yes, therapy helps!
A study says that almost all women are bisexual

A study says that almost all women are bisexual

May 24, 2022

An investigative article by Rieger et al. (2016) suggests that women are almost never exclusively heterosexual , but most become so excited to see images of men as attractive women. Next we will analyze this study so that the reader can assess the degree of credibility of this bold statement.

  • Related article: "Sexual therapy: what it is and what are its benefits"

The study of the University of Essex

Recently a research team from the University of Essex led by the psychologist and anthropologist Gerulf Rieger has published the results of their studies around the differences between men and women in the response to sexual stimuli. These authors also analyzed the peculiarities of these patterns in homosexual persons.


The article by Rieger and colleagues is based on two studies carried out by this team. The first of them focused on the genital responses associated with sexual arousal and self-reports about the degree of masculinity or femininity perceived by the subjects in themselves.

The second investigation, on the other hand, focused on a particular sign of the sexual response: pupillary dilation or mydriasis in the presence of sexual stimuli . Likewise, this element was again compared with the degree of masculinity / femininity, although in this case it was measured by external observers as well as by self-report.

According to the authors of this study, their hypotheses were based on different information obtained in previous investigations. A particularly outstanding aspect in this regard is the scientific evidence regarding differences in the sexual responses of men and women, as well as those between heterosexual and homosexual women.


  • Maybe you're interested: "10 ways to escape the monotonous in sexual life as a couple"

Differences in excitement between men and women

Different studies, including that of the Rieger team, have found significant differences in reactivity to sexual stimuli based on biological sex. Specific, The sexual response of heterosexual males is specific for female stimuli , but that of heterosexual women is not so much for male images.

Apparently, the physiological response (in this case pupil dilation) of heterosexual males appears almost exclusively when the eliciting stimuli include female elements. This would be the typical pattern in men who consider themselves heterosexual, although the answer may vary depending on the case.

By cons, women respond to both male and female sexual stimuli even if they claim that they are exclusively heterosexual. Thus, the degree of pupillary dilation of hetero women turned out to be similar when the sexual images that were presented included men as when they were other women.


It is for this reason that the Rieger team ventures to affirm that women are not usually completely heterosexual, but that most of them would be bisexual. Specifically, 74% of the heterosexual women who participated in the study showed intense sexual activation responses when viewing images of attractive women.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 5 differences between sex and gender"

Patterns based on sexual orientation

According to researchers at the University of Essex, homosexual women are the exception to the female general pattern . Interestingly, their sexual response seems to be more similar to that of males than to females - always taking into account, of course, that studies of this type focus on average values.

In this way, women who claim to be exclusively attracted to women tend to react selectively to female sexual stimuli, and not when they are related to males. As we can see, this response is closer to that of the masculine gender than to that of women who consider themselves heterosexual.

In addition, the Rieger team argues that the behavior of homosexual women tends to be more typically masculine than that of heterosexuals. The degree of selectivity in the response to female sexual stimuli seems to be correlated with the intensity of masculinity of external behavior ("Non-sexual masculinity").

However, the authors claim that there is no evidence that sexual and non-sexual patterns are connected to each other. Thus, these two types of masculinity would develop independently as a consequence of different factors, in the words of this research team.

All bisexual? The cause of these differences

The Essex University team's studies used sexual material of a visual nature.In this sense it is worth bearing in mind that, according to research such as that of Hamann et al. (2004), men respond more intensively than women to visual stimuli when these are related to sexuality.

This seems to be related to the fact that certain regions of the brain of men are activated more than those of women in the presence of this class of images. In particular, some of the relevant structures are the amygdala (especially the left), the hypothalamus and the ventral striatum, which is located in the basal ganglia.

By cons, women they seem to get more excited depending on the context ; that is, they tend to show responses such as pupillary dilation if in the situation there are present sexual keys, regardless of whether they are male or female.

It has been proposed that these differences may be due in part to differential socialization between men and women. Thus, while men would learn to suppress homosexual thoughts in times of sexual arousal, women may feel less socially pressured in this regard.

Bibliographic references:

  • Hamann, S., Herman, R. A., Nolan, C. L. & Wallen, K. (2004). Men and women differ in amygdala response to visual sexual stimuli. Nature Neuroscience, 7: 411-416.
  • Rieger, G., Savin-Williams, R.C., Chivers, M.L. and Bailey, J.M. (2016). Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, 111 (2): 265-283.

Are Women More Likely To Be Bisexual? (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Une étude indique que presque toutes les femmes sont bisexuelles

Une étude indique que presque toutes les femmes sont bisexuelles

Mai 25, 2022

Un article d'investigation de Rieger et autres (2016) suggère que les femmes ne sont presque jamais exclusivement hétérosexuelles , mais la plupart sont si enthousiastes à l'idée de voir des images d'hommes séduisantes. Nous analyserons ensuite cette étude afin que le lecteur puisse évaluer le degré de crédibilité de cette déclaration audacieuse.

  • Article connexe: "La thérapie sexuelle: qu'est-ce que c'est et quels sont ses avantages"

L'étude de l'Université d'Essex

Récemment, une équipe de chercheurs de l'Université d'Essex, dirigée par le psychologue et anthropologue Gerulf Rieger, a publié les résultats de leurs études sur les différences entre hommes et femmes dans la réponse aux stimuli sexuels. Ces auteurs ont également analysé les particularités de ces modèles chez les personnes homosexuelles.


L'article de Rieger et ses collègues est basé sur deux études réalisées par cette équipe. Le premier d'entre eux concentré sur les réponses génitales associé à l’excitation sexuelle et à l’auto-évaluation du degré de masculinité ou de féminité perçu par les sujets eux-mêmes.

La seconde enquête, en revanche, portait sur un signe particulier de la réponse sexuelle: dilatation pupillaire ou mydriase en présence de stimuli sexuels . De même, cet élément a de nouveau été comparé avec le degré de masculinité / féminité, bien que dans ce cas il ait été mesuré par des observateurs externes ainsi que par l'auto-évaluation.

Selon les auteurs de cette étude, leurs hypothèses étaient basées sur différentes informations obtenues lors d’investigations antérieures. Les preuves scientifiques concernant les différences de réponses sexuelles entre hommes et femmes, ainsi que celles entre femmes hétérosexuelles et homosexuelles, constituent un aspect particulièrement remarquable à cet égard.


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "10 façons d'échapper à la monotonie de la vie sexuelle en couple"

Différences d'excitation entre hommes et femmes

Différentes études, y compris celle de l'équipe de Rieger, ont révélé des différences significatives de réactivité aux stimuli sexuels en fonction du sexe biologique. En particulier La réponse sexuelle des hommes hétérosexuels est spécifique aux stimuli féminins , mais celle des femmes hétérosexuelles n’est pas tellement pour les images masculines.

Apparemment, la réponse physiologique (dans ce cas, la dilatation de la pupille) des hommes hétérosexuels apparaît presque exclusivement lorsque les stimuli déclencheurs incluent des éléments féminins. Ce serait le schéma typique chez les hommes qui se considèrent comme hétérosexuels, bien que la réponse puisse varier selon les cas.

En revanche, les femmes répondent aux stimuli sexuels masculins et féminins même s’ils prétendent être exclusivement hétérosexuels. Ainsi, le degré de dilatation pupillaire des femmes hétérosexuelles s’est avéré similaire lorsque les images sexuelles présentées comprenaient des hommes et des femmes.


C’est pour cette raison que l’équipe Rieger s’est engagée à affirmer que les femmes ne sont généralement pas complètement hétérosexuelles, mais que la plupart d’entre elles seraient bisexuelles. Plus précisément, 74% des femmes hétérosexuelles qui ont participé à l'étude ont présenté des réactions d'activation sexuelle intenses lors de la visualisation d'images de femmes attirantes.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 5 différences entre sexe et genre"

Modèles basés sur l'orientation sexuelle

Selon des chercheurs de l'Université d'Essex, les femmes homosexuelles sont l'exception au modèle général féminin . Fait intéressant, leur réponse sexuelle semble être plus semblable à celle des hommes que de celle des femmes - en prenant toujours en compte, bien sûr, que les études de ce type se concentrent sur les valeurs moyennes.

De cette manière, les femmes qui prétendent être exclusivement attirées par les femmes ont tendance à réagir de manière sélective aux stimuli sexuels féminins, et non lorsqu'elles sont liées aux hommes. Comme on peut le constater, cette réponse est plus proche de celle du genre masculin que de celle des femmes qui se considèrent hétérosexuelles.

En outre, l’équipe Rieger affirme que le comportement des femmes homosexuelles tend à être plus typiquement masculin que celui des hétérosexuelles. Le degré de sélectivité dans la réponse aux stimuli sexuels féminins semble être en corrélation avec l'intensité de la masculinité du comportement externe ("Masculinité non sexuelle").

Cependant, les auteurs affirment qu'il n'y a aucune preuve que les modèles sexuels et non sexuels soient liés les uns aux autres. Ainsi, ces deux types de masculinité se développeraient indépendamment en conséquence de différents facteurs, pour reprendre les termes de cette équipe de recherche.

Tout bisexuel? La cause de ces différences

Les études de l'équipe de l'université d'Essex ont utilisé du matériel sexuel de nature visuelle.En ce sens, il convient de garder à l'esprit que, selon des recherches telles que celles de Hamann et al. (2004), les hommes réagissent plus intensément que les femmes aux stimuli visuels quand ceux-ci sont liés à la sexualité.

Cela semble être lié au fait que certaines régions du cerveau des hommes sont plus activées que celles des femmes en présence de cette classe d'images. Certaines des structures pertinentes sont l’amygdale (en particulier la gauche), l’hypothalamus et le striatum ventral, situés dans les ganglions de la base.

Par contre, les femmes ils semblent être plus excités selon le contexte ; c'est-à-dire qu'ils ont tendance à montrer des réponses telles que la dilatation pupillaire si des clés sexuelles sont présentes dans la situation, qu'il s'agisse d'un homme ou d'une femme.

Il a été suggéré que ces différences pourraient être dues en partie à une socialisation différentielle entre hommes et femmes. Ainsi, alors que les hommes apprendraient à réprimer les pensées homosexuelles en période de réveil sexuel, les femmes peuvent se sentir moins soumises à la pression sociale à cet égard.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Hamann, S., Herman, R.A., Nolan, C.L. & Wallen, K. (2004). La réponse de l'amygdale aux stimuli sexuels visuels diffère entre les hommes et les femmes. Nature Neuroscience, 7: 411-416.
  • Rieger, G., Savin-Williams, R. C., Chivers, M. L. et Bailey, J. M. (2016). Journal de la personnalité et de la psychologie sociale, 111 (2): 265-283.

Top 8 des mots du lexique LGBT, pour tout comprendre ou presque (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes