yes, therapy helps!
Pluviofilia: what it is and how pleasure is experienced in the rain

Pluviofilia: what it is and how pleasure is experienced in the rain

November 29, 2022

In colloquial language, rain love is known as pluviofilia. It is not a specialized term, that is, it does not refer to a formal clinical category; however, it has been used in an ordinary way to describe a series of interests and hobbies related to rain.

What does pluviofilia consist of? In this article we will see it.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 8 superior psychological processes"

What is pluviofilia?

In ancient Greek, the word "philos" means "love", and the suffix "ia" means "quality". Hence, "philia" ("filia" in Spanish), means the quality of feeling love for a given situation, object or practice. It is about the opposite experiences to the phobias, in which an intense fear to precise situations prevails.


On the other hand, "pluvio" comes from "pluvial" which means "from the rain or relative to it". Having said that, we can see that "pluviofilia" is love, hobby or special attraction for the rain and everything that concerns him .

It should be noted that this is not a pathological behavior. In fact, although there are many types of "philias," there are few that have become specific diagnostic criteria (for example, paraphilias). Mostly, the hobbies that are considered pathological are diagnosed with the suffix "mania" (like kleptomania); and not with "filia".

In this sense, the special and intense enjoyment by the rain does not represent in itself a threat nor does it require a treatment. Does this mean that pluviofilia can not cause discomfort? The pluviofilia (as other filias), can be accompanied by experiences of diagnosable or undiagnosable malaise. It can even be accompanied by little flexibility, discomfort or a depressed state of mind in situations where the climate is more uncomfortable (for example, sunny). But in itself, the pluviofilia it is not a clinical picture or necessarily generates discomfort clinically significant.


  • Related article: "Anhedonia: the inability to feel pleasure"

5 characteristics of pluviofilia

While it is a special passion for rain and everything related to it, the pluviofilia has as a general characteristic the inclination for all circumstances that allow sensory enjoyment of the rain. For example, through sight, touch or smell. It's based on the thought that rain is beautiful and pleasant phenomenon , contrary to what is often thought.

1. Hobby for windows

The pluviofilia does not necessarily imply the special interest to be in the rain. It can also be pleasant to look at it from a window. For example, people who assume themselves as pluvifilicas say enjoy watching the raindrops fall, or count them and find which one falls first. In this sense, staying close to a window in rainy weather can be an important element for those who enjoy this intensely.


2. Preference for the cloudy sky

Contrary to what is usually thought, there are people whose mood is favorable or even better with gray skies and cloudy times. That is, it can cause more discomfort the hot and sunny weather. In the pluviolifia, the gray sky is perceived as a beautiful natural phenomenon and watching it is enjoyed.

3. Taste for soaking

Often people avoid getting wet in the rain. If we leave in rainy weather, we are prepared with umbrellas, raincoats, boots, car, etc.

Motivated by the risk of getting sick or getting dirty, or simply by not wanting to get wet, in general we tend to worry when we see the rain. This is not the case of pluviofilia. Far from avoiding it, the experience of being in the rain can convey a sense of freedom and security ; even if you recognize the possibility of catching a cold. Feeling the body wet in the rain results in this pleasant case.

4. Devotion to the sound of the rain

The ear is another senses that can easily be stimulated through the rain. In fact, even without the presence of pluviofilia, generally the sound of the rain is pleasant, for that reason it is frequently used to relax or to concentrate.

There are several theories about why this last works. On the one hand it may be because listening to the sound of the rain in the comfort of our home transmits us a feeling of protection and protection . On the other hand, it may be because the intensity and variability of the sounds that cause drops as well as thunder are comfortable.In pluviphobia these sounds can be preferred to any other and people can spend several hours listening to them.

5. Enjoy the smell that remains after raining

Finally, the sense of smell also allows you to enjoy the rainy moments. Or rather, of the moments and smells left by the rain when it ends. The smell of the streets while it rains and after raining can be very pleasant, comfortable and even refreshing. There are even some perfumes that have tried to imitate in some shades of the aroma of rain.

Bibliographic references:

  • Trinidad, M. (2015). 7 signs you are a pluviophile. Retrieved July 26, 2018. Available at //thoughtcatalog.com/mica-trinidad/2015/03/7-signs-youre-a-pluviophile/.

Pluvio - Control (Official Music Video) (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Pluviofilia: qu'est-ce que c'est et comment le plaisir est vécu sous la pluie

Pluviofilia: qu'est-ce que c'est et comment le plaisir est vécu sous la pluie

Décembre 9, 2021

En langage familier, l'amour de la pluie est connu sous le nom de pluviofilia. Ce n'est pas un terme spécialisé, c'est-à-dire qu'il ne fait pas référence à une catégorie clinique formelle; Cependant, il a été utilisé de manière ordinaire pour décrire une série d'intérêts et de loisirs liés à la pluie.

En quoi consiste pluviofilia? Dans cet article, nous le verrons.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 8 processus psychologiques supérieurs"

Qu'est-ce que pluviofilia?

En grec ancien, le mot "philos" signifie "amour" et le suffixe "ia" signifie "qualité". Ainsi, "philia" ("filia" en espagnol) désigne la qualité de ressentir de l'amour pour une situation, un objet ou une pratique donnés. Il s’agit des expériences opposées aux phobies, dans lesquelles règne une peur intense à des situations précises.


Par ailleurs, "pluvio" vient de "pluvial" qui signifie "de la pluie ou relative à celle-ci". Cela dit, nous pouvons voir que "pluviofilia" est amour, passe-temps ou attrait particulier pour la pluie et tout ce qui le concerne .

Il convient de noter que ce n'est pas un comportement pathologique. En fait, bien qu'il existe de nombreux types de "philias", rares sont ceux qui sont devenus des critères de diagnostic spécifiques (par exemple, les paraphilias). Surtout, les hobbys considérés comme pathologiques portent le suffixe "mania" (comme la kleptomanie); et pas avec "filia".

En ce sens, la jouissance particulière et intense de la pluie ne représente pas une menace ni un traitement. Est-ce que cela signifie que pluviofilia ne peut pas causer de gêne? La pluviofilia (comme les autres filias) peut être accompagnée d’expériences de malaise diagnostiquable ou non diagnostiqué. Cela peut même être accompagné de peu de flexibilité, d'inconfort ou d'un état d'esprit déprimé dans des situations où le climat est plus inconfortable (par exemple, ensoleillé). Mais en soi, la pluviofilia ce n'est pas une image clinique ou génère nécessairement un inconfort cliniquement significatif.


  • Article connexe: "Anhédonie: l'incapacité de ressentir du plaisir"

5 caractéristiques de pluviofilia

Même s’il s’agit d’une passion particulière pour la pluie et de tout ce qui la concerne, la pluviofilia a pour caractéristique générale l’inclination pour toutes les circonstances qui permettent le plaisir sensoriel de la pluie. Par exemple, à vue, au toucher ou à l'odorat. Se base sur l'idée que la pluie est belle et un phénomène agréable contrairement à ce que l’on pense souvent.

1. passe-temps pour les fenêtres

La pluviofilia n'implique pas nécessairement l'intérêt particulier d'être sous la pluie. Il peut aussi être agréable de le regarder depuis une fenêtre. Par exemple, les personnes qui s’assument comme des pluvifilicas disent qu’il faut regarder les gouttes de pluie tomber ou les compter et trouver laquelle tombe en premier. Dans ce sens, rester près d'une fenêtre par temps pluvieux peut être un élément important pour ceux qui aiment ça intensément.


2. Préférence pour le ciel nuageux

Contrairement à ce que l’on pense généralement, il existe des personnes qui ont une humeur favorable ou même meilleures avec des cieux gris et des temps nuageux. Autrement dit, le temps chaud et ensoleillé peut être plus inconfortable. Dans la pluviolifia, le ciel gris est perçu comme un beau phénomène naturel et regarder c'est apprécié.

3. Goût de trempage

Souvent, les gens évitent de se mouiller sous la pluie. Si nous partons par temps de pluie, nous sommes préparés avec des parapluies, des imperméables, des bottes, une voiture, etc.

Motivés par le risque de tomber malade ou de se salir ou simplement de ne pas se mouiller, on a généralement tendance à s'inquiéter de la pluie. Ce n'est pas le cas de pluviofilia. Loin de l'éviter, l'expérience d'être sous la pluie peut transmettre un sentiment de liberté et de sécurité ; même si vous reconnaissez la possibilité d'attraper un rhume. Le fait de sentir le corps humide sous la pluie a pour résultat ce cas agréable.

4. Dévotion au son de la pluie

L'oreille est un autre sens qui peut facilement être stimulé par la pluie. En fait, même en l'absence de pluviofilia, le son de la pluie est généralement agréable, raison pour laquelle il est fréquemment utilisé pour se détendre ou se concentrer.

Plusieurs théories expliquent pourquoi ce dernier fonctionne. D’une part, c’est peut-être parce que l’écoute du son de la pluie dans le confort de notre maison nous transmet un sentiment de protection et de protection . D'autre part, cela peut être dû au fait que l'intensité et la variabilité des sons qui causent les chutes et le tonnerre sont confortables.Dans la pluviphobie, ces sons peuvent être préférés à d'autres et les gens peuvent passer plusieurs heures à les écouter.

5. Profitez de l'odeur qui reste après la pluie

Enfin, l'odorat vous permet également de profiter des moments pluvieux. Ou plutôt, des moments et des odeurs laissés par la pluie quand elle se termine. L'odeur des rues pendant qu'il pleut et après la pluie peut être très agréable, confortable et même rafraîchissante. Il y a même des parfums qui ont essayé d'imiter dans certaines nuances l'arôme de la pluie.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Trinidad, M. (2015). 7 signes que vous êtes un pluviophile. Récupéré le 26 juillet 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://thoughtcatalog.com/mica-trinidad/2015/03/7-signs-youre-a-pluviophile/.

Pluviofilia- Naturaleza Muerta (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes