yes, therapy helps!
Neurotic people: the 8 characteristics that distinguish them

Neurotic people: the 8 characteristics that distinguish them

September 29, 2022

Neurotic people are a constant in our society. And despite the fact that we call ourselves "rational animals", emotional instability is widespread among the human species.

And the fact is that the meaning of the term "neuroticism" basically alludes to that: the relative instability of emotional and sentimental states, specifically, by a bias towards ideas and Negative emotions and generating anxiety . This means that in a matter of minutes a slight stimulus, unimportant for most, causes a lot of discomfort in the neurotic person. Now, in practice ... what exactly does it mean to be a neurotic person? Let's see it


  • Related article: "Types of people: 13 basic characteristics of personality"

This is how neurotic people are

The word "neuroticism" was used by the psychologist Hans Eynseck to refer to a personality trait that indicates the tendency to delve into negative and stressful thoughts, which can erupt almost at any time. Next we will see how this is translated daily.

1. Constant search for references

Neurotic people need to feel anchored to reality through the example they see in other people, charismatic people in which they reflect and to which they want to look . In this way, they try to give consistency to their life goals by borrowing the attitudes and values ​​of someone they normally idealize.


Of course, this works in some cases, but in others it causes even more problems. Why? Because the fact itself of not resembling that reference figure gives more reasons for frustration. On the other hand, the fact that they idealize their idols also contributes to the actions of neurotic people being able to follow a mold of unreasonable behavior.

2. They can be very direct

In their personal relationships, neurotic people are able to show themselves in a significantly invasive and even inappropriate way with the rest, even without being angry. The reason is that although they know the theory of what is considered "educated behavior", in practice it often costs them to take it into account, since they get carried away by the emotions of the present regardless of whether this leads them to be very invasive with the rest.

3. They contradict themselves often

Another feature of neurotic people is that there is relatively little consistency in their actions and speech. The reason for this is that the emotional state of the moment influences a lot, and that makes the reasoning that could structure the thought disappear or lose importance during the time in which the emotional wins the game.


  • Related article: "Are we rational or emotional beings?"

4. They often fall into anticipatory anxiety

Easily fall into stress In the face of setbacks, stress manifests itself intensely in neurotic people. It is usually given in limited quantities, but it can lead to crises in which control is lost.

5. Make forecasts in terms of white or black

Nuances and details are often overlooked when there is something that captures all our attention. This is exactly what happens to neurotic people when making predictions; There are so terrifying possibilities that everything is analyzed according to whether certain actions bring us closer to that possible scenario or if it moves us away from it.

6. They do not tolerate frustration well

We have seen that neurotic people are prone to make very pessimistic forecasts of the future , but, paradoxically, when something goes wrong that also affects them more than the rest, often producing an explosion of emotions. This is because the problem of perceiving a failure is compounded by the difficulty of knowing how to act from that moment to recompose the present and make it more tolerable.

7. They are sensitive to criticism

It is very common for neurotic people to have unstable self-esteem, usually relatively low because of the episodes of constant uncertainty that they usually go through. That is why criticisms can easily hit the target and hurt their feelings; not only because they believe that there are many reasons to criticize them, but also because, as we have seen, they adopt a catastrophist interpretation of things .

On the other hand, criticism can also be taken as an indication that a veiled message is launched, something that indicates that this person knows a secret about us and expresses it indirectly. This possibility, based on an almost paranoid thought , it is terrifying for neurotic people.

8. They are more sensitive in general

What defines neurotic people is not so much the going from one end of the arch of emotions to its opposite, but the ease with which they fall into negative emotions (that is, unpleasant for those who experience them). Because, It is easy to feel bad with all kinds of situations , from a sad movie to something that may be slightly offensive.


7 Curious Facts Your Appearance Says About You (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Personnes névrosées: les 8 caractéristiques qui les distinguent

Personnes névrosées: les 8 caractéristiques qui les distinguent

Septembre 25, 2022

Les névrosés sont une constante dans notre société. Et malgré le fait que nous nous appelions «animaux rationnels», l’instabilité émotionnelle est très répandue parmi l’espèce humaine.

Et le fait est que le sens du terme "neuroticism" fait essentiellement allusion à cela: la relative instabilité des états émotionnels et sentimentaux, en particulier, par un biais en faveur des idées et des sentiments. Émotions négatives et génératrices d'anxiété . Cela signifie qu'en quelques minutes, un léger stimulus, sans importance pour la plupart, provoque beaucoup de gêne chez la personne névrosée. Maintenant, en pratique ... que signifie exactement être une personne névrotique? Voyons le


  • Article connexe: "Types de personnes: 13 caractéristiques de base de la personnalité"

Voici comment sont les névrosés

Le psychologue Hans Eynseck a utilisé le mot "neuroticism" pour désigner un trait de personnalité qui indique la tendance à plonger dans des pensées négatives et stressantes, qui peuvent surgir presque à tout moment. Nous verrons ensuite comment cela est traduit quotidiennement.

1. Recherche constante de références

Les personnes névrosées ont besoin de se sentir ancrées dans la réalité à travers l'exemple qu'elles voient chez d'autres personnes. personnes charismatiques dans lesquelles ils réfléchissent et auxquels ils veulent regarder . De cette manière, ils essaient de donner de la cohérence à leurs objectifs de vie en empruntant les attitudes et les valeurs de quelqu'un qu’ils idéalisent normalement.


Bien sûr, cela fonctionne dans certains cas, mais dans d'autres, cela cause encore plus de problèmes. Parce que? Parce que le fait même de ne pas ressembler à ce chiffre donne plus de raisons de frustration. D'autre part, le fait qu'elles idéalisent leurs idoles contribue également aux actions des personnes névrosées, capables de suivre un moule de comportement déraisonnable.

2. Ils peuvent être très directs

Dans leurs relations personnelles, les personnes névrosées sont capables de se montrer de manière très invasive, voire inappropriée, avec les autres, même sans être en colère. La raison en est que, bien qu'ils connaissent la théorie de ce qui est considéré comme un "comportement éduqué", dans la pratique, il leur en coûte souvent de la prendre en compte ils sont emportés par les émotions du présent peu importe si cela les amène à être très envahissants avec le reste.

3. Ils se contredisent souvent

Une autre caractéristique des personnes névrosées est qu’il ya relativement peu de cohérence dans leurs actions et leurs paroles. La raison en est que l'état émotionnel du moment influence beaucoup, ce qui rend le raisonnement qui pourrait structurer la pensée disparaît ou perd de son importance pendant le temps où l'émotionnel gagne la partie.


  • Article connexe: "Sommes-nous des êtres rationnels ou émotionnels?"

4. Ils tombent souvent dans l'anxiété anticipative

Tomber facilement dans le stress Face aux revers, le stress se manifeste intensément chez les personnes névrosées. Il est généralement administré en quantités limitées, mais il peut en résulter des crises dans lesquelles le contrôle est perdu.

5. Faites des prévisions en blanc ou en noir

Les nuances et les détails sont souvent négligés quand il y a quelque chose qui capte toute notre attention. C’est exactement ce qui arrive aux personnes névrosées lorsqu’elles font des prédictions; Les possibilités sont si terrifiantes que tout est analysé selon que certaines actions nous rapprochent de ce scénario possible ou s’éloignent de ce scénario.

6. Ils ne tolèrent pas bien la frustration

Nous avons vu que les névrosés sont enclins à faire des prévisions très pessimistes de l'avenir , mais, paradoxalement, lorsque quelque chose ne va pas, cela les affecte également plus que les autres et produit souvent une explosion d’émotions. En effet, le problème de la perception d’un échec est aggravé par la difficulté de savoir comment agir à partir de ce moment pour recomposer le présent et le rendre plus tolérable.

7. Ils sont sensibles à la critique

Il est très courant que les personnes névrotiques aient une estime de soi instable, généralement relativement faible en raison des épisodes d'incertitude constante qu'ils traversent habituellement. C'est pourquoi les critiques peuvent facilement toucher la cible et blesser ses sentiments. non seulement parce qu'ils estiment qu'il y a de nombreuses raisons de les critiquer, mais aussi parce que, comme nous l'avons vu, ils adoptent une interprétation catastrophiste des choses .

D'autre part, les critiques peuvent également être interprétées comme indiquant qu'un message voilé est lancé, ce qui indique que cette personne connaît un secret de nous et l'exprime indirectement. Cette possibilité, basée sur une pensée presque paranoïaque , c’est terrifiant pour les névrosés.

8. Ils sont plus sensibles en général

Ce qui définit les personnes névrotiques n’est pas tant le fait de passer d’un bout de l’arche des émotions à son contraire, mais la facilité avec laquelle elles tombent en émotions négatives (c’est désagréable pour ceux qui les éprouvent). Pour cela, Il est facile de se sentir mal avec toutes sortes de situations , d’un film triste à quelque chose d’offensif.


Virginia Woolf and Mrs. Dalloway (1987) (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes