yes, therapy helps!
Karma: what exactly is it?

Karma: what exactly is it?

January 22, 2022

Thousands of years ago, when the first philosophical questions began to be reflected in scriptures, these concerns were not as concrete as we usually do today.

The thinkers of antiquity tried to answer very metaphysical and general questions, such as: what is the energy that guides in a coordinated way everything that happens in nature?

The concept of karma, born in Asia , is based on the idea that reality is articulated through a law of retribution according to which what is given in a moral sense is obtained.

What is karma?

In various Eastern religions and philosophies such as Hinduism or Buddhism, Karma is an energy that surrounds everything and that makes the moral actions that are carried out have a return of the same style towards the person who has done them. That is, it is a kind of mechanism of metaphysical compensation.


For example, if someone harms someone, he does not have to be a victim of the mistreatment of another person but karma will be responsible for making the consequences of this action also negative and its intensity is a proportion similar to that of bad that has been done.

Somehow, the idea of ​​karma introduces the idea of ​​justice in the functioning of the world . A justice that is imposed without we have to do anything for it. According to some currents of belief, karma is put into practice by divinities, while for other non-theistic religions like Buddhism there is no god that operates this energy, but this form stops from reality, just like those mechanisms that are described by the natural laws discovered scientifically.


Actions and consequences

The whole idea of ​​karma is based on the belief that the consequences of our actions always correspond to the moral value that these have . That is to say, that everything bad and everything good that we do will come back to us in the form of consequences of the same value as the actions issued.

In addition, the actions that produce a certain karma are not only movements. For most Eastern philosophies and religions that have adopted this concept, thoughts also cost.

The origin of the concept

Etymologically, "karma" means "action" or "doing" . That is why it has not always been used with the metaphysical and religious meaning to which we are accustomed in the West.

It is believed that the first mention of karma as a concept related to retribution appeared in Hindu sacred texts in the second century BC. C. Specifically, appears named in the book Chāndogya Upaniṣad , written in Sanskrit.


Due to its antiquity and the influence that Hindu cultures have had throughout history, the idea of ​​karma has been adopted by several Asian societies and has merged with religions born in the south of the continent.

The types of karma

Traditionally, it has been considered that there are three types of karma. They are the following.

1. Prarabdha karma

The karma that makes itself felt at the time when the action is being taken . For example, when you lie to a person, nerves cause you to speak in a fluent way and nerves and shame appear.

2. Sanchita karma

The memories that have remained in our mind and they have an effect on our future actions . For example, the sadness that does not have declined to someone and that makes the next time we fall in love do not give up to express what it feels.

3. Agami karma

The effect that an action of the present will have in the future . For example, binge eating given over several weeks will make you feel worse during the next few months.

The moral value of retribution

These three types of karma are different facets of the same seen from different temporal perspectives. The Sanchita karma of the past produces the Prarabdha karma in the present, which generates the Agami karma in the times to come.

The three, as a whole, form a sequence of causes and effects whose effects we can not control . However, according to the way of thinking that uses the idea of ​​karma, we can choose whether to do good or evil, that is, two types of cause-effect chains with a different moral value for ourselves and for others.

Oriental philosophies and psychology

Both karma and other concepts from Asia, such as Yin and Yang and meditation based on religious rituals, have become fashionable in certain forms of alternative therapy. However, we must bear in mind that these ideas they only make sense in a frame of beliefs without empirical foundation and that, therefore, it can not be said that taking karma into account will allow us to make life better for us. The concept of karma is not and can not be reinforced by scientific discoveries.

It is true that the fact of believing in karma causes us to experience reality in another way (as happens with any new belief we adopt), but neither can we know if this change will be worse or better.


HOW KARMA WORKS explained by Hans Wilhelm (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Karma: c'est quoi au juste?

Karma: c'est quoi au juste?

Mars 2, 2021

Il y a des milliers d'années, lorsque les premières questions philosophiques ont commencé à être reflétées dans les Écritures, ces préoccupations n'étaient pas aussi concrètes que nous le faisons habituellement.

Les penseurs de l'Antiquité ont essayé de répondre à des questions très métaphysiques et générales, telles que: quelle est l'énergie qui guide de manière coordonnée tout ce qui se passe dans la nature?

Le concept de karma, né en Asie , est basé sur l’idée que la réalité s’articule autour d’une loi de rétribution selon laquelle ce qui est donné dans un sens moral est obtenu.

Qu'est ce que le karma?

Dans diverses religions et philosophies orientales telles que l'hindouisme ou le bouddhisme, Le karma est une énergie qui entoure tout et cela fait que les actions morales qui sont menées ont un retour du même style envers la personne qui les a faites. C’est-à-dire qu’il s’agit d’une sorte de mécanisme de compensation métaphysique.


Par exemple, si quelqu'un fait du mal à quelqu'un, il n'est pas nécessaire qu'il soit victime du mauvais traitement d'une autre personne, mais le karma aura la responsabilité de rendre les conséquences de cette action aussi négatives et son intensité est une proportion similaire à celle de mal cela a été fait.

En quelque sorte, l'idée de karma introduit l'idée de justice dans le fonctionnement du monde . Une justice qui est imposée sans devoir rien faire pour elle. Selon certains courants de croyance, le karma est mis en pratique par les divinités, tandis que pour d'autres religions non théistes comme le bouddhisme, aucun dieu n'exerce cette énergie, mais cette forme s'arrête de la réalité, tout comme les mécanismes décrits. par les lois naturelles découvertes scientifiquement.


Actions et conséquences

L’idée du karma repose sur la conviction que les conséquences de nos actions correspondent toujours à la valeur morale que celles-ci ont . C’est-à-dire que tout ce qui est mauvais et tout ce que nous faisons va nous revenir sous forme de conséquences de la même valeur que les actions émises.

De plus, les actions qui produisent un certain karma ne sont pas que des mouvements. Pour la plupart des philosophies et des religions orientales qui ont adopté ce concept, les pensées ont aussi un coût.

L'origine du concept

Étymologiquement, "karma" signifie "action" ou "faire" . C'est pourquoi il n'a pas toujours été utilisé avec le sens métaphysique et religieux auquel nous sommes habitués en Occident.

On pense que la première mention du karma en tant que concept lié à la rétribution est apparue dans les textes sacrés hindous au deuxième siècle avant notre ère. C. Plus précisément, apparaît nommé dans le livre Chāndogya Upaniṣad , écrit en sanscrit.


En raison de son ancienneté et de l'influence des cultures hindoues au cours de son histoire, l'idée de karma a été adoptée par plusieurs sociétés asiatiques et a fusionné avec des religions nées dans le sud du continent.

Les types de karma

Traditionnellement, on a considéré qu'il y avait trois types de karma. Ils sont les suivants.

1. Prarabdha Karma

Le karma qui se fait sentir au moment où l'action est prise . Par exemple, lorsque vous mentez à une personne, les nerfs vous poussent à parler couramment et les nerfs et la honte apparaissent.

2. Sanchita Karma

Les souvenirs qui sont restés dans notre esprit et ils ont un effet sur nos actions futures . Par exemple, la tristesse qui n’a pas diminué envers quelqu'un et qui fait que la prochaine fois que nous tombons amoureux ne l’abandonne pas pour exprimer ce qu’elle ressent.

3. Agami Karma

L'effet qu'une action du présent aura à l'avenir . Par exemple, une hyperphagie boulimique administrée pendant plusieurs semaines vous fera vous sentir moins bien au cours des prochains mois.

La valeur morale de la rétribution

Ces trois types de karma sont des facettes différentes du même vu sous différentes perspectives temporelles. Le karma de Sanchita du passé produit le karma de Prarabdha au présent, qui génère le karma d'Agami dans les temps à venir.

Les trois, dans leur ensemble, forment une séquence de causes et d'effets dont nous ne pouvons pas contrôler les effets . Cependant, selon la façon de penser qui utilise l’idée du karma, nous pouvons choisir de faire le bien ou le mal, c’est-à-dire deux types de chaînes de cause à effet ayant une valeur morale différente pour nous et pour les autres.

Philosophies orientales et psychologie

Le karma et d'autres concepts asiatiques, tels que le Yin et le Yang, et la méditation basée sur des rituels religieux, sont devenus à la mode dans certaines formes de thérapie alternative. Cependant, nous devons garder à l'esprit que ces idées ils n'ont de sens que dans un cadre de croyances sans fondement empirique et que, par conséquent, on ne peut pas dire que la prise en compte du karma nous permettra de rendre la vie meilleure pour nous. Le concept de karma n'est pas et ne peut pas être renforcé par des découvertes scientifiques.

Il est vrai que le fait de croire au karma nous fait faire l'expérience de la réalité d'une autre manière (comme cela se produit avec toute nouvelle conviction que nous adoptons), mais nous ne pouvons pas savoir non plus si ce changement sera pire ou meilleur.


Les schémas à répétitions, le karma (Mars 2021).


Articles Connexes