yes, therapy helps!
Kleine-Levin syndrome: symptoms, causes and treatment

Kleine-Levin syndrome: symptoms, causes and treatment

January 12, 2023

Sleep hours and hours without interruption ; for many people it may seem a pleasure to be able to establish a prolonged period of rest in which to replenish energy after a hard day's work.

But for others, it can be a real ordeal that greatly limits their lives because they can spend most of the day sleeping, in addition to presenting serious alterations in behavior and mood during the time they remain awake. We are talking about those people who suffer from the disorder known as the Kleine-Levin syndrome, a disorder related to hypersomnia .

The syndrome of the sleeping beauty

Also known as sleeping beauty syndrome , Kleine Levin syndrome is a disorder of neurological origin that is characterized by the presence of episodes of a deep hypersomnia, in which the individual can get to sleep up to twenty hours in a row.


In addition to hypersomnia, the presence of this syndrome is characteristic of this syndrome. cognitive and behavioral alterations . Memory and the ability to reason and judgment can also be altered, as well as physical and mental slowness and fatigue.

In the period in which he is awake the individual with Kleine-Levin syndrome manifests uninhibited and even compulsive behavior , with hyperphagia and hypersexuality and an attitude between infantile and aggressive. The subject has a labile and irritable emotionality that can trigger violent actions. Sometimes the presence of dissociative phenomena such as derealization, or perceptual alterations such as hallucinations can also be observed.


This disorder usually begins frequently in adolescence , with a higher prevalence in males, which causes a severe disability in the periods of time in which they present symptoms.

Episodes can last days or weeks , and can occur numerous times throughout the year. However, in the period of time between the different episodes, the behavior and the amount of sleep is normative, recovering their normal mental functions and being able to carry out normal life in those moments.

An unknown cause

The causes of this neurological disorder are not yet known , although it is speculated on with the presence of alterations in the functioning of the hypothalamus and the whole of the limbic system and some other Subcortical structures linked to the regulation of emotions and sleep .


Specifically, it has been observed that in many patients there is hypoperfusion in the limbic system, thalamus and frontotemporal cortex (that is, the amount of blood that reaches these regions is reduced, so they are not as irrigated as they should be). As well Electroencephalic activity seems to slow down .

A possible genetic influence that could explain the phenomenon has been studied, but although it has been found that in some cases there are several cases in the same family, there is no evidence to confirm it. It has also been speculated that it may be due to head trauma, infectious medical diseases or severe stress.

Treatment of Kleine-Levin syndrome

The Kleine-Levin syndrome does not have a clear etiology, so that it is difficult to perform a curative treatment . The treatment that is applied in the presence of this disorder usually focuses on the symptomatology.

As with other hypersomnia, they have often been used psychotropic drugs to control the symptoms . The use of stimulants can promote an increase in the activity of the subjects and reduce sleep episodes in duration and frequency, although on the other hand it can impair the presence of impulsive actions and hallucinations. Antipsychotics have also been used to manage the alterations behavioral, as well as antidepressants such as MAOIs and imapramine, mood stabilizers and anticonvulsants.

Psychological intervention

On a psychological level it is necessary use psychoeducation with both the patient and the environment due to the complications that their condition can entail at an affective, behavioral and social level, which can damage the support and help networks available to patients affected by this disorder. Those emotional problems derived from the experience of the disorder should also be treated, especially in asymptomatic periods.

The use of cognitive-behavioral techniques it is another element to take into account in this aspect, making use of cognitive restructuring or learning in ways to manage the situation. The objective is to make the interpretation of the experience of the symptoms as appropriate as possible.

Fortunately, in many of the cases despite being recurrent Kleine-Levin syndrome tends to disappear over the years .

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 10 most used cognitive-behavioral techniques"

Bibliographic references:

  • Arias, M .; Crespo, J.M .; Pérez, J: Requena, I .; Sesar, A. & Peleteiro, M. (2002). Kleine-Levin syndrome: diagnostic contribution of cerebral SPECT. Rev. Neurol .; 35 (6): 531-533.
  • Arnulf, A .; Lecendreux, M .; Franco, P. & Dauvilliers, Y. (2008). Le syndrome de Kleine-Levine. Encyclopédie Orphanet. [Online]. Available at: www.orpha.net/data/patho/Pro/fr/KleineLevin-FRfrPro10326v01.pdf [20/05/2017].
  • Erro, M.E. and Zandio, B. (2007). Hypersomnias: diagnosis, classification and treatment. Annals of the Navarre Health System; 30. Hospital of Navarra. Pamplona.

What are the causes of hypersomnia? (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome de Kleine-Levin: symptômes, causes et traitement

Syndrome de Kleine-Levin: symptômes, causes et traitement

Octobre 13, 2019

Heures de sommeil et des heures sans interruption ; pour beaucoup de gens, cela peut sembler un plaisir de pouvoir établir une période de repos prolongée pour se ressourcer après une dure journée de travail.

Mais pour d'autres, il peut s'agir d'une véritable épreuve qui limite considérablement leur vie, car ils peuvent dormir la majeure partie de la journée, en plus de présenter de sérieuses altérations de comportement et d'humeur pendant qu'ils restent éveillés. Nous parlons de ces personnes qui souffrent du désordre connu sous le nom de Syndrome de Kleine-Levin, une maladie liée à l'hypersomnie .

Le syndrome de la belle endormie

Aussi appelé syndrome de la belle au bois dormant Le syndrome de Kleine Levin est un trouble d’origine neurologique caractérisé par la présence d’épisodes d’hypersomnie profonde, au cours duquel l’individu peut dormir jusqu’à vingt heures de suite.


En plus de l'hypersomnie, la présence de ce syndrome est caractéristique de ce syndrome. altérations cognitives et comportementales . La mémoire et la capacité de raisonner et de juger peuvent également être modifiées, ainsi que la lenteur physique et mentale et la fatigue.

Dans la période où il est réveillé, la personne atteinte du syndrome de Kleine-Levin se manifeste comportement désinhibé et même compulsif , avec hyperphagie et hypersexualité et une attitude entre infantile et agressif. Le sujet a une émotion labile et irritable qui peut déclencher des actions violentes. Parfois, on peut également observer la présence de phénomènes dissociatifs tels que la déréalisation ou des altérations de la perception telles que des hallucinations.


Ce trouble commence généralement fréquemment à l'adolescence , avec une prévalence plus élevée chez les hommes, ce qui entraîne une invalidité grave pendant la période au cours de laquelle ils présentent des symptômes.

Les épisodes peuvent durer des jours ou des semaines , et peut se produire plusieurs fois au cours de l’année. Cependant, dans l'intervalle de temps entre les différents épisodes, le comportement et la quantité de sommeil sont normatifs, recouvrant leurs fonctions mentales normales et capables de mener une vie normale à ces moments-là.

Une cause inconnue

Les causes de ce trouble neurologique ne sont pas encore connues , bien qu’il soit spéculé sur la présence de modifications du fonctionnement de l’hypothalamus et de l’ensemble du système limbique et de quelques autres Structures sous-corticales liées à la régulation des émotions et du sommeil .


En particulier, il a été observé que de nombreux patients présentaient une hypoperfusion dans le système limbique, le thalamus et le cortex fronto-temporal (c’est-à-dire que la quantité de sang atteignant ces régions est réduite et qu’elles ne sont donc pas aussi irriguées qu’elles devraient l’être.) Aussi L'activité électroencéphalique semble ralentir .

Une possible influence génétique qui pourrait expliquer le phénomène a été étudiée, mais bien qu'il ait été constaté que, dans certains cas, il existe plusieurs cas dans la même famille, rien ne permet de le confirmer. On a également émis l'hypothèse que cela pourrait être dû à un traumatisme à la tête, à une maladie infectieuse ou à un stress grave.

Traitement du syndrome de Kleine-Levin

Le syndrome de Kleine-Levin n'a pas d'étiologie claire, de sorte que il est difficile d'effectuer un traitement curatif . Le traitement appliqué en présence de ce trouble se concentre généralement sur la symptomatologie.

Comme avec les autres hypersomnie, ils ont souvent été utilisés médicaments psychotropes pour contrôler les symptômes . L'utilisation de stimulants peut favoriser une augmentation de l'activité des sujets et réduire les épisodes de sommeil en durée et en fréquence, bien qu'elle puisse en revanche nuire à la présence d'actions impulsives et d'hallucinations. comportementaux, ainsi que des antidépresseurs tels que les IMAO et l'imapramine, des stabilisateurs de l'humeur et des anticonvulsivants.

Intervention psychologique

Sur le plan psychologique il faut utiliser la psychoéducation avec le patient et l'environnement en raison des complications que leur état peut entraîner au niveau affectif, comportemental et social, ce qui peut nuire au soutien et aux réseaux d’aide mis à la disposition des patients touchés par ce trouble. Les problèmes émotionnels dérivés de l'expérience du trouble doivent également être traités, en particulier lors de périodes asymptomatiques.

L'utilisation de techniques cognitivo-comportementales c’est un autre élément à prendre en compte dans cet aspect, qui utilise la restructuration cognitive ou l’apprentissage de manière à gérer la situation. L'objectif est de rendre l'interprétation de l'expérience des symptômes aussi appropriée que possible.

Heureusement, dans de nombreux cas, bien qu’ils soient récurrents Le syndrome de Kleine-Levin a tendance à disparaître au fil des ans .

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 10 techniques cognitivo-comportementales les plus utilisées"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Arias, M .; Crespo, J. M.; Pérez, J: Requena, I. Sesar, A. et Peleteiro, M. (2002). Syndrome de Kleine-Levin: apport diagnostique du SPECT cérébral. Rev. Neurol. 35 (6): 531-533.
  • Arnulf, A .; Lecendreux, M; Franco, P. & Dauvilliers, Y. (2008). Le syndrome de Kleine-Levine. Encyclopédie Orphanet. [En ligne]. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: www.orpha.net/data/patho/Pro/fr/KleineLevin-FRfrPro10326v01.pdf [20/05/2017].
  • Erro, M.E. et Zandio, B. (2007). Hypersomnies: diagnostic, classification et traitement. Annales du système de santé de Navarre; 30. Hôpital de Navarre. Pampelune.

Personne se disant souffrir d'hypersomnie, du Syndrome de Kleine-Levin, de déréalisation. (Octobre 2019).


Articles Connexes