yes, therapy helps!
The 2 types of myelitis: symptoms, causes and treatment

The 2 types of myelitis: symptoms, causes and treatment

June 13, 2024

Myelitis is an affectation that occurs in the neuronal axons and that usually causes important modifications of the electrical activity of the same ones, as well as in the activity of the immune system.

There are two major types of myelitis that vary according to the cause, the severity of the damage and the symptoms specific. We will see below what each one is about, what are the main causes and what is their treatment.

  • Related article: "Myelin: definition, functions and characteristics"

What is myelitis?

Myelitis is a inflammation of the spinal cord which can significantly affect the responses emitted from the brain to the rest of the body, and vice versa.


The above occurs because this inflammation can cause a decrease or significant damage to myelin, the lipid substance that lines neuronal axons. Said substance has among its responsibilities to regulate the speed of conduction of electrical impulses between the neurons, so that an alteration of its functions produces changes in the activity of the same.

On the other hand, myelitis It can be caused by infections derived from different viruses, bacteria, fungi and parasites . In these cases the spinal cord is affected by a response of the immune system that, instead of creating antibodies to counteract the virus, reproduces the same virus causing inflammation. For this reason it is considered a type of autoimmune disease.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 15 most frequent neurological disorders"

Two types of myelitis: their differences

Commonly myelitis occurs in a narrow region within the spinal cord. However, in some cases It can spread to other areas, generating different damages and symptoms . When it is a specific region, it is usually due to an infection, whereas when it is an extension to other areas it is usually a process of diminishing multicausal myelin.

According to the above, two major types of myelitis are usually recognized: poliomyelitis and transverse myelitis. Let's see their differences.

1. Poliomyelitis

Also called polio or infantile paralysis, it is a myelitis caused by viral infections . It usually affects the gray matter, which produces symptoms such as muscle paralysis (in many cases permanent, but not necessarily) and excessive fatigue.


In the event that the polio virus affects the spine, the common symptoms are leg paralysis. Among the mild symptoms are headaches, fever and pains in the extremities .

On the other hand, if the polio virus affects the bulbar region of the brain, the affected area is white matter and cranial nerves, which produces a paralysis of the muscles of the face and symptoms such as encephalitis, difficulty breathing or speaking and swallow. Another way in which myelitis has been called when white matter is affected is leukomyelitis, a condition related to similar diseases such as multiple sclerosis.

Finally, if the virus It affects the bulbospinal region and the associated cranial nerves , can cause paralysis of the diaphragm, inflammation of the lungs and effects on cardiac functions.

It is usually transmitted through infected fecal matter, which in turn can be found in contaminated food and water. Less frequently it is transmitted by saliva. For its diagnosis, a stool analysis is performed, or an examination of the activity of the antibodies in the blood.

Poliomyelitis can be prevented by a vaccine (polio vaccine). However, there is no determining cure. Pharmacological treatment consists of taking antibiotics , to prevent major infections, analgesics for pain control, and moderate exercise along with physical therapy and nutritious diets.

2. Transverse myelitis

Transverse myelitis is caused by a process of myelin reduction (demyelination) on the sides of the spinal cord. It's called "transverse" precisely because the inflammation extends to those sides , although in some occasions it can affect only one of them. In the latter case it is called "partial transverse myelitis".

It usually causes symptoms such as fatigue or excessive weakness and numbness of the extremities, sometimes accompanied by headaches and muscle pain. It also causes changes in sensation and motor skills, in urethral function and in the anal sphincter. In some cases it also affects the autonomic nervous system, which can cause episodes of hypertension.

It is a heterogeneous condition, whose causes can be diverse.For example, it can be caused by infections, but also by disorders of the immune system, damage to nerve fibers and damage to the myelin sheaths, which in turn can cause important changes in the conduction of electrical signals between the neurons . The definitive and underlying cause of the latter is hitherto unknown.

For the same reason there is no definitive cure. The treatment is usually symptomatic, that is, it tries to diminish each of the symptoms according to its particular nature. It can include physical therapy to recover some motor functions, as well as the use of support tools to replace or enhance these functions.

Bibliographic references:

  • Poliomyelitis (polio). World Health Organization. Retrieved October 9, 2018. Available at //www.who.int/topics/poliomyelitis/en/.
  • What is Transverse Myelitis? (2018). Neurology and Neurosurgery. Johns Hopkins Medicine. Retrieved October 9, 2018. Available at //www.hopkinsmedicine.org/neurology_neurosurgery/centers_clinics/transverse_myelitis/about-tm/what-is-transverse-myelitis.html.

Transverse myelitis (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 2 types de myélite: symptômes, causes et traitement

Les 2 types de myélite: symptômes, causes et traitement

Décembre 5, 2019

La myélite est une affection qui se produit dans les axones neuronaux et qui entraîne généralement des modifications importantes de l'activité électrique de ceux-ci, ainsi que de l'activité du système immunitaire.

Il existe deux principaux types de myélite qui varient en fonction de la cause, de la gravité des dommages et des symptômes. spécifique. Nous verrons ci-dessous en quoi consiste chacun, quelles en sont les causes principales et quel est leur traitement.

  • Article connexe: "Myéline: définition, fonctions et caractéristiques"

Qu'est-ce que la myélite?

La myélite est un inflammation de la moelle épinière ce qui peut affecter de manière significative les réponses émises par le cerveau au reste du corps, et inversement.


Ceci est dû au fait que cette inflammation peut causer une diminution ou des dommages importants à la myéline, la substance lipidique qui tapisse les axones neuronaux. Cette substance a notamment pour responsabilité de réguler la vitesse de conduction des impulsions électriques entre les neurones, de sorte qu’une altération de ses fonctions entraîne une modification de son activité.

Myélite Il peut être causé par des infections provenant de différents virus, bactéries, champignons et parasites . Dans ces cas, la moelle épinière est affectée par une réponse du système immunitaire qui, au lieu de créer des anticorps pour lutter contre le virus, reproduit le même virus provoquant une inflammation. Pour cette raison, il est considéré comme un type de maladie auto-immune.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 15 troubles neurologiques les plus fréquents"

Deux types de myélite: leurs différences

La myélite survient généralement dans une région étroite de la moelle épinière. Cependant, dans certains cas Il peut se propager à d'autres régions, générant différents dommages et symptômes . Lorsqu'il s'agit d'une région spécifique, cela est généralement dû à une infection, alors que lorsqu'il s'agit d'une extension à d'autres régions, il s'agit généralement d'un processus de diminution de la myéline multicausale.

Selon ce qui précède, deux types principaux de myélite sont généralement reconnus: la poliomyélite et la myélite transverse. Voyons leurs différences.

1. Poliomyélite

Aussi appelée polio ou paralysie infantile, il s’agit d’une myélite causée par des infections virales . Il affecte généralement la matière grise, qui provoque des symptômes tels que la paralysie musculaire (permanente, mais pas nécessairement) et la fatigue excessive.


Si le virus de la poliomyélite affecte la colonne vertébrale, les symptômes communs sont une paralysie des jambes. Parmi les symptômes bénins sont maux de tête, fièvre et douleurs aux extrémités .

Par contre, si le virus de la poliomyélite affecte la région bulbaire du cerveau, il s’agit de substance blanche et de nerfs crâniens, ce qui provoque une paralysie des muscles du visage et des symptômes tels que encéphalite, difficultés respiratoires ou d’élocution. et avaler. La leucomyélite est une autre façon d'appeler la myélite lorsque la substance blanche est affectée. Elle est liée à des maladies similaires telles que la sclérose en plaques.

Enfin, si le virus Il affecte la région bulbospinale et les nerfs crâniens associés , peut provoquer une paralysie du diaphragme, une inflammation des poumons et des effets sur les fonctions cardiaques.

Il est généralement transmis par des matières fécales infectées, que l'on peut retrouver dans des aliments et de l'eau contaminés. Moins souvent, il est transmis par la salive. Pour le diagnostic, une analyse des selles ou un examen de l'activité des anticorps dans le sang est effectué.

La poliomyélite peut être prévenue par un vaccin (vaccin antipoliomyélitique). Cependant, il n'y a pas de remède déterminant. Le traitement pharmacologique consiste à prendre des antibiotiques , pour prévenir les infections majeures, les analgésiques pour le contrôle de la douleur et l'exercice modéré ainsi que la thérapie physique et des régimes nutritifs.

2. Myélite transversale

La myélite transversale est causée par un processus de réduction de la myéline (démyélinisation) sur les côtés de la moelle épinière. Ça s'appelle "transverse" justement parce que l'inflammation s'étend à ces côtés , bien que dans certaines occasions, cela ne peut affecter que l'un d'entre eux. Dans ce dernier cas, on parle de "myélite transversale partielle".

Il provoque généralement des symptômes tels que fatigue ou faiblesse excessive et engourdissement des extrémités, parfois accompagnés de maux de tête et de douleurs musculaires. Il provoque également des modifications de la sensation et de la motricité, de la fonction urétrale et du sphincter anal. Dans certains cas, il affecte également le système nerveux autonome, ce qui peut provoquer des épisodes d'hypertension.

C'est une condition hétérogène, dont les causes peuvent être diverses.Par exemple, elle peut être causée par des infections, mais également par des troubles du système immunitaire, des lésions des fibres nerveuses et des gaines de myéline, pouvant à leur tour causer changements importants dans la conduction des signaux électriques entre les neurones . La cause définitive et sous-jacente de ce dernier est jusqu'ici inconnue.

Pour la même raison, il n'y a pas de remède définitif. Le traitement est généralement symptomatique, c’est-à-dire qu’il tente de diminuer chacun des symptômes en fonction de leur nature particulière. Il peut inclure une thérapie physique pour récupérer certaines fonctions motrices, ainsi que l’utilisation d’outils de soutien pour remplacer ou améliorer ces fonctions.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Poliomyélite (poliomyélite). Organisation mondiale de la santé. Récupéré le 9 octobre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.who.int/topics/poliomyelitis/en/.
  • Qu'est-ce que la myélite transversale? (2018). Neurologie et Neurochirurgie. Johns Hopkins Medicine. Extrait le 9 octobre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.hopkinsmedicine.org/neurology_neurosurgery/centers_clinics/transverse_myelitis/about-tm/what-is-transverse-myelitis.html.

Inflammation de l’encéphale, encéphalite (Décembre 2019).


Articles Connexes