yes, therapy helps!
Subtlalamus: parts, functions and associated disorders

Subtlalamus: parts, functions and associated disorders

January 25, 2022

The human brain is configured by a large number of structures and substructures that account for different body systems and different cognitive and emotional abilities and abilities. All the information we collect For example, it must be integrated in order to form a concrete representation of reality. Of the same that also must integrate different processes at the time of giving answer to the environmental stimulation.

There are different relay centers where such associations are made, such as the thalamus. But in addition to this there are different brain structures with similar functions, such as the subthalamus .

  • Related article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

What is the subthalamus?

The subthalamus is a complex structure linked to the management of body movement and that it has a great multitude of connections with different brain regions, such as the substantia nigra and the red nuclei, although some of its most important connections are with the pale globe.


This structure is part of the diencephalon and it is located between the brainstem and the cerebral hemispheres. Specifically, it can be found below the thalamus, from which it is separated by the limiting interthalamic zone, and above the mesencephalon (specifically the tegmentum). It also connects with the hypothalamus.

In addition to those already mentioned, other structures with which the subthalamus is connected include the motor and prefrontal cortex or the basal ganglia.

  • Related article: "Diencephalon: structure and functions of this brain region"

Main divisions of the subthalamus

The subthalamus can be divided into the different structures that make it up . The main sections that can be considered within this brain region are the following.


1. subthalamic nucleus

One of the main structures of the subthalamus, the subthalamic nucleus, is a nucleus of oval shape that can be localized in the central part of the uncertain zone (which we will discuss later). This brain region has great importance due to the large number of afferences it receives. The most relevant due to its link with the management of the movement is the relationship he has with the basal ganglia , with which it interacts through the use of glutamate.

It also has glutamatergic connections to the primary, prefrontal and premotor motor cortex, as well as to the thalamus and reticular formation.

2. Uncertain area

Located between the lenticular and the thalamic fasciculus, the uncertain zone is one of the substructures of the subthalamus. This sheet-shaped core is involved in the control of movement, forming part of the extrapyramidal pathway and in connection with the motor cortex . At its center is the subthalamic nucleus


3. Forel cores

Nuclei of the Forel areas are three small areas of white matter of the subthalamus, also called Forel fields , which act as nerve projections to different regions brain regions.

Principal functions

The subthalamus is a structure of great importance for the correct functioning of the human being, having a great role in the integration of the motor information that allows the management of the movement. Especially it is linked to Involuntary aspects of movement and precise control of it , greatly affecting its connection and influence with the basal ganglia.

In addition to motor control, it has also been observed that the subthalamus influences orientation and balance , being observed before his injury a greater risk of falls before the injury of the uncertain zone.

Lesions in the subthalamus

The presence of subthalamic lesions usually cause Symptomatology linked to movement control . In general, an injury in this area tends to produce sudden and involuntary movements, such as spasms and choreic movements of the extremities.

Regarding the latter, the subthalamus injury is especially linked to Huntington's chorea, in which the subthalamic nucleus is especially affected. The same happens in the Sydenham chorea , of infectious origin. The degeneration of this structure causes the choreic movements typical of these diseases.

It is also observed that the injury of the subthalamus in its connection with the pale globe can generate hyperkinesia or excessive uncontrolled movements. On the other hand, it has been proposed that the stimulation of this region could be useful when it comes to alleviating Parkinson's symptoms or other movement disorders, due to its effect on aspects such as locomotion and posture, through transcranial magnetic stimulation.

  • Related article: "Parkinson: causes, symptoms, treatment and prevention"

Bibliographic references:

  • Snell, R.S. (2006). Clinical Neuroanatomy. 6th edition. Editorial Panamericana Medical. Madrid.
  • López, L. (2003). Functional anatomy of the nervous system. Noriega Editors. Mexico.
  • Afifi, A.K. & Bergman, R.A. (2007). Functional neuroanatomy. 2nd edition. Mc Graw-Hill Interamericana.
Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Subtlalamus: parties, fonctions et troubles associés

Subtlalamus: parties, fonctions et troubles associés

Septembre 26, 2022

Le cerveau humain est configuré par un grand nombre de structures et de sous-structures qui représentent différents systèmes corporels et différentes capacités et capacités cognitives et émotionnelles. Toutes les informations que nous recueillons Par exemple, il doit être intégré pour former une représentation concrète de la réalité. De la même qui doit aussi intégrer différents processus au moment de donner une réponse à la stimulation environnementale.

Il existe différents centres de relais où de telles associations sont créées, comme le thalamus. Mais en plus de cela, il existe différents structures du cerveau avec des fonctions similaires, telles que le sous-thalamus .

  • Article connexe: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Quel est le subthalamus?

Le sous-thalamus est une structure complexe liée à la gestion du mouvement du corps et qu'il a une multitude de connexions avec différentes régions du cerveau, telles que la substance noire et les noyaux rouges, bien que certaines de ses connexions les plus importantes soient avec le globe pâle.


Cette structure fait partie du diencephalon et il est situé entre le tronc cérébral et les hémisphères cérébraux. Plus précisément, il se trouve sous le thalamus, duquel il est séparé par la zone interthalamique limitante, et au-dessus du mésencéphale (plus précisément le tegmentum). Il se connecte également avec l'hypothalamus.

En plus de celles déjà mentionnées, le cortex moteur et préfrontal ou les noyaux gris centraux font partie des autres structures avec lesquelles le sous-thalamus est lié.

  • Article connexe: "Diencephalon: structure et fonctions de cette région du cerveau"

Principales divisions du sous-thalamus

Le sous-thalamus peut être divisé en différentes structures qui le composent . Les principales sections pouvant être considérées dans cette région du cerveau sont les suivantes.


1. noyau sous-thalamique

L'une des structures principales du sous-thalamus, le noyau sous-thalamique, est un noyau de forme ovale qui peut être localisé dans la partie centrale de la zone incertaine (dont nous parlerons plus loin). Cette région du cerveau a une grande importance en raison du grand nombre d'afférences qu'elle reçoit. Le plus pertinent en raison de son lien avec la gestion du mouvement est la relation qu'il a avec les noyaux gris centraux , avec lequel il interagit par l’utilisation du glutamate.

Il a également des connexions glutamatergiques au cortex moteur primaire, préfrontal et prémoteur, ainsi qu'au thalamus et à la formation réticulaire.

2. Zone incertaine

Située entre le fascicule lenticulaire et le fascicule thalamique, la zone incertaine est l’une des sous-structures du sous-thalamus. Ce noyau en forme de feuille participe au contrôle du mouvement, faisant partie de la voie extrapyramidale et en relation avec le cortex moteur . Au centre se trouve le noyau sous-thalamique


3. Noyaux Forel

Les noyaux des régions de Forel sont trois petites zones de substance blanche du sous-thalamus, aussi appelé champs de Forel , qui agissent comme des projections nerveuses dans différentes régions du cerveau.

Fonctions principales

Le sous-thalamus est une structure de grande importance pour le bon fonctionnement de l'être humain, jouant un rôle important dans l'intégration des informations motrices permettant la gestion du mouvement. En particulier, il est lié à Aspects involontaires du mouvement et contrôle précis de celui-ci , affectant grandement sa connexion et son influence sur les noyaux gris centraux.

En plus du contrôle moteur, il a également été observé que le sous-thalamus influence l'orientation et l'équilibre , observant avant sa blessure un plus grand risque de chute avant la blessure de la zone incertaine.

Lésions dans le sous-thalamus

La présence de lésions sous-thalamiques provoque généralement Symptomatologie liée au contrôle du mouvement . En général, une blessure dans cette zone a tendance à produire des mouvements brusques et involontaires, tels que des spasmes et des mouvements choréiques des extrémités.

En ce qui concerne ce dernier cas, la lésion du sous-thalamus est particulièrement liée à la chorée de Huntington, dans laquelle le noyau sous-thalamique est particulièrement touché. La même chose se passe dans la chorée Sydenham , d'origine infectieuse. La dégénérescence de cette structure provoque les mouvements choréiques typiques de ces maladies.

Il est également observé que la blessure du sous-thalamus dans sa connexion avec le globe pâle peut générer une hyperkinésie ou des mouvements excessifs et incontrôlés. D'autre part, il a été proposé que la stimulation de cette région pourrait être utile pour soulager les symptômes de Parkinson ou d'autres troubles du mouvement, dus à son effet sur des aspects tels que la locomotion et la posture, par stimulation magnétique transcrânienne.

  • Article connexe: "Parkinson: causes, symptômes, traitement et prévention"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Snell, R.S. (2006). Neuroanatomie clinique. 6ème édition. Éditorial Panamericana Medical. Madrid
  • López, L. (2003). Anatomie fonctionnelle du système nerveux. Noriega Editors. Mexique
  • Afifi, A.K. & Bergman, R.A. (2007). Neuroanatomie fonctionnelle. 2ème édition. Interamericana Mc Graw-Hill.
Articles Connexes