yes, therapy helps!
Night terrors: panic during sleep

Night terrors: panic during sleep

November 27, 2021

The night terrors , along with sleepwalking, are among the most shocking sleep disorders. Very probably, in addition, we know some outstanding cases of nocturnal terror or have even been the protagonists of one of these episodes at some point in our lives. They are experiences that are not easily forgotten: they are lived as moments of great disturbance and confusion, and those who suffer them can seem eternal (although in reality they last a few minutes).

We are talking about a state of paralysis in a situation where Consciousness and unconsciousness are confused and everything we perceive is marred by the fear : episodes of night terror have everything to be frightening. However, beyond the emotional charge that night terror brings each time it is experienced, it is difficult to know much more about this phenomenon. Why is it produced? What is the origin of these terrors? There are some c organic or psychological ausa ? What does science say about this?


Night terrors and sleep disorders

Speaking of night terrors is talking about sleep disorders, a group in which the former are included. Within the classification of sleep disorders is the group of parasomnias, which is divided into three groups:

  • Parasomnia of awakening
  • Paransomnias associated with REM sleep
  • Other parasomnias

Night terrors are found in the first group. Unlike somnambulism (which is also an alteration of the awakening), night terrors are usually characterized by fear and extreme terror associated with the paralysis of the person who suffers it, keeping it in an important state of tension . They usually appear between the first 2 or 3 hours after the person begins to sleep.


What is the difference between night terrors and nightmares?

The main difference with the nightmares is that the latter occur entirely within the REM sleep phase and produce a complete awakening. The night terror, however, is a half-awake: we are aware of certain things in the world of wakefulness, but we are not able to become independent of the dream and, most likely, when the episode ends we will continue to sleep to the point of forgetting what happened.

Velayos (2009) explains that night terrors are episodes of crying and screaming that appear suddenly during the phrases of deep sleep, in the middle of the night. In addition, they are also expressed on the face by a facial expression of strong terror. As in sleepwalking, this disorder usually occurs in childhood , between the age of 4 to 7 years, and are less common after this age. In the adult stage they can appear at any time, and sometimes it is possible to repeat several episodes during the same night. Sáez Pérez says that during an episode of nocturnal terror in childhood, symptoms like abundant sweating usually occur. high heart rate, confusion and crying. This symptomatology does not change in adolescence or adulthood.


Causes of night terrors

Little is known about the neurological and physiological aspects of what night terrors produce. However, some mental health specialists believe that there are some factors that can trigger this disorder, among which are:

  • The absence of sleep
  • States of emotional tension
  • Consumption of drugs or some type of drug
  • Organic problems

Diagnosis

To obtain a diagnosis it is advisable to go to a mental health professional so that you can evaluate the problem thoroughly. It should be noted that there are other disorders with symptoms very similar to those of night terrors and that only the qualified professional will be able to differentiate them and give a final diagnosis. Among the disorders with similar symptoms are:

  • The nigthmares
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder
  • Sleep paralysis

Treatment for night terrors

Science progresses, but as regards the origins of sleep disorders it has not been possible to offer explanations about its logic and functioning. It is an enigma yet to be studied, and night terror is no exception to this norm. Today there is no specific treatment for night terrors. As with somnambulism, certain professionals recommend alternative techniques such as meditation, hypnosis, yoga, etc. As long as they serve as a complement to a psychological or psychiatric intervention.


Waking up from a nocturnal panic attack and can't breathe - what to do (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Terreurs nocturnes: panique pendant le sommeil

Terreurs nocturnes: panique pendant le sommeil

Décembre 9, 2021

Le terreurs nocturnes , avec le somnambulisme, font partie des troubles du sommeil les plus choquants. Très probablement, en outre, nous connaissons des cas exceptionnels de terreur nocturne ou avons même été les protagonistes de l'un de ces épisodes à un moment donné de notre vie. Ce sont des expériences qui ne sont pas facilement oubliées: elles sont vécues comme des moments de grande perturbation et de confusion, et ceux qui les subissent peuvent sembler éternelles (bien qu’elles durent en réalité quelques minutes).

Nous parlons d'un état de paralysie dans une situation où Conscience et inconscience sont confondues et tout ce que nous percevons est gâché par la la peur : les épisodes de terreur nocturne ont tout pour effrayer. Cependant, au-delà de la charge émotionnelle que la terreur nocturne apporte chaque fois qu’elle est vécue, il est difficile d’en savoir plus sur ce phénomène. Pourquoi est-il produit? Quelle est l'origine de ces terreurs? Il ya quelques c ausa organique ou psychologique ? Que dit la science à ce sujet?


Terreurs nocturnes et troubles du sommeil

Parlant de terreurs nocturnes, on parle de troubles du sommeil, un groupe dans lequel les premiers sont inclus. Dans la classification des troubles du sommeil, le groupe des parasomnies est divisé en trois groupes:

  • Parasomnie de l'éveil
  • Paransomnies associées au sommeil paradoxal
  • Autres parasomnies

Les terreurs nocturnes se trouvent dans le premier groupe. Contrairement au somnambulisme (qui est également une modification de l'éveil), les terreurs nocturnes sont généralement caractérisées par la peur et une terreur extrême associée à la paralysie de la personne qui le subit, le maintenant dans une position importante. état de tension . Ils apparaissent généralement entre les 2 ou 3 premières heures après que la personne a commencé à dormir.


Quelle est la différence entre les terreurs nocturnes et les cauchemars?

La principale différence avec le cauchemars est que ces derniers se produisent entièrement dans la phase de sommeil paradoxal et produisent un réveil complet. La terreur nocturne, cependant, est à moitié éveillée: nous sommes conscients de certaines choses dans le monde de l'éveil, mais nous ne pouvons pas devenir indépendants du rêve et, très probablement, lorsque l'épisode se termine, nous continuerons à dormir au point d'oublier ce qui s'est passé.

Velayos (2009) explique que les terreurs nocturnes sont des épisodes de pleurs et de cris qui apparaissent soudainement pendant les phrases de sommeil profond, au milieu de la nuit. En outre, ils sont également exprimés sur le visage par une expression faciale très terrorisée. Comme dans le somnambulisme, ce trouble survient généralement dans l'enfance , entre 4 et 7 ans, et sont moins fréquents après cet âge. Au stade adulte, ils peuvent apparaître à tout moment et il est parfois possible de répéter plusieurs épisodes au cours d'une même nuit. Sáez Pérez dit que pendant un épisode de terreur nocturne dans l'enfance, des symptômes tels qu'une transpiration abondante se produisent généralement. fréquence cardiaque élevée, confusion et pleurs. Cette symptomatologie ne change pas à l'adolescence ou à l'âge adulte.


Causes des terreurs nocturnes

On sait peu sur les aspects neurologiques et physiologiques de ce que produisent les terreurs nocturnes. Cependant, certains spécialistes de la santé mentale estiment que certains facteurs peuvent déclencher ce trouble, notamment:

  • L'absence de sommeil
  • États de tension émotionnelle
  • Consommation de drogues ou d'un type de drogue
  • Problèmes organiques

Diagnostic

Pour obtenir un diagnostic, il est conseillé de consulter un professionnel de la santé mentale afin que vous puissiez évaluer le problème de manière approfondie. Il convient de noter qu'il existe d'autres troubles avec des symptômes très similaires à ceux des terreurs nocturnes et que seul le professionnel qualifié sera en mesure de les différencier et de poser un diagnostic final. Parmi les troubles avec des symptômes similaires sont:

  • Les cauchemars
  • Trouble de stress post-traumatique
  • Paralysie du sommeil

Traitement pour les terreurs nocturnes

La science avance, mais en ce qui concerne les origines des troubles du sommeil, il n’a pas été possible d’expliquer sa logique et son fonctionnement. C'est une énigme à étudier, et la terreur nocturne ne fait pas exception à cette norme. Au jour d'aujourd'hui il n'y a pas de traitement spécifique pour les terreurs nocturnes. Comme pour le somnambulisme, certains professionnels recommandent des techniques alternatives telles que la méditation, l'hypnose, le yoga, etc. Dans la mesure où ils servent de complément à une intervention psychologique ou psychiatrique.


Angoisse nocturne - Troubles du sommeil (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes