yes, therapy helps!
Occipital lobe: anatomy, characteristics and functions

Occipital lobe: anatomy, characteristics and functions

May 6, 2021

The cerebral cortex, which is the most iconic part of the brain and known for its folds and labyrinth shape, is not a body responsible for performing a specific function. What happens, rather, is that different parts of the cerebral cortex are responsible for participating in different mental processes , although all of them work coordinating with each other.

For example, him occipital lobe , located in the part of the brain closest to the nape, is very different from the frontal lobe (located in the part of the brain closest to the forehead) not only by its shape and location and shape, but especially by the functions of These two lobes of the brain are in charge.


If the frontal has a very important role in the executive functions and the initiation of deliberate actions, the occipital lobe has a very specific role that has to do with perception and, specifically, with the recognition and analysis of everything we see. Next we will see the main characteristics of this last part of the brain.

What is the occipital lobe?

The occipital lobe is one of the smallest brain lobes , and occupies a small portion of the back part of the brain, between the cerebellum, the temporal lobe and the parietal lobe.

In addition, as with the rest of the lobes, it exists in both the left and right cerebral hemispheres, which means that each person has two almost symmetrical occipital lobes that are separated by a narrow fissure.


Unlike what happens with the frontal lobe, it is believed that throughout the evolution of the ancestors of our species the occipital lobe has not grown in proportion to the rest of the parts of the brain. That is, while the rest of the areas of the cerebral cortex were developing and organizing in a more complex way, the occipital lobe has remained almost the same over hundreds of thousands of years; although, curiously, it is believed that in the Neandertals, which were an evolutionary branch parallel to that of Homo sapiens, this area had a larger size (relative and absolute) than that of our species.

Functions of this brain region

However... What is the occipital lobe responsible for and why has it not been growing throughout our evolutionary history? While there is no area of ​​the brain that has only one function, since all of them function together and in a coordinated manner, the process that best defines the usefulness of the occipital lobe is the processing of visual information.


The occipital lobe comprises the visual cortex, which is the area of ​​the cerebral cortex to which the information coming from the retinas first arrives. In turn, the visual cortex is divided into several regions classified according to the level of processing they are responsible for.

Thus, the primary visual cortex (v1) is the part of the occipital lobe that processes the most "raw" visual data and is responsible for detecting the general patterns that can be found in the information collected by the eyes. These general and little detailed data about what is seen are sent to other parts of the occipital lobe in charge of carrying out a more refined processing of the vision and these, in turn, send the analyzed information to other areas of the brain.

The dorsal and lateral routes

Once the information has passed through the primary visual cortex in the occipital lobe, the torrent of data that this zone emits bifurcates following two different routes: the ventral route and the dorsal route . These are extending in parallel while communicating with parts of the brain that the other route does not directly access, as we will see.

Via ventral

The ventral route starts from the primary visual cortex in the occipital lobe and goes to the frontal area of ​​the brain through the lower part of the brain, which includes the visual cortexes V2 and V4 that, as indicated by their number, They are responsible for processing the information already worked by the v1 .

It is considered that the neurons involved in this "assembly line" of visual information are responsible for processing the characteristics of the isolated elements that are being viewed at any time , that is, about the content of the vision. Therefore, this route is also called the "what" route.

Dorsal path

This route goes from the occipital lobe to the frontal zone of the cerebral cortex through networks of neurons near the top of the skull. In it, the information processed by the primary visual cortex reaches the parietal lobe through the visual cortexes v3 and v5. It is believed that this area of ​​visual processing is responsible for establishing the characteristics of the location and movement of what is seen ; that's why the dorsal track is also called the "where and how" way.

Next to the ventral route, this route of visual processing related to the occipital lobe tells us about how the brain works: sometimes, mental processes that seem to form a unit and come to our consciousness as a complete experience, are actually the product of several brain routes that work in parallel, each focused on a different aspect.

The occipital lobe and epilepsy

It is believed that the occipital lobe plays a prominent role in the appearance of epileptic seizures, or at least in part of them. These are cases in which exposure to frequent flashes of intense light causes the appearance of a pattern of emission of electrical signals by neurons of the occipital lobe that extends throughout the brain causing the attack.

Because of the complexity of brain function and the speed with which neurons work, not much is known about the mechanisms by which this type of epileptic seizures appear, although from these cases it is assumed that some external stimuli can cause it to appear a focus of epilepsy somewhere in the temporal lobes, which happens to affect other parts of the brain in the same way that the visual cortex sends information to other regions under normal conditions. But nevertheless, for these cases to occur, it is believed that there must be a biological or genetic propensity .

In conclusion

Although probably the processing of the data collected by the retinas is not the only function of the occipital lobe, it is practically occupied by the visual cortex , and for that reason it is believed that its main function has to do with the interaction of the information that comes from the optic nerves .

It may seem strange that a single sense claims for itself an entire lobe of each cerebral hemisphere, but it is not so if we consider that the temporal lobe is the smallest in humans and that in mammals the processing of the collected information Through the eyes it usually occupies very large areas of the brain. After all, as descendants of an arboreal and diurnal evolutionary line, vision has been very important both when it comes to moving through three dimensional spaces full of dangers and obstacles and when detecting predators and food.

On the other hand, another of the most important aspects of the occipital lobe is that it is the beginning of the two parallel ways of processing information. This makes us know better how is the perceptual phenomenon of vision , which is presented by at least two separate chains of information processing: on the one hand the dorsal path, responsible for knowing the movement, position and location of what we see, and on the other the ventral path, related to the recognition of what we are seeing (that is, the integration of small image fragments into large units that we can identify).


Brain Anatomy 1 - Gross Cortical Anatomy (Lateral Surface) (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Lobe occipital: anatomie, caractéristiques et fonctions

Lobe occipital: anatomie, caractéristiques et fonctions

Septembre 21, 2021

Le cortex cérébral, qui est la partie la plus emblématique du cerveau et connue pour ses plis et sa forme en labyrinthe, n'est pas un organe responsable de l'exécution d'une fonction spécifique. Qu'est-ce qui se passe, c'est plutôt différentes parties du cortex cérébral sont responsables de la participation à différents processus mentaux , bien que tous travaillent en coordination les uns avec les autres.

Par exemple, le lobe occipital , situé dans la partie du cerveau la plus proche de la nuque, est très différent du lobe frontal (situé dans la partie du cerveau la plus proche du front) non seulement par sa forme, son emplacement et sa forme, mais surtout par les fonctions de Ces deux lobes du cerveau sont en charge.


Si le frontal joue un rôle très important dans les fonctions exécutives et dans l’initiation d’actions délibérées, le lobe occipital a un rôle très spécifique en rapport avec la perception et, en particulier, avec la reconnaissance et l’analyse de tout ce que nous voyons. Nous verrons ensuite les principales caractéristiques de cette dernière partie du cerveau.

Quel est le lobe occipital?

Le lobe occipital est l'un des plus petits lobes cérébraux et occupe une petite partie de la partie postérieure du cerveau, entre le cervelet, le lobe temporal et le lobe pariétal.

De plus, comme pour le reste des lobes, il existe à la fois dans les hémisphères cérébraux gauche et droit, ce qui signifie que chaque personne possède deux lobes occipitaux presque symétriques séparés par une fissure étroite.


Contrairement à ce qui se passe avec le lobe frontal, on pense que tout au long de l'évolution des ancêtres de notre espèce, le lobe occipital n'a pas augmenté proportionnellement au reste du cerveau. C’est-à-dire que pendant que le reste du cortex cérébral se développait et s’organisait de manière plus complexe, le lobe occipital est resté presque le même sur des centaines de milliers d'années; curieusement, on pense que, chez les Néandertaliens, branche de l’évolution parallèle à celle de l’Homo sapiens, cette région avait une taille plus grande (relative et absolue) que celle de notre espèce.

Fonctions de cette région du cerveau

Maintenant bien... De quoi le lobe occipital est-il responsable et pourquoi ne s'est-il pas développé au cours de notre histoire évolutive? Bien qu'aucune région du cerveau ne remplisse une seule fonction, puisqu'elles fonctionnent toutes ensemble et de manière coordonnée, le processus qui définit le mieux l'utilité du lobe occipital est le traitement de l'information visuelle.


Le lobe occipital comprend le cortex visuel, c'est-à-dire la région du cortex cérébral dans laquelle les informations provenant des rétines arrivent en premier. À son tour, le cortex visuel est divisé en plusieurs régions classées en fonction du niveau de traitement dont elles sont responsables.

Ainsi, le cortex visuel primaire (v1) est la partie du lobe occipital qui traite les données visuelles les plus "brutes" et est responsable de la détection des schémas généraux pouvant être trouvés dans les informations collectées par les yeux. Ces données générales et peu détaillées sur ce que l'on voit sont envoyées à d'autres parties du lobe occipital chargées de traiter plus précisément la vision. Celles-ci, à leur tour, envoient les informations analysées à d'autres régions du cerveau.

Les voies dorsale et latérale

Une fois que l'information a traversé le cortex visuel primaire dans le lobe occipital, le torrent de données que cette zone émet bifurque suivant deux routes différentes: la route ventrale et la route dorsale . Celles-ci s'étendent en parallèle tout en communiquant avec des parties du cerveau auxquelles l'autre voie n'a pas directement accès, comme nous le verrons.

Via ventral

La voie ventrale part du cortex visuel primaire dans le lobe occipital et se dirige vers la région frontale du cerveau par la partie inférieure du cerveau, qui comprend les cortex visuels V2 et V4 qui, comme indiqué par leur nombre, Ils sont responsables du traitement des informations déjà traitées par la v1 .

On considère que les neurones impliqués dans cette "chaîne de montage" de l'information visuelle sont responsables du traitement des caractéristiques des éléments isolés visualisés à tout moment , c’est-à-dire du contenu de la vision. Par conséquent, cette route est aussi appelée la route "quoi".

Chemin dorsal

Cette voie va du lobe occipital à la zone frontale du cortex cérébral via des réseaux de neurones situés près du sommet du crâne. Dans ce document, les informations traitées par le cortex visuel primaire atteignent le lobe pariétal à travers les cortex visuels v3 et v5. On pense que cette zone de traitement visuel est responsable de l'établissement des caractéristiques de l'emplacement et du mouvement de ce qui est vu ; c'est pourquoi la piste dorsale est aussi appelée la voie "où et comment".

À côté de la voie ventrale, cette voie de traitement visuel liée au lobe occipital nous explique le fonctionnement du cerveau: parfois, des processus mentaux qui semblent former une unité et arriver à notre conscience comme une expérience complète sont en réalité le produit de plusieurs itinéraires cérébraux qui travaillent en parallèle, chacun axé sur un aspect différent.

Le lobe occipital et l'épilepsie

On pense que le lobe occipital joue un rôle important dans l'apparition des crises d'épilepsie, ou du moins dans une partie d'entre elles. Ce sont des cas dans lesquels l'exposition à de fréquents éclairs de lumière intense provoque l'apparition d'un motif d'émission de signaux électriques par les neurones du lobe occipital qui s'étend dans tout le cerveau à l'origine de l'attaque.

En raison de la complexité des fonctions cérébrales et de la rapidité avec laquelle les neurones fonctionnent, les mécanismes par lesquels ce type de crises épileptiques apparaît sont mal connus, bien que, dans ces cas, on suppose que certains stimuli externes peuvent en provoquer l'apparition. un foyer d'épilepsie quelque part dans les lobes temporaux, qui affecte d'autres parties du cerveau de la même manière que le cortex visuel envoie des informations à d'autres régions dans des conditions normales. Cependant, pour que ces cas se produisent, on pense qu'il doit y avoir une propension biologique ou génétique .

En guise de conclusion

Bien que le traitement des données recueillies par la rétine ne soit probablement pas la seule fonction du lobe occipital, il est pratiquement occupé par le cortex visuel et, pour cette raison, on pense que sa fonction principale est liée à l’interaction de l’information provenant de la nerfs optiques .

Il peut sembler étrange qu’un seul sens réclame pour lui-même un lobe entier de chaque hémisphère cérébral, mais tel n’est pas le cas si nous considérons que le lobe temporal est le plus petit chez l’homme et que, chez les mammifères, le traitement des informations recueillies À travers les yeux, il occupe généralement de très grandes zones du cerveau. Après tout, en tant que descendants d’une lignée évolutive arboricole et diurne, la vision a joué un rôle très important, qu’il s’agisse de se déplacer dans des espaces tridimensionnels pleins de dangers et d’obstacles ou de détecter des prédateurs et de la nourriture.

D'autre part, un autre des aspects les plus importants du lobe occipital est qu'il constitue le début des deux méthodes parallèles de traitement de l'information. Cela nous fait mieux savoir comment se porte le phénomène de perception de la vision , présenté par au moins deux chaînes de traitement de l’information distinctes: d’une part la voie dorsale, chargée de connaître le mouvement, la position et la localisation de ce que nous voyons, et d’autre part la voie ventrale, liée à la reconnaissance de ce que nous voyons (c'est-à-dire l'intégration de petits fragments d'image dans de grandes unités que nous pouvons identifier).


C'est pas sorcier -CERVEAU 1 : LES SORCIERS SE PRENNENT LA TETE (Septembre 2021).


Articles Connexes