yes, therapy helps!
8 wrong beliefs about depression and its treatment

8 wrong beliefs about depression and its treatment

February 4, 2023

Following a publication in El Mundo (digital version) in the year 2015 in the various misconceptions about depressive disorder . Sanz and García-Vera (2017), from the Complutense University of Madrid, have conducted an exhaustive review on this subject in order to shed some light on the veracity of the information contained in that text (and many others that nowadays can be found in countless websites or blogs of psychology). And it is that in many occasions such data seem not to be based on a contrasted scientific knowledge.

Below is a list of the conclusions supposedly accepted and published by the DMedicina website (2015), the same group of specialists that carries out the edition in El Mundo. These ideas refer both the nature of depressive psychopathology as well as the effectiveness rates of psychological interventions that are applied for your treatment.


  • You may be interested: "Are there several types of depression?"

Misconceptions about Depressive Disorder

When it comes to misconceptions about depression itself, we find the following.

1. When everything in life is going well, you can get depressed

Contrary to what was published in the El Mundo article, according to the scientific literature this statement should be considered partially false, since the findings indicate that The relationship between previous life stressors and depression is stronger than expected . In addition, depression is given a connotation of disease, which entails attributing greater biological than environmental causality. Regarding the latter, science states that there is a small number of cases of depression without a prior history of external stressors.


2. Depression is not a chronic disease that never goes away

From the article in El Mundo it is considered that depression is a condition that never goes away completely, although the arguments that sustain it are not completely true.

In the first place, the wording in question affirms that the efficacy rate of the pharmacological intervention is 90%, when in a multitude of meta-analysis studies carried out in the last decade (Magni et al., 2013; Leutch, Huhn and Leutch, 2012; et al., 2010; Cipriani, Santilli et al. 2009) gives an approximate percentage of 50-60% effectiveness to psychiatric treatment , depending on the drug used: SSRIs or tricyclic antidepressants.

On the other hand, the authors of the review article add that in the conclusions of a recent meta-analysis (Johnsen and Friborg, 2015) about 43 researches analyzed reached 57% of patients in total remission after a cognitive-behavioral intervention, so that can be established a similar efficacy index between pharmacological and psychotherapeutic prescription empirically validated.


3. There are no people who feign depression to get sick leave

The wording of the portal states that it is very difficult to deceive the professional by simulating a depression, so there are practically no cases of mock depressions. However, Sanz and García-Vera (2017) expose the data obtained in various investigations in which the percentages of simulation of depression can range between 8 and 30% , this last result in cases where labor indemnities are linked.

Thus, although it can be considered that in a greater proportion the population that visits primary care is not simulating this psychopathology, the assertion that there are no cases in which this case history does not occur can not be considered valid.

4. Optimistic and extraverted people get depressed as much or more than those who are not

The article we are talking about defends the idea that due to the greater affective intensity of optimistic and extraverted people, these are the ones who are more likely to suffer a depression. On the other hand, the list of studies presented by Sanz and García-Vera (2017) in their text affirm precisely the opposite. These authors cite the meta-analysis of Kotov, Gamez, Schmidt and Watson (2010) where it was found lower rates of extraversion in patients with unipolar depression and dysthymia .

On the other hand, it has been indicated that optimism becomes a protective factor against depression, as corroborated by studies such as Giltay, Zitman and Kromhout (2006) or Vickers and Vogeltanz (2000).

  • Maybe you're interested: Differences between extroverted, introverted and timid people "

Misconceptions about the treatment of Depressive Disorder

These are other mistakes that can be made when thinking about the psychotherapeutic treatments applied to depressive disorders.

1. Psychotherapy does not cure depression

According to the El Mundo article there is no study that demonstrates that psychological intervention allows depression to subside, although it does assume that it can be effective in the presence of some milder depressive symptoms, such as those that occur in the Adaptive Disorder. Thus, he argues that the only effective treatment is pharmacological.

The data obtained in the Mataulisi of Cuijpers, Berking et al (2013) indicate the opposite to this conclusion, since they found that Behavioral Cognitive Therapy (CBT) was significantly higher than the waiting list or usual treatment (consisting of various psychopharmaceuticals, psychoeducation sessions, etc).

In addition, the data previously provided on the study by Johnsen and Friborg (2015) corroborates the falsity of this initial statement. In the text, the proven efficacy of studies on Behavioral Activation Therapy and Interpersonal Therapy is also discussed.

2. Psychotherapy is less effective than antidepressant medication

In line with the above, there are more than 20 researches collected in the meta-analysis of Cruijpers, Berking et al (2013), which is cited in the article by Sanz and García-Vera (2017) that proves the absence of difference in efficacy between CBT and antidepressant drugs.

It is partially true that it has not been possible to demonstrate greater efficacy in other types of psychotherapeutic interventions other than CBT, for example in the case of Interpersonal Therapy, but no such conclusion can be applied to the TCC . Therefore, this idea should be considered as false.

3. The treatment of depression is long

In El Mundo it is stated that the treatment of severe depression should be at least one year due to frequent recurrences that are associated with the course of this type of disorder. Although scientific knowledge shows agreement in establishing a high rate of recurrence (between 60 and 90% according to Eaton et al., 2008), they also show that there is an approach in brief psychological therapy (based on CBT) that has a significant efficacy index for depression. These interventions range from 16 to 20 weekly sessions.

The aforementioned meta-analyzes indicate a duration of 15 sessions (Johnsen and Friborg) or between 8-16 sessions (Cruijpers et al.). Therefore, this initial hypothesis must be considered false based on the data presented in the reference article.

4. The psychologist is not the professional who treats depression

According to the writing group of El Mundo, it is the psychiatrist who carries out the intervention of patients with depression; the psychologist can take charge of depressive symptoms, of a milder character than the depressive disorder per se. From this statement two conclusions are extracted that have already been refuted previously : 1) depression is a biological disease that can only be addressed by a psychiatrist and 2) psychological intervention can only be effective in cases of mild or moderate depression, but not in cases of severe depression.

In the original text by Sanz and García-Vera (2017), some misconceptions can be consulted more than those presented in this text. This becomes a clear sample of the trend, increasingly common to publish information not sufficiently scientifically contrasted. This can result in a significant risk since nowadays any type of information is available to the general population, causing a biased or not sufficiently validated knowledge. Such a danger is even more disturbing when it comes to health issues.

Bibliographic references:

  • Sanz J. and García-Vera, M.P. (2017) Wrong Ideas about Depression and its Treatment (I and II). Papers of the Psychologist, 2017. Vol 38 (3), pp 169-184.
  • Drafting of CuidatePlus (2016, October 1). Misconceptions about depression. Recovered from //www.cuidateplus.com/enfermedades/psiquiatricas/2002/04/02/ideas-equivocadas-depresion-7447.html
  • Drafting of DMedicina (2015, September 8). Misconceptions about depression. Recovered from //www.dmedicina.com/enfermedades/psiquiatricas/2002/04/02ideas-equivocadas-depresion-7447.html

Can Depression Be Cured? New Research on Depression and its Treatments (February 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
8 fausses croyances sur la dépression et son traitement

8 fausses croyances sur la dépression et son traitement

Août 3, 2022

À la suite d’une publication à El Mundo (version numérique) en 2015 dans le journal diverses idées fausses sur le trouble dépressif . Sanz et García-Vera (2017), de l'Université Complutense de Madrid, ont procédé à un examen exhaustif de ce sujet afin de faire la lumière sur la véracité des informations contenues dans ce texte (et de nombreux autres peut être trouvé dans d'innombrables sites Web ou blogs de psychologie). Et c’est que souvent, ces données ne semblent pas reposer sur des connaissances scientifiques contrastées.

Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste des conclusions supposément acceptées et publiées par le site Web DMedicina (2015), le même groupe de spécialistes que celui qui réalise l'édition à El Mundo. Ces idées font référence à la fois la nature de la psychopathologie dépressive et les taux d’efficacité des interventions psychologiques qui sont appliqués pour votre traitement.


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Y at-il plusieurs types de dépression?"

Idées fausses sur le trouble dépressif

En ce qui concerne les idées fausses sur la dépression elle-même, nous trouvons ce qui suit.

1. Lorsque tout va bien dans la vie, vous pouvez être déprimé

Contrairement à ce qui a été publié dans l'article d'El Mundo, selon la littérature scientifique, cette déclaration devrait être considérée comme partiellement fausse, car les résultats indiquent que La relation entre les facteurs de stress antérieurs et la dépression est plus forte que prévu . De plus, la dépression a une connotation de maladie, ce qui implique d'attribuer une causalité plus biologique que environnementale. En ce qui concerne ces derniers, la science affirme qu’il existe un petit nombre de cas de dépression sans antécédents de facteurs de stress externes.


2. La dépression n'est pas une maladie chronique qui ne disparaît jamais

D'après l'article de El Mundo, il est considéré que la dépression est une condition qui ne disparaît jamais complètement, bien que les arguments qui la soutiennent ne soient pas complètement vrais.

En premier lieu, la formulation en question affirme que le taux d'efficacité de l'intervention pharmacologique est de 90%, si l'on se base sur une multitude de méta-analyses effectuées au cours de la dernière décennie (Magni et al., 2013; Leutch, Huhn et Leutch, 2012; et al., 2010; Cipriani, Santilli et al. 2009) donne un pourcentage approximatif de 50 à 60% d'efficacité du traitement psychiatrique , en fonction du médicament utilisé: ISRS ou antidépresseurs tricycliques.

De leur côté, les auteurs de l'article de synthèse ajoutent que, dans les conclusions d'une méta-analyse récente (Johnsen et Fribourg, 2015), environ 43 études analysées ont atteint 57% des patients en rémission totale après une intervention cognitivo-comportementale, de sorte que peut être établi un indice d'efficacité similaire entre la prescription pharmacologique et psychothérapeutique validé empiriquement.


3. Il n'y a pas de gens qui feignent la dépression pour obtenir un congé de maladie

Selon le libellé du portail, il est très difficile de tromper le professionnel en simulant une dépression. Il n'y a donc pratiquement aucun cas de dépression simulée. Cependant, Sanz et García-Vera (2017) exposent les données obtenues lors de diverses enquêtes dans lesquelles les pourcentages de simulation de dépression peuvent aller de 8 à 30% , ce dernier résultat dans les cas où les indemnités de travail sont liées.

Ainsi, bien que l'on puisse considérer que dans une proportion plus importante la population qui visite les soins primaires ne simule pas cette psychopathologie, l'affirmation selon laquelle il n'y a pas de cas dans lequel cette histoire de cas ne se produit pas ne peut pas être considérée comme valide.

4. Les optimistes et les extravertis dépriment autant ou plus que ceux qui ne le sont pas

L'article dont nous parlons défend l'idée que, en raison de la plus grande intensité affective des personnes optimistes et extraverties, ce sont ceux-là qui risquent le plus de souffrir de dépression. En revanche, la liste des études présentées par Sanz et García-Vera (2017) dans leur texte affirme précisément le contraire. Ces auteurs citent la méta-analyse de Kotov, Gamez, Schmidt et Watson (2010) où elle a été trouvée taux d'extraversion plus bas chez les patients atteints de dépression unipolaire et de dysthymie .

D'autre part, il a été indiqué que l'optimisme devient un facteur de protection contre la dépression, comme le corroborent des études telles que Giltay, Zitman et Kromhout (2006) ou Vickers et Vogeltanz (2000).

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: Différences entre personnes extraverties, introverties et timides "

Idées fausses sur le traitement du trouble dépressif

Ce sont d’autres erreurs qui peuvent être commises lorsque l’on réfléchit aux traitements psychothérapeutiques appliqués aux troubles dépressifs.

1. La psychothérapie ne guérit pas la dépression

Selon l'article d'El Mundo, aucune étude n'a démontré qu'une intervention psychologique permettait à la dépression de s'atténuer, même si elle suppose qu'elle puisse être efficace en présence de symptômes dépressifs moins graves, tels que ceux qui surviennent dans le trouble d'adaptation. Ainsi, il soutient que le seul traitement efficace est la pharmacologie.

Les données obtenues dans le Mataulisi de Cuijpers, Berking et al (2013) indiquent le contraire de cette conclusion, car ils ont constaté que la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale (TCC) était significativement plus élevé que la liste d'attente ou le traitement habituel (comprenant divers produits psychopharmaceutiques, séances de psychoéducation, etc.).

De plus, les données précédemment fournies sur l'étude de Johnsen et Fribourg (2015) corroborent la fausseté de cette affirmation initiale. Dans le texte, l'efficacité prouvée des études sur la thérapie d'activation comportementale et la thérapie interpersonnelle est également discutée.

2. La psychothérapie est moins efficace que les antidépresseurs

Dans la lignée de ce qui précède, plus de 20 recherches rassemblées dans la méta-analyse de Cruijpers, Berking et al (2013), citées dans l'article de Sanz et García-Vera (2017), prouvent l'absence de différence d'efficacité. entre la TCC et les antidépresseurs.

Il est partiellement vrai qu'il n'a pas été possible de démontrer une plus grande efficacité dans d'autres types d'interventions psychothérapeutiques autres que la TCC, par exemple dans le cas de la thérapie interpersonnelle, mais aucune conclusion de ce type ne peut être appliquée au CCT . Par conséquent, cette idée doit être considérée comme fausse.

3. Le traitement de la dépression est long

À El Mundo, il est indiqué que le traitement de la dépression sévère devrait durer au moins un an en raison des récidives fréquentes associées à l'évolution de ce type de trouble. Bien que les connaissances scientifiques concordent pour établir un taux de récurrence élevé (entre 60 et 90% selon Eaton et al., 2008), elles montrent également que il y a une approche en thérapie psychologique brève (basé sur la TCC) qui a un indice d’efficacité significatif pour la dépression. Ces interventions vont de 16 à 20 séances hebdomadaires.

Les méta-analyses susmentionnées indiquent une durée de 15 séances (Johnsen et Fribourg) ou entre 8 et 16 séances (Cruijpers et al.). Par conséquent, cette hypothèse initiale doit être considérée comme fausse sur la base des données présentées dans l'article de référence.

4. Le psychologue n'est pas le professionnel qui traite la dépression

Selon le groupe d'écriture d'El Mundo, c'est le psychiatre qui effectue l'intervention des patients souffrant de dépression; le psychologue peut prendre en charge des symptômes dépressifs, de caractère moins grave que le trouble dépressif en soi. De cette déclaration sont extraites deux conclusions qui ont déjà été réfutées : 1) la dépression est une maladie biologique qui ne peut être traitée que par un psychiatre et 2) une intervention psychologique ne peut être efficace que dans les cas de dépression légère ou modérée, mais pas dans les cas de dépression grave.

Dans le texte original de Sanz et García-Vera (2017), certaines idées fausses peuvent être consultées davantage que celles présentées dans ce texte. Cela devient un exemple clair de la tendance, de plus en plus courante, à publier des informations qui ne sont pas suffisamment contrastées scientifiquement. Cela peut entraîner un risque important car, de nos jours, tout type d’information est disponible pour la population en général, ce qui entraîne une connaissance biaisée ou insuffisamment validée. Un tel danger est encore plus inquiétant en matière de santé.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Sanz J. et García-Vera, M.P. (2017) Mauvaises idées sur la dépression et son traitement (I et II). Papers of the Psychologist, 2017. Vol 38 (3), pp 169-184.
  • Rédaction de CuidatePlus (1er octobre 2016). Idées fausses sur la dépression. Récupéré de //www.cuidateplus.com/enfermedades/psiquiatricas/2002/04/02/ideas-equivocadas-depresion-7447.html
  • Rédaction de DMedicina (8 septembre 2015). Idées fausses sur la dépression. Récupéré de //www.dmedicina.com/enfermedades/psiquiatricas/2002/04/02ideas-equivocadas-depresion-7447.html
Articles Connexes