yes, therapy helps!
Lack of concentration: causes and 10 tips to combat it

Lack of concentration: causes and 10 tips to combat it

September 18, 2022

We are constantly performing complex actions and tasks that require a high level of concentration. Intense physical exercise, reading, working or studying, or even something as relatively simple as following the thread of a conversation requires that we invest our mental resources in carrying out such action. But we often find that for different reasons we are not capable of it. We lose the thread

And there are different elements that generate us lack of concentration that shows in the performance and in the daily tasks. Let's see how to recognize these symptoms and what to do to overcome them.

  • Related article: "Selective attention: definition and theories"

Concentration as mental capacity

The concept of concentration is not exactly novel or unknown. We have all used the term more than once, we know what it means and we have this capacity to a greater or lesser extent. However, before we start talking about when we are missing, it might be useful to make a brief description of what we understand as such.


Concentration is understood as the ability or capacity of the human being (and of other species) to Focus your cognitive resources on a stimulus or action , so that the rest of the environment is blurred and partially unattended unless some stimulation catches our attention. In other words, it can be understood as focusing the attention on specific elements, selecting the stimulation and keeping it there. It allows us, as mentioned in the introduction, to follow the thread of a task and carry it out successfully.

In this skill the degree of motivation has a lot to do with respect to what we are doing: it is much easier to concentrate when we want and we like to do what we do, when it absorbs us. In fact, there are concepts, such as engagement, based on it.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of motivation: the 8 motivational sources"

Problems due to lack of concentration

But on more than one occasion we may not be able to maintain attention or invest enough mental resources to really concentrate on something, and there is a lack of concentration. This at first sight may not seem particularly serious, especially if we consider that we live in a society in which the most basic needs for survival are usually met, but the truth is that it can represent a big problem and be invalidating to carry out an action effectively and efficiently. And it can have repercussions in various areas.

For example, at an academic or work level , our ability to concentrate allows us to carry out the tasks that are demanded of us or properly record what we have to do or keep in memory. Not being able to concentrate properly will cause us to need much more time to perform each action, or even that we can not do at that moment. It is something that at some point has happened to all of us, but if it is very common it can generate a low performance.


In more extreme cases in which the subject was not able to concentrate at all for a long time could generate school failure, conflicts at work or in extreme cases the dismissal.

On a personal level, the lack of concentration also translates into little desire to act. If we want to do something but at the minimum we lose the thread we ended up frustrating ourselves, and leaving it for another time.

With regard to social relations, it can also generate some difficulties. If we disconnect from the conversations that are being held with us (which in general can be easy to see by the other), the other person may have the impression that we do not want or do not care about the interaction, which may generate upset and even conflicts.

But neither do you need to take it to the extreme. All of us often have some time of lack of concentration , and although it is experienced as something negative by the majority, under certain conditions it could even be adaptive: basically our mind is informing us that we have something that worries us more at that moment, or that our attentional resources are low at that moment and we need rest. The fact that it is dysfunctional is mainly due to the need to carry out the actions in question, and may depend on the situation.

Possible causes of problems to concentrate

As we have commented, we all have moments from time to time when concentration fails us. In most cases we are not talking about a disorder, although in some disorders and diseases we can find ourselves facing a lack of continuous or repetitive concentration as a symptom. Let's see some frequent causes.

1. Distractors

When we do something, we do not do it in a vacuum.We are located in a certain environment and context, in which we constantly different stimulations appear that can interfere with our performance by claiming our attention.

2. Tasks competence

Doing two things or more things at the same time, unless we have one of them very automated, is complicated. Although we have some capacity for divided attention, concentrating on something requires a great deal of our attention to be devoted to it, and the other task can be distracting.

3. Concerns and thoughts

One of the most frequent distractors that tend to impair our concentration is the existence of thoughts or concerns that absorb our attention and make it difficult to keep our attention focused on something. These thoughts or concerns can be both important and banal .

  • Related article: "Rumination: the annoying vicious circle of thought"

4. Tiredness

It has been commented previously, but fatigue is one of the most common causes of lack of concentration. Our attentional resources are exhausted and we can not keep them fixed in a specific element. It is one of the most frequent causes of concentration problems.

5. Demotivation

If we do something that we do not like and would rather be doing something else, it's harder to stay focused. And the fact is that motivation is a very important element when it comes to keeping our attentional resources focused.

6. Anxiety and discomfort

If we are wrong, we are nervous or we have just had some kind of displeasure to concentrate continuously can be complicated, since the own discomfort (besides the possible worries and associated thoughts) will be claiming part of the subject's attention.

7. Expanse, extreme joy and excessive energy

The opposite of the previous point can also make it very difficult to maintain concentration. The joy we feel also demands part of attention, and unless what we are doing is its source, concentrating on other things becomes complicated. The high levels of energy can cause attention to shoot and move from one point to another, unable to concentrate.

8. Aging

Mental abilities such as memory or the ability to concentrate are not always stable, but as a general rule they tend to diminish little by little with age . We are talking about a normative loss, not being necessary to suffer any type of dementia.

Disorders and diseases in which lack of concentration appears

Although the above causes are common throughout the population, as we have indicated in some disorders and diseases, the concentration fails due to the alterations generated by these conditions. A few of them are the following.

1. Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder

ADHD is characterized precisely by the difficulties in maintaining the concentration and ease of these people to distract, whether they have hyperactivity or not. Those who suffer from it are easily distracted, often forget objects and things to do and have difficulty completing tasks. In cases where there is hyperactivity, there is also agitation , nervousness and impulsivity.

2. Alzheimer's and other dementias

Dementias and neurodegenerative diseases usually cause problems of attention and concentration as cerebral deterioration occurs . Along with memory problems, the ability to concentrate is often one of the first skills to shrink.

  • Related article: "Alzheimer's: causes, symptoms, treatment and prevention"

3. Schizophrenia

Although the first thing that comes to mind when talking about schizophrenia are hallucinations, another of the frequent symptoms of those who suffer from this disorder is the presence of difficulties in attention, especially in those who suffer some deterioration. That without taking into account the presence of a possible psychotic outbreak, in which the concentration usually leads to hallucinations.

3. Mood disorders

People with depression often have difficulty concentrating, their mind often being occupied with negative thoughts. The sadness and the automatic thoughts that are generated in depressive episodes, the anhedonia, apathy and passivity that usually accompany it make it difficult for the patient to concentrate.

As regards people suffering from bipolar disorder, in addition to the problems of depressive episodes, they will also lack concentration when they are in a manic phase. In a manic episode the person is expansive, energetic, accelerated, agitated and may even be irritable. The focus and maintenance of attention on a specific stimulus is much more complex, jumping from one stimulus to another.

4. Substance use

A large amount of drugs and other substances greatly complicate the possibility that whoever takes them can concentrate, either by nervous system depression or by excessive stimulation. On the other hand other substances such as coffee can increase the energy level of someone tired, or others like the lime relax someone nervous , to the point of facilitating their concentration.

Some ways to exercise attention skills

The lack of concentration can be annoying and cause various problems in our day to day. That is why training it is very advisable. Some ways to hinder the lack of concentration or even strengthen this ability are the following.

1. Practice physical exercise

The usual practice of exercise and sport contributes greatly to improve the ability to concentrate, in addition to burning energy and allowing endorphins to be released that will make us feel better.

2. Get enough sleep

We have already indicated before that fatigue is one of the factors that causes lack of concentration in our tasks. It is necessary that we sleep and rest sufficiently to recover our energy and resources.

3. Disconnect

Linked to the previous point, we find the need to disconnect punctually from our duties, our work or studies. It is necessary to have some time for oneself, without always being absorbed by the same task . If we do not disconnect, we will end up exhausted, whether we sleep or not.

4. Do not surround yourself with distractors

The mobile phone, the computer, the television, the people talking around ... If we have a lot of concentration, maybe they do not bother us, but most people will see how their attention is captured by this type of distractors. Even if they do not sound, their presence allows them to derive attention (does anyone sound like watching Facebook, WhatsApp or surfing the Internet, although they should be doing that work that they have to deliver next week?).

Nor are we saying that we should isolate ourselves completely to do something, but we must be aware and not autoboicotearnos .

5. Look for motivation in what you do

Establishing goals that really motivate us and linking them to what is being done facilitates concentration. If what we are doing does not motivate us, we can try to give it a meaning by linking it to our day to day or establishing it as a necessary step to achieve that goal.


6. Practice meditation

Meditation has been shown effective in the stimulation of attention capacity, besides being a practice that allows us to relax and visualize things in a more objective way.

  • Maybe you're interested: "How to learn to meditate, in 7 simple steps"

7. One thing at a time

Taking care of several things makes it difficult to maintain attention in one and leads to a lack of concentration. Organize and dedicate to a single task It helps to keep the focus on what we do.

8. Where is it important

Carrying out each action in a context that facilitates it is a great help. Studying in bed, for example, makes it easier to fall asleep doing something (and in turn, when it's time to sleep it's harder for us to do it) while working at a desk makes it easy to work with a computer, write or read . The conditions of light and sound are also important.


9. Read and write

Reading and writing are actions that, although we have learned may seem simple, usually require high doses of concentration. Especially if we do it by hand. In addition, structuring a discourse to express what we want to express forces us to focus on finding a way to do it.

10. Create a planning

One way to strengthen concentration, as well as the ability to discipline, is to develop a planning that takes into account what we are going to do. In this planning we must incorporate not only what we have to do, but also rest periods . Now, it is important that the planning is realistic because otherwise it can generate demotivation.


5 Ways to Build Focus and Concentration - College Info Geek (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Manque de concentration: causes et 10 astuces pour le combattre

Manque de concentration: causes et 10 astuces pour le combattre

Septembre 24, 2022

Nous effectuons en permanence des actions et des tâches complexes qui nécessitent un niveau élevé de concentration. L'exercice physique intense, lire, travailler ou étudier, ou même quelque chose d'aussi simple que de suivre le fil de la conversation nécessite que nous investissions nos ressources intellectuelles dans la réalisation de telles actions. Mais nous constatons souvent que, pour différentes raisons, nous n'en sommes pas capables. Nous perdons le fil

Et il y a différents éléments qui nous génèrent manque de concentration cela se voit dans la performance et dans les tâches quotidiennes. Voyons comment reconnaître ces symptômes et ce qu'il faut faire pour les surmonter.

  • Article connexe: "Attention sélective: définition et théories"

Concentration en tant que capacité mentale

Le concept de concentration n'est pas exactement nouveau ou inconnu. Nous avons tous utilisé le terme plus d'une fois, nous savons ce que cela signifie et nous avons cette capacité dans une mesure plus ou moins grande. Cependant, avant de commencer à parler des moments où nous manquons, il pourrait être utile de décrire brièvement ce que nous comprenons comme tel.


La concentration est comprise comme la capacité ou la capacité de l'être humain (et d'autres espèces) à Concentrez vos ressources cognitives sur un stimulus ou une action , de sorte que le reste de l’environnement soit flou et en partie sans surveillance, à moins que de la stimulation n’attire notre attention. En d'autres termes, cela peut être compris comme focalisant l'attention sur des éléments spécifiques, en sélectionnant la stimulation et en la maintenant. Comme nous l'avons mentionné dans l'introduction, cela nous permet de suivre le fil d'une tâche et de la mener à bien.

Dans cette compétence le degré de motivation a beaucoup à faire En ce qui concerne ce que nous faisons: il est beaucoup plus facile de se concentrer quand on veut et on aime faire ce qu'on fait, quand ça nous absorbe. En fait, il existe des concepts, tels que fiançailles, basé sur elle.


  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types de motivation: les 8 sources de motivation"

Problèmes dus au manque de concentration

Mais à plus d'une occasion, il est possible que nous ne puissions pas maintenir notre attention ou investir suffisamment de ressources mentales pour vraiment nous concentrer sur quelque chose et il y a un manque de concentration. À première vue, cela ne semble pas particulièrement grave, surtout si nous considérons que nous vivons dans une société dans laquelle les besoins les plus élémentaires pour la survie sont généralement satisfaits, mais la vérité est qu’elle peut représenter un gros problème et être invalidante. mener à bien une action. Et cela peut avoir des répercussions dans divers domaines.

Par exemple, au niveau académique ou professionnel , notre capacité de concentration nous permet de réaliser les tâches qui nous sont demandées ou d’enregistrer correctement ce que nous devons faire ou garder en mémoire. Si nous ne pouvons pas nous concentrer correctement, nous aurons besoin de beaucoup plus de temps pour effectuer chaque action, voire de ce que nous ne pouvons pas faire à ce moment-là. C'est quelque chose qui nous est arrivé à un moment donné à tous, mais s'il est très courant, cela peut générer une faible performance.


Dans des cas plus extrêmes où le sujet n’était pas capable de se concentrer pendant longtemps, il pourrait en résulter un échec scolaire, des conflits au travail ou, dans des cas extrêmes, le licenciement.

Sur le plan personnel, le manque de concentration se traduit également par une faible volonté d'agir. Si nous voulons faire quelque chose mais au minimum on perd le fil nous finissons par nous frustrer et laisser pour une autre fois.

En ce qui concerne les relations sociales, cela peut aussi générer des difficultés. Si nous nous déconnectons des conversations qui se tiennent avec nous (ce qui en général peut être facile à voir par l’autre), l’autre personne peut avoir l’impression que nous ne voulons pas ou ne nous soucions pas de l’interaction, ce qui peut générer bouleversé et même des conflits.

Mais vous n'avez pas non plus besoin de le prendre à l'extrême. Nous avons tous souvent un peu de temps de manque de concentration et bien que la majorité la perçoive comme négative, elle peut même, dans certaines conditions, être adaptative: fondamentalement, notre esprit nous informe que nous avons quelque chose qui nous inquiète davantage à ce moment-là ou que nos ressources attentionnelles sont faibles à ce moment-là et que se reposer. Son dysfonctionnement est principalement dû à la nécessité de mener à bien les actions en question et peut dépendre de la situation.

Causes possibles de problèmes à se concentrer

Comme nous l'avons dit, nous avons tous parfois des moments où la concentration nous manque. Dans la plupart des cas, nous ne parlons pas d'un trouble, bien que dans certains troubles et maladies, nous pouvons nous trouver confrontés à un manque de concentration continue ou répétitive en tant que symptôme. Voyons quelques causes fréquentes.

1. Les distracteurs

Lorsque nous faisons quelque chose, nous ne le faisons pas en vase clos.Nous sommes situés dans un environnement et un contexte particuliers dans lesquels nous différentes stimulations apparaissent qui peuvent interférer avec notre performance en réclamant notre attention.

2. Compétence des tâches

Faire deux choses ou plus en même temps, à moins que l'une d'entre elles soit très automatisée, est compliqué. Bien que nous ayons une certaine capacité d’attention divisée, nous concentrer sur une tâche nécessite beaucoup de notre attention et l’autre tâche peut être distrayante.

3. Préoccupations et pensées

L’un des facteurs de distraction les plus fréquents qui ont tendance à nuire à notre concentration est l’existence de pensées ou de préoccupations qui absorbent notre attention et nous empêchent de rester concentrés sur quelque chose. Ces pensées ou préoccupations peuvent être à la fois importantes et banales .

  • Article connexe: "Rumination: le cercle vicieux de la pensée"

4. la fatigue

Cela a déjà été commenté, mais la fatigue est l’une des causes les plus courantes de manque de concentration. Nos ressources attentionnelles sont épuisées et nous ne pouvons pas les garder fixes dans un élément spécifique. C'est l'une des causes les plus fréquentes de problèmes de concentration.

5. Démotivation

Si nous faisons quelque chose que nous n'aimons pas et préférons faire autre chose, il est plus difficile de rester concentré. Et le fait est que la motivation est un élément très important lorsqu'il s'agit de garder nos ressources attentionnelles concentrées.

6. Anxiété et inconfort

Si nous nous trompons, nous sommes nerveux ou nous venons d’avoir une sorte de mécontentement à se concentrer continuellement peut être compliqué, puisque la propre gêne (en plus des soucis possibles et des pensées associées) réclamera une partie de l’attention du sujet.

7. Étendue, joie extrême et énergie excessive

Le contraire du point précédent peut également rendre très difficile le maintien de la concentration. La joie que nous ressentons exige également une partie de l’attention, et à moins que ce que nous faisons ne soit sa source, se concentrer sur d’autres tâches devient compliqué. Les niveaux élevés d'énergie peuvent provoquer l'attention et se déplacer d'un point à un autre, incapable de se concentrer.

8. vieillissement

Les capacités mentales telles que la mémoire ou la capacité de concentration ne sont pas toujours stables, mais en règle générale ils ont tendance à diminuer peu à peu avec l'âge . Nous parlons d'une perte normative, n'étant pas nécessaire de souffrir d'aucun type de démence.

Désordres et maladies dans lesquels le manque de concentration apparaît

Bien que les causes ci-dessus soient courantes dans la population, comme nous l'avons indiqué dans certains troubles et maladies, la concentration échoue en raison des altérations générées par ces conditions. Quelques-uns d'entre eux sont les suivants.

1. Trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention

Le TDAH se caractérise précisément par les difficultés à maintenir la concentration et la facilité de distraction de ces personnes, qu’elles soient hyperactives ou non. Ceux qui en souffrent sont facilement distraits, oublient souvent des objets et des choses à faire et ont de la difficulté à accomplir leurs tâches. Dans les cas d'hyperactivité, il y a aussi agitation , nervosité et impulsivité.

2. Alzheimer et autres démences

Les démences et les maladies neurodégénératives posent généralement des problèmes d’attention et de concentration comme la détérioration cérébrale se produit . Outre les problèmes de mémoire, la capacité de concentration est souvent l’une des premières compétences à diminuer.

  • Article connexe: "Alzheimer: causes, symptômes, traitement et prévention"

3. Schizophrénie

Si les hallucinations sont la première chose qui nous vient à l’esprit quand on parle de schizophrénie, un autre des symptômes fréquents chez ceux qui souffrent de ce trouble est la présence de difficultés d’attention, en particulier chez ceux qui souffrent de détérioration. Cela sans tenir compte de la présence possible d’une épidémie psychotique, dans laquelle la concentration conduit généralement à des hallucinations.

3. Troubles de l'humeur

Les personnes déprimées ont souvent du mal à se concentrer et leur esprit est souvent occupé par des pensées négatives. La tristesse et les pensées automatiques qui sont générés lors d'épisodes dépressifs, l'anhédonie, l'apathie et la passivité qui l'accompagnent rendent difficile la concentration du patient.

En ce qui concerne les personnes souffrant de trouble bipolaire, en plus des problèmes d’épisodes dépressifs, elles manqueront également de concentration lorsqu’elles seront en phase maniaque. Dans un épisode maniaque, la personne est expansive, énergique, accélérée, agitée et peut même être irritable. L'attention et le maintien de l'attention sur un stimulus spécifique sont beaucoup plus complexes, passant d'un stimulus à un autre.

4. Usage de substances

Une grande quantité de drogues et d’autres substances compliquent considérablement la possibilité que quiconque les prenne puisse se concentrer, soit par dépression du système nerveux, soit par stimulation excessive. D'autre part, d'autres substances telles que le café peuvent augmenter le niveau d'énergie d'une personne fatiguée, ou d'autres substances telles que le citron vert. détendre quelqu'un nerveux , au point de faciliter leur concentration.

Quelques façons d'exercer l'attention

Le manque de concentration peut être gênant et causer divers problèmes au quotidien. C'est pourquoi la formation est très souhaitable. Voici quelques façons d’empêcher le manque de concentration ou même de renforcer cette capacité.

1. Pratiquez de l'exercice physique

La pratique habituelle de l'exercice et du sport contribue grandement à améliorer la capacité de concentration, en plus de brûler de l'énergie et de libérer des endorphines ça va nous faire sentir mieux.

2. Dormez suffisamment

Nous avons déjà indiqué précédemment que la fatigue est l’un des facteurs de manque de concentration dans nos tâches. Nous devons dormir et nous reposer suffisamment pour récupérer notre énergie et nos ressources.

3. déconnecter

En lien avec le point précédent, nous constatons la nécessité de nous déconnecter ponctuellement de nos tâches, de notre travail ou de nos études. Il faut avoir du temps pour soi, sans toujours être absorbé par la même tâche . Si nous ne nous déconnectons pas, nous nous retrouverons épuisés, que nous dormions ou non.

4. Ne vous entourez pas de distracteurs

Le téléphone portable, l'ordinateur, la télévision, les gens qui discutent ... Si nous sommes très concentrés, peut-être qu'ils ne nous dérangent pas, mais la plupart des gens verront comment leur attention est capturée par ce type de distracteurs. Même s'ils ne sonnent pas, leur présence leur permet d'attirer l'attention (quelqu'un a-t-il l'air de regarder Facebook, WhatsApp ou de surfer sur Internet, alors qu'ils devraient faire le travail qu'ils doivent livrer la semaine prochaine?).

Nous ne disons pas non plus que nous devrions nous isoler complètement pour faire quelque chose, mais nous devons être conscients et non autoboicotearnos .

5. Cherchez la motivation dans ce que vous faites

Établir des objectifs qui nous motivent vraiment et les relier à ce qui est fait facilite la concentration. Si ce que nous faisons ne nous motive pas, nous pouvons essayer de lui donner un sens en le reliant à notre quotidien ou en le considérant comme une étape nécessaire pour atteindre cet objectif.


6. Pratiquez la méditation

La méditation a démontré son efficacité dans la stimulation de la capacité d’attention, en plus d'être une pratique qui nous permet de nous détendre et visualiser les choses d'une manière plus objective.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Comment apprendre à méditer, en 7 étapes simples"

7. Une chose à la fois

Prendre soin de plusieurs choses rend difficile le maintien de l'attention et entraîne un manque de concentration. Organiser et dédier à une tâche unique Il est utile de rester concentré sur ce que nous faisons.

8. Où est-ce important

Effectuer chaque action dans un contexte qui la facilite est d’une grande aide. Étudier au lit, par exemple, facilite l’endormissement (en retour, quand il est temps de dormir, c’est plus difficile pour nous) lorsque vous travaillez à un bureau. facilite le travail avec un ordinateur, écrit ou lit . Les conditions de lumière et de son sont également importantes.


9. Lire et écrire

Lire et écrire sont des actions qui, même si nous l’avons appris, peuvent sembler simples, mais qui nécessitent généralement une forte concentration. Surtout si nous le faisons à la main. De plus, structurer un discours pour exprimer ce que nous voulons exprimer nous oblige à nous efforcer de trouver un moyen de le faire.

10. Créer un planning

Un moyen de renforcer la concentration, ainsi que la capacité de discipline, consiste à élaborer une planification tenant compte de ce que nous allons faire. Dans cette planification, nous devons intégrer non seulement ce que nous devons faire, mais aussi aussi des périodes de repos . Maintenant, il est important que la planification soit réaliste car sinon, elle peut générer une démotivation.


Comment booster la concentration et la mémoire (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes