yes, therapy helps!
Maslow's pyramid: the hierarchy of human needs

Maslow's pyramid: the hierarchy of human needs

January 12, 2023

The p irramid of Maslow It is part of a psychological theory that inquires about the motivation and needs of the human being: that which leads us to act as we do. According to Abraham Maslow, a humanistic psychologist, our actions are born of motivation directed towards the goal of meeting certain needs, which can be ordered according to the importance they have for our well-being.

That is, Maslow proposed a theory according to which there is a hierarchy of human needs , and argued that as basic needs are met, human beings develop higher needs and desires. From this hierarchy is established what is known as Maslow's pyramid.


Abraham Maslow first introduced the concept of hierarchy of needs in his article "A Theory of Human Motivation" in 1943 and in his book "Motivation and Personality". Later, the fact that this hierarchy used to be represented graphically in the form of a pyramid made the core of the theory happen to be known as Maslow's pyramid, whose popularity is remarkable even today, decades after it was first proposed.

  • Maybe you are interested: "The 7 main streams of Psychology"

The Pyramid of Maslow


While some existing schools in the mid-twentieth century (psychoanalysis or behaviorism) focused on problematic behavior and learning from a passive being and without too many options to influence the environment more than it influences him, Maslow was more concerned with learning about what makes people happier and what can be done to improve personal development and self-realization.

As a humanist, his idea was that people have an innate desire to self-fulfill, to be what they want to be, and that they have the capacity to pursue their goals autonomously if they are in an appropriate environment. However, the different objectives that are pursued at each moment depend on which goal has been achieved and which are still to be met, according to the needs pyramid. In order to aspire to the goals of self-realization, the previous needs, such as food, security, etc., must first be covered. For example, we only worry about issues related to self-realization if we are sure that we have a stable job, a safe meal and some friends who accept us.


In the Maslow Pyramid, from the most basic needs to the most complex needs, this hierarchy is composed of five levels. The basic needs are located at the base of the pyramid, while the more complex needs are in the upper part.

Thus, the five categories of needs of the Maslow Pyramid are: physiological, safety, affiliation, recognition and self-realization ; physiological needs being the lowest level, and rising levels in the order indicated.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 31 best Psychology books you can not miss"

Types of needs

In Maslow's pyramid, this researcher talks about the instinctive needs and makes a distinction between "deficit" needs (physiological, security, affiliation, recognition) and "development of being" (self-realization). The difference between one and the other is due to the fact that "deficits" refer to a lack, while those of "development of being" refer to the task of the individual. Satisfying the deficit needs is important to avoid unpleasant consequences or feelings.

The needs of the "development of being", on the other hand, are important for personal growth, and have nothing to do with the deficit of something, but with the desire to grow as a person.

So, Maslow's pyramid has 5 levels of needs :

1. Physiological needs

They include the vital needs for survival and they are biological in nature. Within this group, we find needs such as: need to breathe, drink water, sleep, eat, sex, shelter.

So, in this layer of needs are those that make possible the most fundamental biological processes that make the existence of the body viable. They provide coverage to the physiological functions that maintain the balance in our tissues, cells, organs and, especially, our nervous system.

Maslow thinks that these needs are the most basic in the hierarchy, since the other needs are secondary until those at this level have not been met.

2. Security needs

In this part of the Maslow pyramid are included the security needs are necessary to live, but they are at a different level than the physiological needs. That is to say, until the first ones are not satisfied, a second link of needs does not arise that is oriented to the personal security , to order, stability and protection.

It can be said that the needs that belong to this level of Maslow's pyramid they have to do with expectations and with the way in which the living conditions allow to develop projects in the medium and long term. They are based on a kind of "cushion" based on both assets and rights and social capital.

They include: physical security, employment, income and resources, family, health, etc.

3. Affiliation needs

Maslow describes these needs as less basic, and makes sense when previous needs are met.

For Maslow, this need is expressed when people seek to overcome feelings of loneliness and feel that there are affective links between them and certain people.

These needs are presented continuously in daily life, when the human being shows a desire to marry, to have a family, to be part of a community, to be a member of a church or to attend a social club. Belonging to a group, whether more or less small, helps to make sense of what is done on a daily basis, and also the personal contact and social relationships that favor these ties stimulate us in a way that, for Maslow , the resulting experience can be qualified as necessity.

Examples of these needs are love reciprocated, affection and belonging or affiliation to a certain social group.

4. Recognition needs

After covering the needs of the first three levels of the Maslow Pyramid, recognition needs appear as those that favor the strengthening of self-esteem, recognition towards one's own person, particular achievement and respect towards others; by satisfying these needs, the person feels sure of himself and thinks that he is valuable within society ; When these needs are not met, people feel inferior and worthless.

This need of Maslow's hierarchy is best understood as a way of feeling good about one's own self-concept through those things of ourselves that we see reflected in the way others treat us.

According to Maslow there are two needs for recognition: a lower one, which includes respect for others, the need for status, fame, glory, recognition, attention, reputation, and dignity; and another superior, which determines the need for self-respect, including feelings such as self-confidence, competence, achievement, independence and freedom.

5. Self-realization needs

Finally, at the highest level are the needs for self-realization and the development of internal needs , the spiritual, moral development, the search for a mission in life, the selfless help towards others, etc.

Criticism of Maslow's Pyramid

Although some research supports the theory of Abraham Maslow, most of the data collected in many investigations they do not seem to go in the same line than Maslow's pyramid. For example, Wahba and Bridwell (1986) conclude that there is little evidence to demonstrate the hierarchy postulated by Maslow, even though it is still very popular today.

Further, Maslow's Pyramid has also received criticism for being difficult to prove his concept of self-realization , since it is very abstract. After all, in science it is necessary to specify very well the meaning of the words and propose "operational" implications of them, and if a concept leaves a lot of room for interpretation, it is not possible to conduct research aimed at studying the same, nor draw clear conclusions. Many of the concepts and categories described in Maslow's pyramid of needs are too ambiguous to be scientifically studied.

In a study published in 2011, researchers at the University of Illinois tested Maslow's pyramid and found that satisfying the needs of the pyramid correlated with the person's happiness. But this research, unlike Maslow's theory, concluded that the needs for recognition and self-realization were also important even though the most basic needs were not met. Therefore, he questioned the sequentiality that Maslow proposed in his theory: it was not necessary to have basic needs met to aspire to achieve the objectives related to the most refined needs.

On the other hand, Maslow's research was based on a very small sample of individuals and, therefore, not very representative. The criticism of his methodology refers to the fact that he chose the people he considered self-realized, after reading about them or talking with them and reaching conclusions about what self-realization is.In fact, the people whom Maslow interviewed when making his pyramid of needs can hardly represent the majority of the human population, since they were people belonging to the western culture, rich or very influential. Some of the people you researched are Albert Einstein or Eleanor Roosevelt . The Maslow pyramid was created from the study of exceptional cases, rather than what is normal in human populations.

The relevance and the legacy of this theory

Regardless of these criticisms, Maslow's pyramid represents an important contribution in a change of vision within psychology and helped to establish a third force within the profession (the other two main forces were psychoanalysis and behaviorism). His approach to psychology and life in general inspires enthusiasm, no longer part of the assumption that people are passive beings, nor focuses on pathological behaviors. The study of motivations and patterns of behavior unrelated to mental disorders became a sign that psychology does not have to be limited to mental health.

On the other hand, Maslow's works were a first attempt to study something of great importance: the common good , those contextual elements that are priorities for all people. If the need to have access to food is one of the most important aspects for people, it is possible to propose models of space management that take this principle into account.

In addition, the Maslow pyramid has had a great impact not only in psychology, but has also been important in the business world (especially in marketing, but also in the world of Human Resources) or in sports, for example .

The current scientific psychology should continue to investigate what is what motivates us and leads us to aspire to objectives, and Maslow's pyramid may not be a construct that allows us to explain well how we act, but at least it is a first brick in this type of studies and can be used as a reference.

Bibliographic references:

  • Boeree, George. (2003). Theories of personality, by Abraham Maslow. Translation: Rafael Gautier.
  • Mahmoud A. Wahba, Lawrence G. Bridwell. (2004). Maslow reconsidered: A review of research on the need hierarchy theory. Baruch College, The City University of New York USA.
  • Rosal Cortés, R. (1986). Personal growth (or self-realization): goal of humanistic psychotherapies. Psychology Yearbook / The UB Journal of psychology. No.:34

Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La pyramide de Maslow: la hiérarchie des besoins humains

La pyramide de Maslow: la hiérarchie des besoins humains

Juin 13, 2021

Le p irramid of Maslow Cela fait partie d'une théorie psychologique qui s'interroge sur la motivation et les besoins de l'être humain: ce qui nous conduit à agir comme nous le faisons. Selon Abraham Maslow, un psychologue humaniste, nos actions naissent d'une motivation orientée vers la satisfaction de certains besoins, qui peuvent être classés en fonction de leur importance pour notre bien-être.

C’est-à-dire que Maslow a proposé une théorie selon laquelle il existe un hiérarchie des besoins humains et a fait valoir que, à mesure que les besoins fondamentaux sont satisfaits, les êtres humains développent des besoins et des désirs plus élevés. A partir de cette hiérarchie, on établit ce qu'on appelle Pyramide de Maslow.


Abraham Maslow a introduit le concept de hiérarchie des besoins dans son article "Une théorie de la motivation humaine" en 1943 et dans son livre "Motivation et personnalité". Plus tard, le fait que cette hiérarchie était représentée graphiquement sous la forme d'une pyramide fait le noyau de la théorie arriver à être connu sous le nom Pyramide de Maslow, dont la popularité est remarquable, même aujourd’hui, des décennies après sa première proposition.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 7 principaux courants de la psychologie"

La pyramide de Maslow


Alors que certaines écoles existantes au milieu du vingtième siècle (psychanalyse ou behaviorisme) se concentraient sur le comportement problématique plus soucieux de savoir ce qui rend les gens plus heureux et ce qui peut être fait pour améliorer leur développement personnel et leur épanouissement personnel.

En tant qu'humaniste, son idée était que les gens désirent s'épanouir, être ce qu'ils veulent être et qu'ils aient la capacité de poursuivre leurs objectifs de manière autonome s'ils se trouvent dans un environnement approprié. Cependant, les différents objectifs poursuivis à chaque moment dépendent du but atteint et des objectifs qui restent à atteindre, en fonction de la pyramide des besoins. Pour aspirer aux objectifs de réalisation de soi, les besoins précédents, tels que la nourriture, la sécurité, etc., doivent d'abord être couverts. Par exemple, nous ne nous inquiétons des problèmes liés à la réalisation de nous-mêmes que si nous sommes sûrs d'avoir un emploi stable, un repas sûr et des amis qui nous acceptent.


Dans la pyramide de Maslow, des besoins les plus élémentaires aux plus complexes, cette hiérarchie est composée de cinq niveaux. Les besoins de base sont situés à la base de la pyramide, tandis que les besoins les plus complexes sont situés dans la partie supérieure.

Ainsi, les cinq catégories de besoins de la pyramide de Maslow sont les suivantes: physiologique, sécurité, affiliation, reconnaissance et réalisation de soi ; les besoins physiologiques étant le niveau le plus bas et les niveaux croissants dans l'ordre indiqué.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 31 meilleurs livres de psychologie à ne pas manquer"

Types de besoins

Dans la pyramide de Maslow, ce chercheur parle de la besoins instinctifs et fait une distinction entre les besoins de "déficit" (physiologiques, sécurité, affiliation, reconnaissance) et le "développement de l'être" (réalisation de soi). La différence entre l'un et l'autre est due au fait que les "déficits" désignent un manque, tandis que ceux de "développement de l'être" renvoient à la tâche de l'individu. Il est important de satisfaire les besoins en déficit pour éviter des conséquences ou des sentiments désagréables.

Les besoins du "développement de l'être", en revanche, sont importants pour la croissance personnelle et n'ont rien à voir avec le déficit de quelque chose, mais avec le désir de grandir en tant que personne.

Donc, la pyramide de Maslow a 5 niveaux de besoins :

1. Besoins physiologiques

Ils incluent les besoins vitaux pour la survie et ils sont de nature biologique. Au sein de ce groupe, nous trouvons des besoins tels que: besoin de respirer, de boire de l'eau, de dormir, de manger, de sexe, d'un abri.

Ainsi, dans cette couche de besoins sont ceux qui rendent possible les processus biologiques les plus fondamentaux qui rendent l'existence du corps viable. Ils couvrent les fonctions physiologiques qui maintiennent l'équilibre dans nos tissus, nos cellules, nos organes et, en particulier, notre système nerveux.

Maslow pense que ces besoins sont les plus fondamentaux de la hiérarchie, car les autres besoins sont secondaires jusqu'à ce que ceux de ce niveau ne soient pas satisfaits.

2. Besoins de sécurité

Dans cette partie de la pyramide de Maslow sont inclus les besoins de sécurité sont nécessaires pour vivre, mais ils sont à un niveau différent des besoins physiologiques. C’est-à-dire que tant que les premiers ne sont pas satisfaits, il ne se crée pas un second lien de besoins orienté vers le sécurité personnelle , pour commander, stabilité et protection.

On peut dire que les besoins qui appartiennent à ce niveau de la pyramide de Maslow ils ont à voir avec les attentes et avec la manière dont les conditions de vie permettent de développer des projets à moyen et long terme. Ils reposent sur une sorte de "coussin" fondé à la fois sur les actifs, les droits et le capital social.

Ils comprennent: la sécurité physique, l’emploi, les revenus et les ressources, la famille, la santé, etc.

3. Besoins d'affiliation

Maslow décrit ces besoins comme moins fondamentaux et prend tout son sens lorsque les besoins précédents sont satisfaits.

Pour Maslow, ce besoin est exprimé lorsque les personnes cherchent à surmonter leurs sentiments de solitude et ont le sentiment qu'il existe des liens affectifs entre elles et certaines personnes.

Ces besoins sont présentés de manière continue dans la vie quotidienne, lorsque l’être humain manifeste le désir de se marier, d’avoir une famille, de faire partie d’une communauté, d’être membre d’une église ou de fréquenter un club social. Appartenir à un groupe, plus ou moins petit, aide à comprendre ce qui se fait au quotidien, ainsi que les contacts personnels et les relations sociales qui favorisent ces liens nous stimulent d'une manière qui, pour Maslow , l’expérience qui en résulte peut être qualifiée de nécessité.

Des exemples de ces besoins sont l'amour réciproque, l'affection et l'appartenance ou l'appartenance à un certain groupe social.

4. Besoins de reconnaissance

Après avoir couvert les besoins des trois premiers niveaux de la pyramide de Maslow, les besoins de reconnaissance apparaissent comme ceux qui favorisent le renforcement de l’estime de soi, la reconnaissance de soi, la réalisation particulière et le respect des autres; en satisfaisant ces besoins, la personne se sent sûre de elle et pense être précieux dans la société ; Lorsque ces besoins ne sont pas satisfaits, les gens se sentent inférieurs et sans valeur.

Ce besoin de la hiérarchie de Maslow est mieux compris comme une manière de se sentir bien dans sa propre conception de soi à travers les choses de nous-mêmes que nous voyons se reflètent dans la façon dont les autres nous traitent.

Selon Maslow, il existe deux besoins de reconnaissance: un besoin inférieur, qui inclut le respect d'autrui, le besoin de statut, de renommée, de gloire, de reconnaissance, d'attention, de réputation et de dignité; et un autre supérieur, déterminant le besoin de respect de soi, incluant des sentiments tels que la confiance en soi, la compétence, l'accomplissement, l'indépendance et la liberté.

5. Besoins de réalisation de soi

Enfin, au plus haut niveau se trouvent les besoins de réalisation de soi et la développement des besoins internes , le développement spirituel et moral, la recherche d’une mission dans la vie, l’aide désintéressée envers les autres, etc.

Critique de la pyramide de Maslow

Bien que certaines recherches soutiennent la théorie d’Abraham Maslow, la plupart des données recueillies lors de nombreuses enquêtes ils ne semblent pas aller dans la même ligne que la pyramide de Maslow. Par exemple, Wahba et Bridwell (1986) concluent qu'il existe peu de preuves pour démontrer la hiérarchie postulée par Maslow, même si elle est encore très populaire aujourd'hui.

En outre, La pyramide de Maslow a également été critiquée pour sa difficulté à prouver son concept de réalisation de soi , puisque c'est très abstrait. Après tout, en science, il est nécessaire de bien préciser le sens des mots et d’en proposer des implications "opérationnelles", et si un concept laisse beaucoup de place à l’interprétation, il n’est pas possible de mener des recherches visant à tirer des conclusions claires. De nombreux concepts et catégories décrits dans la pyramide des besoins de Maslow sont trop ambigus pour être étudiés scientifiquement.

Dans une étude publiée en 2011, des chercheurs de l'Université de l'Illinois ont testé la pyramide de Maslow et ont constaté que la satisfaction des besoins de la pyramide était en corrélation avec le bonheur de la personne. Mais cette recherche, contrairement à la théorie de Maslow, a conclu que les besoins de reconnaissance et de réalisation de soi étaient également importants, même si les besoins les plus fondamentaux n'étaient pas satisfaits. Par conséquent, il s'est interrogé sur la séquentialité proposée par Maslow dans sa théorie: il n'était pas nécessaire de satisfaire les besoins fondamentaux pour atteindre les objectifs liés aux besoins les plus raffinés.

D'autre part, la recherche de Maslow était basée sur un très petit échantillon de personnes et n'était donc pas très représentative. La critique de sa méthodologie fait référence au fait qu'il a choisi les personnes qu'il considérait comme étant auto-réalisées, après avoir lu à leur sujet ou après avoir parlé avec elles et tiré des conclusions sur ce qu'est la réalisation de soi.En fait, les personnes que Maslow a interrogées lors de la constitution de sa pyramide de besoins peuvent difficilement représenter la majorité de la population humaine, puisqu'il s'agissait de personnes appartenant à la culture occidentale, riches ou très influentes. Certaines des personnes que vous avez recherchées sont Albert Einstein ou Eleanor Roosevelt . La pyramide de Maslow a été créée à partir de l'étude de cas exceptionnels plutôt que de ce qui est normal chez les populations humaines.

La pertinence et l'héritage de cette théorie

Indépendamment de ces critiques, la pyramide de Maslow représente une contribution importante dans changement de vision en psychologie et aidé à établir une troisième force au sein de la profession (les deux autres forces principales étaient la psychanalyse et le behaviorisme). Son approche de la psychologie et de la vie en général inspire l’enthousiasme, ne fait plus partie de la supposition que les gens sont des êtres passifs, ni ne se concentre sur les comportements pathologiques. L'étude des motivations et des modèles de comportement non liés aux troubles mentaux est devenue un signe que la psychologie ne doit pas nécessairement se limiter à la santé mentale.

En revanche, les travaux de Maslow constituaient une première tentative d’étude de quelque chose d’une grande importance: le bien commun , ces éléments contextuels qui sont des priorités pour tout le monde. Si la nécessité d’avoir accès à la nourriture est l’un des aspects les plus importants pour les populations, il est possible de proposer des modèles de gestion de l’espace tenant compte de ce principe.

En outre, la pyramide Maslow a eu un impact considérable non seulement en psychologie, mais également dans le monde des affaires (en particulier dans le marketing, mais également dans le monde des ressources humaines) ou dans le sport, par exemple. .

La psychologie scientifique actuelle devrait continuer à rechercher ce qui nous motive et nous incite à aspirer à des objectifs. La pyramide de Maslow n’est peut-être pas une construction qui nous permet d’expliquer correctement notre comportement, mais au moins, c’est une première brique dans ce domaine. type d’études et peut servir de référence.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Boeree, George. (2003). Théories de la personnalité, par Abraham Maslow. Traduction: Rafael Gautier.
  • Mahmoud A. Wahba et Lawrence G. Bridwell. (2004). Maslow reconsidéré: Un examen de la recherche sur la théorie de la hiérarchie des besoins. Baruch College, Université municipale de New York, États-Unis.
  • Rosal Cortés, R. (1986). Croissance personnelle (ou réalisation de soi): objectif des psychothérapies humanistes. Annuaire de psychologie / The UB Journal of psychology. N ° 34

LA PYRAMIDE DE MASLOW (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes