yes, therapy helps!
Predicting depression using angry faces

Predicting depression using angry faces

January 22, 2022

Predicting depression using angry faces

Depression is a complex disorder of which very little is known, since many factors may be acting in a cross-related manner. But nevertheless, One of the keys when predicting depression could be in the type of stimuli to which we pay attention , according to a team of researchers from Bringhamton University.

Investigation

This team of scientists conducted an experiment using as a sample group 160 women, 60 of whom had been diagnosed with depression at some point in their lives. Each of these volunteers had to look at two types of images: a face with a neutral expression and another face that could show a state of sadness , anger or joy.


Thanks to a system of tracking the gaze, the researchers were able to monitor the route of the eyes and see the points of each set of images that generated more interest in women. In this way they were able to analyze the results obtained for each person and put them in relation with their history, finding that the volunteers with diagnosed depression tended to look more at the faces that showed anger.

Looking more towards faces of anger indicates a greater risk of depression

However, the most interesting from a practical point of view is another of the results obtained. The researchers tracked these 60 women in the "depression" group and verified how those that during the experiment had tended to focus more on the angry faces showed greater risk of relapsing into another crisis during the following two years . It was also recorded that these women were more likely to go through another stage of depression before the rest of the volunteers.


In a way, this means that simply paying attention to certain negative aspects of relationships with others could increase the chances of developing depression . Thus, creating intervention programs in which people are trained in modifying their patterns of care could be useful to, to put it in some way, make it easier for them to see the good side of life.

But, in the short term, the most important thing is that this simple test of the faces could help detect those cases in which there is a greater risk of developing depression and take appropriate measures before it happens.

Bibliographic references

  • Woody, M.L., Owens, M., Burkhouse, K.L. and Gibb, B.E. (2015). Selective Attention Toward Angry Faces and Risk for Major Depressive Disorder in Women Converging

Attention to angry faces can predict future depression (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Prédire la dépression en utilisant des visages en colère

Prédire la dépression en utilisant des visages en colère

Février 28, 2021

Prédire la dépression en utilisant des visages en colère

La dépression est un trouble complexe dont on sait très peu de choses, car de nombreux facteurs peuvent agir de manière croisée. Cependant, Une des clés pour prédire la dépression pourrait être le type de stimuli auquel nous prêtons attention , selon une équipe de chercheurs de l’Université de Bringhamton.

Enquête

Cette équipe de scientifiques a mené une expérience sur un échantillon de 160 femmes, dont 60 avaient reçu un diagnostic de dépression à un moment de leur vie. Chacun de ces volontaires a dû regarder deux types d’images: un visage avec une expression neutre et un autre visage qui pourrait montrer un état de tristesse , colère ou joie.


Grâce à un système de suivi du regard, les chercheurs ont pu surveiller le parcours des yeux et voir les points de chaque ensemble d'images qui ont généré plus d'intérêt pour les femmes. Ils ont ainsi pu analyser les résultats obtenus pour chaque personne et les mettre en relation avec leurs antécédents, en constatant que les volontaires atteints de dépression diagnostiquée avaient tendance à regarder davantage les visages qui manifestaient de la colère.

Regarder plus vers les visages de la colère indique un plus grand risque de dépression

Cependant, le plus intéressant d'un point de vue pratique est un autre des résultats obtenus. Les chercheurs ont suivi ces 60 femmes du groupe "dépression" et vérifié comment ceux qui au cours de l'expérience avaient tendance à se concentrer davantage sur les visages en colère présentaient un risque accru de rechute dans une autre crise au cours des deux années suivantes . Il a également été enregistré que ces femmes étaient plus susceptibles de traverser une autre phase de dépression avant les autres volontaires.


En un sens, cela signifie que simplement prêter attention à certains aspects négatifs des relations avec les autres pourrait augmenter les risques de développer une dépression . Ainsi, la création de programmes d’intervention dans lesquels les personnes sont formées à la modification de leurs structures de soins pourrait être utile, en quelque sorte, pour leur permettre de voir plus facilement le bon côté de la vie.

Mais, à court terme, le plus important est que ce simple test des visages puisse aider à détecter les cas dans lesquels le risque de développer une dépression est accru et à prendre les mesures appropriées avant que cela ne se produise.

Références bibliographiques

  • Woody, M. L., Owens, M., Burkhouse, K. L. et Gibb, B. E. (2015). Attention sélective vers les visages en colère et le risque de trouble dépressif majeur chez les femmes convergentes

You aren't at the mercy of your emotions -- your brain creates them | Lisa Feldman Barrett (Février 2021).


Articles Connexes