yes, therapy helps!
Musophobia: extreme fear of mice and rodents in general

Musophobia: extreme fear of mice and rodents in general

January 22, 2022

The universe of specific phobias is almost endless . Let's say that we could describe as many specific phobias as there are people in the world, the result of individual variability, that is why in nosological manuals only the most frequent ones appear.

For example, we can find people who are afraid of humans (anthropophobia), beards (pogonophobia), stairs (batmophobia), flowers (anthropophobia), dust and dirt (amatofobia) and many more. being these phobias uncommon.

In this article we are going to talk about a relatively common type of specific phobia, which can be categorized into animal phobias: the musophobia .


  • Related article: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

What is musophobia?

The DSM-IV-TR and the DSM-5 distinguish different types of specific phobias (APA, 2000, 2013):

  • Animal : Fear is caused by one or more types of animals. The most feared animals are usually snakes, spiders, insects, cats, rats, mice and birds (Antony and Barlow, 1997).
  • Natural environment: storms, wind, water, darkness.
  • Blood / injections / body damage (SID).
  • Situational : go by public transport, tunnels, bridges, elevators, fly by plane ...
  • Another type: situations that can lead to choking or vomiting, fear of people in disguise ...

Thus, musophobia would consist of the intense and persistent fear or anxiety that is triggered by the presence of mice or rodents in general and / or the anticipation of them. According to the DSM-5, anxiety must be disproportionate to the danger or threat posed by the situation and to the sociocultural context. In addition, the phobia should last at least 6 months.


  • You may be interested: "The 7 most common specific phobias"

Symptoms of this phobia

People with musophobia especially fear the movements of mice, especially if they are sudden; they may also fear their physical appearance, the sounds they emit and their tactile properties .


One of the defining psychological elements of musophobia in people who suffer from it is that it appears a disproportionate reaction of fear (by focusing on the perceived danger) and a sense of disgust or disgust.

Although the studies provide discordant data, the fear reaction seems to predominate before the reaction of disgust. In addition, both reactions are reduced with the Live Exhibition, as we will see in the Treatment section.

To protect themselves from unexpected encounters, people with musophobia can use various defensive behaviors: Overly check the sites to make sure there are no mice nearby or ask other people to do so, wear overprotective clothing when walking in the field, be accompanied by a trusted person and get away from a mouse that is seen.

  • Related article: "Intervention in phobias: the technique of the exhibition"

Age of onset and prevalence

In epidemiological studies with adults, the average age of onset is 8-9 years for animal phobia . There is no record of epidemiological data regarding musophobia.

Considering the different types of EF, the prevalence-life data obtained in the National Epidemiologic Survey on Alcohol and Related Conditions (Stinson et al., 2007) were: natural environment (5.9%), situational (5.2%) , animal (4.7%) and SID (4.0%).

Causes (genesis and maintenance)

How does a person get to develop musophobia? Why do some children develop this fear? These questions can be answered following Barlow (2002), who differentiates three types of determining factors in order to develop a specific phobia such as musophobia:


1. Biological vulnerability

It consists of a neurobiological hypersensitivity to genetically determined stress and includes temperamental features that have a strong genetic component. Among the main ones are neuroticism, introversion, negative affectivity (stable and heritable tendency to experience a wide range of negative feelings) and behavioral inhibition in the face of the unknown .

2. Generalized psychological vulnerability

It is the perception, based on early experiences, that stressful situations and / or reactions to them are unpredictable and / or uncontrollable. Within the early experiences are the overprotective educational style (hypercontroller), rejection by parents, unsafe ties of attachment , occurrence of traumatic events in coexistence with ineffective strategies to cope with stress.

3. Specific psychological vulnerability

It is based on the person's learning experiences. The anxiety resulting from the generalized biological and psychological vulnerability focuses on certain situations or events (p.eg, mice), which happen to be considered as a threat or even dangerous. For example, a direct negative experience with a mouse in childhood It can generate a learning experience that the animal is threatening and dangerous.

  • You may be interested: "What is trauma and how does it influence our lives?"

Psychological treatment of musophobia

Although it has been stated that phobic fears may remit without treatment in childhood and adolescence, the general trend does not seem to be this one.

The most effective and known treatment is cognitive-behavioral with live exposure (EV). Before beginning the EV, it is convenient to give information about the mice and to correct possible erroneous beliefs about them.

A hierarchy of exposure must also be carried out, taking into account the subjective levels of anxiety of the person. Some ideas to work the dreaded and / or avoided situations are: talk about the animal, see photos or videos of mice, go to animal stores where there are mice, touch and caress the mice and feed them ... Another option is employ exposure through virtual reality .

Participant modeling to treat musophobia

The EV can be used alone or combined with the modeling, with what is known as participant modeling; This combination has been really useful for treating animal-type phobias.

At each step of the hierarchy the therapist or other model (s) repeatedly or repeatedly exemplifies the relevant activity, explain, if necessary, how to perform the activity and give information about the objects or situations feared (in our case, about the mice ).

After modeling a task, the therapist asks the client to execute it and provides you with social reinforcement for your progress and corrective feedback .


If the person has difficulties or does not dare to carry out the task, various aids are provided. For example, in the case of musophobia could be cited: joint action with the therapist, limitation of mouse movements, means of protection (gloves), reduction of the time required in the task, increase of the distance to the feared object, re-modeling the threatening activity, use of multiple models, company of loved ones or domestic animals.

These aids are withdrawn until the client is able to perform the task with relative ease and on his own (self-directed practice); therefore the therapist should not be present. Self-directed practice must be done in a variety of contexts to favor generalization.



Emma Faces Her Fear Of Mice (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Musophobie: peur extrême des souris et des rongeurs en général

Musophobie: peur extrême des souris et des rongeurs en général

Juin 13, 2021

L'univers des phobies spécifiques est presque infini . Supposons que nous puissions décrire autant de phobies spécifiques qu’il ya de personnes dans le monde, résultat de la variabilité individuelle, c’est pourquoi, dans les manuels nosologiques, seules les plus fréquentes apparaissent.

Par exemple, nous pouvons trouver des personnes qui ont peur des humains (anthropophobie), de la barbe (pogonophobie), des escaliers (batmophobia), des fleurs (anthropophobie), de la poussière et de la saleté (amatofobie) et bien plus encore. étant ces phobies rares.

Dans cet article, nous allons parler d'un type relativement courant de phobie spécifique, que l'on peut classer en phobies animales: la musophobie .


  • Article connexe: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

Qu'est ce que la musophobie?

Le DSM-IV-TR et le DSM-5 distinguent différents types de phobies spécifiques (APA, 2000, 2013):

  • Animal : La peur est causée par un ou plusieurs types d'animaux. Les animaux les plus redoutés sont généralement les serpents, les araignées, les insectes, les chats, les rats, les souris et les oiseaux (Antony et Barlow, 1997).
  • Environnement naturel: tempêtes, vent, eau, obscurité.
  • Sang / injections / dommages corporels (SID).
  • Situationnel : aller en transports en commun, tunnels, ponts, ascenseurs, vol en avion ...
  • Autre type: situations pouvant provoquer des étouffements ou des vomissements, peur des personnes déguisées ...

Ainsi, la musophobie consiste en une peur ou une anxiété intense et persistante est déclenché par la présence de souris ou de rongeurs en général et / ou l'anticipation d'eux. Selon le DSM-5, l'anxiété doit être disproportionnée par rapport au danger ou à la menace que représente la situation et au contexte socioculturel. En outre, la phobie devrait durer au moins 6 mois.


  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "Les 7 phobies spécifiques les plus courantes"

Symptômes de cette phobie

Les personnes atteintes de musophobie craignent particulièrement les mouvements de souris, surtout s'ils sont soudains; ils peuvent aussi craindre leur apparence physique, les sons qu'ils émettent et leurs propriétés tactiles .


L’un des éléments psychologiques déterminants de la musophobie chez les personnes qui en souffrent est le fait une réaction de peur disproportionnée (en se concentrant sur le danger perçu) et un sentiment de dégoût ou de dégoût.

Bien que les études fournissent des données discordantes, la réaction de peur semble prédominer avant la réaction de dégoût. En outre, les deux réactions sont réduites avec l'exposition en direct, comme nous le verrons dans la section Traitement.

Pour se protéger des rencontres inattendues, les personnes souffrant de musophobie peuvent adopter divers comportements défensifs: Vérifiez trop les sites pour vous assurer qu'il n'y a pas de souris à proximité ou demandez à d'autres personnes de le faire, portez des vêtements trop protecteurs lorsque vous vous promenez sur le terrain, soyez accompagné d'une personne de confiance et évadez-vous d'une souris.

  • Article connexe: "Intervention contre les phobies: la technique de l'exposition"

Âge d'apparition et prévalence

Dans les études épidémiologiques chez l’adulte, l'âge moyen d'apparition de la phobie animale est de 8 à 9 ans . Il n’existe aucune donnée épidémiologique concernant la musophobie.

Considérant les différents types de FE, les données de prévalence-vie obtenues dans le cadre de l'Enquête épidémiologique nationale sur l'alcool et les pathologies associées (Stinson et al., 2007) sont les suivantes: environnement naturel (5,9%), situation (5,2%) , animal (4,7%) et SID (4,0%).

Causes (genèse et maintenance)

Comment une personne peut-elle développer la musophobie? Pourquoi certains enfants développent-ils cette peur? On peut répondre à ces questions après Barlow (2002), qui distingue trois types de facteurs déterminants afin de développer une phobie spécifique telle que la musophobie:


1. Vulnérabilité biologique

Il consiste en une hypersensibilité neurobiologique au stress déterminé génétiquement et comprend des caractéristiques tempéramentales à forte composante génétique. Parmi les principaux sont le névrotisme, l’introversion, l’affectivité négative (tendance stable et héréditaire à ressentir un large éventail de sentiments négatifs) et inhibition comportementale face à l'inconnu .

2. Vulnérabilité psychologique généralisée

C’est la perception, basée sur les premières expériences, que les situations stressantes et / ou les réactions à celles-ci sont imprévisibles et / ou incontrôlables. Parmi les premières expériences, on trouve le style éducatif surprotecteur (hypercontrôleur), rejet par les parents, liens d'attachement peu sûrs , apparition d’événements traumatiques en coexistence avec des stratégies inefficaces pour faire face au stress.

3. Vulnérabilité psychologique spécifique

Il est basé sur les expériences d'apprentissage de la personne. L’anxiété résultant de la vulnérabilité biologique et psychologique généralisée se concentre sur certaines situations ou certains événements (p.souris), qui sont considérées comme une menace ou même dangereuses. Par exemple, une expérience négative directe avec une souris dans l'enfance Cela peut générer une expérience d'apprentissage selon laquelle l'animal est menaçant et dangereux.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Qu'est-ce qu'un traumatisme et comment influence-t-il nos vies?"

Traitement psychologique de la musophobie

Bien qu'il ait été dit que les peurs phobiques peuvent disparaître sans traitement pendant l'enfance et l'adolescence, la tendance générale ne semble pas être celle-ci.

Le traitement le plus efficace et connu est le traitement cognitivo-comportemental avec exposition en direct (EV). Avant de commencer le VE, il est utile de donner des informations sur les souris et de corriger les éventuelles croyances erronées les concernant.

Une hiérarchisation des expositions doit également être réalisée, en tenant compte des niveaux subjectifs d'anxiété de la personne. Quelques idées pour travailler les situations redoutées et / ou évitées sont: parler de l'animal, voir des photos ou des vidéos de souris, aller dans des animaleries où il y a des souris, toucher et caresser les souris et les nourrir ... Une autre option est utiliser l'exposition à travers la réalité virtuelle .

Le modèle participant pour traiter la musophobie

L'EV peut être utilisé seul ou en combinaison avec la modélisation, avec ce que l'on appelle la modélisation participante; Cette combinaison a été vraiment utile pour traiter les phobies de type animal.

À chaque étape de la hiérarchie, le thérapeute ou un autre modèle illustre de manière répétée ou répétée l'activité pertinente, explique, si nécessaire, comment effectuer l'activité et donne des informations sur les objets ou les situations redoutés (dans notre cas, sur les souris). ).

Après avoir modélisé une tâche, le thérapeute demande au client de l’exécuter et vous fournit un renforcement social de vos progrès et un retour correctif .


Si la personne a des difficultés ou n’ose pas s’acquitter de sa tâche, diverses aides sont fournies. Par exemple, dans le cas de la musophobie, on pourrait citer: action conjointe avec le thérapeute, limitation des mouvements de la souris, moyens de protection (gants), réduction du temps nécessaire à la tâche, augmentation de la distance par rapport à l'objet redouté, re-modélisation de l'activité menaçante, utilisation de plusieurs modèles, compagnie d'amis ou d'animaux domestiques.

Ces aides sont retirées jusqu'à ce que le client soit capable d'exécuter la tâche avec une relative relative aisance (pratique autonome); par conséquent, le thérapeute ne devrait pas être présent. La pratique auto-dirigée doit être faite dans une variété de contextes pour favoriser la généralisation.



La peur d'Halloween (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes