular, are easily distinguishable from those of consumables such as cannabis or alcohol. Now ... what is it exactly that makes wakeful dreams appear after taking LSD?


  • Related article: "LSD and other drugs could have therapeutic applications"

The therapeutic potential of LSD

The study conducted by these Swiss researchers was carried out with the participation of 25 volunteers, some of whom received only a placebo. Generating the phenomenon to be studied in laboratory conditions (the effect of LSD on the nervous system, these scientists analyzed the data obtained and published their conclusions in the scientific journal Psychopharmacology.

Rainer Kraehenmann, a member of the team of researchers who conducted the study, points out that the measurement of altered states of consciousness, comparable to the dream episodes that we experience when dreaming , were measured from the marker called cognitive surrealism from descriptions in real time about what is experienced.

But what people who have taken LSD live does not simply consist of strange events. These experiences are much more vivid that what an adult without diagnosed mental disorders lives without the effects of a drug, and also a clear pattern of thought appears less relational, in a way creative and less restricted to rigid schemes.

Precisely these last properties are what make LSD a potentially useful tool in some therapies , especially with those in which a pattern of thought is fought in which perceived limits generate anxiety.

How do dream states appear with LSD?

It's been known for years that LSD it acts by potentiating the effect in the brain of a neurotransmitter called serotonin . Neurotransmitters are microscopic elements that neurons use to communicate with each other, and LSD causes the receptors of these nerve cells to capture a greater number of these tiny particles.

Kraehenmann and his colleagues have made this hypothesis about the functioning of LSD in neurons more detailed, noting that a drug called ketanserin blocks the oneiric potential of LSD. Ketanserin cancels the working capacity of serotonin 2A receptors , so that it prevents the possibility that external substances magnify the effects of the neurotransmitter.

  • Related article: "Serotonin: discover the effects of this hormone on your body and mind"

Alan Watts - Guided Meditation (Awakening The Mind) (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
C’est ainsi que le LSD crée des états de sommeil quand il est éveillé

C’est ainsi que le LSD crée des états de sommeil quand il est éveillé

Septembre 20, 2022

Substances psychédéliques telles que le LSD Ils ont toujours été impliqués dans la controverse sur son utilisation, mais il ne fait aucun doute que son effet sur l'organisme révèle des aspects intéressants du cerveau humain.

En fait, beaucoup de personnes qui utilisent habituellement ces drogues s’assurent que, sous leur influence, elles remarquent qu’elles ont accès à d’autres plans de la réalité. Ce n'est pas simplement qu'ils voient des choses étranges, des choses impossibles; est-ce qu'ils croient vraiment que, à leur manière, le monde qu'ils peuvent voir, toucher et entendre existe et reste caché lorsqu'ils n'utilisent pas ces substances.

Ce phénomène est très similaire à ce qui se passe quand on rêve. À la fin de la journée, les événements oniriques, aussi surréalistes qu’ils puissent sembler objectivement, nous semblent alors valables et nous les remettons rarement en question au moment même où nous les percevons. Mais une enquête récente a révélé que la similitude entre l'effet du LSD et les rêves va au-delà de cette similitude.


  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Nous avons tiré au sort 5 exemplaires du livre" Psychological Speaking "!"

Les effets des psychédéliques

L’utilisation du médicament psychédélique LSD, bien connu pour son usage récréatif dans des domaines tels que les concerts ou les clubs de musique, le monde de ceux qui le consomment change complètement de plusieurs heures à la fois. Cela change tout ce que l'on voit autour de soi, mais cela change aussi les croyances et les idées que l'on a sur soi-même (c'est-à-dire le concept de soi).

Cet effet puissant sur l'esprit des gens est en partie un mystère à dévoiler. L’interaction entre les médicaments et le cerveau humain est un processus très complexe, et il est très difficile de distinguer exactement ce qui se passe dans notre cerveau quand le LSD est utilisé .


Heureusement, une étude réalisée par une équipe de scientifiques de l'Université de Zurich a révélé que les causes des états de conscience étaient similaires aux rêves qui apparaissent après la consommation de LSD.

Ce groupe de chercheurs s’efforce de connaître le potentiel thérapeutique des substances psychédéliques connues pour générer des hallucinations, c’est-à-dire que ils provoquent des états de conscience altérés . Plus précisément, ils se sont concentrés sur les effets du LSD, qui durent entre 12 et 17 heures, et ceux de la psilocybine, une autre substance similaire dont les effets sont notés pendant environ 4, 5 ou 6 heures.

Et bien que nous utilisions le terme «drogues» pour désigner plusieurs substances, leurs mécanismes d’action sont souvent très différents et ceux des substances psychédéliques, en particulier, se distinguent facilement de ceux des produits de consommation tels que le cannabis ou l’alcool. Maintenant… qu'est-ce qui fait que des rêves éveillés apparaissent après la prise de LSD?


  • Article connexe: "Le LSD et d'autres médicaments pourraient avoir des applications thérapeutiques"

Le potentiel thérapeutique du LSD

L'étude menée par ces chercheurs suisses a été réalisée avec la participation de 25 volontaires, dont certains n'ont reçu qu'un placebo. Générant le phénomène à étudier en laboratoire (effet du LSD sur le système nerveux, ces scientifiques ont analysé les données obtenues et publié leurs conclusions dans la revue scientifique). Psychopharmacologie.

Rainer Kraehenmann, membre de l'équipe de chercheurs qui a mené l'étude, souligne que la mesure des états de conscience altérés, comparable aux épisodes de rêve que nous éprouvons lorsque nous rêvons , ont été mesurés à partir du marqueur appelé surréalisme cognitif à partir de descriptions en temps réel de ce qui est expérimenté.

Mais ce que les gens qui ont vécu avec le LSD ne se limite pas à d’événements étranges. Ces expériences sont beaucoup plus vives que ce qu'un adulte sans trouble mental diagnostiqué vit sans les effets d'une drogue, et qu'un schéma de pensée clair apparaît moins relationnel, d'une manière créative et moins limité à des schémas rigides.

C'est précisément ces dernières propriétés qui font que le LSD un outil potentiellement utile dans certaines thérapies , en particulier avec ceux dans lesquels on combat un schéma de pensée dans lequel les limites perçues génèrent de l’anxiété.

Comment les états de rêve apparaissent-ils avec le LSD?

On sait depuis des années que le LSD il agit en potentialisant l'effet dans le cerveau d'un neurotransmetteur appelé sérotonine . Les neurotransmetteurs sont des éléments microscopiques que les neurones utilisent pour communiquer entre eux. Le LSD force les récepteurs de ces cellules nerveuses à capturer un plus grand nombre de ces minuscules particules.

Kraehenmann et ses collègues ont formulé plus en détail cette hypothèse sur le fonctionnement du LSD dans les neurones, notant qu'un médicament appelé kétansérine bloque le potentiel onirique du LSD. La kétansérine annule la capacité de travail des récepteurs de la sérotonine 2A , de sorte qu'il empêche la possibilité que des substances externes amplifient les effets du neurotransmetteur.

  • Article connexe: "Sérotonine: découvrez les effets de cette hormone sur votre corps et votre esprit"
Articles Connexes